RB Engine Info (good read)RB20/RB30/RB24/RB25/RB26 Everythin

Postby Sinister_Audio » August 4th, 2006, 8:46 pm

Nissan RB engine
To meet Wikipedia's quality standards, this article or section may require cleanup.
Please discuss this issue on the talk page, or replace this tag with a more specific message. Editing help is available.
This article has been tagged since April 2006.
The RB engine is a 2.0 L to 3.0 L straight-6 piston engine from Nissan.

It has an aluminum head with both SOHC/DOHC versions, with the SOHC versions having 2 valves per cylinder and the DOHC versions having 4 valves per cylinder, all cam lobes move only one valve. All have a hemispherical head and All RB engines have belt driven cams and a cast iron block. All turbo models have an intercooled turbo (With the exception of the RB30ET fitted to the Holden Commodore VL), and most have a recirculating factory blow off valve (The exception when fitted in Nissan Laurels and Cefiros) to reduce boost surge when the throttle is closed. All single cam versions are missing the designated "d" from the model number.

From August 1993 RB engines produced also featured variable cam timing (VCT) for the intake cam.

From 1998 the RB25DE/T series was released with a "NEO" head. This enabled the engine to be classed as a LEV (low emission vehicle) engine. With the NEO head, torque and power were further improved although the RB26DETT produced still only 280 PS (206 kW) on paper, according to Nissan factory specs. In reality it produces more than this, but it is underestimated because all main Japanese car manufacturers have a gentlemen's agreement not to produce cars with engines exceeding 206 kW. The "RB" name is misconstrued and thought to represent "rhythm & balance", or "race bred". This is not the case, it simply is a "series designator".

The Nissan CA engine is a 4 cylinder version on the RB engine.

RB20

R31 RB20E engine in an R31 Nissan SkylineThere were three 2.0 L RB20 engines produced:

RB20E - single-cam (130 hp)
RB20DE - twin-cam (155 hp)
RB20DET - twin-cam turbo (215 hp)
The first series RB20E/DE/DET engine was fitted to the R31 Skyline and is generally referred to as a "red top" RB engine as it has red cam covers, it used the "NICS" (nissan induction control system) injection system. The non-turbo models were also fitted to various Holdens sold in New Zealand (RB20E). The Z31 200ZR was fitted with an intercooled red top RB20DET.

Laurels, R32 Skyline and Cefiros used the second (1988-1993) series RB20E/DE/DET .This series RB engine has an improved head design over the previous version and used the new "ECCS" (electronically concerntrated control system) injection system. These later motors are known as 'Silver Top' engines.

R34 Skylines and Nissan Stageas used the RB20DE and RB20e (Stagea only) engine with a NEO head. The Neo Rb20de is the most economical Rb engine so far produced, it is classed as LEV (low emission vehicle) engine.

RB24
There was only one version of the RB24 engine produced:

RB24s - single-cam
This is a relatively unknown engine, as it was not produced for the Japanese domestic market. These were fitted to some left hand drive Nissan Cefiros exported from Japan new. Mechanically it is made from an RB30e head, RB25de/det block and RB20de/det crank with 34 mm heigh pistons. This engine used carberators instead of the Nissan ECCS fuel injection system. This has the outcome of it being able to rev harder than the RB25de/det (as it has the same stroke as the RB20de/det) as well as being almost the same displacment as the RB25de/det. A common modification is to fit a twin cam head from other RB series motors while retaining the carberated set-up. In standard single cam form it produced 141 PS @ 5000 rpm and 20.1 kgf·m of torque @ 4,400 rpm.

RB25

1993 RB25DET with VCTThe 2.5 L RB25 engine was produced in three forms:

RB25DE - twin-cam (190 to 200 hp)
RB25DET - twin-cam turbo (245 to 250 hp)
NEO RB25DET - twin-cam turbo (280 hp)
RB25DE and DET engines produced from August 1993 also featured variable cam timing (VCT) for the intake cam. This gave the new RB25DE more power and torque at lower rpm than the previous model.

In May 1998 a NEO head was fitted. This was also a low emission vehicle engine (LEV). The non-VCT and non-turbo was fitted to the R32 Skyline, the VCT turbo and non-turbo was fitted to R33 Skylines and Stageas. R34 Skylines also use these engines, but they are fitted with a NEO head.

