2010 Kia Forte (Cerato)

Sportage, Sorento, Soul, Rio, Cerato, Optima

NorStar2K

2010 Kia Forte (Cerato)

Postby NorStar2K » August 16th, 2009, 3:30 am

As mentioned by agent007 (cars to look out for).

New 2009/10 KIA CERATO 1.6 DOHC CVVT ENGINE
Horsepower 124bhp@6300rpm; Torque 156nm @4200rpm; With hydraulic mounts

Saw it Saturday at Southern Sales (South). In country about a month. Really nice car, with lots of features. First sub-compact with iPod interface standard. I didn't get a chance to drive it (yet) since I was there only to test drive the '09 Sportage. Here are the features:

[b]Standard

* Interior brush aluminum finish
* CD MP3 With Scan Assist
* 6 speakers
* Rear defogger
* Steering mounted stereo controls
* Clutchless manual / Automatic transmission
* Driver / Passenger Sun visor mirrors w/visor extensions
* Driver / passenger lamps
* Spectacles receptor
* 60/40 rear split seats
* Rear dash mounted stop lamp
* iPod receptor with USB Port
* Front doors and centre console cup holders
* Rear seat fold down cup holders
* Cell phone charger receptor
* Light sensitive rear view mirror
* Height adjustable( front seats) seat belts
* Rear seat belts with centre lap belt
* Rear seat head rest
* Child safety locks
* 205/55R 16â€

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 16th, 2009, 3:30 am

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/zDVAEcCQis4&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed>

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » August 16th, 2009, 8:55 am

not bad at all.....may definitely be one to consider

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 16th, 2009, 9:16 am

Yeah boy Joe, one amazing little car. Just to get past the whole KIA Korean phobia!

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » August 16th, 2009, 10:13 am

That's a lot of equipment for that price....looks really good too...like the interior and the exterior looks sporty too...for the price they're gonna sell a sh1tload of these...move over Civic, Corolla, 3, Elantra.....

Is it available with a sunroof???

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 16th, 2009, 11:08 am

No sunroof (yet). Current stock sold out.

Now, if the mighty Corolla had an interior like this one, that would make it perfect.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 16th, 2009, 11:47 am

Dis nice too!

New Kia Forte Koup 2010

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/um6-lA9ujec&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed>

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » August 24th, 2009, 2:34 pm

norstar2k wrote:No sunroof (yet). Current stock sold out.

Now, if the mighty Corolla had an interior like this one, that would make it perfect.

:shock: How many did they bring???

Seeker

Postby Seeker » August 24th, 2009, 3:28 pm

YYEEAAHH!!! She looking real good. :mrgreen:

speedy3517

Postby speedy3517 » August 24th, 2009, 8:32 pm

yeah thats one to definitely consider

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 25th, 2009, 10:45 am

excellent post star. what about the 2.0 and 2.4 versions with side + curtain airbags + steering wheel mounted cruise control? Is that on special order? The Cerato came real good now and it rides on the same elantra platform i suppose sharing the same engine/transmission and suspension.

The Cerato could become old news as soon as the new Mazda 3 and Chevrolet Cruze arrives.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 25th, 2009, 11:07 am

Thanks X2.

From everything told to me by the rep so far, it seems the two models I mentioned, shall be the only ones available to our market, at least for now.

A good marketing strategy would be to dump the CERATO name and us the FORTE name instead. (Like BORO and JETTA, MAXIMA and CEFIRO).

Price wise you can't beat the price-for-package CERATO/FORTE. The Mazda3 is still a $200k car and Chevy is still one of those brands locals ain't trusting fully as yet. :)

jaceson

Postby jaceson » August 27th, 2009, 12:41 pm

went today to check it out. i like it but i never deal with southsales or any kia vehicles.

if anyone on the forum have one could you please give me a quick run down on service, availability of parts, etc from SS and how has ur vehicle been running so far.

if i not mistaken someone here also bought the new cerato

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 27th, 2009, 1:18 pm

LOL! My cousin just did a test drive and she just can't stop talking about it. I guess a 2010 Cerato shall be joining the family soon.

jaceson, my cousin has a Rio Wagon and she's going on five years now with no major issues with the car.
Evidently, she has enough faith to go back to another KIA (And it's not because it cheap eh!). I guess that says it all.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 27th, 2009, 3:26 pm

I saw one on UWI campus ... looks nice but missing rear disc brakes ...

