www.4thclassexplorers.com

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

CD4Accord

Re: 4th Class Explorers - did it again pg.8

Postby CD4Accord » May 18th, 2010, 12:41 pm

Also interesting on that run is that they have fire towers up in the forest... each is about 50 ft high so you climb it and get a stunning panoramic view in all directions....

Im not 100% sure how far up vehicles can make it, because the path splits a few times when we hiked it but its definitely worth it for a short run... Could be incorporated into some other short runs in the area like the old mission road from Rampanalgas to Mission Toco.. I think its called Ravine Anglais...

If any of you offroaders want some very detailed maps, I have some courtesy the oil and gas companies and I normally use that to plan routes etc...

Postby 3stagevtec » May 18th, 2010, 11:09 pm

CD4Accord wrote:If any of you offroaders want some very detailed maps, I have some courtesy the oil and gas companies and I normally use that to plan routes etc...

Can you PM me some more information on the maps? Are they in digital format and where are you from.. I know some guys who would be pretty interested in this as well..

Thanks

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 18th, 2010, 11:31 pm

send it to me as well - thanks

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 19th, 2010, 3:00 am

Those maps arnet exactly free access considering I need to get them custom printed from the companies... Good old fashion roll up giant sized maps
When next i'm in the country I will see how many I can get printed.. When I ask for 1 or 2 they dont charge me, but when I start asking for bulk they have to know is not for my wall...

I'll look into possible pricing on the maps..

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 19th, 2010, 6:53 am

Ok juss do one we will make copies after

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » May 20th, 2010, 12:46 pm

any plans for this weekend or the next?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 20th, 2010, 11:16 pm

how about the monde diablo run - think it reach grade2 or 3?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 21st, 2010, 12:50 am

Alyuh have anything planned say July/August when nex I in the country? Time to bring out the pajero (possibly after I give it an extra 3PSI just for oomph!)..

Anyway, that would be a real ideal time to bring out my huge maps... I just wish them things came in the fold up variety and not the roll out kind...

Postby 3stagevtec » May 21st, 2010, 1:10 am

civic minded wrote:how about the monde diablo run - think it reach grade2 or 3?

I have a friend who lives down that side, will ask him what the conditions look like around his area.. To be honest, I strongly suspect it is still in a grade 0.5 state...

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 21st, 2010, 6:41 am

Even after all that rain??? That ground was real hard too

mazdaspeed6254

Postby mazdaspeed6254 » May 21st, 2010, 7:44 am

CD4Accord wrote:Alyuh have anything planned say July/August when nex I in the country? Time to bring out the pajero (possibly after I give it an extra 3PSI just for oomph!)..

Anyway, that would be a real ideal time to bring out my huge maps... I just wish them things came in the fold up variety and not the roll out kind...

we don't have any plans yet but when you get here we will do something..
just holla about a week before...

Postby SmokeyGTi » May 21st, 2010, 8:08 am

water doh get in allyuh diff an thing when you guys do this?
just wondering, never offoroaded b4..

droppa

Postby droppa » May 21st, 2010, 8:31 am

most diff breathers are valves and should be checked and serviced frequently if doing serious off-roading especially water crossings, they can also be extended if you have a lift kit, or find that they are suspect of taking in any of the elements of off-roading

Cool water causes air in diff to contract, sucking in whatever is near the breather opening: Water,Mud,Dust,etc.
If your breather is blocked or too restrictive, the elements can be sucked through the seals-that's really bad!

mazdaspeed6254

Postby mazdaspeed6254 » May 21st, 2010, 11:05 am

guys let's get together and work on extending our diff breather.....
contact me via email as i'm on the road and not by a pc...

jerrol.qualitypools@gmail.com

Postby 3stagevtec » May 21st, 2010, 1:51 pm

civic minded wrote:Even after all that rain??? That ground was real hard too

I know of a 4x2 single cab long tray Frontier, the one's with no weight at the rear, that make it through the trail recently..

Remember too the that the trail got its former Grade 3 rating not just from the mud but from all the deep ruts it had.. I doubt it would reach back to that point anytime soon..

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » May 21st, 2010, 6:12 pm

SmokeyGTi wrote:Image

water doh get in allyuh diff an thing when you guys do this?
just wondering, never offoroaded b4..

i am not too sure where the breather for the front diff is but i know the one for the back is almost at the height of the top of the tire.

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » May 24th, 2010, 11:17 am

any plans for the long weekend?

mazdaspeed6254

Postby mazdaspeed6254 » May 24th, 2010, 11:27 am

madman2961 wrote:any plans for the long weekend?

well i was going to ask the same question....
allyuh say something na.

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » May 24th, 2010, 11:36 am

but what the jail is this the man who does make he plans wandering what to do ... well i suggest Morne Diablo again. just like what civic_minded pushing for. what you think of that? if not then Las Cuevas LOL!!!

Postby 3stagevtec » May 24th, 2010, 12:06 pm

madman2961 wrote:but what the jail is this the man who does make he plans wandering what to do ... well i suggest Morne Diablo again. just like what civic_minded pushing for. what you think of that? if not then Las Cuevas LOL!!!

I tellin alyuh, Morne Diablo will not be much of a challenge.. Unless you just looking for a scenic relaxing drive, i'd suggest elsewhere for a challenge..

