Page 1 of 2

Strap Question

Posted: January 10th, 2012, 10:48 pm
by stretch
New on the 4x4 scene, bought a bt-50 and put all terrain tyres on her. Been checking you guys posts and trying 2 find some of these trails, without luck.
Went looking for a strap to purchase today but didnt know what lenght i should buy, from 6,7 and 9 m. Was in a hardware from $160 to $230 or so. Looked like the same thickness as those ratchet straps. Is this a good buy for pulling out of mud and so on? Or is there a place i can check for something better?

Re: Strap Question

Posted: January 10th, 2012, 11:07 pm
by sliderz1

Posted: January 10th, 2012, 11:24 pm
by stretch
thanks

Posted: January 11th, 2012, 8:47 am
by *Phoenix*
Call 374-9339 - He has original ARB straps... & lots of other goodies...

Posted: January 11th, 2012, 11:16 am
by stretch
will do.

Posted: January 11th, 2012, 7:59 pm
by Adil Teewarie
check Fiaz auto supplies Marabella 2'' x 10m for $150.00 TOW STRAP

Posted: January 11th, 2012, 10:14 pm
by 3stagevtec
stretch wrote:New on the 4x4 scene, bought a bt-50 and put all terrain tyres on her. Been checking you guys posts and trying 2 find some of these trails, without luck.
Went looking for a strap to purchase today but didnt know what lenght i should buy, from 6,7 and 9 m. Was in a hardware from $160 to $230 or so. Looked like the same thickness as those ratchet straps. Is this a good buy for pulling out of mud and so on? Or is there a place i can check for something better?

Don't go off roading alone.. wouldn't want to get stuck far from help..

Feel free to fall in on a run with us, you will get to experience your vehicle safely and can learn quite abit.

What tyres did you choose?

Posted: January 12th, 2012, 2:32 am
by stretch
yea will have to fall in a run with you guys. did the lopinot to blanchi, well as far as the road can caarry you as its collapsed right now. Also did past the blanchi bridge to the beach at the end of road, hiked from basically the hill after the big house.
Waiting to see when you guys make a next run, so I can tag along.

Posted: January 12th, 2012, 10:45 am
by sliderz1
Lopinot trail collapsed? Which section?

Posted: January 12th, 2012, 10:51 am
by stretch
no not the lopinot trail, when you come out on the main road and you make the turn off at the junction to go blanchi. maybe a ten minute drive and the road is collapsed.

Posted: January 12th, 2012, 12:05 pm
by Westbourne trading
Give me a call i have ARB, Ironman and Masterpull recovery equipment in the show room
6831101 7572118

Posted: January 12th, 2012, 12:57 pm
by droppa
so the lopinot trail still driveable then, how did the BT perform there strech....

Posted: January 12th, 2012, 1:24 pm
by stretch
yes it is. was a nice short trail.the hardest part if it was trying to drive under..

the bt working good. leaving home now to look for some trails around tabaquite side.

Posted: January 12th, 2012, 1:41 pm
by sliderz1
oh sheit......more trees came down since.......

Posted: January 12th, 2012, 1:58 pm
by 3stagevtec
A chain saw and some straps and we can have that cleared in no time!

Posted: January 12th, 2012, 8:25 pm
by droppa
and u know we have dat, ah sending in you and zangief first!!!

Posted: January 12th, 2012, 9:47 pm
by stretch
yea thats an easy job for a power saw.
Hit a road from tabaquite, its a wasa road following d pipeline to piparo. maybe a hour and half or so. but sure sticking for 4x4 with basic AT tyres. Stuck myself about 5 times, luckily a DMAX offroader came along and pulled me out each time.
Condition of van after.
All worth it.
Priceless to drive back into a town 2 see ppl expressions when they see the BT50. lol

Posted: January 12th, 2012, 10:03 pm
by sliderz1
stretch wrote:Priceless to drive back into a town 2 see ppl expressions when they see the BT50. lol

this

glad ya had fun, what equipment did you have in the case of getting stuck on your own?

Posted: January 12th, 2012, 10:03 pm
by 3stagevtec
^ Nice!! Gotta love those wasa pipeline trails eh! oh yeah, the looks on people face is priceless! (I like to go to work all mud down like that! :mrgreen: )

Posted: January 12th, 2012, 10:05 pm
by 3stagevtec
sliderz1 wrote:
stretch wrote:Priceless to drive back into a town 2 see ppl expressions when they see the BT50. lol

this

glad ya had fun, what equipment did you have in the case of getting stuck on your own?

phone number for the DMAX driver.. lol

Posted: January 12th, 2012, 10:28 pm
by sliderz1

check your pm

Posted: January 13th, 2012, 12:43 am
by stretch
equipment in case i got stuck by myself, NONE lol well besides the cutlass, boots, strap, shovel and a drink or two incase i have to wait for help. When i found the road i called up the DMAX as he was itching for some new mud, would have never played 007 and venture in there. And as i said, he had to winch me out a couple of times.

And yea 3stagevtec, I'm contemplating now to even wash the BT or keep it so till next week when i hit up more trails. Plan for next week is Morne Diablo, will post some pics.

Posted: January 13th, 2012, 9:26 am
by 3stagevtec
stretch wrote:equipment in case i got stuck by myself, NONE lol well besides the cutlass, boots, strap, shovel and a drink or two incase i have to wait for help. When i found the road i called up the DMAX as he was itching for some new mud, would have never played 007 and venture in there. And as i said, he had to winch me out a couple of times.

And yea 3stagevtec, I'm contemplating now to even wash the BT or keep it so till next week when i hit up more trails. Plan for next week is Morne Diablo, will post some pics.

Tips
1) walk with DMAX! because you WILL get stuck.
2) air down your tyres (it helps alot! try 20psi front / 17psi rear, you can go lower if you wish)
3) know when to turn back (the trail there is on the difficult side and mud terrain tyres are a must. walk with enough food / water)
4) if you end up in a jam, take lots of pics! :P

Posted: January 13th, 2012, 9:28 am
by stretch
Damn 3stagevtec reading that made me feel very un prepared lol.
Walk with DMAX, ha!
Pics are a must.

Posted: January 13th, 2012, 10:39 am
by lighthammer
^^ and watch out for bees!

seriously.... i get sting 5x last time we went.

Fack bees.
Fack all of them.

Posted: January 13th, 2012, 10:43 am
by lighthammer
those $150 tow straps are only meant to tow small sedans on paved road, not to recover 1.5 tonne trucks stuck in mud. they're guaranteed to break once u start to tug and snatch trucks out. Also, if there's a steel shackle attached to one end, that can become a missile and seriously injure someone.

better to use proper rated elastic snatch strap like Arb or ironman straps. the elasticity of the strap transfers more energy and allows for more pulling force, while those ARB straps are rated at a minimum break strength of 18,000lbs (thats the one I have).

Call James - 374-9339 and he'll hook you up with some strong snatch straps.

Posted: January 13th, 2012, 12:39 pm
by .z.
take a look at the pics from mudaholics charity b4 u go down mon diablo.

will take delight in coming 4 u.

Z

Posted: January 13th, 2012, 1:57 pm
by 3stagevtec
.z. wrote:take a look at the pics from mudaholics charity b4 u go down mon diablo.

will take delight in coming 4 u.

Z

Posted: January 13th, 2012, 2:23 pm
by sliderz1
ROFL.......ah speechless

Posted: January 13th, 2012, 2:55 pm
by stretch
all that in it yuh know.