Best Clutch??? need help

Posted: February 6th, 2011, 6:53 pm
by Death-Row
wanted to know whats the best clutch for my application/budget. its for a s14, black top slant back turbo. engine wise, the car is bone stock, stock power etc. i will increase power in the very near future tho. not crossing 400hp

the car drives at least 3 times a week. im not worried about stiffness of clutch, just dont want that stiffness to damage anything in the car. i had an ACT extreme setup in my evo and every week i was changing rubbers in the clutch master cylinder. dont wanna go through that again.

lookin for a clutch around the $3000 budget. give or take. want one that can take the jamming of drifting.

whats recommended?

Re: Best Clutch??? need help

Posted: February 6th, 2011, 7:27 pm
by dry
sorry to say but at $3000, ACT heavy duty + 6puck is your only option.

If you can find it used, a single or twin disc clutch (ORC, os giken, nismo, cusco) will be perfect.

Posted: February 6th, 2011, 9:45 pm
by Death-Row
dry, a friend of mine told me you had a used clutch setup for sale, whats the type, condition and price?

also, how is the heavy duty act setup for drifting? i really dont wanna be changing clutches every 3 months, so if i gotta save more cash, for something much better, i guess ill have to do that but if the ACT is doable for a beginner drifter, i dont mind throwing it in for the time.

Posted: February 6th, 2011, 10:17 pm
by dry
yeah i have a used ACT HD and 6 puck --> /viewtopic.php?f=6&t=354688

the ACT is more than doable for drifting. it'll handle clutch kicks just fine. riding the clutch is the biggest killer.

Posted: February 6th, 2011, 10:57 pm
by Death-Row
aight man, thanks for the info. might give you a call to find out more about ur sale.

so far the heavy duty sounds like a nice compromise for now. hoping to get this done early this week, so unless anyone else has another solution that sounds doable, ACT HD it is lol

Posted: February 10th, 2011, 9:48 pm
by Death-Row
thanks for the help dry. i went with a brand new heavy duty PP, clutch and release bearing. currently breaking it in.

hoping to get into the drift scene once its broken in.

Posted: February 15th, 2011, 5:37 pm
by Swiftman_Reid
The Fidanza Setup from Tunerimports is a great option for 3000tt FYI

maybe in the future.

and break in doh take too long......

Posted: February 16th, 2011, 1:56 am
by Death-Row
not really getting to drive the car, so break in taking a while lol.

how much KM do you guys recommend for the break in? im trying to get some traffic conditions, stop and go type to help with the break in. as i was advised.

also, ive been doing alot of research on clutches for drifting and i know the ACT heavy duty setup isnt the best but i just wanna get my feet wet for now in the drifting scene. when this setup gives away, ill go with something better.

once this clutch is broken in tho, ill give it a try lol. RWD here i come

Posted: February 16th, 2011, 9:10 am
by Swiftman_Reid
Let me give you some info from experience.

i have used a stock clutch in the s14 and it works. I have beat it for a few months and when i took down the box the clutch was like brand new. it was used even at the last drift event. just don't try and clutch kit at low rpm.

the thing with a good drift clutch is that you want something that will grab every time. slippage is really not a good thing. what you want to be able to do is in a straight be rolling in second, clutch kit while pressing throttle and spin the back tires. it takes some getting used to. roasting the whole of second till you match the speed on the speedo is pretty cool.

i broke in two clutches already. so from experience don't launch the car but also don't ride the clutch when you change gears come off the clutch quickly this will help the clutch get accustomed to the grab. What really needs to happen is the clutch needs to sit in to the pressure plate and flywheel.

We broke in clutches in a night. just playing through the gears going down the south hi-way. reach at the bottom let the car cool then go again. a repetition of that and you've covered 200km.

The recommended minimum break in is 500km of normal driving for a aftermarket clutch. but the driving and cooling is basically what you want.