RB26DETT
The first 2.6 L RB26DETT featured twin turbochargers and produced 280 PS (206 kW) @ 6800 rpm and 260 ft·lbf (353 N·m) @ 4400 rpm. The last series of the RB26DETT produced 280 PS (206 kW) @ 6800 rpm and 289 ft·lbf (392 N·m) @ 4400 rpm. But at "test stand runs" the engine obtain 320 hp and more! It is renowned for its strength and through extensive modification, some examples have been known to produce over 1000 hp (735 kW) and with regular maintenance, many of these engines have been driven way past the 100,000 mile mark with a few heading toward 200,000 miles. 600 hp without internal change in the engine possible. The engine block is strong to 1360 hp (1000 kw)

It was used in the following cars:

Nissan Skyline GT-R R32
Nissan Skyline GT-R R33
Nissan Skyline GT-R R34
Nissan Stagea 260RS
Tommy Kaira ZZII

RB26DETT Z2
The motor used in the Nissan Skyline Z-Tune is a 2.8 L. Although the 26 stands for 2.6 L, there was never a Nissan engine called The RB28. It is basically the RB26 motor, modified with Nismo parts, and stroked to 2.8 L. The end result was the RB26 Z2, which puts out 507 hp and 550 N·m of torque. They wanted to do 630 hp, but there was a problem with the emissions values.

RB30
The motor is a cast iron block with an alloy head, and a SOHC at 86x86. Three models of 3.0 L RB30 were produced, the carburetted RB30S, the non-turbo RB30E and the turbo RB30ET. This motor was produced because the Holden 202 (3.3l) powering the Holden Commodore could no longer satisfied emissions requirements, and with all new cars required to run on unleaded petrol by 1986, a quick replacement was needed. Nissan Motor co. teamed up with GM to build their biggest displacement RB, the 3-litre RB30.

RB30DE
These rare engines were used in the Tommy Kaira M30 based on the R31 Skyline GTS-R. It delivered 177 kw @ 7000rpm and 294 Nm @ 4800rpm. Apparently the engine was made up of a RB30 bottom end mated to a modified RB20DE head. These engines also exists as a hybrid conversion using a RB30 bottom end and a RB25DE head.

RB30DET
No official version exists but it is referred to by tuners as the engine can be bored to 3 liters. Also refers to a turbocharged engine featuring an RB30E block with a twin-cam head conversion. Common hybrid in Australia using a RB30E bottom end mated to a RB25DE cylinder head and turbo. The RB25DE cylinder head from the R32 Skyline, A31 Cefiro or C33 Laurel can be used. The RB25DET (from the R33 Skyline or C34 Laurel or Stagea) head is also used, however an external oil feed must be fabricated for the variable cam timing on the RB25DET which further compicates things. As it has a heavier block (relative to the RB26DETT), horsepower has been brought up to 1600HP (compared to 1400HP) at limits of block. There is also an "RB30DETT" kit manufactured by OS Giken of Japan, which simply replaces the stock engine block with a pre-fabricated one, measuring 86mm bore x 86mm stroke and featuring reinforced internals.

RB-X GT2
The RB-X GT2 (also called REINIK) is an engine specially made for the Nismo 400R. The difference between this engine and a RB26 DETT is the engine is bored to 2771 cm³ which gives out 450 PS (331 kW) at 6,800 rpm and 47.8 kgf·m (469 N·m or 347 lbf·ft) at 4,400 rpm. This engine comes with a reinforced cylinder block, cylinder head, 87 metal head gasket t=1.2, piston with cooling channel, forged crank shaft, forged connecting rods, N1 turbine with reinforcement actuator, high flow air cleaner, stainless down pipe amd low air resistance sport catalizer, most of which is not offered on the RB26DETT.

RD28
This is a 2.8L diesel engine that is fitted to some Nissan Laurels. The Nissan RD engine series is practically the same as the RB series but runs on diesel. It is a single over head cam engine with electronic fuel injection. These engines are usually found on the Nissan Laurel and has a 2.8L capacity. RD engine owners have been known to replace the engine head with a higher quality custom head to convert the engine to petrol, thus creating a 2.8L petrol engine..

http://www.answers.com/topic/nissan-rb-engine

Picasso

Postby Picasso » August 5th, 2006, 3:56 pm

Nice boi Sinister... Now where there Primera with the RB26DETT :| ?

