Mitsubishi ck4/ck2 tranni

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

bOOsTmaN

Mitsubishi ck4/ck2 tranni

Postby bOOsTmaN » July 20th, 2007, 11:36 pm

i have a couple questions

what happens when you go from neutral into drive while givin car gas?

gearing down... does this reduce the life of trani? you kno the selector has 3,2,1...
letting the engine slow down the car

well i "heard" since the transmission is an electronic transmission whatever you do it goes tru the computer and then engages the trani.

Eg. you rev out in neutral and then pull down into drive
(At this point the computer handles everything to precision so that you wouldn't damage the trani.

finally i have heard a rumour that say your doing 180km and you need to make an emergency stop and you pull gear selector into 1. NOTHING will happen. CAR will gear down normally. is this tru?

if you do it with a nissan b14... your trani will fall apart.

evokiller

Postby evokiller » July 20th, 2007, 11:46 pm

yepz rememebr i use 2 gear down and shittz and left me outta action a mitsu meet we had....the flex plate mashed up and dat was real random i wuld be on same level gas and the car wuld decide it wanted 2 jump rpm's or gear down and jerk and all kinda arseness hahah dont do it!!

Postby X_Factor » July 21st, 2007, 3:01 pm

i think they call it automatic transmission for ah reason eh

and thats why they have tiptronic and manual for

hottstuff

Re: Mitsubishi ck4/ck2 tranni

Postby hottstuff » July 21st, 2007, 3:03 pm

bOOsTmaN wrote:i have a couple questions

gearing down... does this reduce the life of trani? you kno the selector has 3,2,1...
letting the engine slow down the car

well i "heard" since the transmission is an electronic transmission whatever you do it goes tru the computer and then engages the trani.

Eg. you rev out in neutral and then pull down into drive
(At this point the computer handles everything to precision so that you wouldn't damage the trani.

finally i have heard a rumour that say your doing 180km and you need to make an emergency stop and you pull gear selector into 1. NOTHING will happen. CAR will gear down normally. is this tru?

if you do it with a nissan b14... your trani will fall apart.

:D :D :D Nah soldier the B14 tranny wouldn't fall apart.I try to kill one for ah year,doing the same thing...reving till 7000rpm and dropping it in drive with yuh foot still on the accelarator.Gearing down from drive at 110km/h straight down to first.The brain has a fail safe to protect the engine over revving so it needs to slow down to a safe speed before engaging second,then the same thing for first gear etc.
What happens is 1)the valve body starts to deteriorate(lose pressure)
The clutches start to slip.When last yuh chnge yuh trans. oil?Yuh seein any filings in the old oil?

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » July 21st, 2007, 4:49 pm

well i "heard" the b14 trani uses a cable type kinda system for the trani. and mitsubishi is an electronic one so.. i doh kno

can someone plz clear this up?

mitsubro

Postby mitsubro » July 21st, 2007, 9:06 pm

come on nah man 2ners..... this is ah mitsu forum :twisted:

lancer_man

Postby lancer_man » July 21st, 2007, 11:12 pm

with an automatic tranny, no damage would occur by switchin gears manually, cuz if u leave the shifter on a gear for too long, the tranny would automatically upshift or downshift according to ur rpm. and yeah, if youre doing 180 and shift into first, nothing would happen, beacuse of the fail safe mechanism hottstuff was tlkin about

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » July 22nd, 2007, 12:54 am

and what about neutral to drive now?

fras

Postby fras » July 22nd, 2007, 1:11 am

bOOsTmaN wrote:and what about neutral to drive now?

If you want to rip I suggest a gear box.
In the Ck's I don't think when u go from neutral to drive while on the gas the gears would delay to engage! I know for the CVT's the tranny computer will delay the tranny from engaging untill the rpm drops.

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » July 23rd, 2007, 8:46 am

boostman,,, the same thing that would happen when u flog a manual when u burnin out,,, the clutches will start to slip,,, just because it name automatic tranny doh mean it eh need service too eh ,,,, get a gearbox :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

venum

Postby venum » July 25th, 2007, 7:23 pm

I never tried the down-shift to 1 from high speed ~180km

I know about down-shifting from high revs, low speed during solodex and the response is immediate

shifting between up and down 1 and 2

several times i shifted from N to D while giving slight gas ~1200 rpm, there was a definite jerk

evokiller

Postby evokiller » July 25th, 2007, 7:59 pm

i had 2 use it the other day a jetta decided 2 dart in my lane offa kix yess....women drives no survivors lolol it real save me cuz we all no the downshifting in a auto car takes millineniums

Postby Ted_v2 » April 7th, 2012, 12:32 pm

So in other words downshifting to slow down will slowly kill my tranny?

like from D to 3 to slow down the car

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » April 7th, 2012, 2:01 pm

should only use that in emergencies!

