Page 5 of 7

Re: Side B Runs - Training Day & Beach Lime!!

Posted: September 10th, 2011, 5:51 pm
by 3stagevtec
^^ Nooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Paint not necessary for run yo!!

Posted: September 10th, 2011, 6:29 pm
by jhonnieblue
fellas bad news, van down
the same turbo prob i had, came back....some part in the turbo hav to be changed out again!!!!!!!
van was by massey today, it running but severe lack of power and tons of black smoke/bad fuel efficiency
was hearing the hum since wed but dint realise was that again
:(
wont get it repaired till mon/tues at the earliest

Posted: September 10th, 2011, 6:42 pm
by lighthammer
That sucks bai jhonnie!!

Well, see allyuh fellas tomorrow morning, bright and early.

Meeting place - Piarco Airport Gas Station
Time - 7:00AM Sharp.
Departure time - 8:00am sharp.

Bring yur food and gear, and also those who ordered shirts/polos, bring allyuh munny ($50 for shirt, $90 for polos). If you didnt' order but want shirts/polo for next time, u can order tmrw.

See allyuh!!!

Posted: September 10th, 2011, 10:09 pm
by speedaholic
if anybody have space and willin to pass for me... i on the way... in kelly! :D

Posted: September 10th, 2011, 10:14 pm
by Toyopet
1 more out, work calls

Posted: September 10th, 2011, 11:01 pm
by stingray316
1. Lighthammer (Navara)
2. 3stagevtec (Vitara)
3. Jeremy (Ranger)
4. Droppa (Surf)
5. civic_minded (Ranger)
6. rottedv + better 3/4 0.999999 (Surf) - 2 X Polos
7. rx80 (hopefully this time with a navigator)
8. jhonnieblue (black Navara)
9. cvt-7_RR (Runul) + Katrina (Better half) (B2500)
11. Rutless Tiida (Frontier)
12. Bigchief3679 and Minipresident [ISUZU Bighorn]
13. Havoc (Frontier)
14. sliderz1 (tentative)
15. Toyopet (in a Mazda???)
16. King (4wd Santa Fe)(tentative)
17. Bobvis (Hilux)
18. Jon_one (mazda on kl-71's !!)
19. daryl0510 (4X2 D22)
20. RedD21 (Tractors man)
21. Baldhead Auto (L200)
22. Ryan (4X2 B16)
23. Moon (vitara/tentative)
24. Mr Cuddles (fronteir)
25. Claries (B2500)
26. Chote (stock jimny)
27. Chris (Maroon navara - aka Red Bachac)
28. Dad & AbuStar (Surf)
29. Kashman (Forest Green Ranger "Guana")
30. Steve (Blue Jimny)

I am a lil late to make the list, but i will be there...

Posted: September 11th, 2011, 6:43 am
by chote
Running late, plenty rain....will reach 8am for sure

Posted: September 11th, 2011, 6:48 am
by lighthammer
no scene - we rolling!

Posted: September 11th, 2011, 7:45 am
by chote
Real traffic on de SH highway by chase village.. Will reach after 8am..where exactly is the route, I will have to meet up

Posted: September 11th, 2011, 7:47 pm
by bigchief3679
the run was awesome.....

Posted: September 11th, 2011, 8:09 pm
by Toyopet
Pics so I can tote for not being there. Thanks

Posted: September 11th, 2011, 8:32 pm
by sliderz1
Toyopet wrote:Pics so I can tote for not being there. Thanks

this! :D

Posted: September 11th, 2011, 9:15 pm
by AbuStar
Thanks Guys. Had a blast today. Coming from my dad and I. He can't wait till the next one.

Had a lot of fun cleaning the Surf as well!! :|

Posted: September 11th, 2011, 10:51 pm
by rottedv
I juss reach home! sleeeeeeeepy!!! nighty night side b

Posted: September 12th, 2011, 2:32 am
by speedaholic
picss! :D

Posted: September 12th, 2011, 6:50 am
by lighthammer
What a run!!

Had a bit of a late start, some guys got held back cuz of rain and a bit of unexpected traffic.
Was able to hand out t-shirts and stuff, most guy collected and some put in orders for next time.

Convoy headed through the Demerara road in Wallerfied/Maturita side of arima. It was rainy but the weather cleared up through lunchtime and became quite sunny/hot.

Driving through the clouds in the mountains was pretty cool, some of the guys have never done that.

Foggy conditions!!
This was driving through all the rainclouds that were covering the Northern Range.

Soon we got to the Spring Bridge (can't remember the proper name for it) in Blanchisseuse and got all the vehicles down the trail, parked up and some of the guys headed down to the beach.

Exploring the bridge.

After driving into the Blanchi trail.