Just don't ask me where 'elsewhere' is..

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » May 24th, 2010, 1:42 pm

3stagevtec wrote:
madman2961 wrote:but what the jail is this the man who does make he plans wandering what to do ... well i suggest Morne Diablo again. just like what civic_minded pushing for. what you think of that? if not then Las Cuevas LOL!!!

I tellin alyuh, Morne Diablo will not be much of a challenge.. Unless you just looking for a scenic relaxing drive, i'd suggest elsewhere for a challenge..

i was now about to do so, but what do you think of Las Cuevas Trail??

mazdaspeed6254

Postby mazdaspeed6254 » May 25th, 2010, 7:39 am

las cuevas trail??? not sure whats the condition now with the couple of showers we had. last time i was there it was dry it had cars driving tru. what day we loking at???? as i'll be heading up maracus side sunday around lunch time staying over night and leaving monday... so let me know.

PS. MadMan email me jerrol.qualitypools@gmail.com A.S.A.P.

Postby 3stagevtec » May 25th, 2010, 12:34 pm

mazdaspeed6254 wrote:las cuevas trail??? not sure whats the condition now with the couple of showers we had. last time i was there it was dry it had cars driving tru. what day we loking at???? as i'll be heading up maracus side sunday around lunch time staying over night and leaving monday... so let me know.

PS. MadMan email me jerrol.qualitypools@gmail.com A.S.A.P.

subliminal advertising??

Postby 3stagevtec » May 25th, 2010, 1:19 pm

Yunno, it have plenty rain in south!!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 25th, 2010, 10:02 pm

scout run?

Postby 3stagevtec » May 26th, 2010, 6:12 am

civic minded wrote:scout run?

anytime you ready... :wink:

Cooper

Postby Cooper » May 26th, 2010, 2:27 pm

Hey Fellas, was just reading through this thread and noticed that you all want to plan a run this weekend. I got this notice yesterday and I think for safety reasons you should plan around the weather....see below:

Trinidad and Tobago issues landslide warning
Tuesday, May 18 2010 @ 03:00 PM AST

The Meteorological Service has advised through its 10:15 am Information Bulletin that soil instability/soil movement can occur in areas along the hillsides in the Northern Range in Trinidad and the Main Ridge in Tobago. If rainfall, similar to what was experienced over the last 24 hours, continues for an extended period of time, there is the increased possibility of soil movement/soil instability in these aforementioned areas.

In light of the foregoing, the Office of Disaster Preparedness and Management (ODPM) advises citizens to review their preparedness measures in order to safeguard the lives of their families and their property. Here are some advisory tips:-

• Be cautious when walking or driving near slopes in these areas

• Look for changes to your surroundings that may signal the likelihood of any landslide activity

After a landslide,

• Remember that flooding may occur

• Stay away from the slide area; there may be danger of additional slides

• Remember to help your neighbours or those who may have been affected.

The ODPM continues to reiterate that Trinidad and Tobago is now actively in the period of heightened hydro-meteorological activity and therefore, persons are to remain vigilant and take the necessary measures to safeguard their families and valuables.

If you have been the victim of any hazard impact (flooding or soil movement/landslides), please contact your regional corporation or the ODPM at 800 ODPM.

The situation is being monitored and the public will be advised accordingly.

bt50

Postby bt50 » May 27th, 2010, 7:32 am

3stagevtec wrote:

3stagevtec ...my 2cents

Dont ever underestimate the severity of a trail. The comments that morneDiablo will not be much of a challenge could quickly become your worst nightmare. You have been there with us last December and saw that it took hours to negotiate the ruts and obstacles. Whilst the trail was graded and easily passble when we visited in March...no one knows what has happended since.

most of the you guys are scouting trails but long and short your vehicles are not fully equipped - no muds terrains, no winches, limited recovery gear, limited ground clearance etc. however you keep mentioning that you are looking for challenging trails. I know that challenging could mean mud, ruts, obstacle courses or combination of the foregoing

Please note that im not bashing anyone but safety is just paramount. Walk the trail before entering/going further.

Whatever you guys do this weekend...just be safe...the rains are here.

Peace out

droppa

Postby droppa » May 27th, 2010, 8:13 am

and sunday is supposed to have some showers throughtout the country...

Postby 3stagevtec » May 28th, 2010, 10:41 am

bt50 wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:

3stagevtec ...my 2cents

Dont ever underestimate the severity of a trail. The comments that morneDiablo will not be much of a challenge could quickly become your worst nightmare. You have been there with us last December and saw that it took hours to negotiate the ruts and obstacles. Whilst the trail was graded and easily passble when we visited in March...no one knows what has happended since.

most of the you guys are scouting trails but long and short your vehicles are not fully equipped - no muds terrains, no winches, limited recovery gear, limited ground clearance etc. however you keep mentioning that you are looking for challenging trails. I know that challenging could mean mud, ruts, obstacle courses or combination of the foregoing

Please note that im not bashing anyone but safety is just paramount. Walk the trail before entering/going further.

Whatever you guys do this weekend...just be safe...the rains are here.

Peace out

i wouldn't say 'no one'.. :lol:

Return to “Off Road Runs”