Page 1 of 2

Morne Diablo Trail Update

Posted: May 28th, 2010, 2:36 pm
by 3stagevtec
This is what the trail looks like at the moment, well, kinda.. It's only after I reach home I realized I took more pics of my van than of the trail condition.

You should get a pretty good idea of what it's like still though..

Trail is approximately 7kms in total, in and out..

The guys at the wash bay started bawling when they see the Vitara.. :lol:

Plenty mud - Yes
Possibility of getting stuck - Yes
Mud Terrain Tyres - Not necessary
Recovery Tools - Necessary
Danger - Low
4x4 - A Must!

Re: Morne Diablo Trail Update

Posted: May 28th, 2010, 3:22 pm
by speedaholic
wayss! dem fellas goh like dey self yes..! sigh.. i want a 4x4! grrr! :\

Posted: May 28th, 2010, 5:35 pm
by civic minded
alllright ! when we goin?

Posted: May 28th, 2010, 7:24 pm
by lighthammer
LAWD! de mud monster came alive and was crawling into your car, it look like!

Looks like an awesome muddy trail - hope you got ur M/T's!

Posted: May 28th, 2010, 7:46 pm
by CD4Accord
I not surprised at the condition.... Thats a mud tyres sort of scene at the moment....

Anyway, would be nice to get it in-between.. Not bone dry but not slushy clay like that

Posted: May 28th, 2010, 10:09 pm
by venum
Diesel Boyz, do we attempt :?:

I want to go :!:

Posted: May 28th, 2010, 11:02 pm
by civic minded
you should do it soon - more rain and it will definitely reach grade 3 -

Posted: May 28th, 2010, 11:25 pm
by 3stagevtec
Please note that the trail is NOT for your average / inexperienced off roader.. the chances of getting stuck is high and if a group is going, someone with a winch should be present, for safety purposes..

It will be really difficult to rescue stuck vehicles because of the overall lack of traction, hence the need for a winch. If / when you guys do attempt it, just take your time and keep the overall speed down, it is possible to slide off the trail if you go fast.

(side note, there are a few residents in the area that own tractors and they are quite friendly. ask them for a contact number and if they are willing to help out in case of emergency)

Mud Terrains are not necessary, I made it through with my 215/70R16 Terra Tracs and never got stuck.. Just make sure your ATs are not worn out..

Sorry, but I wouldn't be attempting this trail again anytime soon, the guys at the wash bay really took their time to wash my van and they gave me one helluva good under wash!! The Vitara looks brand new and because of that I really don't want to get it dirty anytime soon.. you guys know the feeling..

enjoy..

Posted: May 28th, 2010, 11:29 pm
by 3stagevtec
civic minded wrote:you should do it soon - more rain and it will definitely reach grade 3 -

it's not really the rain, but when the tractors pass through a few times and dig up the route that it will reach the grade 3 rating.. and that will not take long considering how soft the ground is getting..

Posted: May 29th, 2010, 11:16 am
by civic minded
who want to make a run on sunday? -

where is the wash bay you went too?

Posted: May 29th, 2010, 1:00 pm
by jhonnieblue
ditto on that, my van need a underwash too

Posted: May 29th, 2010, 4:11 pm
by 3stagevtec
I went to RONS in Duncan Village.. The guy took 4 hours just to do the under and body wash.. but I really didn't mind the wait because he did an excellent job!

Of course, other places can do the same job in alot less time.. so..

I would suggest you guys make the run soon, because the trail can get dug up quite easily.. and take plenty pics when you do!

Posted: May 29th, 2010, 8:47 pm
by Slack
Good vids!!! This trail looking real nice.... but recovery equipment is a must!!!

Posted: May 30th, 2010, 7:59 am
by lighthammer
Suzuki POWAH!!!

Posted: May 30th, 2010, 8:30 am
by madcoolieboy
hmmmmmm............looks niceeeeee!!!!!!! buh i doubt them chupid bridgestone a/t thing i have goin an function in that terrain....

Posted: May 30th, 2010, 10:01 am
by civic minded
I have the same terra trac as 3stagevtec have - so i should make it - i won't go there alone without recovery gear or a winch.

Posted: May 30th, 2010, 10:43 am
by madman2961
civic minded just remember that the weight of your vehicle is more that his ...

Posted: May 30th, 2010, 10:47 am
by madcoolieboy
civic wha size ah rimz yuh have on yur ranger??

Posted: May 30th, 2010, 11:34 am
by 3stagevtec
madman2961 wrote:civic minded just remember that the weight of your vehicle is more that his ...

what is the weight of those pickups?

the curb weight on my van is 3197 lbs. (1450 kg.)

Posted: May 30th, 2010, 12:46 pm
by civic minded
mines is 17' rims - 17/65/255
i think the weight is about the same

i really want to make this run - madman and mazdaspeed - alyah up to it?

Posted: May 30th, 2010, 3:12 pm
by venum
i wanna go too, but not gonna even attempt without proper recovery gear

i want to know how my Toyo Open Country A/T hold out

for those with pretty big rims and street tyres, I would advise that you get a spare set of rims and some mud tyres

15" rims - best to get tyres for

Posted: May 30th, 2010, 6:58 pm
by madcoolieboy
Fellas stop bitchin!!!! is either we goin or not..... as i go put it go hard or go home so wa we go do!!?

for all those who cud make and up to it..... SYKO in.... let me know where the meet is.

Posted: May 30th, 2010, 7:10 pm
by civic minded
dude - your not listening - you need to be prepared to go this trail - i did it already before the rain start and there is alot of trees (check 4thGrade Explorers for pics) so someone with a winch would be usefull. If you get stuck - chances are for someone to pull you out would be low unless someone in the neighborhood with a tractor can take you out.
If we can get some of the guys form TTORC to join us then we should be safe

Posted: May 30th, 2010, 7:15 pm
by madcoolieboy
fineeeeeeeeee.........................ok then allyuh decide..let me know...ah go PM allyuh mih no. send me a text or something..might not be home to chek 2nr later..

Posted: May 30th, 2010, 8:35 pm
by Rutless Tiida
So far it looks like 3 and none of use have enough gear come on ppl let me know if you are available for the 31.5.10. How I wish James could go then it really would get interesting.

Posted: May 30th, 2010, 8:44 pm
by civic minded
if james going - then i going for sure - right now -kinda iffy - nobody have james number?

Posted: May 30th, 2010, 9:35 pm
by DooMRR
3stagevtec wrote:

Like allyuh didn't see who was driving in his 3rd video or what?

Posted: May 30th, 2010, 9:54 pm
by Slack
My tyres won't do sheit there. Threads low... I have a recovery kit, but a winch is needed. Going to upgrade soon so I will definately like to attempt then... I suggest we plan for this, because this trail will be sticky!!!

Posted: May 30th, 2010, 11:41 pm
by civic minded
check the 4thclass explorers thread - we went thro this when it was dry and it have some semi deep ruts along the way - you have to be carefull going thro this when wet - if someone can contact Anil and rest of the guys from TTORC and asked them to go along with us - then we should be good - those guys have recovery gear to the max

Posted: May 31st, 2010, 12:22 am
by Rutless Tiida
Guys I think I will have to pull out for tomorrow. No experienced guys are up to it and non of the newbies have a winch so everyone be safe and don't do any foolishness.