Side B Rally Pics and Bloopers!

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

Side B Rally Pics and Bloopers!

Postby 3stagevtec » July 31st, 2011, 10:08 pm

First I would like to congratulate all winners of the rally, I was quite happy to hear everyone had fun and enjoyed themselves. With the success of pulling off this 'first' for Side B, you can be certain there will be many more to come!

But organizing such an event does have its challenges.. Below is what occurred while we were plotting the original Special Stage in Indian Trail.. The one we didn't take you guys on because if was a little too difficult.. :shock:

It started off innocently enough..

Exploring possible paths / routes..

Then we decided to continue further, to a nice lil hill climb section..

and this happened...

The blue Ranger was the 1st to get stuck.. The Mazda B2500 (look closely, you'll see him) got stuck attempting rescue..

My attempts at rescuing the B2500 is what produced the huge rooster tail of mud you see covering the B2500.. I failed miserably..

The rain came down and caught us out in the trail. We were at the bottom of a hill, in a valley and all the rain water flowed down the hill and settled by us..

I could not winch the B2500 out since I didn't have enough traction.. The winch was dragging me towards him even with all my 4 wheels locked..

I then decided to use my snatch block, and do an angled pull off the B2500, to attempt to free the blue Ranger..

and that's just the start of this story.....

Re: Side B Rally Pics and Bloopers!

Postby 3stagevtec » July 31st, 2011, 10:32 pm

The whole story in point form..

1 - We began exploration of the special stage at around 11am.. make it out just before dark!

2 - Jeremy (blue Ranger) was the 1st to get stuck

3 - I got the B2500 stuck trying to rescue Jeremy

4 - Lighthammer (black Navara) got stuck trying to rescue the B2500

5 - I rescued Lighthammer with the Vitara

6 - I failed at pulling the B2500 out both from in front and behind

7 - I failed at winching him from behind also (my Vitara was sliding even with all 4 wheels locked)

8 - Winched Jeremy using snatch tied to B2500

9 - Jeremy got stuck again right after

10 - The B2500 got freed enough from the winching operation for us to push him out

11 - Got the Vitara stuck trying to rescue Jeremy (my transmission started to smell alot by now)

12 - Got the Navara out of the trail

13 - Got the B2500 out to rescue the Vitara

14 - Drove the Vitara back through all the slush to winch Jeremy from in front.. but someone forgot to untie me from the B2500.. lol

15 - Winched out Jeremy by combining two cables for extra reach, I needed to stay far so I wouldn't get stuck again..

16 - Jeremy drove through slush to turn around

17 - I exited

18 - Jeremy exited

19 - Night fall was almost upon us.. Everyone was tied beyond belief and happy we didn't have to spend the night there..

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 1st, 2011, 7:10 am

lawwdd look like alyah had real fun

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 1st, 2011, 7:49 am

^^ fun at first... but we didn't account for getting stuck, we were just planning to run through.
Didn't eat much breakfast, didn't bring lunch, didn't bring a cooler....

we were dying by afternoon time.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » August 1st, 2011, 10:25 am

I donno what tires Jeremy using.. But it looks like he needs some better shoes... Great footage guyz....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 1st, 2011, 1:07 pm

he have on Toyo Open Country All Terrains... damn good tyres, but even in that boggy mud, mudders would be the only option!

Postby 3stagevtec » August 1st, 2011, 1:16 pm

Even some of the best All Terrain tyres were having problems in that mud.. Jeremy's Toyo's work really well off road, but as Lighthammer said, this is MT only territory..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 1st, 2011, 1:33 pm

OK, went through most of the pics last night, and here's a few sample pics....

and if you wanna go through the rest, here's the entire album : http://s875.photobucket.com/albums/ab313/lighthammer69/Side%20B%20rally%202011/

(look at how many vans! the security guy at Rex Ltd. jump out to see what the heck was going on with all these vans.... Kristy gave him a lil' talk and a small lil free ting, he was cool about it)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 1st, 2011, 1:47 pm

Here's a video from Saturday morning before the Rally... me and 3stagevtec went to recheck the course and lay down some caution tape in the trouble spots, and then off to prep the special stage....