(I don't have pics of the beach, I'm sure the others will post some up later)

Exiting the trail was fun. Lots of slipping on that muddy corner, and the guys had a blast powering up and around that hill, especially that infamous huge rut where I had first gotten stuck in an EPIC way last year, waaayyy back when I first started offroading with Side-B (in a brand-new, 3-week old Navara!)

And surprise-surprise! A 4x2 Mazda B16 made it into the trail! Of course he needed help getting out, had to be towed out by another Mazda B2500 (zoom-zoom!) and we all had a blast watching those antics.

So... after Blanchi (which took a lil' longer than we expected cuz of all the towing-antics) we made a beeline all the way down to Las Cuevas trail. Some of the guys had never been on the trail before and were having loads of fun going through, getting stuck, getting pulled out and also gathering a heapload of hands-on experience all at the same time.

When everyone got onto the beach, there was just enough time left in the evening for lunch + a quick bathe in the sea (nice and calm waves!), then a brief talk about First Aid kits and then a very brief session on CPR training on the beach.

I'll post some of the CPR stuff on the forum later on, to reiterate what was talked about on the beach yesterday.

So, all-in-all, this was a great run and I'm sure the guys had a lot of fun. The new guys who never went offroading before had a blast, they kept asking when is the next run. Some of them had never been to Las Cuevas before, some had been there and had horror-stories of getting badly stuck, but all of us learned a few things on the trail with regards to recovery techniques.

The guys learned a lot about choosing the best path through a trail, as well as scouting/walking through the trail before actually driving through it. They received a lot of hands-on experience on how to place a vehicle onto a trail, use ruts to guide it and how to use power & momentum to get it through when tyres and suspension are limited to stock. As you can see from a couple pics posted above, they also learned how to use manpower when another vehicle isn't available for towing.

Thanks to James Mosely for coming out and helping guide the vehicles through the trail, with his presence and guiding the vehicles through the trail, things definitely went a bit smoother.

Thanks to Rutless Tiida for providing handouts to everyone for the First Aid kit, and thanks to BrianR20V for pretending to choke and have a fake heart attack :).

Thanks to everyone who came out for the run, I'm glad to report that there were NO ACCIDENTS / INCIDENTS, everyone made it home safely and before curfew, and we all have a great time!

Looking forward to everyone else's pics and videos!!

Side - B.
Keep on Truckin'!

Posted: September 12th, 2011, 8:51 am
by civic minded
boi i get real frighten on the way out of Las Cuevas - same part where the jimmy is sideways, my van was like that, i would swear i would tip over...lol
Real fun guys - van real nasty, feel i will leave it so till trailblazers thing

Posted: September 12th, 2011, 8:54 am
by 3stagevtec

Who needs a winch when you got 8 guys and a strap..

Runul just loves throwing stuff at your camera eh! lol

I got a few vids and pics, will post them up tomorrow. Run turned out better than I had expected, especially considering all the rain we had that morning.

Posted: September 12th, 2011, 9:02 am
by droppa
Real nice run yesterday, thanks to all of those in attendance, especially those who ran with us for the first time, hope you all come again....

btw, can u see the relevance of the pics with the Monstayotas..............!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted: September 12th, 2011, 9:24 am
by 3stagevtec
Plenty gas power on this run too! :mrgreen:

Posted: September 12th, 2011, 9:27 am
by droppa
yeah boi, ah man bun ah tank and ah half yes.....

Posted: September 12th, 2011, 9:42 am
by markymark
I hope me pretending to stick let everyone learn proper vehicle recovery :D

Thanks alot guys for the pull out ...

Run was bess , wehn is the next one ?

Posted: September 12th, 2011, 12:12 pm
by chote
This run was best, got stock and was recovered...
I realize that my rear diff seal damage, oil was spraying all over while driving.
Will repair by the next run.

GREAT RUN!!

Posted: September 12th, 2011, 7:31 pm
by minipresident

Love the Mud!!! Very cool run and a nice group of guys and gals.

Was great experiencing another automotive clubs style.

Oh and the photography,...Excellent!

Posted: September 12th, 2011, 8:38 pm
by speedaholic
gud job guys! will be there for the next run! :D

Posted: September 12th, 2011, 8:48 pm
by sliderz1
minipresident wrote:Image

does strength and power apply? :lol: :lol:

Posted: September 12th, 2011, 9:13 pm
by 3stagevtec

What a ride for a Mini club guy.. Nice having you all out with us!

and just check the stance from Jeremy! :lol:

Posted: September 12th, 2011, 10:07 pm
by speedaholic
haha! :P

Posted: September 12th, 2011, 11:17 pm
by Jeremy Mohd
That dam van heavy!! loll..

Posted: September 13th, 2011, 1:15 am
by speedaholic
dais ole iron boi.. muss be heavy...