Thursday, May 23rd, 2013

- It is currently Thu May 23, 2013 3:58 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Jump to:  

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 289 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 10  Next
Psychomatrix
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 1:29 am 

Ron17
A few questions
1 how often is the real time data updated i.e if you are using an sms text to send location based data to the servers that host the maps how often is this sent so that your position is updated. and if you are sending sms messages very often then no matter that provider you are with the costs will be large.
on the other hand if you are using gprs to transmit data then there would be a monthly fee.
2 what are the hot lock and cold lock times of the gps?
3 how many satellites can the gps connect to at any point in time?
4 what is the accuracy of the gps
5 what kind of signal strength does the gps have ? if i park under a garage or building will it still transmit?
6 does the unit transmit when the vehicle is off?
7 does the unit store data in the event i want to get dack some kind of information
8 can i generate reports monthly or daily of where my car has been?
9 if i can what kind of reports?
10 do the units have to capability to tell me if my car was in an accident?

Ron17
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 7:01 am 

Psychomatrix

Good questions;
Our system is a bit more innovative than the systems currently offered in Trinidad. Its an alarm system with GPS that can be stand alone OR used with control centre software (this is what EBSL, car search and Geotrac uses). What we provide the average consumer with one or a few cars is stand alone i.e. without the expensive control centre (unless the customer requests this) as this is cheaper and much more convenient. Your mobile will act as the centre in this case. So;

1. GPS/ GSM information updates every 5 seconds. Without the centre you only pay for an update when it is requested. You request once for the day you pay for one SMS.
With the centre you will be on CUG so you will pay a monthly fee for the mobile services. IT can be one SMS or one thousand SMS it will be the same fee.

2. The GPS is always on and running there wouldn't be cold lock. GPS is sent immediately with all SMS messages.

3. All GPS need a minimum of three satellites locked. (5 is the programmed search).

4. Free maps (google maps) are within 15-20 feet radius margin of error. Control centre maps are more precise with 5-10 feet radius margin of error.

5. It would depends on the building. So far during testing we have not seen any situation where it didn't transmit.

6. Unit is always on.

7. No trail data available for this particular unit without the CCS.

8. Only with the CCS

9. With the CCS you get locations, times, speeds reports. Also whatever alerts were sent and when.

10. You will get an alert on your mobile once there is any shock to the vehicle. Example, someone shakes the car or tampers with it while off and armed. While disarmed you will not get an alert.

Psychomatrix
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 10:41 am 

ron 17

so according to what you are saying only with the control center software can you see your vehicle actually online and actually moving in real time?

if the above is truen then if you request an update once a day then you are not seeing your vehicle moving in real time you are seeing reports of your vehicle for that day.

also if i need software to view my vehicle online then i cannot just log on to any pc any where in the world and load it up

if the gps is always running then it will need power where is power coming from my car battery or a built in battery in the unit. batteries have limited charges so if i leave the country for like a week will unit keep running draining what ever battery its running on?

4 with respect to accuray of the maps i am not questioning i am questioning the accuracy of the gps units themselves with only 5 satellites connected at any one point in time you resolution of error will be very low. therefore the gps co-ordinates themselves will have errors even with the most highend garming handheld for commercial usage with connection to between 20-27 satellites the best accuracy you can get is 3-4 meters i.e. 9-12 feet.

now anyone who have used gps in trinidad and taken points and plotted them onto a google map can tell you that there is a translational error where the points show up off this is due to how google was buit and the wsg system they built it on.

also google maps have lots of errors in road names and are missing alot of the road names and classes of roads.
how complete is you control center maps?

Ron17
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 12:42 pm 

Psychomatrix

No. You can see you vehicle in real time/ online using requests when you need it and using free google maps. You would see it at that point, not a history trail. This is an AVL system for security, not a Nav system. So for example, I want to know where my car is now, i query it and see where my car is on the map.

You can query your vehicle from anywhere in the world and use google maps to view where it is (on your mobile or on a computer).

Power is from you car battery. There is a backup battery in the system. If power in your vehicle fails you will get an alert on your mobile telling you this. It wouldn't draw as much power from your vehicle to run down your battery in a week. Its power consumption is slightly higher than that of any other alarm system.

As mentioned before using the free software we have seen an average of 15-20 feet radius margin of error. For example, this means sometimes your car is parked on one side of the road and shows up on the other side, slightly lower down the street etc.

