Please download the latest Flash Player here

Thursday, September 9th, 2010

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Jump to:  

mugenracer
 Post subject: wtk......drilling holes in air box
PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 10:00 pm 

whats this ting about drilling holes in your air box?...thats for cars wit oem air intake system..saw that online where someone used a k & n panel filter and drilled holes in the air box

praise
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 10:44 am 

Interesting question and we can expect many different opinion. The air box is mainly to shield the incoming air to the engine from being heated by the engine itself. Cooler air contains more oxygen and also expands more so it give more power. That is why cars have intercooler to allow cooler air into the engine. The airbox is usually made from insulated hard plastic which is a not conductor of heat.
Now making holes in the airbox can benefit restriction of air that a K&N airfilter allows to flow freely, but will be disadvantage by air being heated by the engine.
An intake system is designed to draw sufficient air from outside the heated are of the engine compartment. So maybe it would not be adviceable to change the makers design as they were carefully engineered.

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 11:10 am 

praise wrote:
it would not be adviceable to change the makers design as they were carefully engineered

it is therefore impossible to improve upon these things?

praise
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 12:23 pm 

When you speak about improvements, are you speaking about fuel economy or power? There is always room for improvements in either area. That's whats engineering is all about. What has to be taken into consideration is emission and either harmful effects or beneficial effects to your engine whenever we "improve" any design. The green gas effect we often overlook. Great amount of research, time and money has been spend to design and produce a automobile. Success or failure depends upon design.
There are many simple improvements you can do without any harm to your engine and the environment, like synthetic oil, K&N air filter, extractors,energy tyres.etc.
Improvements in performance can also be done by increasing intake size, bigger injectors or carbs , removing catalist convertor, etc but these are harmful to the environment.
There are itchy topics like magnets, air bleed fuel saver, water injections and most recently hydrogen kits, all claiming to improve performance and lower emission. The condensator is one of my favourite as it actually keep your oil and engine clean and you can see the toxic products being removed and store in a glass bottle, which you can dispose of after.
You can also convert your car to CNG.
The choice is yours, it's our earth which we live in, we can either protect and preserve it or help to destroy it.

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 5:58 pm 

wtf kinda girly scientific talk is that, my intelligence is wayyy tooo low to understand anythin u jus said.

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 6:35 pm 

praise wrote:
Interesting question and we can expect many different opinion. The air box is mainly to shield the incoming air to the engine from being heated by the engine itself. Cooler air contains more oxygen and also expands more so it give more power. That is why cars have intercooler to allow cooler air into the engine. The airbox is usually made from insulated hard plastic which is a not conductor of heat.
Now making holes in the airbox can benefit restriction of air that a K&N airfilter allows to flow freely, but will be disadvantage by air being heated by the engine.
An intake system is designed to draw sufficient air from outside the heated are of the engine compartment. So maybe it would not be adviceable to change the makers design as they were carefully engineered.

And here I was thinking intercoolers were to cool the air that's hot as fk because the turbo/supercharger compressed it.

praise
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 9:59 pm 

Sky wrote:
praise wrote:

And here I was thinking intercoolers were to cool the air that's hot as fk because the turbo/supercharger compressed it.
Quote:
my intelligence is wayyy tooo low to understand anythin

I couln't agree with you more.
People like you have nothing possitive to contribute. Stop trying to belittle people because of your ignorance. It get you nowhere. There is a place for that behaviour. It's call Parliament.

Cleriq
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 10, 2009 9:08 am 

praise, you full of it yes! :lol:

mugenracer, people try all sorts of things to make power. The power you get from drilling holes in your stock airbox is negligible.

NY4PD
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 10, 2009 9:13 am 

drilling holes in your original air is not good.
You will be pulling in all the hot air from the motor bay, its like the short ram air intake all it does is bring in all the hot air from the engine room.
You need to route the air from the coolest point of air in front of the car to see or get better performance. If you look carefully the original box is routed in a good spot and you can replace the filter with a better one if you like but don't drill holes.

red_dragon
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 10, 2009 12:59 pm 

put in a K&N drop in

short ram will be hot air
and u can even loose power with certain Cold air intakes

u want performance take out the engine and get a K20R

NY4PD
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 10, 2009 3:03 pm 

Here is the real deal for air filtering.

this is the link:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ThmW2SW1I-k

The foam filter is much better.
I even use foam filters in my A/C in the house as well.

so as you'll see not even K&N filter is still not good, but yet people belive that they are good.

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 10, 2009 3:14 pm 
TriniTuner vip

Location: man playin shotta but buyin bread on credit in d parlor? wdmc
red_dragon wrote:
u want performance take out the engine and get a K20R

man ask for filter an u tellin d man bout engine swap :lol: :lol:

red_dragon
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 10, 2009 4:09 pm 

the man want HP gains from doin $h!T ... :roll:

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 4:53 pm 

NY4PD wrote:

this is the link:

so as you'll see not even K&N filter is still not good, but yet people belive that they are good.

who have dat free flow filter bizniss down here????

NY4PD
 Post subject: filter
PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 6:58 am 

bluesteel29 wrote:
NY4PD wrote:

this is the link:

Here is the link:
http://www.trufilter.com/

NY4PD
 Post subject: filter
PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 6:58 am 

bluesteel29 wrote:
NY4PD wrote:

this is the link:

Here is the link:
http://www.trufilter.com/

NY4PD
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 11:31 pm 

bluesteel29 wrote:
NY4PD wrote:

this is the link:

Link corrected:
http://www.streetsideauto.com/products. ... etAPQ=True

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 6:25 pm 

NY4PD, :shock:

that trueflow thing seems AMAZING... i learnt a lot from the video, no wonder we had to change or paper filter so quickly :|

i hadda do some more research on it tho. I thinking about puting one of those in the rolla.

yes i do visit this forum too :? :)

BTW, thanks man

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 6:28 pm 
TriniTuner vip

Location: man playin shotta but buyin bread on credit in d parlor? wdmc
corolla_2nr,

wha u doin in here?

20v valve forums thataway ---------------->

skylineGTR55036018
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 9:44 pm 

i totally agree with red dragon.. jus get a Kseries n u on...

"Living Life In The Bo0sted Lane"...

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2009 12:22 am 

honda hoe, :lol: :lol: ah trying ah ting. Like i hadda find a EK hatch and a K20... *sigh* no money :cry: