Monday, September 6th, 2010

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Jump to:  

mikeae91
 Post subject: how much $ do u spend in gas for the week 20v ,men
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 12:28 am 

4age 20 v ae91 2'' exhaust..
thats my set up and i spend approx 250 per week.

TRDcorolla
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 1:34 am 

learn to drive slower....and be happy u dont have a 2jz as u would spend that in just 2days

 Post subject: Re: how much $ do u spend in gas for the week 20v ,men
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 2:49 am 

mikeae91 wrote:

sounds about rite..

X2board rite thru :oops:

can't do that again tho, too much madasses on the road now...

now the altis is sweet on gas 8-)

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 6:37 am 

mikeae91, how much milage do you get to the tank?

Terran
 Post subject: Re: how much $ do u spend in gas for the week 20v ,men
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 9:05 am 

mikeae91 wrote:

This info is useless without mileage. What kind of distances are you travelling? Highway driving? City driving? Stop and go driving?

I personally find my 20V (automatic) burns a lot even when I keep within 80km/h and under 3000rpm throughout. Conditions are mostly stop and go as there are several traffic lights along my route.

1. My commute is a total of 40km per day.
2. No traffic at the times that I move around.
3. Air condition used 25% of the time.

My car is also an AE91 Corolla with a 2" exhaust. I use a cone filter and iridium (heat range 6) plugs, and roll on light 15" rims. I used heat range 7 before, and compared to the 6's, the 7's perform better. Engine ran slightly cooler, acceleration was smoother, less smoke at higher revs, and better on gas.

With the 7's and my style of driving, the motor burned $75-$80 in gas per week and up to $90 when I stomp on the gas a bit and carry it up to 8200rpm for a little "exercise".

With the 6's now, the motor burns $90 per week doing the same runs, and up to $100 per week when I stomp on the gas. At this current rate, my motor is delivering about 20mpg. The 7's gave me close to 25mpg. Nothing else was been altered (such as timing) that can impact on the fuel consumption.

Next tune up, the 6's are OUT!

hong kong phooey
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 4:52 pm 

terran u speaking sense men want to compare how much gas they burning when one man driving 2 miles a week and the other driving a 100 miles a week

what u need to do ir watch your odometer meter and record your mileage (eitherin km or miles)
each time you fillup record how much u spend in fuel and also record your mileage
after a month of driving add up the amount of gas u put and divide it by 4 if u use premium and 3.7 if u use super this will give u the number of liters u used

now add up your total distance travelled and divide it by the number of liters u used
this will give a better rep of the km/l or miles/liter and u will have something to compare
instead of comparing marbles to mangoes

Terran
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 8:26 pm 

hong kong phooey wrote:
after a month of driving add up the amount of gas u put and divide it by 4 if u use premium and 3.7 if u use super this will give u the number of liters u used

You mean 2.7.

All I do is reset the trip meter to zero whenever I fill up. On next fill up, I just read the trip meter and do the math based on how much it takes to fill up this time around. I normally do self service, so I stop the gas when it's "right up". That usually accounts for an additional 3 litres of gas after the pump triggers off first time around.

Terran
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 8:28 pm 

Another thing, my mileage is based on using premium gas.

When I used super gas, economy was even better - about 28-30mpg - but was detrimental to performance.

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 11:07 pm 

bwdf bess i bought a rolla with a 20v if i wanted better miles to the gallon :|

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 11:15 pm 

^^^ too late eh... sure yuh likin yuhself wit d local rolla.. ent??

too much money was spendin behind d 20valve and dem.. so ah rollin -

altis :oops:

mikeae91
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 1:13 am 

my odometer don't work so i really can't say for sure, i drive from chaguas to grand bazzar everyday and minor in the area runs

Terran
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 8:13 am 

Chaguanas to GB (on the highway) is 10km. So use that as a basis to gauge how much driving you are doing (and the conditions - traffic, free flow, stop and go, etc.).

Terran
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 8:14 am 

corolla_2nr wrote:
bwdf bess i bought a rolla with a 20v if i wanted better miles to the gallon :|

What motor are you running?

dmitc
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 9:41 am 

280~300km on a (40 litres) tank of Super

hong kong phooey
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 12:08 pm 

mike ae91
what style of dash u have
look aarong420 selling parts from a crashed ae90
lots of the parts will work on the ae91 or ae92

mikeae91
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 2:56 pm 

ae91 but i think i need the cable from the odo to the gearbox or somthing so

defkerron
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 5:32 pm 

I have a blacktop 20v 5fwd AE110 GT Sport
2" Magnaflow exhaust, iridium class 6 plugs, Shaffeur Oil, 15" 205/50/15 Nankang tires.

running around 425-450 on a tank of super, heavy running might drop it to around 400.
hitting pos everyday from piarco and back and chag on weekends. spend around $75-$90 to top up once a week.

that $250 premium not too right hoss, check ur engine man something wrong there yes.

