TOTAL Trailblazers 4x4 Annual All Terrain Challenge:

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

TOTAL Trailblazers 4x4 Annual All Terrain Challenge:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 24th, 2011, 6:34 pm

This is a blog post. To read the original post, please click here »

By Narend Sooknarine of Zorce Magazine

The day began in earnest with a 7am call time at the Caroni Bird Sanctuary. Mitsubishi L200s, Ford Rangers, Land Rovers, Range Rovers Suzuki Jimnys, Toyota Hiluxes, Mazda BT50s, and even a chop-top, netted-door Nissan Patrol were gearing up for a taste of the TOTAL Trailblazers 4x4 Annual All Terrain Challenge event. Last year there was so much rain that the King of the Hill had to be cancelled but this year, things seemed off to a great start.

For our media crew things would be particularly interesting as thanks to TOTAL Lubricants and Meguiar’s Car Care Products, we were afforded the use of a Polaris off-road, roll caged, tractor-tyred dune buggy with racing seats and a cooler strapped to the back. One game of rock, paper, scissors later and Duane of TriniTuner.com was selected as the driver while we took turns taking photos, literally hanging on just to get photos of "mid-splash" action of competitors 'motoring through the mud', try saying that five times fast. Although our guide in the Jimny up front said that the first stage was an easy drive, nothing more than what the club considers a grade one or two, one of the 4x4s with huge tires managed to get fully sideways, albeit in the same spot spinning them. He ended up fully across the road and then corrected the situation by reversing and re-orienting the vehicle– so much for grades one and two.

The next major section for competitors, besides finding an issue of Zorce along with Monster-branded er, population control "packet" and other treasure-hunt items, was the King of the Hill mandatory challenge. This was divided into two courses– novice and expert, with a few competitors swapping expected positions. It was very entertaining to see many drivers reach the very edge, some even with two wheels atop the steep expert summit, only to slide back down again with wheels so full of mud that retries proved futile. But yet again there were some who persisted or even took another try and managed to succeed. One or two novices on regular road tires genuinely got stuck, but thankfully there was a recovery tractor on standby along with the marshal's' hardy little Suzuki Jimnys. It was precisely at this point when we fully understood that the Meguiar's wash bay back at the start was not put there for style and branding. These boys and girls were out to get down and dirty. But the majority of the action was yet to come.

Back at the Caroni Bird Sanctuary highway exit, two massive mud pits, one novice and one expert, which took mud to the bonnet level, along with a slushy hill and a tight series of curves meant that any vehicle not dressed in murky brown would certainly have a healthy coat. This venue proved to be quite the spectator spot as many highway travelers stopped in to see what all the fuss was all about. Highlights included Drag Racing champion Sheldon Bissessar with Rally champion Ainsley Lochan at the wheel getting totally stuck in the expert pit and needing a Jimny to pull out the Jimny that was pulling them out of the pit– yes three vehicles in tandem– TOTAL mud madness! After being pulled out and over the hill, they decided to engage in a bit of tug-o-war with the marshal's recovery vehicle. Also worth mentioning is the V8-powered Patrol that conquered both the King of the Hill and the mud pit at an unusually moderate pace. A few entries found out what it was like to have a mud flood and what it feels like to get pulled out backwards. All in all it was a day of total fun and after a visit to the Meguiar’s wash bay, it was time to start the prizegiving ceremony. (Results posted below the photos)

This event was sponsored by:

[nggallery id=452]

OVERALL WINNERS COMP. of Points     Name of Driver  Name of Co-driver

1st     61      640     Suraj Bissoon   Kenrick Alexander

2nd     02      730     Latiff Khan     Reshma Nanan
3rd     64      750     Kevin Ramroop   Brandon Ramroop

