EVENT: December slide-a-thon

Official Drifting Forum

Tsuchiya

EVENT: December slide-a-thon

Postby Tsuchiya » November 27th, 2007, 10:40 pm

Hear Ye!!! Hear Ye!!! The drift court will now be in session.
DWO is once again bringing to you a drift practice event on December 2nd, 2007 at the ARC compound.
Come see the local drift firm or even participate with your own vehicle.
There will be a training area for beginners, where you will be guided and instructed by the 'pros' ; as well as a proper-sized course for those that 'think' they know what they're doing LOL.
For those wanting to take part, the fee will be $40 per car and you can drift the evening away or until the spokes have hit the ground.
Due to the size of the track, there won't be any parking inside the venue unless you take part, and the viewing area, which is a freebie, will be restricted to certain parts of the course that have minimal danger or mostly outside the fence so that the danger is even less.
Please come out and show your support and enjoy an evening of noxious tyre smoke, sauteed clutches and adrenaline-inducing slides.

Facebook members can confirm attendance here:
http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=6634212226

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 28th, 2007, 5:50 am

once im free on sunday ill be there...

solo

Postby solo » November 28th, 2007, 7:36 am

Well laid out Tsuchiya. will try to make ah pass in if i'm not heading shark river..

Postby X_Factor » November 28th, 2007, 8:44 am

^^ parts of the road reall bad eh we were up there last 2 weekends...doh overload ur car or u will be in pressah!!

solo

Postby solo » November 28th, 2007, 9:53 am

X_Factor wrote:^^ parts of the road reall bad eh we were up there last 2 weekends...doh overload ur car or u will be in pressah!!

Big bike unit heading up there....
The drinks and pot toter should be a van...
I still contemplating though...not really feeling like riding that obstacle course for that long a period...

Postby X2 » November 28th, 2007, 10:03 am

heheh... sounds good... will try to make it... with a camera... :D

Rensh

Postby Rensh » November 28th, 2007, 2:04 pm

Sweeet. Something to do on Sunday. 8-)

carryman88

Postby carryman88 » November 28th, 2007, 4:13 pm

quick question...."beginners would be instructed by proz".....would beginners be using "proper" drift vehicles or would beginners be required to use their own rides?

turbohead

Postby turbohead » November 28th, 2007, 5:00 pm

soundin gud will be dere once i get a ride 2 go up. so if u reach early u will get a space inside????????

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » November 28th, 2007, 5:25 pm

carryman88 wrote:quick question...."beginners would be instructed by proz".....would beginners be using "proper" drift vehicles or would beginners be required to use their own rides?

they will be using their own vehicles

carryman88

Postby carryman88 » November 28th, 2007, 7:25 pm

kool....thanks man....sounds descent......will try 2 b there

Re: EVENT: December slide-a-thon

Postby MG Man » November 28th, 2007, 7:28 pm

Tsuchiya wrote: as well as a proper-sized course for those that 'think' they know what they're doing LOL.

have ah bodyshop and wrecker on speed dial :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

tunerman

Postby tunerman » November 28th, 2007, 9:41 pm

Tsuchiya wrote: as well as a proper-sized course for those that 'think' they know what they're doing LOL.

i think yall should just come out and say what u really mean.
well a wrecker is a good idea, also an ambulance, extinguishers, security to keep some control over those guys from doing donuts all over the circuit in and around other cars, maybe some judges, most importantly more participants.

so would there be other "pro" drifters besides the "drift king" kerry phillip?

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » November 28th, 2007, 10:10 pm

stones does really fly up in the side of ur car in arc

dream-carz

Postby dream-carz » November 28th, 2007, 10:34 pm

will be nice to have some judges and host a competition

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » November 28th, 2007, 10:50 pm

anyone willing to pick meh up in querepe or arima ? or san juan? :mrgreen:

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » November 29th, 2007, 12:03 am

dream-carz wrote:will be nice to have some judges and host a competition

I don't think we have enuff competitors with the necessary skills for a proper drift competition. Definitely for the future tho
And then Tandem battles should require a helmet and some safety conditions.

dream-carz

Postby dream-carz » November 29th, 2007, 1:21 am

tandem will look nice but track maybe too small, not sure

nigie

Postby nigie » November 29th, 2007, 2:00 pm

would be nice if someone would say what time its starting

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 29th, 2007, 2:03 pm

^ its a day of practice - you can go up there any time of the day - anytime after 11am is good for spectators - as with any motosport event

Postby MG Man » November 29th, 2007, 4:33 pm

*quietly waits for God to smile on my mechanic*

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » November 29th, 2007, 6:17 pm

MG Man wrote:*quietly waits for God to smile on my mechanic*

how much more work you have to do on it?? I know older british vehicles love to drip oil no matter how much silicone you use and if you're keeping it original, is worth a small mansion.

Postby MG Man » November 29th, 2007, 7:12 pm

two issues right now:
Water pump is being replaced....we got a replacement but the pulley flange was different. We tried to re-drill the old one and it shattered.....so I'm waiting on the machine shop to make one

Next: since I am not reusing the old viscous fan, I am hunting for something electric......but the fans need to be small because the radiator is smaller than average....something cheap and japanese :mrgreen:

In other news......the brake hoses need replacing....those have to be shipped from the UK :-(

Most of the UK drips come from the crankshaft seal.....it's basically a piece of string called a wick seal :shock:

lowlife

Postby lowlife » November 30th, 2007, 11:36 am

MG Man wrote:have ah bodyshop and wrecker on speed dial :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

^^^ :rofl:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 30th, 2007, 1:11 pm

MG Man wrote:t the crankshaft seal.....it's basically a piece of string called a wick seal :shock:

next thing you will tell us is that the flywheel made out of mahogany!
\
Sunday drifting should be GREAT!!!! 8-)

lowlife

Postby lowlife » November 30th, 2007, 2:12 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:next thing you will tell us is that the flywheel made out of mahogany!

^^ :lol: :lol:

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » November 30th, 2007, 4:00 pm

next thing you will tell us is that the flywheel made out of mahogany!

LOL :lol:

A trip to the f/used place got me an electric fan for $100. I took the dimensions of my radiator and got one closest to what I wanted. Replcing the stock viscous fan. I have it on a direct relay but with an off-switch for now.
Brakes hoses, IMO is better off if they're steel braided; and there're a number of places that'll redo your old hoses with steel braided lining reusing your old ends.
The wicker gasket....yeah I know about them, remember I have an older Rover too. Wait til you work on an old Leyland engine though, where you bolt the rear engine cover on and there's 2 small square-shaped holes for you to pack the wicker strips into. Most annoying concept to be put into production i swear

Postby wagonrunner » November 30th, 2007, 5:19 pm

i and d ppl not available eh

Postby MG Man » November 30th, 2007, 5:56 pm

Tsuchiya wrote:Brakes hoses, IMO is better off if they're steel braided; and there're a number of places that'll redo your old hoses with steel braided lining reusing your old ends.

I don't agree with re-suing old fittings, especially from a local supplier
Did it before, with a clutch hose, with less than ideal results....I'll stick with the UK supplier

so what is this about u an ah ole rover?

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » November 30th, 2007, 7:57 pm

^^oh ok, well we've never had any failures, even through continuous high hydraulic pressure.
I told you bout my ole Range Rover, sent u the specs.

Return to “TTDA - T&T Drift Association”