Side B Runs - OFF-ROAD NAVIGATIONAL RALLY - JULY 31ST

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

homeboy

Re: Side B Runs - OFF-ROAD NAVIGATIONAL RALLY - JULY 31ST

Postby homeboy » July 31st, 2011, 9:48 am

Sorry guys i couldn't make it today, just came in from yesterday.

Next time hopefully.....enjoy and be safe.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » July 31st, 2011, 1:13 pm

rain in alyuh pweffin! :P! ah kno alyuh eh like nothin better!!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 31st, 2011, 3:50 pm

^^ wam dude ! You real missout, real fun dreads... Props the organizers , very well planned and executed. If only I have some more grip I would of made that hill after all the rain! Congrats to all the winners!!! Who won bess dress?

Postby sliderz1 » July 31st, 2011, 8:31 pm

Tractor tyres anyone? :D :D

lighthammer

Re: Side B Runs - OFF-ROAD RALLY - review/pics on Pg 8

Postby lighthammer » July 31st, 2011, 9:32 pm

Right Everyone.... so... Side B Off Road Navigational Rally has been completed. Not too long reach back home, had a nice underwash and van came home clean!

So here's the abbreviated version of my writeup:

- Competitors and marshalls arrived right on time at 7am, good to see that!

- Scrutineering went well and efficiently, props to the marshalls and thanks to the competitors for making sure everything was in top condition for rally-day.

- First vehicle launched at exactly 8:30am - civic_minded had the privilege of launching first with the vehicle no: "01". As soon as the stage was opened and they launched.... they promptly went the wrong way, LOL!! (this was a minor fault of the launch-planning, luckily they retraced their steps later and were able to take the proper route on second try.

- Last vehicle launched right on time, and the marshalls had already taken their positions. Most of the competitors were new to navigational-style rallying, so they had trouble at first with finding their bearings and figuring out the navigation map, but towards the middle of the rally it was good to see that most of them had either figured out the directions, or probably were just following the one guy who seemed to know what he was doing!! :lol:

- Couple of wrong turns and some off-roading later, everyone made it safely and soundly to the finish line. Good job to the Marshalls for making sure everything ran smoothly, and for helping the final lost vehicle to make it to the starting line. No one reported getting stuck in muddy tracks, but everyone had LOADS of fun in navigating the route and getting to go off-road (which in itself was also newbie-friendly, which I'm sure everyone appreciated.

- Weather conditions were almost perfect! For most of the morning we had blazing hot sun (which resulted in me and a couple others getting LEVEL sunburn!!) and later on during the special stage we had rain almost on cue; right when we wanted it and in the right amounts too!

- I'm sure everyone thoroughly enjoyed the special stage. Basically I went with 3stagevtec and Droppa the day before to the special stage area, went scouting and found a nice hill for everyone to climb... then since we couldn't get a brushcutter in time, I decided to just mash down a course for everyone with my Navara, after which 3stage & Droppa followed suit to mash down all the tall grass.

- At first the special stage was dry cuz of all the hot sun, but the rain came for us almost on cue later on in the afternoon, and wet down the stage for us. After that, the hill-climb became a fun, wonderful and fantastic slippery mess!!
When it was dry, everyone went and did the circuit that we set up (making a big "B" around some islands of grass) and then when it rained for a 15 mins, they all went AGAIN and tried their WET LAPS!!

- The Wet Laps were just that: wet, slippery, sliding, muddy and AWESOME!! We had just a few trucks make the slippery hill (mostly the guys with the beefier all terrains and mud tyres, even Tractor tyres! The BFG's on the Navara made it through the muddy/slippery hill with no problem at all, loads of grip and with hi-rpms the All Terrains pelted mud out of their lugs easily. Lots of other guys with street/highway tyres attempted the hill climb.... most made it up halfway before sliding right back down. Of course they were all given a second and sometimes 3rd or 4th try.... and they had an absolute blast doing so!!

- I'm very happy to report that there were almost no incidents or accidents on the rally course, save for a flat tyre on one of the Marshalls' vehicles which was quickly replaced with the spare by a mix of a Ford/Nissan team! So no Injuries or accidents, which is a very good thing.

- We also had a prize-giving ceremony after tallying up the points on the rally. 1st prize was a super-big automotive hamper, sponsored by Ballhead Auto Supplies. 2nd, 3rd & 4th prize, Best Novice and Best Lost vehicle were sponsored by Armor All & STP products, where winners got bottles of armor all spray, car wash and also STP fuel treatments.

Here are the Results:

- 1st Place : rx80
- 2nd Place: cvt77_RR
- 3rd Place: MarkyMark
- 4th Place: RedD21(dave + Sal)

- Best Novice: RonSin
- Best Lost Vehicle: RottedV (after getting epically lost in the canefields! Making circles over and over between marshalls... must have been EPIC!!)

Congratulations to the winner of our Rally, and thank you to everyone who came out to support and take part.
We really appreciated how well you guys cooperated with the rules/instructions, and we're actually hoping to make this a regular, maybe Annual thing.....

Ok guys, hold on for pictures and videos of the rally..... lots of EPIC, EPIICCC shots of the hillclimb on the special stage and a few on the rally stage.
Also... this rally took a lot of preparation on our part to organize, plot the map and then practice..... so as a reward for such a great day today, we'll post up another thread called "Side B Navigational & OffRoad Rally - the BLOOPER reel" !!!!

- Stay tuned, lighthammer out!

[b]

Postby 3stagevtec » July 31st, 2011, 10:21 pm

The backup special stage (what we played on today) was only completed yesterday..

Since we could not access a brush cutter in time, Lighthammer chose to use his Navara to 'get the job done"..

Notice how slippery the terrain was yesterday.. Check out the tail slide action.