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » August 31st, 2009, 10:25 pm

jaceson wrote:went today to check it out. i like it but i never deal with southsales or any kia vehicles.

if anyone on the forum have one could you please give me a quick run down on service, availability of parts, etc from SS and how has ur vehicle been running so far.

if i not mistaken someone here also bought the new cerato

Yeah i got one.

Actually bought the first one in the country :D

Have it since June
Review so far= Excellent!

Have had no problems, handling is amazing, brakes have incredible stopping power. Audio is awesome, have a 16G Flash Drive with all my music, lights are very bright.
Extremely smooth ride.

I had my first service at 4500k (they didn't tell me that i had to bring it in for a 1000k checkup)

Cost me $190 total, changed Oil, Oil Filter, adjusted hand brakes, washed vehicle (exterior), all for that price.

Parts at the moment? Honestly when i bought it the dealer tell me they will soon be stocking parts for it, but when i went to service i didn't ask.

Service as SS is great, from when i went in to purchase the car till i got it was 5 days (including Saturday & Sunday) (No i didn't have any pull-strings)

Unfortunately i got hit my a idiot
Guy reversed into the front of my vehicle in Trincity Mall with a 95 Tercel.
However, i was very shocked at what happen, his bumper smashed in, his tail lights broke and trunk got a dent which prevented it from closing.

Mine? well, my license plate bent, and i got a small dent on my hood.....
and thats it. Bumper was in same position, no shifts, clips were all intact. I was really shocked, but happy :)

Downside:

No rear disc brakes :(
Side mirrors have to fold in manually

Thats about all i can remember....

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 31st, 2009, 11:21 pm

^^^Nice! First one eh? Nobody can't take that honour from you.

Well post some pix nah Cap! BTW, any idea if there's an OEM spoiler for it?

Also, you can use this in the event you chose to change your Avatar:
http://blog.cochesalaventa.com/_fotos/T ... 8481_1.jpg

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » September 1st, 2009, 9:39 am

norstar2k,

Yeah bro. :D

Will post pics from delivery when i get home later.

Thanks for the link to the pic!

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 1st, 2009, 11:40 am

PCM 4125 grey Cerato? nice...here are some reviews: magazine ratings FTW! :lol:

2010 Kia Forte SX - Short Take Road Test
Good value, respectable, handsome.
BY ERIK JOHNSON, PHOTOGRAPHY BY MARC URBANO
July 2009

If the compact-car segment were a baseball lineup, the Toyota Corolla and the Honda Civic would be the meat of the order, the third and fourth hitters. They boast home-run sales numbers, long lists of features, and nearly peerless reliability. So where’s the new Kia Forte hitting in this lineup? Any chance it will join these guys at the top of the order? Or does it go immediately to the ninth spot, where its predecessor, the Spectra, languished?

Our top-spec SX test vehicle is powered by a 2.4-liter four-cylinder backed by a so-so five-speed automatic; a six-speed manual is also available. (The Forte LX and EX rely on a 2.0-liter four.) With 173 horses, the SX is more muscular than the larger-displacement Toyota Corolla XRS (158 horsepower) and the Mazda 3 s (167). This makes our recorded zero-to-60 time of 8.6 seconds all the more disappointing; the Kia trails 0.7 second behind the Corolla and 0.9 second behind the Mazda, although both of those cars were equipped with manual gearboxes.

The Forte’s roadholding and 70-to-0-mph braking numbers were much more respectable, at 0.85 g and 173 feet, respectively; its braking is among the best we’ve seen in the current batch of compacts. Using that 2010 Mazda 3 s for comparison, the Kia matched it on the skidpad and actually stopped three feet shorter.

All Fortes, including the $14,390 base LX, have Bluetooth phone connectivity with steering-wheel controls, Sirius radio, USB and auxiliary jacks, four-wheel disc brakes, and stability control. The SX gets larger front brakes, 17-inch alloy wheels, fog lamps, and a telescoping function for the steering wheel. Add heated leather seats ($1000) and a sunroof ($600), and you arrive at our fully loaded tester, which rang in at $20,490.

