Wednesday, May 22nd, 2013

- It is currently Wed May 22, 2013 4:01 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Jump to:  

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 122 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
lighthammer
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 7:59 pm 

de man airdong dey bai rene :D

I actually did air-down after i attempted jeremy's slippery hill and that treacherous corner where I nearly slid off - that surely helped though...

Side B: Keep On Truckin' !

civic minded
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 9:28 pm 

i was contemplating doing that eh but i know i will lose ride height. i figure i leave it for last resort

lighthammer
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 11:34 pm 

ranger powah!!!

Tar Baby
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 11:45 pm 

Whey this looked like it was a real bess run boy.
I kinda fraid I make a fool of myself :oops:

How novice friendly is this lighthammer?

lighthammer
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 12:49 am 

umm... it'll take some help for novices to get through, but it's driveable.

We'll be along the way to guide and help, you just need to go strong and be confident.
We learned a lot from the trailblazer off-roaders, they gave us loads of tips.

Because of them, esp. the bearded guy, i was able to get down a very slippery hill while another Navara and a Hilux went crashing into a ditch to the side of that hill.

And don't worry about making a fool of yourself man - when my Navara was only 3-weeks old (hadn't even made the first payment yet!1) I took it off-roading in Blanchisseuse on highway tyres... and got stuck in a VERY EPIC way. Suffice it to say I was scared sh!tless that i wouldn't be able to get out (though it wasn't a very hard stuck-point, now that I look back in retrospect) but thank goodness for the other guys who helped out.

If you wanna come on a run with us, you just hadda be prepared (i.e. working vehicle with good all terrain tyres,4x4 optional most of the time) and have an open mind, plus be ready for adventure!! But don't worry though, we won't pressure you into something you're not comfortable doing, nor would we push you beyond your comfort level. After all, most of our vehicles are stock-level, we're not professionals like the TrailBlazers or TTORC.
We have no shame in turning back - in fact most of our runs have been so hard we had to turn back more than a few times!! (but we had sh!tloads of fun doing it though :D :D )

PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 1:04 am 

lighthammer wrote:
We have no shame in turning back - in fact most of our runs have been so hard we had to turn back more than a few times!! (but we had sh!tloads of fun doing it though :D :D )

but they made for some epic stories! scroll through the Side B thread in the Truck forum too see what the previous runs were like.

feel free to fall in any time!

lighthammer
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 1:13 am 

next three mods to the Navara (in no particular order)

1. CarSearch
2. Skid plates
3. Lift Kit

Might get Nitto Trail Grappler tyres and rims next year... once me gets a lil' more cyash. Might have to get a new piggybank to start saving for that.

Once I have all that... this is how I gonna be going to work every morning:

Whhhheeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!

Slack
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 3:00 pm 

Check this site out that i cam across http://www.4wd1.com/index.html

Tar Baby
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 6:29 pm 

Thanks fellas. Next run I coming through. After watching all those pics, the manliness factor is too much to pass up.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 8:13 pm 

^ what truck you driving? and what tyres do you have?

Tar Baby
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 11:05 pm 

I have a 2.5T Hilux on some Kumho Road Ventures :)

PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 11:19 pm 

the only drawback to these rallies is, if you get the last number chances are you ae screwed, cause all the other vehicles have used up the surface and left the slush for you to pass through! last yr was the same for me, #54 i believe and this yr was #42.

lighthammer
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 1:43 am 

^^I pull # 1 !!!

5 mins after we left the starting line, we promptly got lost.

I started to worry after I saw vehicle 15 pass us and we still trying to figure out the map, lol!

civic minded
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 8:06 am 

the starting of the map real confusing - i got lost myself - they were supposed to have the roundabout on the map but they didnt add it. only after we met the marshal we know where to go.

