Saturday, July 31st, 2010
Our Sponsors

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Jump to:  

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 312 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 ... 11  Next
Cid
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2009 11:45 am 

Sony P910i wrote:
Come on...How you could disrespect the President of the US so ? He only has the best stuff

sorry man,,.....

is this any better?
[spoiler]Image[/spoiler]

src1983
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2009 11:52 am 

^^^^^^^ lol :lol:

Sony P910i
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2009 11:59 am 

Cid,

I have something I dont understand....You have a N95 and boasting of its features

Yet with its 5MP camera you went and buy a few digital cameras

Yet with its GPS you went and buy a Garmin GPS

Yet with its radio you went and bought a radio

Isnt the phone any good for you?

Zippy
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2009 12:56 pm 

Sony P910i wrote:
Cid,

I have something I dont understand....You have a N95 and boasting of its features

Yet with its 5MP camera you went and buy a few digital cameras

Yet with its GPS you went and buy a Garmin GPS

Yet with its radio you went and bought a radio

Isnt the phone any good for you?

a camera phone is not the same as a dedicated camera, do you know the difference? apparently not, I have a phone and a camera can you tell me whats wrong with that? Also you trying to say that because a phone plays music you should not own any musical equipment? are you that dense because you seem to be trying really hard.

rodfarva
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2009 1:49 pm 

I'm hoping that the N97 is fast. I hate a laggy phone.
Like the Xperia. (though thats mostly windows mobile fault)

M_2nr
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2009 3:58 pm 

rodfarva, windows jed... 1sigh... read the reviews posted by RASC on howard's seems great!

Zippy, :lol: lol... no need for anyone else to say anything. ;)

Cid, ent! BTW strange enough.. Mr. Obama rocking a BB eh..

ulyuh notice RASC not here again... hehehehe. wtf i doing here too :shock:

N3M3SIS
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2009 7:17 pm 

rodfarva wrote:

It is laggy. Some tests run on launch models show that not many apps can be open without creating substantial lag.

Remember this phone has a new widgets feature than uses up a whole lot of RAM.

How much ram does the N97 have? The same as nokia's previous flagship, 128 MB. What kind of sense does that make?

Nokia is hoping that their new OS can be tweaked to allow better optimization, but there is only SO MUCH optimization you can get out 128 MB.

Sony Satio and Samsung OMNIA HD both destroy the N97. Alot of the nokia fanboys are going to get their N97 just because of the hype, only to be totally outclassed by what sony and samsung now have to offer.

Wait and see for yourself. The Bargain Section will soon be filled with used N97's for sale :wink:

Parvin
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2009 7:35 pm 

N3M3SIS wrote:
rodfarva wrote:

It is laggy. Some tests run on launch models show that not many apps can be open without creating substantial lag.

Remember this phone has a new widgets feature than uses up a whole lot of RAM.

How much ram does the N97 have? The same as nokia's previous flagship, 128 MB. What kind of sense does that make?

Nokia is hoping that their new OS can be tweaked to allow better optimization, but there is only SO MUCH optimization you can get out 128 MB.

Sony Satio and Samsung OMNIA HD both destroy the N97. Alot of the nokia fanboys are going to get their N97 just because of the hype, only to be totally outclassed by what sony and samsung now have to offer.

Wait and see for yourself. The Bargain Section will soon be filled with used N97's for sale :wink:

You said it there bro

M_2nr
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2009 10:23 pm 

N3M3SIS, go use a Omnia HD nah.. :lol: that laggy too.. even the Satio has a bit of a lag. IMHO that new Omnia getting pwnt from the N97 and the Idou (i hate saying Satio).

Qwerty keyboard = WIN

:poke:

Sony P910i
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 12:23 am 

128MB to multitask ?

Hmmm

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 5:58 am 

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/gasI6MyuzaM&hl=en&fs=1&rel=0&color1=0x3a3a3a&color2=0x999999&hd=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed>

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 6:18 am 

rodfarva wrote:

I used the Xperia at the Sony Style store...wow HEADACHE!
So I thought it was due to many ppl using the device loading it up with foolishness-apps running in the background etc. I wipped and reset it-went to the Apple store then came back in 10 mins.

10Mins past thing is NOW rebooting...WTF? Anyway thing powers on...this was when I had my N82-so I'm trying to transfer wallpapers onto my device-bluetooth ativated on mine-made it visible...all one hand all in less than 30secs and found the 20+devices in the area...Xperia's bluetooth was still powering on. :roll:

When you use S60 especially FP1 and FP2...you get spoilt with speed. Other phones including sometimes the iPhone feel slow and laggy. I like things INSTANT on my phone-especially when you only have one hand to use.

Now looking at the unboxing of the N97 I see no lag. So it begs the question who is really telling the truth. Some reviewers are saying it's slow, some are saying it's fast..who's lying? I need to get this device in my hands asap before I buy another device.

Mobile Technology moves so fast man It's REALLY hard to keep up-sometimes I just want to say FCK IT and go luxury :oops: and not bother buying a phone for the next 2 years...

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 8:02 am 

its all just phones / technologies

buh RASC :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: wut phone is dat???? :shock:

it lookin like a cross between the 6500 classic and 8800...

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 10:04 am 

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/epL91LPdnQs&hl=en&fs=1&rel=0&color1=0x3a3a3a&color2=0x999999&hd=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 10:07 am 

Don't expect to pay anything less than 1000USD for any recent phone in the 8xxx series.

...Ebay has alot of fakes, be aware!

