Info needed - converting AE101 windows to power windows

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

venum

Info needed - converting AE101 windows to power windows

Postby venum » March 22nd, 2007, 5:32 pm

Need info on converting the windows of a Corolla AE101 wagon (DX) from manual (hand-powered) to power windows.

what hardware is needed (apart from the regulators and switches)

the procedure

planning on buying F\U doors to get the regulators and switches

would the glass itself need changing or can the existing glass work

Need help

anyone with parts to sell that can be used in this project are welcome to make offers

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » March 22nd, 2007, 5:47 pm

it wouldn't be cheaper to just paint over the foreign doors u getting or they not in that good condition

Postby Hook » March 22nd, 2007, 6:01 pm

^^^ the more easily available powered doors are from the 101 sedan...the front doors will bolt right up to the wagon but the rear ones won't work as the shape is different but the guts should swap

it would be better to transplant it, since your wagon would obviously be a bit newer than the donor car, just take down your door panel and compare fittings with the donor door

venum

Postby venum » March 23rd, 2007, 9:51 pm

I don't have the vehicle nor do I have the doors yet

I want to know all that I need to before I start the project on a pardna's car

you are right about the wagon being newer than the F\U doors

what kinda wiring am I looking at?

Postby Hook » March 24th, 2007, 1:52 pm

the front doors are cable operated, so if u can swap everything from the donor door (glass and brackets too) then great, cuz there's a track that runs vertical with two pulleys on either end that the winder cable runs on

the rear doors I believe are the same between powered and manual with the exception of the powered regulator from the donor door so I don't think u'll have a problem there...it's the same 4 10-bolts in the same line-up

wiring involves running power to the main switch in the driver's door (fused connections and everything eh..doh want no fires) which involves squeezing them through the little rubber gromet/sleeve (same for all doors)
if the manual doors have no rubber sleeve for wires then u can get at Sham's or u can McGuyver it with a drill, rubber gromets, split loom and black silicone (yuh hand hadda be steady)

then u need to make a harness for each other door and run them through (make them long enough to run along the corners like factory so u don't have unsightly bumps under your carpet

then if u getting whole powered doors, u gonna get power locks with it too, so u wanna incorporate that into your harness one time :idea:

so make arrangements for say 6-8 wires per door (different colours will help)..use very thin, like 18AWG-14AWG max (provided the insulation isn't outrageously thick like speaker wire) as many strands as possible for durability and ease of snake-ing(is that a word?) the harness along corners and through holes...split loom makes the harness look neat, but since it running under the carpet anyway, electrical tape will make it tighter

solder all connections (more durability than twisted ones) and for neatness and quickness, heat shrink tubing can be used to insulate soldered joints rather than electrical tape

it's a fair amount of work but nothing that can't be done in a weekend completely undisturbed with a little basic electrical knowledge, some tools and a multimeter

venum

Postby venum » March 25th, 2007, 8:40 pm

Hook thanx for that info

from your post I gather that I need to get the doors to get teh Glass, switches, clips and regulators

can you recommend a good guy to do this?

Postby Hook » March 26th, 2007, 11:12 am

well, any electrician worth his salt should be capable, or u can go to a P/W specialist in the Bamboo...see this thread

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=118490

Postby AllTrac » March 26th, 2007, 11:26 am

great info dey hook!!

Return to “TOYOTA”