Postby Sinister_Audio » August 6th, 2006, 12:32 am

Now where there Primera with the RB26DETT

WDMC LOL
how yuh wukkin dat magic?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 6th, 2006, 11:48 am

niceness!! :mrgreen:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 6th, 2006, 11:59 am

RB26DETT
The first 2.6 L RB26DETT featured twin turbochargers and produced 280 PS (206 kW) @ 6800 rpm and 260 ft·lbf (353 N·m) @ 4400 rpm. The last series of the RB26DETT produced 280 PS (206 kW) @ 6800 rpm and 289 ft·lbf (392 N·m) @ 4400 rpm. But at "test stand runs" the engine obtain 320 hp and more! It is renowned for its strength and through extensive modification, some examples have been known to produce over 1000 hp (735 kW) and with regular maintenance, many of these engines have been driven way past the 100,000 mile mark with a few heading toward 200,000 miles. 600 hp without internal change in the engine possible. The engine block is strong to 1360 hp (1000 kw)

and they have ppl bashin nissan... i yet doe get it :?

u see the brut power of them 26dett??

with stock internal can take up to 600hp..

said to produce over 320hp stock...

and the list goes on!!

Postby Sinister_Audio » August 6th, 2006, 3:29 pm

yupz
luv me ah 26 :mrgreen:

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » August 6th, 2006, 3:42 pm

with stock internal can take up to 600hp..

real amazing eh!!!

The engine block is strong to 1360 hp

but this one really have me in wonder, 1360 yes. now that is engineering fuh yuh.
all them nissan bashers HYMC :twisted:

Postby Sinister_Audio » August 6th, 2006, 10:02 pm

Quote:

The engine block is strong to 1360 hp

but this one really have me in wonder, 1360 yes. now that is engineering fuh yuh.
all them nissan bashers HYMC

yea i would think so too,
cuz iz like i think they come with forged pistons,
and the block is DAMN strong!
so i think it would take a serious jammin!
buh 1360? THAZ PLENTY JEDD

turbohead

Postby turbohead » August 6th, 2006, 10:36 pm

damn dats a dosie. ppl still say dey prefer d 2jzett 2 a 26dett an look wat dat engine cud do nah boy ppl ha 2 be crazy. put ah rb in dat. it have a known skyline in japan tuned by one named nagata an lil short japanese an it is d fastest ever made so far 1200hp. quarters in 9.6. 0-60 in mere seconds. jus imagine nah fellas. hubba hubba hubba

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 6th, 2006, 11:38 pm

its cheaper to get the 2jz to reach 600hp than ah rb26dett..

jus remember.. its all about your budget.. trust me.. i kno :wink:

waz talkin to ah guy de odda night.. has in all 2 cars 2JZ's.... why ??

cuz its alot of money to mod ah rb26 to where u want it..

and to get ah 2jz to 34PSI :shock: .. is good...

try gettin ah rb26 to that amount of boost nah.. stable.. and runnin tracks well.. without creating ah time bomb! its all about the $$$$ u have to spend! :!:

Postby Sinister_Audio » August 7th, 2006, 1:06 am

it is d fastest ever made so far 1200hp.

umm i have some vids of a r33 n r34 doin 1600

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 7th, 2006, 12:35 pm

damn dats a dosie. ppl still say dey prefer d 2jzett 2 a 26dett an look wat dat engine cud do nah boy ppl ha 2 be crazy. put ah rb in dat. it have a known skyline in japan tuned by one named nagata an lil short japanese an it is d fastest ever made so far 1200hp. quarters in 9.6. 0-60 in mere seconds. jus imagine nah fellas. hubba hubba hubba

i was about to add that i posted vids of sylines making MUCH more power and running in teh 8's and 9's on street tires..

fastest RB is 6 second cars (one in US and one in japan and roumoured a few in NZ and Australia)

the 2J is much easier to modify and keep together using stock parts.. the RB requires allot of work. (oil pump upgrade, water pump upgrade, pistons, rods etc etc)

Postby Sinister_Audio » August 7th, 2006, 4:36 pm

the 2J is much easier to modify and keep together using stock parts.. the RB requires allot of work. (oil pump upgrade, water pump upgrade, pistons, rods etc etc)

ok mr TRD
buh still,
how much 2j u know doin 6,7,8?
and how much 26 u know doin 6,7,8?
and i know there are sum 2j doin that,
buh the 26 is still 2.6L stock and the 2j is 3.0L stock,
so wont u admit its kinda sweet to have a 2.6L stock block that can take up to 1360hp?
i dont know how much the 2j's block could take but still,
the 26 is still my fav

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 8th, 2006, 7:06 am

^^ u jus went dong in de book dere..

so wont u admit its kinda sweet to have a 2.6L stock block that can take up to 1360hp?
the 26 is still my fav

trust me that has ah block u eh wanna mess with...

