Ford ranger vs toyota hilux

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
nick69

Ford ranger vs toyota hilux

Postby nick69 » May 23rd, 2015, 9:41 pm

Hey guys, I'm thinking of buying one of these next month. Either the ford from m. Rampersad or the hilux from the firm. Both 3 liter. Any experiences, opinions or general comments on either vehicle will be appreciated. Thanks

Re: Ford ranger vs toyota hilux

Postby brams112 » May 23rd, 2015, 9:55 pm

Toyota talk done.Heard people complaining about the ranger.

Postby pugboy » May 23rd, 2015, 10:04 pm

Toyota might be bringing with vnturbo soon
they have not been doing so for some reason or another(cost?)

Reez100

Postby Reez100 » May 23rd, 2015, 10:47 pm

have a look at the bt50 3.2l

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » May 23rd, 2015, 10:58 pm

All that to say .... Never mind!

skulls

Postby skulls » May 23rd, 2015, 11:32 pm

Wait for the 2015-2016 models in both then choose

Postby 1UZFE » May 23rd, 2015, 11:41 pm

skulls wrote:Wait for the 2015-2016 models in both then choose

This....

skulls

Postby skulls » May 23rd, 2015, 11:55 pm

1UZFE wrote:
skulls wrote:Wait for the 2015-2016 models in both then choose

This....

I was in d same boat
End up getting d ranger

gurmuk

Postby gurmuk » May 24th, 2015, 1:14 am

Hilux is nice. The bt50 also

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 24th, 2015, 2:21 am

pugboy wrote:Toyota might be bringing with vnturbo soon
they have not been doing so for some reason or another(cost?)

Don't all Toyota 3 litres have the vn turbo. ...I think so
Anyhow .... If you can wait. ... Please do so
The new 2016 hilux has been launched and should be here before the end of the year. Ford also is scheduled to facelift their current offering.
I like the lux but it's a little long in the tooth by now. Haven't heard about any problems van wise. .... but the dealership and some of the employees within. ...Boy, I have some stories to tell

I really haven't heard anything but problems from owners of the new Ranger but people with problems voice their opinion more strongly than others.

Postby pugboy » May 24th, 2015, 5:56 am

Hilux drives nice and plenty interior room, I bought one the other day.

Running cost might be more than a car when you consider the cost of tires.

Postby Team Loco » May 24th, 2015, 6:45 am

Toyota has been bringing the hilux 3.0 with vnt turbo from day one. Ive heard talk about some without. This is not som i repair hilux vnt turbos every week. I know them inside out.
The hilux is a superior vehicle but the vnt turbo is a troublesome design. With spirited drivi g habits your vnt turbo may give you trouble at around 150,000kms. The nozzles wear and with a thinner metal structure it starts to bend and eventually touches the rotating turbo. Long and shot it causes the turbo to go bad. The key to owning a hilux is proper maintenance and oil changes.
The ranger turbos are much inferior to the hilux turbo. They are garrets made in india. They are vnt also but are already troublesome. Op if i were you i woukd stick to the 2.5 non vnt hilux.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » May 24th, 2015, 8:52 am

i have a 2014 hilux , problem thus far van stalled for a clogged fuel filter which i was told was due to bad diesel entire tank had to come down to clean ( took 2 days in the company $3500 from my pocket ) , rotors warp at about 15xxx kms ( took a day ) , park light fuse was blown when i asked how the park light fuse blow couldn't get a answer ...

Maintenance cost is a bit high and down time for maintenance is a bit to long at toyota

Compared to a navara i had b4 , i will say the navara was a better van never had any problems with the navara only did oil and filter up to 100k

never owned the new ranger heard alot of stories bout the tranny going bad and the turbo idk if its tru , after this hilux i going back to the new navara

Postby Team Loco » May 24th, 2015, 11:13 am

We bought from the first batch of new model luxes. Had the rotor issue and after the first week the van stalled. This is when the van wasnt tuned for our diesel. But now half a million kms later she runs like new and works even harder. Once she crossed the 100,000kms mark, she just keeps going with minimal issues

nick69

Postby nick69 » May 24th, 2015, 2:23 pm

Thanks for the feedback guys. Anybody who had personal experiences with the new ranger is welcomed to comment.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » May 24th, 2015, 8:40 pm

I worked for a company that bought one of the 2013 2.2L manual 4x4 Rangers. As it was new it was kept in the hands of the more responsible drivers. First there was a noise from the gearbox that had to be fixed. Then some sensor kept stalling the van. Fixed that. Then the turbo went. Fixed that. Then the fuel pump went bad. Didn't bother fixing that. Just stopped paying and let them keep it.