4th     07      760     Ainsley Lochan  Rajesh Jairam
5th     10      820     Rishi Maharaj   Surendra Dhanraj
6th     25      830     Navin Ramdass   Shivanath Rajnath
7th     71      880     Darron Dass     Riaz Mohammed
8th     22      910     Barry Gowandan  Sarah-Jane Gopaul
9th     49      960     Fawaz Mohammed  Ishwar Patel
10th    31      1060    Marlon Birjar   Keegan Sookhan

t_ramp

TOTAL Trailblazers SUV & 4x4 RUN - $22,000 in prizes! Sep 24

Postby t_ramp » September 24th, 2011, 9:08 pm

Thanks to the organizers for a great show today.
here are just two of many gems ...mudhogs indeed.

regards to all.

droppa

Re: TOTAL Trailblazers SUV & 4x4 RUN - $22,000 in prizes! Se

Postby droppa » September 24th, 2011, 9:37 pm

Rally was great, did not do as was expected, but still get sumtin, was mad fun, now let the cleaning begin.........

aye HY, i see u took a drink boi and like yuh get unconcious, and the ironman had to give u some cpr, but yuh get back up good and going man, nice job.........who say snorkel???

patiently awaiting pics, saw gerry and LT there, so i know some high quality shots in the making......

Rx

Postby Rx » September 24th, 2011, 9:49 pm

* sigh...

I was unable to attend/ participate ......... eagerly awaiting pics......

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » September 24th, 2011, 11:12 pm

droppa wrote:Rally was great, did not do as was expected, but still get sumtin, was mad fun, now let the cleaning begin.........

aye HY, i see u took a drink boi and like yuh get unconcious, and the ironman had to give u some cpr, but yuh get back up good and going man, nice job.........who say snorkel???

patiently awaiting pics, saw gerry and LT there, so i know some high quality shots in the making......

Snorkel for reall!!

Man I owe Mr James a whole lot! He knows how the 4x4 world is and seeing that he helped out so much! I will be taking a snorkel, lift kit, front bumper and some other stuff! Man i knw i would have sucked in water but "go hard or go home"!!! lolzz

Frontier performed really well and did exceptionally well on the king of the hill climb!

ALSO i help tow people up the hill after the king of the hill event! Frontier working like a mini tractor!......

chucky

Postby chucky » September 25th, 2011, 9:41 am

Some pics from yesterday. More to come.
IMG_3874.JPG
IMG_3874.JPG (53.99 KiB) Viewed 9973 times
IMG_3872.JPG
IMG_3872.JPG (59.64 KiB) Viewed 9973 times
IMG_3871.JPG
IMG_3871.JPG (60.54 KiB) Viewed 9973 times
IMG_3870.JPG
IMG_3870.JPG (50.17 KiB) Viewed 9973 times
IMG_3868.JPG
IMG_3868.JPG (55.06 KiB) Viewed 9973 times
IMG_3866.JPG
IMG_3866.JPG (47.91 KiB) Viewed 9973 times
IMG_3861.JPG
IMG_3861.JPG (62.12 KiB) Viewed 9973 times
IMG_3865.JPG
IMG_3865.JPG (61.38 KiB) Viewed 9973 times

chucky

Postby chucky » September 25th, 2011, 9:45 am

Some more
IMG_3882.JPG
IMG_3882.JPG (53.92 KiB) Viewed 9973 times
IMG_3881.JPG
IMG_3881.JPG (57.66 KiB) Viewed 9973 times
IMG_3880.JPG
IMG_3880.JPG (60.9 KiB) Viewed 9973 times
IMG_3879.JPG
IMG_3879.JPG (52.84 KiB) Viewed 9973 times
IMG_3878.JPG
IMG_3878.JPG (58.94 KiB) Viewed 9973 times
IMG_3877.JPG
IMG_3877.JPG (58.67 KiB) Viewed 9973 times
IMG_3876.JPG
IMG_3876.JPG (52.04 KiB) Viewed 9973 times
IMG_3875.JPG
IMG_3875.JPG (51.05 KiB) Viewed 9973 times