Even tough Google maps will have some errors in spelling say 'Sarangar' instead of 'Sangangar' its the security of the system and knowing that a pointer at 'Saranger, Diego Martin', means 'Sangangar, Diego Martin'. I don't think that anyone who has their vehicle stolen really concerns themselves with a spelling mistake as such. You also can see the general area and know which street through observation your vehicle is on. (Or at least our rapid response unit knows :)). Google has up to class 3 roads. which is sufficient for retrieval.
CCS maps are updated every 6 months and are up to class 5 roads.

^Pretty^
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 5:26 pm 

do you have demo's for the alarm system available?

Email: abdools.machine@gmail.com

Ron17
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 6:00 pm 

^Pretty^ wrote:
do you have demo's for the alarm system available?
Demos are available. Simply call to set an appointment and a demo vehicle would be sent out to you. We are in the process of creating a short video of the system for viewing as well.

vans
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 9:37 pm 

for me to install and have you all monitor my car with full vehicle recovery 24/7 would cost me in total what?

$t@y f!y 24/7

Ron17
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 10:17 pm 

vans wrote:
for me to install and have you all monitor my car with full vehicle recovery 24/7 would cost me in total what?
We don't actually monitor your car for you 24/7, you do that. You are alerted immediately once there is anything happening with your vehicle. This costs TTD$3000. Vehicle Recovery is paid for if/ when you use it, as you have the option to use whatever auto association recovery or police you choose. Our recovery service is situation dependent and starts from TTD$500 for having an armed officer secure the vehicle and return it to you. Of course confrontation with armed thieves and kidnap situations cost more. Hope this answers your questions please feel free to call the office for more information on the security end of things.

vans
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2009 4:52 pm 

if i do decide to go with your vehicle recovery assistance how rapid do you all respond and do you all have personnel on call 24/7? also how many clients do you all currently have? so if i pay $3000 i have nothing to worry about financially unless i need you all to recover my vehicle jus want to be absolutely clear cause i am considering your service. how long does it take to install in a vehicle?

$t@y f!y 24/7

achillies
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2009 8:14 pm 

hey ron17, i had a gsm/gps system installed in my car before i heard about u guys, but i like some of the features that u guys are offering in terms of recovery, is there any way i can link up with u guys in order to get the features that Gavitrack is offering.

Ron17
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:22 am 

vans they are pretty quick as the security offices are within the major locations throughout Trinidad. A dispatch from the nearest office to your vehicle's location should be fast. The $3000 is final and you won't need to pay anything else unless you decide to use one of our response unit. Installation time depends on the type of vehicle, a civic should take roughly 3 hours.

achilles you would need to call the office, I won't be able to answer that one :)

richardg1976
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:46 pm 

What's the (discounted) price per unit if I'm interested for 3 to 4 vehicles at the same time?

greenman
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 7:47 am 

Ron17 wrote:

Our system is a bit more innovative than the systems currently offered in Trinidad. Its an alarm system with GPS that can be stand alone OR used with control centre software (this is what EBSL, car search and Geotrac uses). What we provide the average consumer with one or a few cars is stand alone i.e. without the expensive control centre (unless the customer requests this) as this is cheaper and much more convenient. Your mobile will act as the centre in this case. So;

1. GPS/ GSM information updates every 5 seconds. Without the centre you only pay for an update when it is requested. You request once for the day you pay for one SMS.
With the centre you will be on CUG so you will pay a monthly fee for the mobile services. IT can be one SMS or one thousand SMS it will be the same fee.

7. No trail data available for this particular unit without the CCS.

8. Only with the CCS

9. With the CCS you get locations, times, speeds reports. Also whatever alerts were sent and when.

Interested in getting this but a few questions:

How expensive is the "expensive control centre" ? I may be interested in using this feature.

What is CUG? What is the monthly fee? Do u mean the sim card will have to be post paid?

What other features i get with the CCS?

I already have a good viper alarm installed where all wires are black- making it very difficult to disengage the alarm if car is being stolen. If i install your gps system, will it HAVE to replace my alarm? or can i keep my alarm but use your GPS just for the tracking, mobile shut off, etc.