Equipment-wise, the Kia is very strong, but for enthusiastic driving, it’s not quite there. The SX has firmer springs, retuned shocks, and a larger front anti-roll bar compared with the lower trim levels’. The sum of that equipment, however, isn’t something we’d really call sporty. Turn-in is fairly aggressive, which is nice, but the car begins to plow by midcorner like it’s the start of planting season. The steering requires correction to maintain a line in curves and stay in your lane on the freeway.

Specifications
VEHICLE TYPE: front-engine, front-wheel-drive, 5-passenger, 4-door sedan

PRICE AS TESTED: $20,490 (base price: $18,890)

ENGINE TYPE: DOHC 16-valve inline-4, aluminum block and head, port fuel injection

Displacement: 144 cu in, 2360cc
Power (SAE net): 173 bhp @ 6000 rpm
Torque (SAE net): 168 lb-ft @ 4000 rpm

TRANSMISSION: 5-speed automatic with manumatic shifting

DIMENSIONS:
Wheelbase: 104.3 in Length: 178.3 in Width: 69.9 in Height: 57.5 in
Curb weight: 2960 lb

C/D TEST RESULTS:
Zero to 60 mph: 8.6 sec
Zero to 100 mph: 23.6 sec
Street start, 5–60 mph: 9.1 sec
Standing ¼-mile: 16.6 sec @ 85 mph
Top speed (governor limited): 127 mph
Braking, 70–0 mph: 173 ft
Roadholding, 300-ft-dia skidpad*: 0.85 g

FUEL ECONOMY:
EPA city/highway driving: 23/31 mpg
C/D observed: 32 mpg
*Stability-control-inhibited.

But this segment is about inexpensive, comfortable, roomy, inoffensive, and—increasingly—stylish cars, and that is exactly what the Forte is. It doesn’t invite aggressive driving, but that’s all the better to enjoy the well-appointed, airy interior and the relatively supple ride.

So the Forte won’t be displacing the Honda and Toyota sluggers from the heart of the batting lineup, but we could see it hitting second, the place for solid and trustworthy players. It’s just too bad the Forte isn’t more fun to drive; a car that can be counted on for singles could have instead been hitting base-clearing doubles.

Highs: Respectable interior materials, handsome styling, good value with lots of standard goodies.

Lows: Steering could use more feel, throttle tip-in is far too aggressive.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » September 1st, 2009, 1:21 pm

x2floor wrote:PCM 4125 grey Cerato? nice...here are some reviews: magazine ratings FTW! :lol:

Nah, Black, PCM 39**

adri 2nr

Postby adri 2nr » September 4th, 2009, 10:19 am

looks alot like the new Honda city/civic

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 4th, 2009, 2:36 pm

Where de pix yuh promise Captainzaak???

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » November 2nd, 2009, 9:58 pm

norstar2k wrote:Where de pix yuh promise Captainzaak???

Man, i clean forgot, sorry.

Here are two interiors i took few days ago.

Will take more when it wash :oops:

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 3rd, 2009, 8:06 am

Aye! I swear he post my interior yes. Instrumentation Colors and layout similar to the SGV. Nice Captainzaak.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » November 3rd, 2009, 9:03 am

norstar2k wrote:Aye! I swear he post my interior yes. Instrumentation Colors and layout similar to the SGV. Nice Captainzaak.

Really? Never noticed to tell you the truth.

Washing car weekend, so i'll post exterior and more interior as well as engine bay.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » November 4th, 2009, 8:16 am

Few more, sorry, i flipped the pics but...it flipped back when i uploaded it :?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » November 4th, 2009, 12:11 pm

by cerato looks really nice there man, you have it looking good. It looks like a big car (compare it to the b14 it parked next to).......im impressed, heard it rommier than the corolla, civic, lancer, impreza and 3 (sales rep info :lol: )

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » November 5th, 2009, 6:20 pm

well. it is roomier than the corolla and lancer, its about the same of a new model civic, never drove in an impreza, or M3, so can't say for those two.

It got some pep for a 1.6, i'll tell u that fuh sure :shock:

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 5th, 2009, 7:07 pm

Yuh just need the truck spoiler to complete the sport sedan finish.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » November 5th, 2009, 9:03 pm

Return to “KIA”