2.5 Vs 3.0 Hilux

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

2.5 Vs 3.0 Hilux

Postby De Dragon » January 22nd, 2014, 11:38 pm

Apart from obvious differences like power, torque and fuel consumption are there any reasons to favour one of these engines over the other? Van will be a strictly on road workhorse for now.

nemram

Re: 2.5 Vs 3.0 Hilux

Postby nemram » February 4th, 2014, 1:59 pm

engine and turbo sound is different. another difference is that the 2.5 does not have an intercooler while the 3.0 has IC. a tuner on this forum has a 2.5 hilux hitting +450,000kms.

viewtopic.php?f=41&t=161166&hilit=hilux+2.5&start=900

Team Loco wrote:lol guys. thats my old model tbr ln166. if allyuh think that bad the new model lux with the 2kd is clocking close to 450,000kms. engine job done at 400,000kms. even at that mileage it just needed a ring job. our key to good maintenance is religious oil change every 5000kms. we use castrol and recently valvoline oil. nothing special

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 8th, 2014, 1:07 am

the Manual 2.5 have this long agricultural equipment type gearstick
15" wheels with Bridgestones
Tray has that Frame to keep stuff off the cab if your transporting say Wood Planks/PVC Ceiling/Pipe/etc.
Extra "Brake" Lights optional
Chrome Optional except side mirrors.
One Disc Horn (sounds pathetic)
Dashboard at constant Brightness

the Manual 3.0 Have a shorter gearstick with shorter more car like gear changes. (probably different gearbox with different ratios)
17" wheels with Michelin or Bridgestones
Tweeters in the Front Door by the wing mirrors
"Leather" wrapped steering wheel
No frame on the tray
Extra "Brake" lights in the tailgate and on the Cab
You get lots of extra Chrome or Chrome coloured plastics
New Model (2012) Has Larger Front Brakes. (thanks FilterProz)
Two Disc Horns (sounds better)
Dashboard Dimmer
Slight Cosmetic improvements in the dash inserts

The firm still sells the 2.5 with the standard turbo ~100hp; I saw a 2.5 by maska with the VNturbo ~140hp

Subjective Difference
With More Power there is usually more drive-line shock which generally means more drive-line wear.

No real reason to chose one over the other when you exclude things like power torque and fuel consumption. Price will obviously be different but these are most of the differences that I can recall.

Postby De Dragon » March 4th, 2014, 11:31 pm

I ended up getting a 2006 2.5 4X4 Hilux. First up is a complete fluid change out, as well as some minor stuff like non-working bulbs etc.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 7th, 2014, 2:37 pm

I would like to also remind you to grease the cross and the slide yoke on the driveshafts. There are seven grease fittings(grease zerks) for this to be done...
I honestly thought it was a new van you were looking at. .. Now that you mentioned it's a 2006 model there is another difference to point out.
The 2.5 came with stiffer rear Springs than the 3.0 vigo. The 2.5 has 1 less bar in the leaf spring than the 3.0 but because the bars are thicker in the 2.5 it is stiffer (probably better for carrying more load). I haven't observed this difference in the 2012 models though

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » April 8th, 2014, 9:41 am

Never knew that always find that the 2.5 gave a rougher ride than the 3.0

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » April 30th, 2014, 2:13 pm

Good thread !

10-01

Postby 10-01 » May 4th, 2014, 11:12 pm

PariaMan wrote:Never knew that always find that the 2.5 gave a rougher ride than the 3.0

i have a 3.0 and that thing rides so smooth i feel like im driving a car , had a navara b4 and the suspension was really rough :?