Vertu and other various brands are even more exclusive-but I'll let you know 'bout those after I win the lottery.

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/05Za5af6WjI&hl=en&fs=1&rel=0&color1=0x3a3a3a&color2=0x999999&hd=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Vertu's usually start at around 4000USD. Are hand crafted, genuine materials...calf skin, rare gems, diamonds,wood, titanium and gold. Think Rolls Royce Phantom of the mobile world.
They also include a free years service of their concierge service from anywhere in the world.

Last edited by RASC on Fri Jun 19, 2009 10:20 am, edited 4 times in total.

pyromaniak
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 10:07 am 

Sony P910i wrote:
128MB to multitask ?

Hmmm

Symbian S60 is generally not as resource hungry as some other OSs eg WinMo, I have a 6120c with 64mb of RAM and it hardly laggs, when it does and I check I have 5 or more apps running.

Now a touch UI uses more resources but I think it'll still be up to the task. I'll need to get one in my hands to know for sure though.

Loaners? :lol:

FS: CamelBak Hydration

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 4:57 pm 

pyromaniak wrote:
Sony P910i wrote:
128MB to multitask ?

Hmmm

Symbian S60 is generally not as resource hungry as some other OSs eg WinMo, I have a 6120c with 64mb of RAM and it hardly laggs, when it does and I check I have 5 or more apps running.

Now a touch UI uses more resources but I think it'll still be up to the task. I'll need to get one in my hands to know for sure though.

Loaners? :lol:

once its landed ill give you a test drive.

aR&D
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 5:11 pm 

I'm not a phone/gadget person, so on the practical side, what is the impact/fall ratings on these new phones?

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 5:13 pm 

Nokias are toppa top.

My N95 is in a pretty harsh working condition, and so far it is still going strong. Taken a couple falls, and hits, but its still working and sliding great. Unlike my samsung and motorola before.

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 5:33 pm 

aR&D wrote:
I'm not a phone/gadget person, so on the practical side, what is the impact/fall ratings on these new phones?

Nokias? Rock solid. I've had an E51(all metal) and a N82(hard case plastic)

NO issues what so ever. Numerous falls. The N82 was "abused" more...but after a good clean, looked almost mint. My E51 was flawless....all metal casing-you clean that phone-you'll get compliments like WHOA! Both where black...never had a white phone but seen/heard too many horror stories with dirt and grim :?

Last edited by RASC on Fri Jun 19, 2009 5:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 5:40 pm 

I used to put a gold theme on the E51 for weekends on the town...gawd damn...phone used to look soooo slick.

I miss that phone man :cry: Image

With the N82 it was always "is that a phone or a camera" ...but with the E51 it was all about the sex appeal.

You want a phone that no one else has? Unique? Go Nokia-the line is so wide and varied...rarely ever see anyone with your phone when out. I've never seen anyone with an E51 and only seen one person with a N82 in NYC :wink:

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 5:46 pm 

my bro had a N82.. sold it and bought a 5800..

haven not played with that one yet though

M_2nr
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 5:51 pm 

+

Nokia N82

= Ultra Durable and strong.

Here is an example of Zagg on an N82...
http://www.howardforums.com/showpost.ph ... ostcount=4

http://www.zagg.com/invisibleshield/nok ... hields.php

it takes time to install but worth the buy.. not a scratch yet!

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 5:55 pm 

corolla_2nr,DAMN...I never even knew that existed.

I was looking to replace the exterior case :shock: N82 is basically the most complicated Nokia to disassemble...scary is the best way to describe it.
I still can't find a phone to replace that beast...

Parvin
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 6:41 pm 

I want 1 of those shields

M_2nr
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 7:01 pm 

RASC, :lol: yea boy... i say let me protect this baby as much as i could before i make mistakes. You want the service manual?

a man say he had one of those cases on a sony ericsson... fell a bit, tumbled, rolled,etc. Covering got wrecked. Ripped off the covering.. phone scratch less. :shock:
The film almost un-noticeable and guess what.. lifetime warranty.. all you gotta do is mail them back the old film and they send a new one :shock:

Parvin, :lol: skybox FTW

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 7:04 pm 

corolla_2nr wrote:
RASC, :lol: yea boy... i say let me protect this baby as much as i could before i make mistakes. You want the service manual?

a man say he had one of those cases on a sony ericsson... fell a bit, tumbled, rolled,etc. Covering got wrecked. Ripped off the covering.. phone scratch less. :shock:
The film almost un-noticeable and guess what.. lifetime warranty.. all you gotta do is mail them back the old film and they send a new one :shock:

Parvin, :lol: skybox FTW

Yeah I know a certain iPhone user with it. Flawless! Just never knew they made them for Nokias...Nice!

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 7:21 pm 

corolla_2nr wrote:

+

Nokia N82

= Ultra Durable and strong.

Here is an example of Zagg on an N82...
http://www.howardforums.com/showpost.ph ... ostcount=4

http://www.zagg.com/invisibleshield/nok ... hields.php

it takes time to install but worth the buy.. not a scratch yet!

Done Talk
you could even get a Zagg shield for your PS3!

dont know why you would though... but worth every penny. If i could only get one for my car....

M_2nr
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 8:02 pm 

RASC, boy... they look like they making them for anything... even for my ASUS laptop.

cjruckus, ent. and i tested it on my k850... it doesnt scratch.. at all :shock:

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 8:18 pm 

http://news.cnet.com/8301-1035_3-10269146-94.html

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 312 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 ... 11  Next