Rough Idle, After servicing

VIP2Nr

Rough Idle, After servicing

Postby VIP2Nr » January 25th, 2008, 10:50 pm

Need some help here 2Nrs...

Getting a rough idle when i come to a stop, also the idle level dropped to 500RPM, when it's supposed to be 800RPM normally.

The mechanic manually adjusted the idle to the correct RPM but it still idle's low, even after the service. Other symptoms- car feels sluggish, increased fuel consumption.

Recently serviced the car, oil, filter, serviced trottle body & injectors, spark plugs recently changed.

xxSTAY TUNEDxx

Postby xxSTAY TUNEDxx » January 26th, 2008, 2:31 am

how did you service the t/b ?

spoogy

Postby spoogy » January 26th, 2008, 6:18 am

plug wires? MAF?

Postby RBphoto » January 26th, 2008, 12:36 pm

Did an engine wash with that? Put in different plugs? how was the injectors and TB serviced? Clean PCV valve (This is a by the way)? Many things could cause low idle and we need more specifics. Do you run very hot when you push the car hard? Get it scanned by an ECU man. I think your mech ain't know what he doing becaude adjsting the idle should be in conjunction with an ECU re-learn (depending on car) Try resetting the ECU.

Postby X_Factor » January 26th, 2008, 12:50 pm

how did you service the t/b ?

and if its a ga15 engine i can tell u from experience....if u dont know how to clean that one..yuh in trouble..worse yet if u use carb. spray

Postby UML » January 26th, 2008, 11:17 pm

air filter? :?

Postby bushwakka » January 28th, 2008, 9:40 am

whaty kinda car/engine is it?

dmitc

Postby dmitc » January 28th, 2008, 10:55 am

had a brethren with an sr20 which was giving him that problem and my 4AGE20v was giving that problem too except mine use to cut off some times. he sorted his out by cleaning a unit located on his trottkle body with bars it was filled with gunk, as for me i took down my whole trottle body and cleaned it out and found a unit under the trottle body that was feeding air to the combustion chamber when idleing and well that too was real nasty.
When that was done problem was solved
note just spraying bars into the intake when the engine running would not solve the problem as the bars would not be running through any vacume lines where most of the gunk is.

dmitc

Postby dmitc » January 28th, 2008, 10:56 am

ohh and a gas treatment will help too. i recommend Max 44 it does actually work

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » January 28th, 2008, 10:57 am

and if its a ga15 engine i can tell u from experience....if u dont know how to clean that one..yuh in trouble..worse yet if u use carb. spray

d engine does idle real high after

VIP2Nr

Postby VIP2Nr » January 30th, 2008, 3:40 pm

yeah guys the trottle body was cleaned already, plus i got it scanned, nothing came up! Everything ckecks out ok.
It's idling even lower now.

It's a Fielder with the 1.5 vvti engine.

ryansouthman

Postby ryansouthman » January 31st, 2008, 11:23 am

Type of plugs (Plug#) and interferance with the TPS, make sure that none of the wires are broken at the Jack

VIP2Nr

Postby VIP2Nr » February 1st, 2008, 1:59 pm

Will check it out...