Postby sr20det » January 14th, 2010, 11:07 am

Advil wrote:
dream-carz wrote:yours truly, but we have things in place to get 2 more

you any good?

Your Almera any good?

Postby Monk BANzai » January 14th, 2010, 11:33 am

the man ask a aserious question. What makes Jodi good?.....any different from Kerri et al?

sr20det, your car may beat Advil with whatever you got tobo dong... But he will surprise you the Tasca bus that yu wud have given him was merely a car length with the performance of his Almera. Trust that.

dream-carz

Postby dream-carz » January 14th, 2010, 12:52 pm

the sport is in it's infancy so the availability of skilled drifters is limited, at least for now. but i will ask keri if he is willing to assist with training.

Postby MG Man » January 14th, 2010, 1:00 pm

I think helping ppl with setup is also invaluable
Strongly recommend the international tried and true method of classroom FIRST

As clearly indicated by many comments by users regarding drifting, too many are, for a lack of a better word, gladmen........

I would imagine novices or the canefield fuckarounders need to be schooled on basic vehicle dynamics:
weight transfer, centre of gravity, corner balance, effects of tyre pressure and damper settings on traction....hmm....what else.....lines, apexes.....relationship between acceleration, braking and weight transfer, and how they affect traction

Did I miss anything?

Postby Monk BANzai » January 14th, 2010, 1:03 pm

^^nope....and good notion Jodi. From the last practice session up arima, its clear we have the talent to make the sport very viable...just for the right channelling...

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » January 14th, 2010, 1:10 pm

Nice another question on a lighter note, how long a regular foreign-used tyre last in an drift event of this nature? Just wondering if the need for more tyres is there. I ain't no drifter at all but will never hurt to learn. Will email in bit.

Postby Razkal » January 14th, 2010, 1:40 pm

MG...just enroll the participants in a a level physics class...once they pay attention should be some useful knowledge :lol:

i not too excited bout the drift thing, but if a classroom session is in swing before, i'm definitely in, i prefer do the drift course without throwing traction out the window

Conrad

Postby Conrad » January 14th, 2010, 1:42 pm

Why do people always make things more complicated than necessary?

Postby MG Man » January 14th, 2010, 5:11 pm

Razkal wrote:MG...just enroll the participants in a a level physics class...once they pay attention should be some useful knowledge :lol:

i not too excited bout the drift thing, but if a classroom session is in swing before, i'm definitely in, i prefer do the drift course without throwing traction out the window

nuh man
that is basic basic stuff I posted there
Actually the whole idea of weight transfer is something all drivers shold be aware of
Similarly the tradeoff between straightline traction and cornering.....

pickup drivers in particular could use some of this

dream-carz

Postby dream-carz » January 15th, 2010, 12:37 pm

will, have a two part teaching class, first part will be theory, 2nd part- practical. one whole day

Postby wagonrunner » January 15th, 2010, 1:36 pm

Razkal wrote:MG...just enroll the participants in a a level physics class...once they pay attention should be some useful knowledge :lol:

nuh man
that is basic basic stuff I posted there
Actually the whole idea of weight transfer is something all drivers shold be aware of
Similarly the tradeoff between straightline traction and cornering.....

pickup drivers in particular could use some of this

Just run clips of initial D.
would hold their attention longer, and present the info in a manner they could relate to. applying it is ................... *locks........ reverses......... *

dream-carz

Postby dream-carz » January 15th, 2010, 4:30 pm

ok, you can send emails to jody@slidesyndicate.com, chris@slidesyndicate.com or gerrod@slidesyndicate.com.
Jody- President, Gerrod- VP, Chris- Treasurer,

website soon to come

Postby X2 » January 16th, 2010, 9:22 am

However I would not be prepared to risk my vehicle and my personal safety..............

whatever you guys want to take from this, feel free

Don't wwant to downplay the safety factors involved... but I find it funny about the risk to vehicle and personal when talking about drifiting.... that's akin to the risks in rallying. :idea:

dream-carz

Postby dream-carz » January 18th, 2010, 11:42 am

TriniGT wrote:Nice another question on a lighter note, how long a regular foreign-used tyre last in an drift event of this nature? Just wondering if the need for more tyres is there. I ain't no drifter at all but will never hurt to learn. Will email in bit.

From my experience, a new tyre lasts 3-4 times longer than a foreign used tyre. Good/ great tyres in front and many used tyres for the rear.

Tuner Imports

Postby Tuner Imports » January 18th, 2010, 11:52 am

That may be because most of our new tyres here are higher treadwear than what comes in foreign used...We have used new 240 treadwear tyres and they only lasted 12 minutes...where as foreign used gives 10-12 minutes...High treadwear tyres rocks... :mrgreen:

dream-carz

Postby dream-carz » January 18th, 2010, 12:06 pm

i have seen foreign used tyres shell out big chunks on the first pass. but true, most foreign used have a little lower treadwear. it depends on the location too. For example, ARC usually kills my tyres with two runs as opposed to camden where one set last 4-5 runs (foreign used)

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » January 18th, 2010, 12:31 pm

walk with a tyre changer or 4 sets of rims with tyres :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

A drift event should have something for people to change tyres if they brought....just a thought

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » January 18th, 2010, 12:45 pm

Slide Syndicate, nice could have dropped the 'S' on both words and leave the S-curve for both words. Nice work anyways Jody. Leh meh try and locate some OEM wheels and throw on some f-used tyres.

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » January 18th, 2010, 1:06 pm

TriniGT wrote:Slide Syndicate, nice could have dropped the 'S' on both words and leave the S-curve for both words. Nice work anyways Jody. Leh meh try and locate some OEM wheels and throw on some f-used tyres.

nah man everyting cool wit it....its jus that it cud probaly only go on a black background....or yuh cud encircle it within the black background to keep the look

i eh bad talking it eh.....is constructive criticism
Last edited by ShIvAm on January 19th, 2010, 9:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

Paradoxx

Postby Paradoxx » January 18th, 2010, 1:34 pm

I would love to come along to assist with photography if needed.

dream-carz

Postby dream-carz » January 18th, 2010, 2:18 pm

true, the first design had that but we want "SS" to be synonymous with Slide Syndicate. So this is version 1 of the logo.

Just informed that we have a all clear for Drifting on Jan 31st- BYCC.
Will have teaching sessions on that day. More details soon to follow!!

moti

Postby moti » January 19th, 2010, 9:02 am

:P :P

_moti_

Postby _moti_ » January 19th, 2010, 9:02 am

:P :P

exia_sir

Postby exia_sir » January 19th, 2010, 5:41 pm

ahhh ...now i have a reason to buy a RWD car

skyline dett

Postby skyline dett » January 20th, 2010, 9:20 pm

Jody good start i in that you have my full support :elephant:

dream-carz

Postby dream-carz » January 21st, 2010, 11:22 am

please, all interested persons email requests to the email addresses given. pm's are difficult to track

matthew2730

Postby matthew2730 » January 29th, 2010, 8:42 pm

where is this event being held.....b/c i jus saw a PM is solodex on 31st jan in ARC or where is the diftin event!!!!

Return to “TTDA - T&T Drift Association”