Smoke Colours Explained.

nash

Smoke Colours Explained.

Postby nash » August 19th, 2004, 7:30 pm

Well I know alot of ppl ask on the forums about smoke colours,why is it so and so ?
Well...

Black smoke is raw gasoline burning. A rich condition can be the cause by a heavy or mis adjusted float, a choke stuck shut, a bad oxygen sensor, a bad map sensor, a bad fuel pressure regulator, a plugged up air filter or a bad injector. Typically, if you only get black smoke first thing in the morning, it has to do with the choke or the fuel enrichment portion of your fuel injection system. If you get black smoke all the time, get it fixed NOW. If you don’t, you run the risk of wiping out the catalytic convertor and doubling your repair bill.

Blue smoke is oil burning. The tailpipe will either smoke all the time or just once, first thing in the morning. If you get blue smoke all the time, that is a sign of impeding doom. That is the first sign of the beginning of the end. Broken rings, bad pistons, damaged cylinder walls, all high dollar items.

On the other hand, if all you get is a puff or two first thing in the morning and never again throughout the day, then your problem is probably bad value guides or value guide seals. I always tell my customers, wait until you begin to see other symptoms of this oil usage. Wait until you start fouling plugs, wait until the oil consumption is greater than one quart every 1,000 miles. And never assume that seals alone will totally fix this problem, if the engine has 100k miles plus.

Grey smoke can really be black or blue. You can usually tell which is it by the smell or by matching other symptoms you have to the color of the smoke is easier. Others will say blue is blue and all other is really grey to black and I would agree.

White smoke is either the transmission shift modulator is bad and allowing the engine to suck and burn transmission fluid or it’s really, really bad. White smoke could also be coolant or antifreeze that is either leaking, or being forced into the combustion chambers and being burned. The exhaust will look wet and have a sweet smell to it. A bad head gasket (75% of the time), a broken head (15% of the time) or a broken cylinder wall (10% of the time) will be the reason your engine is burning coolant or antifreeze.

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » August 19th, 2004, 7:46 pm

:lol: :lol: ..i gettin a compination of all but white :lol: :lol:

art n motion

Postby art n motion » August 19th, 2004, 7:48 pm

nice info for ppl who not sure what symptoms the engine exhibiting :!:

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » August 19th, 2004, 8:19 pm

as for the white smoke...u mean coolant being burnt up...WHILST drivin right?

the early morning mist is quite normal i believe...

:?

dreadman

Postby dreadman » August 19th, 2004, 8:28 pm

i doh see any smoke but de exhaust does be black

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 19th, 2004, 11:27 pm

^^^^normal thing with fuel injected vehicles dreadman

Postby crazybalhead » August 20th, 2004, 8:27 am

Water condenses in the pipe overnight so a little white smoke in the morning eh nothing, as long as yuh doh smell coolant.

Postby X2 » August 20th, 2004, 11:07 am

Mitsu_Exec wrote:as for the white smoke...u mean coolant being burnt up...WHILST drivin right?

the early morning mist is quite normal i believe...

:?

This is due to what crazy 'not so' balhead said....

As far as white smoke possibly being transmission fluid... it's unlikely. Most manufacturers use engine oil or lubricants similar in molecular structure to engine oil as transmission fluid... hence when tranny fluid burns... it often burns bluish/white.

rumbelly

Postby rumbelly » August 21st, 2004, 10:46 am

so what really is white smoke then ..

i gettin it ... not plenty, jus when the car idling ... it does be clear for a while

then like it does go into some kinda mode or sumtin ...

and a lil tush tush of white smoke does start floatin out the exhaust

:S

Postby X2 » August 22nd, 2004, 4:22 pm

Well, as said... white smoke when you first warming up in the morning is prolly just humidity/moisture in the exhaust piping/muffler.

If you are getting small puffs of white smoke well after warm up... you might be looking at a headgasket with a small leak or even a bad gasket on the t/b.

allan

Postby allan » January 25th, 2005, 2:16 pm

does this go for diesel also :idea:

Postby X2 » January 25th, 2005, 3:30 pm

Diesel does burn black, but I heard that the diesel sold here in TnT is the diesel used on larger trucks (oil heavy), so it could be smoking just by using it in a regular car... but I ent no diesel expert.

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » January 26th, 2005, 4:44 pm

i get ah white puff when the car idles for about ah min and then i accelerate

no fouled plugs (change them every 15 K or so

ah lil over 200K Km

100 K was done by me and the first 100 by the first owner

i know is valve seals and is ah good thing i read this article i thinking i could of just changed the valve seals and get rid of the this problem :shock:

i burn about 1 quart every 1500 km

starting to save for ah new engine

Dragonaire

Postby Dragonaire » January 27th, 2005, 4:09 pm

very good info...

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 29th, 2005, 1:34 am

save fuh a new car dey cheese :wink:

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » January 29th, 2005, 11:14 am

^^^^^^^^^ah figure so vega :wink:

Altec55

Postby Altec55 » January 29th, 2005, 11:30 am

what about gallons of water flying out the tailpipe? one day i was driving to school and i was behind a maxima that was pissing water like madness. when we get on the highway one set of water spray out and it finally stopped after a lil bit.

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » January 29th, 2005, 1:13 pm

:shock: busted head gasket for sure or ah man play ah prank and filled his tail pipe with water

SkettellGod

Postby SkettellGod » January 29th, 2005, 3:55 pm

what about white smoke after high revs? what is that?

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » January 29th, 2005, 11:58 pm

Okay from research On mornings when it is cold it may be ok to have a little white smoke from moisture, but if on a warm morning and there is white smoke then there may be an slight oil leak maybe by the piston ringland, when the car is parked the oil may collect in the manifold and when started in the morning it will burn the small excess build up of oil in the manifold and then will stop smoking for the day therefore only having smoke in the morning. If smoking white then it could be the above or maybe excess fuel. If it's blueish in colour then that is oil definitely. For turbo vehicles, when you have smoke between shifts this indicates that the turbo seals are probably shot or maybe the valve seals could be leaking. Others may be able to add and correct what I have posted here.

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » January 31st, 2005, 12:45 pm

what about smoke when you mash down hard on the ex .....
normal driving, its not there..

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 31st, 2005, 10:56 pm

^^^colour smoke dey buddy!????

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » June 14th, 2006, 7:39 am

Some more info in these threads:

<a href='http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=37415'>White smoke??</a>

<a href='http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=83089'>
why my car smokin?</a>

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » February 5th, 2007, 9:34 pm

wayz this ting real teach me alot..bess post.

krazeevic

Postby krazeevic » February 5th, 2007, 9:59 pm

really good info. Thanx.

awesomeandre

Postby awesomeandre » February 6th, 2007, 5:47 am

reall good info

my ride smokes whitish bluish, only smokes when the accelerator is pressed, when come to a stop and the reverse gear is engaged one set ah smoke does come out the exhaust, when i smelled the exhaust pipe it smells like burnt oil

can anyone help

Postby SmokeyGTi » February 7th, 2007, 3:10 pm

This should be made a sticky.

Samo

Postby Samo » February 8th, 2007, 8:58 am

wen i start in the morning,i see alot of white smoke...for abt 2mins...then no smoke after..so i guess this is jus the moisture in the muffler... :?:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 9th, 2007, 12:01 am

^^^yup

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » February 9th, 2007, 4:29 am

is that little bit of white smoke better than no smoke at all?? jus asking...i wud tink NONE wud be better..but i doh know..maybe a little bit of white is better than none...