hilux monster in the making

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
rottedv

Re: hilux monster in the making

Postby rottedv » September 13th, 2014, 6:58 am

RX7USER wrote:example of what not to do in the front of your SAF hilux.
lift blocks under front springs is not advisable, neither is cutting and welding your pitman arm.

A guaranteed Hell No!!!! These things done will be the death of you....Literally....

Good Work man

RX7USER

Postby RX7USER » September 13th, 2014, 1:27 pm

my engine bay....now install the oil catch can. i got through with my build and i dont mind giving someone advice who needs it.
20140913_124537.jpg
20140913_124457.jpg
20140913_124526.jpg

RX7USER

Postby RX7USER » September 13th, 2014, 1:32 pm

what i see on ebay is a bell housing for the 1uz engine which is a toyota V8

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1uz-1uzfe-toyot ... 3f3ca043e9

I think the R150-R151-gearbox is what we have in the old model hilux

RX7USER

Postby RX7USER » September 13th, 2014, 1:52 pm

if anyone wants to do a project, i have a turbo from a 2L T engine and manifold.

Postby Team Loco » September 13th, 2014, 7:49 pm

nice. I've turbocharged my 3L local hilux since 2007. rebuilt her once. also ran a water cooled intercooler system. u may want to consider. the 3L can handle it. 200,000kms after and I still going strong

RX7USER

Postby RX7USER » September 19th, 2014, 9:27 am

new tires...no wheel spacers used
20140918_145906.jpg

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 19th, 2014, 9:41 am

WOW!!!!!!!!!

RX7USER

Postby RX7USER » September 19th, 2014, 10:18 am

even i was shock with the look of the van
20140918_154530.jpg

Postby Team Loco » September 19th, 2014, 12:00 pm

My my my. Monster

Postby black start » September 19th, 2014, 12:04 pm

Just mean....

droppa

Postby droppa » September 19th, 2014, 8:00 pm

Serious boi, I am amazed!

droppa

Postby droppa » September 19th, 2014, 8:44 pm

This country has no regulation with regards to the height of a vehicle, once it pass inspection it good, and we all kno how that goes, with regards to width, not sure of the actual regulation, or if it was a marketing scheme, but some folks say they were pulled over for the excess wheel outside the fenders, if any one knows that law plz share!

rottedv

Postby rottedv » September 19th, 2014, 9:09 pm

Dais wah we talking bout....What brand and size tyres?

RX7USER

Postby RX7USER » September 19th, 2014, 9:30 pm

creepy crawlers.... 37 x 14.5 x 15

RX7USER

Postby RX7USER » September 19th, 2014, 9:37 pm

a few other shots
20140918_154456.jpg
20140918_162107.jpg

droppa

Postby droppa » September 19th, 2014, 9:41 pm

I have the same tires, excellent performance, and surprisingly very quiet on the highway

Postby Morpheus » September 19th, 2014, 10:07 pm

LoL RX7USER please use a foundation block as a wheel chock. LoL. Dem big arse tires dwarfing those blocks in the pics.

Nice build sir. Van looks mean. Keep the dark gray colour. Looks more mean

RX7USER

Postby RX7USER » September 19th, 2014, 10:20 pm

that small block is old habit, but you are right, that wont block the tyres.lol

RX7USER

Postby RX7USER » September 28th, 2014, 2:38 pm

when running bigger tyres make sure you have the correct diff ratio

with my 37'' i am using a 4.88 diff

and i have a spare 4.88 as well
ratio.png

Postby Team Loco » September 28th, 2014, 6:10 pm

nice chart. will save

dyna9275

Postby dyna9275 » September 28th, 2014, 6:28 pm

Can someone tell me what the stock diff ratio on those hilux

RX7USER

Postby RX7USER » September 28th, 2014, 10:03 pm

put your van on a flat surface and block your front wheels. put it in neutral and drop your hand brake.
take a marker and put a line on your drive shaft along its length.
also put a mark on your left side back tire where it meets the gorund
jack up the left side back so the left wheel is off the ground but the right back wheel is on the ground and cannot move.
rotate your tire 2 full revolutions and have a friend look at the drive shaft and see how much rotations it makes.

if it makes 4 turns then your ratio is 4 if it makes 4 and a half then its 4.5 if it makes almost 4 then it will be 3.9 and if it makes almost 5 turns then it will be 4.88

if you have the diff outside of the van then count the number of teeth on the crown wheel and divide it by how much teeth on your pinion gear.

so if your crown wheel has 43 teeth and your pinion has 10 then your ratio is 4.3

dyna9275

Postby dyna9275 » September 29th, 2014, 7:37 am

Nice, thanks for the info

RX7USER

Postby RX7USER » September 29th, 2014, 10:59 pm

let me know how what ratio you got and what model van u have

droppa

Postby droppa » October 1st, 2014, 7:11 am

most SFA hiluxes were 4.88

with your current engine and tire combo, the gearing you have will work ok good....

dyna9275

Postby dyna9275 » October 1st, 2014, 11:56 am

I have a TAT hilux , when I check it I will post it

dyna9275

Postby dyna9275 » October 1st, 2014, 12:24 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1412180663.081462.jpg
this is my TAT hilux, i would like to raise it and put some 35's on it when money permits

RX7USER

Postby RX7USER » October 5th, 2014, 9:31 pm

so i drive the truck yesterday. Its a bit bumpy on the rough road. Maybe due to the standard shocks i am using.

Also the steering is a bit loose and when i reach up on the highway the truck wags from left to right
my castor angle seems good and i did not use longer shackles in the front so the castor should not have changed. wheel bearings and everything in the front was changed so there is no play. Dropped drag link is adjusted properly.

i have the truck about 12 years now and i never changed the tie rod ends so i figure they are worn and the big tires are amplifying it.

RX7USER

Postby RX7USER » October 7th, 2014, 6:03 pm

ok i fixed the problem, it was the tie rod ends and also the power steering box needed a little adjustment to take off some play

RX7USER

Postby RX7USER » October 13th, 2014, 10:46 am

still need to cut hole for the winch and lights
20141012_175546.jpg

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”