I am also concerned about the quality of the product although i see you stated 1 year warranty. I searched the internet and found no information about the gavitrak brand other than your website. Is it that gavitrak is just the name of your company and you use generic gsm alarms like these:
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=228048

Ron17
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 10:02 am 

greenman the cost of the CSS depends on your usage and your units bought (price can be as low as $0!) please call the office for more information on this.
You may or may not need CUG depending on your usage. It may be that the use of phone and google earth may be suffice.

Yes you can use our system as a tie in for the viper if you wish.

In terms of quality we have had this system in Trinidad testing for almost two years now with no complaints. (side note alarm board designed by DEI in California, GPS is SiRFiii). GaviTrak is our market brand but we also supply other companies with systems for their marketing purposes. The system in the picture is not ours though.

For further information and corporate questions please call the office 299-4GPS

basshead
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 5:57 pm 

if directed design it then it is good

nivek
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 8:01 pm 

beside the money for the system is there a monthly or yearly cost to keep this service active and also is it 100% coverage over trinidad and tobago ?

Ron17
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:44 am 

nivek the money for the system is all that is paid to GaviTrak. There is no monthly or yearly fees for this service. With our preferred network you have at least a 98% coverage of Trinidad and Tobago.

Nissan910
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:26 pm 

Ron17, Where is the Gavitrak office located?

Ron17
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:20 pm 

Offices located at Diego Martin (299-4GPS) and Chase Village (installations done at Chase Village or client site). Demos available at either location or client sites.

ztune
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 12:27 am 

Can this system be tied into a Viper 480XV alarm?

Ron17
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 10:00 am 

crazy_ztune,
can be tied into any alarm system.

greenman
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 8:47 pm 

crazy_ztune, i had this alarm tied into the viper 480XV and it works great. You keep the robustness of the viper 480xv and still use all features of the gps. The technician is A1! Only disadvantage is walking around with two remotes, but you can arm/disarm with your cell phone so you can just walk around with the viper remote anyway.

Jmaraj
 Post subject: Re: GPS Tracking
PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 3:46 pm 

I tried this system and it works well. [edited for content]

nismotrinidappa
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2009 10:05 am 

what is the projected cost of recovery?
one armed officer is $500..

suppose 1 bandit park up with the car by the stand pipe washing down mih chromes

or

suppose 2 bandits lifting up mih 15 inch sub and box out teh trunk....

or suppose 10 bandit have all my car doors open and mavado music blasting and having a blocko

does the 1 officer call teh centre and request backup and then teh retreival cost is $10000?

just want some clarity on the issue and if it cheaper to just roll up wid 5 carload of saddis men and retrieve teh car on my own?

Ron17
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2009 8:28 am 

nismotrinidappa lol! well we send out one armed vehicle (2-3 officers). The cost varies depending on the situation they encounter. If after you shut down your vehicle the bandits leave and the officers simply secure the area and your vehicle thats the $500. If they go and meet the bandits (armed) then you looking at a different cost. If they are forced to make an arrest then of course the price differs. The minimum base price is $500 and then the prices go from there depending on the danger encountered (10 men with one armed and nine running away should cost you a little more than the $500.) The most expensive situation will be a kidnapping situation which starts from about $6000 depending again on the situation.

If you have the personnel to retrieve your vehicle on your own then you can do so with the aid of the police as GaviTrak gives this option.

Please note GaviTrak does not support vigilante behaviour.

nismotrinidappa
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2009 3:56 pm 

thanks for the info!

Ron17
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2009 11:39 pm 

nismotrinidappa, no probs.

As you can see you get more for your money at GaviTrak. Better technology, lower prices.

And just for our competitors... still NO MONTHLY FEES! :twisted:

N_A_K
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2009 8:12 am 
Ron17 wrote:
The most expensive situation will be a kidnapping situation which starts from about $6000 depending again on the situation.

That sounds like a good price,kidnappers dont ask for less than $100,000 usually.

Hmmm........

dohc
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 1:27 pm 

This system shows grid position on cell phone--right.
Does it show street names & land marks on cell phone?
I am looking for one like this.

Ron17
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 4:18 pm 

dohc, yes this shows grid position.
We also have a unit which shows street names,
and one which shows street names and landmarks. This unit is the one we supply for fleet and corporate customers as the cost of these are a bit higher than the customer model. For more information on this particular product you can call the office at 299-4GPS and ask about the fleet unit.

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 289 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 10  Next