Initially the clutch pedal should feel really hard and then in a few day get softer. That means the pressure plate is breaking in. all these are good signs. you may have to adjust the pedal when your done depending on your preference. I prefer a low pedal easy to clutch kick.

So that's what i could say maybe some may agree or disagree but it is what worked for me and it was my experience.

All learn't as a DWO member.

thas how i press...

Posted: February 16th, 2011, 11:58 am
by Death-Row
hmmm, nice info. i know alot about setups for drag racing but im trying to wipe my mind clean and learn what is needed for drifting now.

i myself used to break in my clutches on the south highway.

also, ill keep in mind not to clutch kick at low RPMs.

Posted: April 8th, 2011, 1:22 pm
by turbosingh
Say no to Findanza it no good,i had it on my Sr20Det an it gave me 3mths,bought from Tuner Imports!

Posted: April 9th, 2011, 1:19 am
by Death-Row
gots the heavy duty ACT setup in since this post. so far so good. havent really done much drift practice tho, CANT FIND A DAMN PLACE TO PRACTICE LEGALLY lol.

Posted: April 17th, 2011, 10:58 pm
by type r
did you get the the disc with springs or without ?

Posted: April 18th, 2011, 1:44 am
by Death-Row
they only had the disc with the springs at the time and i needed one urgent since the gearbox was already dropped. so i got the disc with the springs. so far so good. didnt really do any hard core drifting as yet, mostly practice and its holding up nice.

as said above tho, this clutch was chosen based on budget and current power of the car. thinking when ever this clutch goes, ill be aiming for something along the lines of OGR, CUSCO or something along those lines due to reviews online and personal reviews locally, also i may also go up in power soon if i still have the car.

Posted: April 18th, 2011, 12:07 pm
by turbosingh
Try an stay with the single plate clutch unless yuh have the paper to buy twin or triple disk clutch set up.I had the OS Giken twin disk on my A31 Rb25DET with big box which supposed to be strong but due to how fierce the clamping force it damages the synchromesh causing the gears to grate.I rebuilt it an it works fine,but it is costly.

Posted: April 18th, 2011, 9:37 pm
by Death-Row
yea, saw some nice single plate setups from the above companies i listed. wont go twin unless the power requires it and i highly doubt ill be going that kinda power.

thanks for the input tho. good info.

Posted: November 18th, 2011, 2:04 pm
by HoNdA-HoE
thanks for sharing your views... i mean, i have a fwd car... but the stuff you are talking about is educational none the less...

Reasons I Love Tuner!

Posted: December 1st, 2011, 12:39 am
by Death-Row
niceee. so its getting closer to the time where my clutch goes lol. it feels great in the car so far since no power was added as yet. no slipping etc. for some reason tho, i always buy a clutch beginning of the year and it goes at the end of the year, so im keeping my fingers crossed for this one hahhahah. will keep you guys updated.

Posted: February 25th, 2012, 8:59 pm
by rocco
ORC 409 or OS giken single plate save yr money pedal softer than stock

Posted: March 23rd, 2012, 11:04 am
by Tsuneyoshi Takuwa
Hello. My name is Tsuneyoshi Takuwa from Japan. I am working at NISSAN dealer and I am doing drift in Japan. so I have a knowledge and experience about how to make a drift machines. well I think if you hope to 400HP, you should get more cheap. but if you will get a bad quarity clutch perhaps the transmission will broken. I'm sorry for I am not native English speaker so my English maybe funny. but I'll do my best. Anyways if you wanna buy the clutch in Japan. you can get more cheap price. when you need some information from me, please contact me.
Thank you.
Tsuneyoshi Takuwa.

Posted: April 3rd, 2012, 11:02 pm
by Death-Row
nicee, will do.

btw, yup, OS or ORC as my next clutch, so far so good with current setup tho.

Posted: January 8th, 2013, 1:46 pm
by turbosingh
So which clutch u ended up with?