The Hilux is a far more reliable vehicle but ypu have to chamge fuel filter often to keep it from clogging because of the quality of diesel. I prefer the L200s though. Very rugged and extremely reliable.

Postby pugboy » May 25th, 2015, 7:30 am

when you look at the older pickups on the road,
there are many l200's from TBE series still running good as ever
followed by the hilux from that generation also
after that hilux and Nissan take over sales

Postby Team Loco » May 25th, 2015, 8:27 pm

True. I had my sr5 "type" hilux from new. Had a lame 3L diesel. Instead of selling ten yrs later i just upgraded the engine. Best to keep these older models. Troublefree

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » May 28th, 2015, 7:02 am

Why not the new navara OP? i'm not in the market, nor am i an early adopter, but the new navara/frontier looks tempting. interested to see how the first batch holds out.

castortroy

Postby castortroy » May 28th, 2015, 9:15 pm

I have the 2013 with no problems to date, change oil filter and fuel filter religiously every 5k - not really a believer in "yeah dat oil filter good fuh 10,000 kms"

castortroy

Postby castortroy » May 28th, 2015, 9:15 pm

*hilux

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » May 28th, 2015, 9:53 pm

Do you change the oil when you change the filter as well?

castortroy

Postby castortroy » May 29th, 2015, 6:25 am

Yup!, also when i go for service i always ask to see the accumulation in the trap and its really bad most of the time, i know the filter cant save me from high water content so like every 3 fill-ups i drain the trap.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » May 29th, 2015, 6:50 am

castortroy wrote:Yup!, also when i go for service i always ask to see the accumulation in the trap and its really bad most of the time, i know the filter cant save me from high water content so like every 3 fill-ups i drain the trap.

I disagree with changing oil every 5000km though. Oil is a dwindling commodity so we must conserve it. Technology has given us oils capable of going to 7500, 10000 and even 15000 kms so changing soo early seems wasteful to me. What I used to do in the car was change the filter and just top up whatever oil was lost from the filter, usually les then a quart

castortroy

Postby castortroy » May 29th, 2015, 7:32 am

Toyopet wrote:
castortroy wrote:Yup!, also when i go for service i always ask to see the accumulation in the trap and its really bad most of the time, i know the filter cant save me from high water content so like every 3 fill-ups i drain the trap.

I disagree with changing oil every 5000km though. Oil is a dwindling commodity so we must conserve it. Technology has given us oils capable of going to 7500, 10000 and even 15000 kms so changing soo early seems wasteful to me. What I used to do in the car was change the filter and just top up whatever oil was lost from the filter, usually les then a quart

U ever had any issues doing this?

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » May 29th, 2015, 8:13 am

castortroy wrote:
Toyopet wrote:

U ever had any issues doing this?

Never. Sold the Corolla with 160,000 and it ran like new. Used to get a chirp of the tyres when I floored it around 30-40 kmh :D Doing on on both Sporteros though, I leave both the oil and filter str8 to 10,000km. One doing 93,000 and the other doing 133,000 with no issue

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » June 1st, 2015, 9:39 am

At the end of the day it all boils down to personal preference. I test drove the Hilux 3.0 and also the Ford 3.2. There are both features that I liked and disliked about the two trucks. Eventually went with the Ford and have not had a single issue thus far.

Postby pugboy » June 3rd, 2015, 8:26 pm

they all made in Thailand in factories a few blocks apart anyways

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » June 3rd, 2015, 9:21 pm

The ranger we get from ANSA Mc AL comes from south africa. Maska and M Rampersad get their rangers from thailand.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » June 3rd, 2015, 9:54 pm

True, I believe the ones from Thailand have better quality control also, hence no problems like the ones form Ansa

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”