STILL!!!

the fact remains that nissan built the engine to dominate.. to be like ah signature motor for nissan...

the 2jz eh no signature motor for them.. its jus another high end engine..created for high end needs..

the 26dett is ah strong engine.. and ppl use dem instead of the great 2jz because dey can take ah harder beating(26dett over 2jz that is)

yet.. if u do the proper mods to the 2jz.. u will create ah moving thunderstorm..

waz in yancy shop de odda day watchin his faster v6 car in trinidad trophy....

.. that car can be pushed further to produce lower times(34psi he runnin right now).. yes.. but its time and money as well.. find out how much money is placed into rb26dett projects.. yuh go kno where we comin from :lol:

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » August 8th, 2006, 9:42 am

Now I really wonder what the firetruck I was thinking into talkin my gramps to give away d commodore. I could see any RB motor fitting into that. Even the stock six austrailian cylinder was leffin dem civis, but because of the 3 gear box auto, allyuh was lashing out on top end!

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 8th, 2006, 10:33 am

^^ nah jed...is real $$ to spend behind that...

and yuh waz planin on buyin ah rb fuh it??? like yuh gots paid jed??

question for who can answer.....

i kno wats the advantage of an oil cooler.....

but... while the oil is REALLLLLL hot... i have known some pumps to die becuase of that...

whats usually done in ah state like this??

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 8th, 2006, 11:26 am

how much 2j u know doin 6,7,8?

ALLOT!!!!!!!

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid ... 4772652151

http://www.metacafe.com/watch/94526/toy ... 5_seconds/

http://youtube.com/watch?v=HBxMq6YJlfA& ... arch=turbo

http://www.bullishmotorracing.com/press ... 3_2005.htm

there is an entire website of supras running over 700whp and most of them on stock bottom ends.. http://www.to4r.com/

the Street Glow / Bullish racing Solara pounded out a 6.823 at 203 mph

and how much 26 u know doin 6,7,8?

not as many..

the 26 is still my fav

the record for whp on a stcok block is something like 1100whp - with stock pistons and rods and block and crank.. thats right all stock - when they say the HP limit on RB26's is 1360 they mean the block NOT the OE pistons and rods like the 2JZGTE:

600 hp without internal change in the engine possible.

so...

the fact remains that nissan built the engine to dominate.. to be like ah signature motor for nissan...

the Rb26DETT was built to compete, it started getting its arse handed to it late in the JGTC (now Super GT) after a brief winning streak with teh R34, the 3SGTE, 1FNZE (or whatever toyota v8) the NSX's etc started dominating. only when they introduced the VQ30DETT it started winning again..

in drag, the 2JZ is king hands down. look at the NDRA and IHRA and you'll understand.

the 26dett is ah strong engine.. and ppl use dem instead of the great 2jz because dey can take ah harder beating(26dett over 2jz that is)

thats not true,. jsut cause you see a guy do it doent mean its so, i was a nissan tuner for years and browsed all the major Nissan forums and can tell you allot of RB have oiling and pump problems, are NOTORIOUS for rod knock and spinning main bearings etc.. the 2J's are bullet proof...

waz in yancy shop de odda day watchin his faster v6 car in trinidad trophy....

the 2JZ is a straight 6 BTW ;)

but... while the oil is REALLLLLL hot... i have known some pumps to die becuase of that...

its more to do with cavitation in the pump at high rps in drag cars or high hp cars.. i.e. the blades of the pump just whip the oil into a froth, and it cant cool / lubricate the engine..

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » August 8th, 2006, 12:08 pm

ryan woon has 1400+WHP on his 2jz street supra, with reliability, but 100% no traction :wink: dont forget that

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 8th, 2006, 5:51 pm

the Rb26DETT was built to compete, it started getting its arse handed to it late in the JGTC (now Super GT) after a brief winning streak with teh R34, the 3SGTE, 1FNZE (or whatever toyota v the NSX's etc started dominating. only when they introduced the VQ30DETT it started winning again..

in drag, the 2JZ is king hands down. look at the NDRA and IHRA and you'll understand.

that i kno

Quote:

next time i will loook over wat i type.. i cyar believe i said that SH!T wen i very well kno better.. my bad :oops:

and i kno the 2jz is straight...lol..

i also kno about nissan pump problems..

n e ways jed..