chucky

Postby chucky » September 25th, 2011, 9:50 am

Again
IMG_3926.JPG
IMG_3926.JPG (56.2 KiB) Viewed 9972 times
IMG_3924.JPG
IMG_3924.JPG (52.97 KiB) Viewed 9972 times
IMG_3920.JPG
IMG_3920.JPG (51.1 KiB) Viewed 9972 times
IMG_3895.JPG
IMG_3895.JPG (51.48 KiB) Viewed 9972 times
IMG_3894.JPG
IMG_3894.JPG (55.69 KiB) Viewed 9972 times
IMG_3885.JPG
IMG_3885.JPG (54.69 KiB) Viewed 9972 times
IMG_3884.JPG
IMG_3884.JPG (59.61 KiB) Viewed 9972 times
IMG_3883.JPG
IMG_3883.JPG (47.93 KiB) Viewed 9972 times

chucky

Postby chucky » September 25th, 2011, 9:54 am

Some more
IMG_3993.JPG
IMG_3993.JPG (61.83 KiB) Viewed 9971 times
IMG_3991.JPG
IMG_3991.JPG (59.91 KiB) Viewed 9971 times
IMG_3984.JPG
IMG_3984.JPG (49.4 KiB) Viewed 9971 times
IMG_3975.JPG
IMG_3975.JPG (61.97 KiB) Viewed 9971 times
IMG_3970.JPG
IMG_3970.JPG (42.01 KiB) Viewed 9971 times
IMG_3932.JPG
IMG_3932.JPG (51.01 KiB) Viewed 9971 times
IMG_3931.JPG
IMG_3931.JPG (50.49 KiB) Viewed 9971 times
IMG_3930.JPG
IMG_3930.JPG (58.39 KiB) Viewed 9971 times

chucky

Postby chucky » September 25th, 2011, 9:59 am

King of The Hill
IMG_4033.JPG
IMG_4033.JPG (40.51 KiB) Viewed 9971 times
IMG_4031.JPG
IMG_4031.JPG (58.06 KiB) Viewed 9971 times
IMG_4026.JPG
IMG_4026.JPG (61.7 KiB) Viewed 9971 times
IMG_4024.JPG
IMG_4024.JPG (56.48 KiB) Viewed 9971 times
IMG_4014.JPG
IMG_4014.JPG (59.75 KiB) Viewed 9971 times
IMG_4005.JPG
IMG_4005.JPG (56.83 KiB) Viewed 9971 times
IMG_4004.JPG
IMG_4004.JPG (54.83 KiB) Viewed 9971 times
IMG_4002.JPG
IMG_4002.JPG (59.7 KiB) Viewed 9971 times

chucky

Postby chucky » September 25th, 2011, 10:03 am

More King of the Hill
IMG_4015.JPG
IMG_4015.JPG (70.34 KiB) Viewed 9970 times
IMG_4046.JPG
IMG_4046.JPG (59.71 KiB) Viewed 9970 times
IMG_4028.JPG
IMG_4028.JPG (49.41 KiB) Viewed 9970 times
IMG_4052.JPG
IMG_4052.JPG (54.79 KiB) Viewed 9970 times
IMG_4050.JPG
IMG_4050.JPG (60.86 KiB) Viewed 9970 times
IMG_4042.JPG
IMG_4042.JPG (61.96 KiB) Viewed 9970 times
IMG_4039.JPG
IMG_4039.JPG (57.44 KiB) Viewed 9970 times

chucky

Postby chucky » September 25th, 2011, 10:08 am

Mud Hog
IMG_4082.JPG
IMG_4082.JPG (59.1 KiB) Viewed 9968 times
IMG_4078.JPG
IMG_4078.JPG (56.74 KiB) Viewed 9968 times
IMG_4076.JPG
IMG_4076.JPG (52.62 KiB) Viewed 9968 times
IMG_4071.JPG
IMG_4071.JPG (61.54 KiB) Viewed 9968 times
IMG_4066.JPG
IMG_4066.JPG (61.84 KiB) Viewed 9968 times
IMG_4070.JPG
IMG_4070.JPG (58.52 KiB) Viewed 9968 times
IMG_4060.JPG
IMG_4060.JPG (52.98 KiB) Viewed 9968 times
IMG_4067.JPG
IMG_4067.JPG (46.6 KiB) Viewed 9968 times

Postby 3stagevtec » September 25th, 2011, 1:02 pm

Nice pics.. Makes me vex I couldn't make it..