And this is me at the special stage... making a track for allyuh at the hill-climb. We were trying to get a brushcutter at short notice, and weren't having any luck.... so we just decided to mash down the tall bush with our trucks. I went first and romped in!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 1st, 2011, 1:47 pm

And this is me going back in the opposite way to mash down more bush!!

BY the time the three of us were done, we had a special stage!!!

sureshot_james

Postby sureshot_james » August 1st, 2011, 5:38 pm

You guys need to get a ground anchor so when you go to winch you have something to anchor the back of your trucks. Don't worry I'll have my stuff soon enough then I'll come along and show you how it's done. Looks like a fun but aggravating day.

Postby 3stagevtec » August 1st, 2011, 5:45 pm

Taken mere milliseconds before the mud came raining down.. :lol:

Damn that camera wukkin!!!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 1st, 2011, 9:56 pm

^^ burst mode ftw.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » August 1st, 2011, 10:26 pm

I love eet!!! ;)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 2nd, 2011, 6:41 am

3stagevtec wrote:Image

Taken mere milliseconds before the mud came raining down.. :lol:

Damn that camera wukkin!!!

All that mud that you seeing there went up in the air... and then down on me!
Them brand new Terra Trac's AT real wukkin' too!!

Postby sliderz1 » August 2nd, 2011, 10:58 am

yeh boi.............u get rained on :lol:

Fazman

Postby Fazman » August 3rd, 2011, 8:49 pm

Sum of my Pics..
[img][IMG]http://i1197.photobucket.com/albums/aa421/Fazeer_Mootoo/DSCN1188.jpg[/img]

Image[/img]

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 3rd, 2011, 10:46 pm

^^ nice shots man! Lookin real good, hehehe :mrgreen:

Tell me, did the tall grass in the canefields scare ya? hehehehhe... cuz we was trying to make the course out so that you'd totally have to depend on your navigator to get you out of there.

Good thing it didn't rain till later on in the afternoon, cuz that part behind caroni there would've been realllyyyy muddy!

Postby sliderz1 » August 3rd, 2011, 11:39 pm

pics courtesy my navigator...............

also have som vids of the special stage.............needs editing so any1 up for a challenge pm mih

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 3rd, 2011, 11:48 pm

Look at how many trucks! Wheeyyy!!

Lol... anyone gonna post their treasure: "Picture of yourself with an Asian Person" ???

hahahahah!

Postby sliderz1 » August 4th, 2011, 12:00 am

LOL
i have 1!!!!!!!!!!!! but i aint postin :fadein:

Postby 3stagevtec » August 4th, 2011, 12:32 am

So what would have happened if you guys ran into some random asian guy on the road!? lol

Postby ronsin1 » August 4th, 2011, 6:30 am

3stagevtec wrote:So what would have happened if you guys ran into some random asian guy on the road!? lol

Wel boy I was looking to get a pic of a random Asian guy was telling my Nav that everyone would have gotten the Asian we had so I was looking for the extra points but alas we did not see any so Leo had to do

Check the chine man shadow :lol:
102_0806.JPG
102_0806.JPG (52.72 KiB) Viewed 5956 times

Postby sliderz1 » August 4th, 2011, 9:37 am

hey i kno those guys!!!!!!!!!!!LOL

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 4th, 2011, 9:41 am

hahahahahahha! :lol: :lol:

Postby 3stagevtec » August 4th, 2011, 1:39 pm

Fazman, your sticker could do with a lift and some nice fat tyres... :shock:

claries

Postby claries » August 4th, 2011, 4:36 pm

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 4th, 2011, 5:12 pm

^^ Claries, i'll post them again so it'll be easier to view.....

use the set of letters/numbers after the "=" in the video's URL, and past that between [youtube][/youtube] to get the video to show up here in the forum.

De poor girl couldn't take the wild ride!! ROFL!!!
Hope she was ok though, poor thing must have gotten shaken up real badly, it can be quite overwhelming to newcomers so I don't blame her for freaking out.

Hope she'll come to the next one though.... :D

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 4th, 2011, 5:19 pm

Claries - hope the mazzie is ok, i did hear a sound coming frmo the front in the video - CV joint?? I remember you had some trouble and was changing out the boots for the Brasso scouting run.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 4th, 2011, 11:18 pm

imagine what she will do if she was in the trailblazers run....lol

Return to “Off Road Runs”