Terran
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2009 11:03 pm 

defkerron, your figures are almost twice better than mine - your car being manual and seemingly enjoying more cruising than I do.

But, mikeae91 still hasn't told us what kind of running and distances he's doing.

mikeae91
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2009 11:10 pm 

grand bazzar and home which is chaguanas and then endeavour then back home might have to go freeport i do alot of small in the area runs,.. but i still think it burns alot..
defkerron thaz real bess mileage u getting 400 -450 piarco to pos and back i think if i have to make that same run it would cost me alot more that you..

Terran
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2009 11:18 pm 

mikeae91, then something is definitely wrong. Even if I moved around as you did, I'd probably burn around $100 for the week.

mikeae91
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2009 11:42 pm 

100 what super or premium
i'm not sure whats the problem i cleaned throttle change oil and plugs injectors same probs

what about if my oxygen sensor bad plus the car idles like 1300 ever since the engine was transplanted it never idles correct.

whats the cost of a oxygen sensor for it

Terran
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:16 pm 

Read my posts... I use premium only.

I know you've posted a few threads about your maintenance issues, so I honestly can't think of what is causing such excessive gas consumption. The high idle is a factor. That is way too high. My engine idles at 800rpm.

defkerron
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 7:23 am 

mikeae91 wrote:
grand bazzar and home which is chaguanas and then endeavour then back home might have to go freeport i do alot of small in the area runs,.. but i still think it burns alot..
defkerron thaz real bess mileage u getting 400 -450 piarco to pos and back i think if i have to make that same run it would cost me alot more that you..

thas real small running boy, you better do a diagnostic to determine the problem. it will cost you less to find the problem than keep spending so much money on gas.

yeah boy Terran, i got the sport flywheel so i do alot of cruising especially on the highway.

Of course the nice thing about the 20v is the fact that it adapts to how u drive, so if i wanna take it easy like keep it around 3000-3500rpm between shifts you wouldnt believe how little gas it consumes. and well the other way around when i running hard betwen 5000-6000+ it will burn some more but not very very significant.

The Shaffeur oil real good though, was using Royal Purple and Mobil but this oil working real tops.
but you know, you can actually get more mileage using normal NGK plugs rather than the Iridiums i am using....with a small sacrifice in performance.

dmitc
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 9:00 am 

Just got 330KM on full tank of super (40 ltrs) $108.
Which is about 40km more than i am accustom getting (i put it down to new PCV valve)
I don't understand why some men gettting 400~450Km on a tank.
I know that you suppose to get better gas milage with a manual as oppose to an auto which is what i have but 100+km that is rediculous unless the size of there tank significantly bigger.
defkerron, how big a tank you have?

mikeae91
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 9:46 am 

330 i think i need to get my odometer working

defkerron
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 2:35 pm 

yeah boy my tank is a 50L one so it will hold around $130 of super.
my idle is around 930rpm.

i have never run it down to under quarter tank, and usually then it has around 360-380 or so on the tank mileage. It has been so ever since i got it around a year and a half ago.

dmitc
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 4:04 pm 

defkerron, that's more like it on a 50l tank mines should do ~415km.
I can live with that.

Terran
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 5:11 am 

Yuh see, all yuh men using super. I using premium. I'm not going back to super. When I tried that, I thought my engine was going to die and I've had enough car issues in the past.

If you guys were using premium, and assuming you'd get the same mileage as you would with super, then fordmitc, your 330km would cost you $160 - like what I am currently experiencing.

And defkerron would probably pay closer to $190 to refill his tank.

Still, these kinda figures are below what I expected to get out of a 20V.

dmitc
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 10:10 am 

Terran, It hurts my heart to use super but it hurting my wallet more to put premium. Define difference in performance, but right now as long as the engine not knocking i willing to run the super well as least till i get another job

mikeae91
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 6:27 pm 

i understan what terran saying super has the car feeling dead and to me the car sounds rough with premium u get power and car runs smoother and quieter