JD......
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 4:04 pm 

i was 21, in the begining we did well, and were some of the first through the forest once we got past mr 2wd vitara. But after leaveing the speaical sand stage we got stuck behind Mr 2wd again and he basically destroyed that steep incline. then after that we got lost...........badly, the map was not helping at all so after a re group with another vehicle and a cold stag, we opted to head down the highway and in doing so we were on of the last straglers.
The entire trip was excellent, the forest was the best, the ranger and Maxxis handled it all with ease only thing i would of done different is not drink the night before and show up earlier.
was badly hung over until 2pm which didnot help at all

'10 Ford Ranger XLT-mod'd. sold
'93 Honda Civic SiR -mod'd + Turbo'd. sold

civic minded
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 4:11 pm 

JD - your ranger look real orn dread - i should of stuck behind you when you entered the forest. When we reached the forest - we had about 15 vehicles in front of me and most of them got stuck - so i was in traffic for more than 3-4 hours in there.

Rx
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 6:01 pm 

good pics, fellas.

Didn't participate. Waiting for the next one later in the year

............... [..SUZUKI..]@
.................(@)=+=(@). ......

JD......
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 7:31 am 

civic minded wrote:
JD - your ranger look real orn dread - i should of stuck behind you when you entered the forest. When we reached the forest - we had about 15 vehicles in front of me and most of them got stuck - so i was in traffic for more than 3-4 hours in there.

Thanks man, after i came only there was about a 2 hour wait until the next vehicle came out. next time ill bring a side your just join up with side B

'10 Ford Ranger XLT-mod'd. sold
'93 Honda Civic SiR -mod'd + Turbo'd. sold

droppa
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 9:02 am 

if u have room and can overtake stuck vehicles, do it, it will help out a lot, what most ppl don't know about a rally is the "SPEED LIMIT"
it was 12kmph,
which is almost undo able, but keeping in close proximity of that would help a lot too, most paved surfaces i was doing bout 25-30kmph, and then the nav would say slow up, u speeding.....

MrCuddles
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 9:35 am 

droppa wrote:
and then the nav would say slow up, u speeding.....

ah never hear dat oxymoron before na....

lol!!

civic minded
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 10:43 am 

in the forest area there wasn't anywhere you can overtake people - and you cant backup cause there is plenty of vehicles behind you - If the marshal was there and tell people to divert away from the forest - all the traffic could of been avoided.
In front of me there was the Discovery that bottom out every few feet which is really frustrating, and in front of the Disco was the Pardo that the guy scared to drive.

But after all the hours of waiting and then finally get to go thro the hills - it was all worth the wait....god that was so much fun!!

droppa
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 11:13 am 

that's what u have to put up with in a rally, every few meters we went up mr.2wd vitara was sticking, and then he get a padna, mr.l200, so we would roll up and stop every so often...

but i agree 100%, was pure fun, wished there was more muddy areas to slash tru.....

lighthammer
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 12:57 pm 

From our end, those two navara's in front (mckenzie's and the gold nav) kept falling off the trail, which held up a lot of the guys in the rear.

That burgundy K74T L200 kept getting hung up on his diff as well, and that added a next half hour in traffic.

droppa
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 1:51 pm 

but is not that same L200 come first, and them same two navara come first too, in the two special stages....

lighthammer
PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2011 12:25 am 

I cant remember - i know there was a sportero, and there was a K74T.

The two navara's real wukk, but at a price.... wonder if that fella fix his transmission yet.

I more for off-roading yes, speed is secondary.

droppa
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 8:39 am 

I am in the process of trying to get the official results of the rally, this week kinda busy so ill see what can happen for next week....

Groovemaster
PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:40 pm 

Some sad news, Reyard drowned. Details still sketchy. He was the owner of High Road Maintenance co ltd & had the AC Delco suzuki jeep. RIP bro....

civic minded
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 6:49 am 

R.I.P brodder.....

lighthammer
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 1:07 pm 

So sad and shocking... RIP man.

droppa
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 11:19 am 

RIP bro, u in a better place now.....

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 122 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next