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » May 6th, 2014, 9:04 pm

Surprise to hear the navara riding rough. Always thought they rode so soft.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 6th, 2014, 9:36 pm

better riding than the d22 that came before it. ... and definitely softer than the 2.5 lux:smile:

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » May 7th, 2014, 5:03 pm

In my experience, the 2.5L is a stronger vehicle in terms of suspension and engine. I worked for a contractor and we had both, and the difference was unbelievable. The 3L ran through two sets of front shocks by 100,000km and a knuckle joint while the 2.5L is running over 220,000km without changing a single suspension part even though that get roughed up plenty more than the 3L. Both pickups were using 20's.
I also know of a fellow contractor who had a 3L engine lock up on him, most probably caused by the injectors clogging up and a friend who had to change two injectors in a 3L(mind you, these injectors aren't cheap).
Another interesting thing I've noticed is that the oil in the 2.5L never gets black, even when it's due for a change after 10,000kms. Can't say the same for the 3L.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 7th, 2014, 5:26 pm

I am doing a bit of research and.... not 100% here. ..but if I'm not mistaken some 3L have an egr system while I haven't observed it on most of the 2.5s locally :smile:

4a70

Postby 4a70 » May 7th, 2014, 6:47 pm

I have a 2.5 the only prob encountered was water pump failure on d 2008 model... and two bros with 3.0s had engine failure to the oil relif failing open and causin serious mashupmentz

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 8th, 2014, 12:42 am

↑↑ Around what mileage did your water pump pack up and call it quits

droppa

Postby droppa » May 8th, 2014, 8:39 am

one thing i noticed from 2.5 and 3.0 they both carry the same gear ratios, which i found strange, usually smaller engine use lower ratios to get a better off the line punch, but thats 2.5 manual and 3.0 auto, their front suspension definitely is different, something with the spring, both with same size lift kit when installed, i noticed different results, as if the 2.5 has a slightly lower spring rate, shock seems the same on both versions...

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 8th, 2014, 11:28 am

My wate pump quit at 80.00. More like leaking . Changed and going good at 170 now

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 8th, 2014, 1:40 pm

I am asking cause my old man's Lux is at 140000 and he is losing coolant slowly but we can't locate any leaks. ... Planning to change timing belt and water pump at 160000.
Thanks for the info:smile:

4a70

Postby 4a70 » May 8th, 2014, 10:33 pm

My pump started leaking at abt 80-90000km check under the pump theres a weep hole that drips the coolant... btw use bk original toyota coolant my unkl had to change his radiator due to coolant m rampersad sold him.... d ting held coolant as tough it was a strainer

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 8th, 2014, 11:14 pm

Honestly was planning on using Honda coolant but it costs the same as the Toyota
Reason was for easier identification at a glance if you have a fluid leak (Honda was on to something by using blue as the color)
Will have a look around the water pump to see if he is losing coolant there

10-01

Postby 10-01 » May 9th, 2014, 7:46 pm

hmmmm u guys have me thinking y i bought the 3L now ...

badart

Postby badart » May 9th, 2014, 10:36 pm

the waterpump in my 3.0 started leaking after i crossed 100,000 kms, common around this mileage, it was leaking in very small amounts the only way i noticed it leaking was when i opened the bonnet to refill my washer fluid, saw pink stuff on the timing belt cover. the only issue i had so far in 5 years, couldn't be happier :)

Postby Team Loco » May 9th, 2014, 11:01 pm

We up to 465000kms on the 2.5. Second turbo started leaking and the compressor clutch had gotton wobly

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 1st, 2014, 2:28 am

Yep. .. the water pump is leaking. The side of the timing belt cover is pink. Will change it and the timing belt soon.

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » June 1st, 2014, 6:24 am

Subscribed

Postby Team Loco » June 1st, 2014, 7:11 am

Drove the 2.5last night. That engine is super strong. Turbo still leaking. Got myself another. Gonna attempt my own rebuild

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 1st, 2014, 8:13 am

I wish you all the best man

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » January 16th, 2015, 3:26 pm

kamakazi wrote:The firm still sells the 2.5 with the standard turbo ~100hp; I saw a 2.5 by maska with the VNturbo ~140hp

How can you tell if the VNturbo is equipped?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » January 16th, 2015, 8:56 pm

It has a hood scoop, intercooler, a turbocharger with a harness and a nice sticker across the side with the words vnturbo written big and bold

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » January 17th, 2015, 5:56 pm

kamakazi wrote:It has a hood scoop, intercooler, a turbocharger with a harness and a nice sticker across the side with the words vnturbo written big and bold

The 2.5 has a hood scoop? Is that correct?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » January 17th, 2015, 8:10 pm

Yes the 2.5 intercooler vnt has a hoodscoop..... the intercooler requires air hence the scoop
:smile:

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”