Tachometer hook up in a diesel pickup

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Tachometer hook up in a diesel pickup

Postby Team Loco » June 14th, 2007, 10:41 am

can anyone hook up an aftermarket tach in a Diesel pickup?, my hilux, 2.8 without an ECU

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » June 14th, 2007, 11:37 am

ah boy good one there i working on learning that right now you get a pulse from the pump but it can't go directly to the tach it has to go thru a convertor box first i'm trying to make a box or see if i could mod a gas one wich was used long ago if you get some one who did it let and me know i wanna see what trick they used :wink: can you make a pussie outa steel too? :lol:

Postby Team Loco » June 14th, 2007, 1:03 pm

thanks man! everyone insisting it can be hooked up, they just wanted me to buy from them

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » June 14th, 2007, 2:44 pm

talk to wagon r.......ah think he did get an Autometer Diesel specific tach

Postby wagon r » June 14th, 2007, 2:49 pm

^yep he did. sean check me and you'll see the entire ting.

Postby Team Loco » June 14th, 2007, 3:38 pm

can you make a pussie outa steel too?

things must be really bad for you to want that :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby wagon r » June 14th, 2007, 3:53 pm

...but atleast it will work all year round and not answer back... :idea:

Postby Team Loco » June 14th, 2007, 5:02 pm

Yeah but it will always be cold and bald. And you will always have to shine it or else it will rust. Wtf we talking bout here?

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » June 14th, 2007, 8:02 pm

WTF Indeed :lol: :lol: :lol:

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » June 14th, 2007, 8:51 pm

wtf the man say we make any thing outa steel so i asking :lol: tell me this would you want a woman if she didn't have that? or if they came seperate which would you take?? or and yes their is a special tach for diesel what i trying to do is make the normal gas one work on diesel too

Postby Team Loco » June 15th, 2007, 8:34 am

Anil :lol: :lol: yuh good :lol: :lol:

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » June 15th, 2007, 10:26 am

This thread just confuse me :) Is a good thing I have a stock tach :)

droppa

Postby droppa » June 15th, 2007, 10:39 am

so is there a converter to work a tach on a deisel engine.....

anyone find such ah thing......

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » June 15th, 2007, 11:12 am

well reason being a different tach for a diesel and gas is that in a diesel there is no ignition system so the tach has to be wired a different way. i think thats why not sure.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » April 9th, 2009, 2:34 am

bleedingfreak wrote:This thread just confuse me :) Is a good thing I have a stock tach :)

Postby Team Loco » April 9th, 2009, 7:03 am

Showoff. Some of us just can't afford one biggy! Speedaholic, never got around to installing one

Postby wagon r » April 9th, 2009, 9:08 am

speedaholic wrote:okay! soo how it the diesel tech wired when it have no ECU!???

...the one i bought from Autometer uses a probe to read a signal off the alternator....

...it's a very straight forward install......hardest part is trying to figure out where yuh want to mount the tach.... :!:

Postby wagon r » April 9th, 2009, 11:34 am

cyar remember....check summit.com ....it's where i bought mine.

Postby Greypatch » April 9th, 2009, 12:30 pm

erm wha about the steep poo-C fellas

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » April 9th, 2009, 10:28 pm

lol alyuh like sh!t there is a way to do it but just i don't have the time to try it. the connection fron the alternator will work with the normal tacho them. some alternators came with a star point behind it just to jack in the tacho wire. BTW fellas i got some diesel alternators for sale TD,QD, and 2C , 4D..,. it's interchangable with different makes

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » April 11th, 2009, 8:59 am

well the advantage i have is that you could get it on sundays and on holidays ( yea the best times betsy does look to give up )

l200

Postby l200 » April 20th, 2009, 9:17 pm

hi 2nr's, I found this link hope it sheds some light on the topic. If any one tries and it works let me know, i already hav a tach to put in my car, but wouldn't mind putting it in my van..... so check out the link.

http://www.sw-performance.com/upload/11 ... 20Tach.pdf

http://www.dakotadigital.com/index.cfm/ ... prd128.htm

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » April 20th, 2009, 10:16 pm

the thing is that if your alternator starts to fail or you change to a replacement alternator. you will end up in some trouble. the reading may not be the same

venum

Postby venum » April 20th, 2009, 11:55 pm

fellas tell me if allyuh cud help me here as we on teh topic of diesel tachs

my tach in my L200 acting strange

sometime it flickers while driving

it would sometime go to 0 like if teh engien not running and then just jump back to the correct rpm

when it isn't acting up, it works fine

sometime it flickkers, but under hard acceleration (up to 3000 rpm) it would stop flickering and then work properly, but as soon as teh rpm decrease, it starts flickering again

what allyuh think?

Postby wagon r » April 21st, 2009, 7:42 am

sensor could need cleaning as the signal isn't as strong when at idle.....but works great when at full throttle....

l200

Postby l200 » April 21st, 2009, 8:09 pm

Anil_Sooknanan wrote:the thing is that if your alternator starts to fail or you change to a replacement alternator. you will end up in some trouble. the reading may not be the same

hi Anil, seeing that the turbo L200(k34) has a tach, do you or anyone else kno if the basic version has the same wiring. If so, i could probably get an original instrument panel from the turbo L200, and hook it up.

venum

Postby venum » April 21st, 2009, 11:30 pm

^^^ if the alternator o the N/A 4D56 is teh same as teh turbo 4D56, which I suspect it is

then the altrnator may have provision for teh sensor, but not have teh actual sensor

as for the IP swap, it may not work

teh speedo on the K34 and K74 is mechanical

there is a cable from teh gearbox to teh IP

the N/A models have teh speedo in teh center of teh IP whereas the turbo models have the speedo off to one side, to allow space for the tach (which is electronic - at least on teh K74)

so if u were to swap the IP, the speedometer on teh turbo IP may not line up with the speedo cable on teh dash

understand :?:

I have some pics from teh K74 IP from when I removed mine taht I can show u to better explain

l200

Postby l200 » April 22nd, 2009, 8:49 pm

Thanks venum, understand fully, it was just a thought i was playing with.........so can the speedo cable be moved or is it fixed in position :?: :?: :?: Post ur pics, any visual aid will help.

venum

Postby venum » April 23rd, 2009, 7:38 pm

this is what i mean

the white thing is teh speedo cable that connects into teh rear of teh IP

this is from a 2003 turbo K74T model, with the speedo at teh left of the tach

i believe that it can be moved as you can see the empty space in teh middle for teh N/A K74, K67 that have teh speedo in teh middle of teh IP

not sure bout the K34 though, but knowing MITSU, i believe taht it would be teh same

only way to know is to remove teh IP

l200

Postby l200 » April 26th, 2009, 3:03 pm

Thanks venum, that pic was really helpful, I'll try to open my IP up and post up the pics of the k34, and if the speedo cable is movable I think I would do the change over...... is it hard to remove???

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”