This was what we were hoping for in terms of difficulty.. but all the hot sun this morning really changed things..

Thankfully, a nice shower of rain came to set things right!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 31st, 2011, 10:29 pm

lol - in my mind I was thinking "ok brb, gonna go make a special stage..."

We didn't even need brush cutters, just horsepower!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 31st, 2011, 10:32 pm

^^ lol, I like at how at 0:05 seconds, the side-swipe just cleared out the entire entrance for that part of the stage... eheheh.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » July 31st, 2011, 10:44 pm

nice work leo! :P

Postby ronsin1 » July 31st, 2011, 10:50 pm

it twas nice had fun :mrgreen:
225673_10150335159796420_520566419_10205550_1445432_n.jpg

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » August 1st, 2011, 6:00 am

Wow, that was the most fun I had in the longest time...
Good news guys, got the approving nod from wifey... We'll both be back
blazing out the turbo jimny again... Maybe next time i'll make the wet laps... just kidding, definately goin all the way next time...

rx80

Postby rx80 » August 1st, 2011, 11:07 am

I really enjoyed the special stage after the rally, didn't think I could have made the hill when it was dry farless for when it was wet but I was surprised after some great advice from my navigator we made it...
Also thaks to ballhead auto supplies I got the van clean yesterday!
So when will be the next one? Side B ftw....

Postby sliderz1 » August 1st, 2011, 1:37 pm

this is all i got, meh navigator have the rest...........
8-) 8-)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 1st, 2011, 1:42 pm

Thanks for the pics dude.... we'll put all the pics in this thread here..... to avoid confusion and losing the pics in a set of pages in one thread.

Mine are up.... we had a REAL BLAST!!
Gonna put up some youtube vids of the bloopers in a bit....

droppa

Postby droppa » August 2nd, 2011, 10:53 am

Rally was a total blast, everyone had a time, and we had no major accidents or incidents, after lime in price plaza was gud and the river wash after that helped alot.....

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » August 3rd, 2011, 2:08 am

wen i got home, showered and was knockin out on the couch round 10ish when i got called out to work.......got to work only to find out that i had to leave at 3am to go down to the Trinmar fields to move "Rig 110" ARGHHHHH!!
as we got down there one of my co-workers start vomitting uncontrollably, no1 refilled the water tanks on-board so we all we had were 2 5gal blu waters bottles of water and while the operation was in progress d tug drifted wit a strong current, slammed into d rig an mash up d guard-rail and wat appeared to be their sewage disposal piping....hw wonderful huh??
19hrs later i was bak home and thankin the Lord God above that i finally made it home safe and sound..........The End!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 3rd, 2011, 7:39 am

^^ whey boy, you need a bush bath !

droppa

Postby droppa » August 3rd, 2011, 8:55 am

@cuddles, thats frikking shitty dred, glad u back in one piece.....

Postby sliderz1 » August 3rd, 2011, 10:56 am

daz a rough 1 cuddles...............sleep well desrved now? :D

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » August 3rd, 2011, 11:43 am

yea baisliderzbai, it was tough but well worth it.....no work=no pay
but in retrospect of the rally, i was pleasantly surprised by the turnout on the day itself
getting sponsors like ArmourAll, Lucozade and STP was a big accomplishment, not to mention the hamper donated by Ballhead Auto Supplies(much thanks btw)
for this being our first official Side-B hosted event the attendance was remarkable and i can tell we hv the support of those who attended the rally to com out once agen to future events
makes no sense we put somting like this together only to com on the said mornin and find six participants showed up.......u guys ged it rite? (inside jk lol)

Side-B's doing big tings, evn i'm impressed!!

Postby sliderz1 » August 3rd, 2011, 11:53 am

droppa

Postby droppa » August 3rd, 2011, 12:39 pm

cuddles yuh is ah rel Blunt boi.........hahahah yuh bitter like gyahlik boi........

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 3rd, 2011, 1:07 pm

^^ like he suck a cariley on de way to work this morning??

LOL... well, it was a great turnout, and every single one who came (including drivers, navigators and passengers) had a time playing on our rally course.

Next time, we going bigger and better..... and I get to use my navara to clear bush again (yay!).

droppa

Postby droppa » August 3rd, 2011, 2:21 pm

we will need a few more hands this time, and more time to plan,

this time a longer rally, and maybe more than one special stages.....

great news jus in, gonna be havin a talk with a quarry owner in central soon......

droppa

Postby droppa » August 3rd, 2011, 2:30 pm

we will need a few more hands this time, and more time to plan,

this time a longer rally, and maybe more than one special stages.....

great news jus in, gonna be havin a talk with a quarry owner in central soon......

Postby 3stagevtec » August 3rd, 2011, 3:09 pm

Ouch!! :lol:

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » August 3rd, 2011, 3:27 pm

sliderz1 wrote:Image

hahah thiss!

Fazman

Postby Fazman » August 3rd, 2011, 8:13 pm

The rally was a blast..me being the only 4x2 an all and i came out in one piece and alive after droppa told me the dreaded words "you woulda need the range yuh know padna" ah still made it!!! had alot of fun!!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 3rd, 2011, 10:43 pm

^^ aye.. sometimes the slipping and sliding is the BEST part man.... even if you don't make it up the hill!!

(although it's much more awesome if you DO make it up!!)

Glad you enjoyed it bro, don't worry.. there's more where that came from!

Postby sliderz1 » August 3rd, 2011, 10:58 pm

lighthammer wrote:^^ aye.. sometimes the slipping and sliding is the BEST part man.... even if you don't make it up the hill!!

(although it's much more awesome if you DO make it up!!)

oh goarr........doh rub it eeen :lol:

Return to “Off Road Runs”