Rx

Postby Rx » September 25th, 2011, 4:08 pm

sweet pics !!!!!!!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 25th, 2011, 6:25 pm

I was real surprise the hilux with the 20" rims made it thro

Postby sliderz1 » September 25th, 2011, 7:35 pm

the mahindra is 4wd?

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » September 25th, 2011, 10:57 pm

Me doing King of the Hill while RAIN falling!!
The rain made that place really bad....

Everyone thought that i would not have made it up the hill!...All u hearing in the background when the announcer asked if i was going to make it was "NO"

lolzz......
Last edited by HaRdCoRe_YoUtH on September 25th, 2011, 11:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

droppa

Postby droppa » September 25th, 2011, 11:11 pm

tractors wukking dey boi......

well done....

Postby 3stagevtec » September 25th, 2011, 11:21 pm

Wow, flew up that hill with ease!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 25th, 2011, 11:34 pm

Tractor tires was key to make it up that hill after the rain and mudds was the order for the novice hill!

kevinsonny

Postby kevinsonny » September 26th, 2011, 12:58 am

d man make all 4x4 frontier owners proud dey bai! big up!!!!!!!

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » September 26th, 2011, 6:27 am

Heard this was a really great event that is now demanding a firm date on the annual Motor Sport calendar.

Congrats to all involved.

But why those flat roads looking so similar to what we used to rally through back in the 80's with our ordinary Rally Cars, simply fitted with a sump shield and some M/S tyres?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 26th, 2011, 9:42 am

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:

Everyone thought that i would not have made it up the hill!...All u hearing in the background when the announcer asked if i was going to make it was "NO"

lolzz......
I was standing up right next to Robbie and Narend and I too was thinking you wouldn't make it, especially in the rain, since most people didnt make it in the dry!
and on top of that you just walk up that hill normel normel lol

sorry yuh didnt make it through the mud pit :(

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » September 26th, 2011, 10:37 am

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:

lolzz......
I was standing up right next to Robbie and Narend and I too was thinking you wouldn't make it, especially in the rain, since most people didnt make it in the dry!

Yeh mud pit was crazy...lolz...Thank god for James Mosley for helping me get the van back up running to head home.

U knw i still studying u and the "D plates"..how u had to have the hold it up while driving....lmao!!!

BTW

I hear the mud pit event will be shown on SNERGY TV TONITE AT 9 PM.

Rx

Postby Rx » September 26th, 2011, 10:45 am

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:

lolzz......

awesome !!!!

:drinking:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 26th, 2011, 10:36 pm

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:
U knw i still studying u and the "D plates"..how u had to have the hold it up while driving....lmao!!!
lol the back plate was still on

Postby sliderz1 » September 26th, 2011, 11:12 pm

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:

sliderz1 wrote:
HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:Or frontier with my tractors on!!!...

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D

FTW!!!

droppa

Postby droppa » September 27th, 2011, 10:25 am

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:

lolzz......

Yeh mud pit was crazy...lolz...Thank god for James Mosley for helping me get the van back up running to head home.

BTW

I hear the mud pit event will be shown on SNERGY TV TONITE AT 9 PM.

yeah some clips were shown, i jus saw the clip with the white patrol walking tru, looked rel bess, and felt good to see that the offroading is picking up in Trinidad....trailblazers have brought this sport and competition to where it is.....

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » September 27th, 2011, 11:45 am

Synergy make that pit look easy, everything they show was going thru with ease...

Postby wagon r » September 28th, 2011, 7:17 pm

...just a few.

Return to “Off Road Runs”