Page 1 of 2

Karting Sept 6th

Posted: August 21st, 2009, 9:20 am
by LEEding-Edge28
Next race event for the TTKA will be held on the 6th of september. Last event was full of action and plenty of offs due to the new track and wet conditions. The track continues to improve and lap times will drop as more rubber gets laid down. See you in arima

Posted: August 21st, 2009, 2:41 pm
by tr1ad
any raincoats available?

Posted: August 22nd, 2009, 4:09 pm
by saltydog
if it was anything like the last event it should be real good, looking forward to it

Posted: August 24th, 2009, 8:32 am
by LEEding-Edge28
it will be better. more karts on the track and 2 old..... i mean very experienced racers coming out to start karting

Posted: August 24th, 2009, 9:47 am
by tr1ad
i hear they trying to fit an evo engine in one...is that true

Posted: August 24th, 2009, 9:52 am
by LEEding-Edge28
well they are gonna need it to push that amount of weight :lol:

Posted: August 24th, 2009, 10:41 am
by saltydog
you know some people say its hard to swim with concrete boots

Posted: August 24th, 2009, 11:33 am
by LEEding-Edge28
Castrol LEEding-Edge #30 rotax masters?

Posted: August 24th, 2009, 12:41 pm
by Yorkshirelass
Thanks for organising my number!!! :lol:

Posted: August 24th, 2009, 1:14 pm
by tr1ad
LEEding-Edge28 wrote:Castrol LEEding-Edge #30 rotax masters?

yuh kno i just gave you that idea

Posted: August 24th, 2009, 1:46 pm
by LEEding-Edge28
for others its just hard to swim ............tr1ad :twisted:

Posted: August 24th, 2009, 2:23 pm
by saltydog
I wonder if anyone else reads this forum yet?

Posted: August 24th, 2009, 3:43 pm
by tr1ad
good point

Posted: August 29th, 2009, 10:18 am
by DEVI
hmmmm....

Posted: August 31st, 2009, 1:30 am
by Zorak
saltydog wrote:I wonder if anyone else reads this forum yet?

jus found it tonight! took too long for karting to have it's own forum i think. imagine RC had one before karting

time for the karting folks to come and tell us about the sport a bit i think
how to get into it, prices etc.

Posted: August 31st, 2009, 6:07 pm
by LEEding-Edge28
ask and you shall receive lol

Posted: September 1st, 2009, 10:45 am
by saltydog
well he did ask and by the sounds of your answer he did not receive :lol:

Posted: September 1st, 2009, 10:50 am
by tr1ad
well is he leeding or trailing

Posted: September 1st, 2009, 1:43 pm
by LEEding-Edge28
well u tell him tell him salty dog. i hear you just signed up for 2. lol
prices can vary from $10,000 tt to as much as $90,000. all depends on what class you want to race in. 100cc can be from $10-$30 k 125cc rotax will range from $18-$50k and the shifters even more. that is just for the kart (chassis and engine) ready to run. you still need safety gear and tyres from there to start. And you get what you pay for. Keep in mind there are some great deals just in trinidad alone.

come out to the event on Sunday and ask around. all the karters will be happy to guide you along and help you to get involved

Posted: September 1st, 2009, 1:55 pm
by tr1ad
Lee....can you point me in the direction of getting a kart..or who to check

Posted: September 1st, 2009, 1:57 pm
by LEEding-Edge28
wha u wanna race?

Posted: September 1st, 2009, 2:18 pm
by tr1ad
possibly....maybe forming a team....

what are the age brackets / class

Posted: September 1st, 2009, 2:36 pm
by LEEding-Edge28
idk them off hand but check out the rules and regulations at www.ttkarting.com
minimum age is 7 and there is no max.....so you can still race :lol:

Posted: September 1st, 2009, 8:46 pm
by Yorkshirelass
tr1ad, check Saltydog after Sunday, he may have one to sell!!!!

Posted: September 1st, 2009, 8:59 pm
by tr1ad
hahahahhsahshahahahhaha

Posted: September 2nd, 2009, 7:47 am
by saltydog
hahahahahahaha not funny

Posted: September 2nd, 2009, 8:46 am
by SUPAstarr
Jus off the top of any of the participants head, what is the avg cost of maintaining, and runnin a kart for racing?

Posted: September 2nd, 2009, 11:56 pm
by carfreak
Which part in Arima dey having it ? So 2 QUESTIONS how much u hah to pay to come in or so and wherez it @ in Arima need directions to get there can PM if daz d case. been wanting to go to an event 4 d longest time nuh been away for too long. Also bring food and drinks or what? dey go have dat provided?

Posted: September 3rd, 2009, 8:28 am
by LEEding-Edge28
maintaining a kart is a lot like maintaining anything. if you take the time to do the little things from the start its a hell of a lot cheaper than waiting for it to break. tyres cost about $1300-$1400 per set and we use a set every meet. race fuel and other lubes about $300 per meet and i believe entry is $200 per meet. SO roughly we will say about $2000 per race. unfortunately the cost of going fast isnt cheap, but compared to running an evo at rally which is about $10,000 per event, it doesnt seem that bad.

As for the carfreak: Entry is FREE and coolers are welcome. There is supposed to be a caterer. The racing is held in the carpark of ARC (the horse racing track). all the club ask is that you park your vehicle outside the gate

Posted: September 5th, 2009, 11:36 am
by slick
what time is it starting?