my talk is.. theres no replacement for displacment! :wink:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 8th, 2006, 5:52 pm

den again we all here to learn from those who kno :)

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » August 8th, 2006, 5:57 pm

i myself was impressed by the 2jz engines but i am a diehard nissan man to my heart and if i had the money to choose 2jz or rb26 i choose rb26. but u dont u think it is unfair to compare the rb26dett to a 2jz 2.6 to 3.0 why dont u compair the rb30dett to the 2jz? yes i know we don't get it down here but 3.0 against 3.0 max power and stock power vs stock power. 2jz will get wash really bad expecially 2jz in supra against rb30dett in r34 skyline with the great all wheel drive system rb gone with the wind.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » August 8th, 2006, 6:47 pm

^^actually they both might be the same and the 2jz will still have an advantage i dunno how but i was reading over RB30 motors and seen some 700HP RB30's doing low 10's. This is in an R34 that is with full weight like most of the full weight supras doing 9's streetly.

But 3.0L for 3.0L i think they both can be fairly the same

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » August 8th, 2006, 7:52 pm

if i had the money to choose i would take rb26dett over 2jzgte. i am a die hard rb man and a nissan man to the bone. but i think 3.0 l vs a 2.6 l the scale unbalance to compair. and i know we dont get the rb30 down here but it is better to compair the rb30dett vs 2jzgte max power and stock power. i still think u have a 2jzgte in a supra and a rb30dett in a r34 skyline with that great all wheel drive system the supra will get wash coming and going. LONG LIVE THE RB

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 8th, 2006, 9:23 pm

^^ dude.. as u said.. u ah die hard nissan.. so h20 or n e one else cant comvince u or tell u other wise.. rest is ole talk :|

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » August 8th, 2006, 10:02 pm

At the time I didn't have my licence, so I had the money, but no inspiration. GUess what. The tables have turned now. The commodore gone, so all I left with is the mazda and the march

turbofied

Postby turbofied » August 9th, 2006, 12:56 am

*~TeamH2O~*, australian holden commodores do 8 secs
with rb26/30 motor
places such as rajab racing
r34s with rb26 do 8.2 secs

i can send u the vids or links to them

turbofied

Postby turbofied » August 9th, 2006, 12:57 am

also rb26 has a better power to weight ration than a 2jz or 1jz

turbo master

Postby turbo master » August 9th, 2006, 1:36 am

2jz still clocks a better time overall
i love my nissan but 6 seconds?DAMN!6 seconds on a 2jz dred..ridiculous.

btw..it isnt fair to compare stock motors.
think outside the box ppl.
why do u think manufacturers made the engines like that..stock so ppl could upgrade them.most stroker kits as far as i know increase the displacement by 0.4 litres.which is what was done with the supra. a 3.4l engine n designed for upgrading.

jus like they're making cars non turbo n making them as powerful as possible..
so when u turbo it...DAMN!!!!

so now when u think honda..oh..they eh turbo n this n that..they're not turbo n making as much HP as a turbo engine..imagine when u turbo that?!
n i'm sure the manufacturers are making them designed to be good as is n/a n better yet when u turbo.

jus a thought

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » August 9th, 2006, 8:11 am

*sigh*

all this talk of RBs and everything reminded me how I felt about the commodore being up on dummy jacks and watching the dust just sit there and collect up on it. It also reminded me of when I saw this other commodore, black jus like meh gramps own, drop low, RB20 turbo, and I coulda feel from d door and body pannels it was lightenned from the stock holden pannels. If allyuh know what I taking bout, it was black, PAO something something and he made a run up in gangster drags a day. I remember a while back allyuh posted pics I saw it and I even made a comment on it. I will try to go looking for it. When my grandfather gave him the commodore he had started to mod over the car jus like the old commodore untill his brother got married, and he handed over the car. Whenever allyuh see "PAS 2326" that woulda been meh baby with ah RB under the hood. :cry: Ah still have hopes, when ah get enought money, could go for an A31 cefiro with d sae motor. Is something about them and ah RB under d hood just somehow blend in harmony :mrgreen:

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 9th, 2006, 10:46 am

there are 7 sec RB's too guys ;)

i am sure you rememerb a certian B12 & B13 SE-R's in the states with a RB26DET's

Manny Cruz RB26 powered Sentra

it rumoured to be still running stock internals, beleivable, they only need about 700whp in a well set up Pro RWD chassis - look at SKF ;)

i think the RB powered HKS Drag 180sx went 6 secs once too