Postby BrotherHood » April 7th, 2012, 2:54 pm

Alyuh mad yes. Never tried it but there are things called gear ratios. Can your transmission reach 180km/h in 1st gear?

Easy on the transmission there sb64.

Postby Ted_v2 » April 7th, 2012, 5:38 pm

* noted *

Postby Ted_v2 » April 9th, 2012, 1:44 am

does it have a aftermarket shift kit for these trannys?

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » April 9th, 2012, 9:52 am

I am no expert on transmission internals , but from my info they have clutches ( or clutch packs ) that are designed for slippage ie at idle speed for when you shift fron N to D or vice versa. They are not intended to handle slippage at high engine speeds such as in a manual gearbox clutch so when you shift from N to D or D to N at speeds above idle you will be reducing life of these clutches ( due ot more wear at high speeds) resulting in transmission repairs.

Their are failsafe mechanisms via engine / trannt ECUs to handle over revving but these are just supplementary if you continue moving from D to L at high speeds this will shorten life of transmission, some owners manual suggest you use these in emergency situations only and the ECU will handle the downshifting , engine speed etc but if this is done often well engine and transmission life will be shortened.
I cant comment on B14 but I know parts for my car is expensive so I rearly do these things and if I do it is not done from 180k, maybe at less than 160k.

Postby BrotherHood » April 9th, 2012, 12:02 pm

As I said before, in evertything there are gear ratios.

You want an example? From a standstill, put the selector in L. Drive it and see how far and how fast you will go. What I have realised with the CVT is that you can go from D to Ds at almost any speed. I have geared down from D into Ds several times before when I needed the car to decelerate rapidly.

With a conventional transmission, it's different. Just like with a gear box, the gears in a conventional transmission will rev out and you would have no choice but to shift the selector manually from 1,2,(some cars 3) then D so when decelerating and gearing, if your vehicle could have only acheived 80-90 Kmph in 2, then why the hell would you gear down from 3 to 2 at 140Kmph?

stabbydeguard

Postby stabbydeguard » August 4th, 2016, 3:12 pm

having a problem with my car hear it goes i had in a transmission and while racing the car shifting from drive to 3 and 2 for me rpm eventually what happen when i stopped is that d car didnt want to move again.I rev and rev until eventually the car move and after the ist gear went into play the car jerked and the neutral light started to blink.i ended up changing transmission but i getting the same problem i change all d sensors on the transmission and same problem i change the harness and two rain box same problem can someone help me out cause it frustrating me now

Postby Ted_v2 » August 6th, 2016, 12:55 am

Plug in a diagnostic.
Transmission has a brain

xtech

Postby xtech » August 8th, 2016, 8:25 am

Quick answer is your transmission was never swapped

Postby Ted_v2 » August 8th, 2016, 2:12 pm

Well boy. That's a next option

badseedz

Postby badseedz » December 12th, 2016, 7:08 pm

good day. i have a 4g92 engine with a 4g93 transmission! thats what the previous owner told me. i just bought the car! but it doesnt sart on a "cold start" i have to keep my foot on the 'x" to idle it and then i guess when the engine warms up it holds! thats the first problem! it has a slow pull off. idky. so i took it to my mechanic he said the timing was off. when he set it correct he said it wasnt firing! something about they did some shitty wiring to the transmission. when checking that now he told me one of the valve is bent. ok, what do i do here? I have a sohc but would like to change it to dohc. not for speed or anything like that just an updated engine that's more commonly used. what will bolt up exact with a 4g93 transmission? and how much it cost!? do i change the head and block or just the head? need advise asap!

trent

Postby trent » December 16th, 2016, 11:35 pm

call this guy, 295-4982, he will advise u.

Smallz2828

Postby Smallz2828 » June 14th, 2017, 8:42 pm

Want to know why my trany goes to "N" when i stop and then goes back on "D"

Return to “MITSUBISHI”