The Ultimate 1jz/2jz thread. all jz questions answered.

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Naka

The Ultimate 1jz/2jz thread. all jz questions answered.

Postby Naka » February 1st, 2010, 10:42 pm

How is parts availability for both platforms?

I've been a fan of the JZ line ever since, but I fraid to do a project and ketch meh ass for alternator, sensors and thing.

Could anyone clear the air.

Any JZ owners who have theirs a while can let us know as well.
Last edited by Naka on October 10th, 2011, 1:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

Naka

Postby Naka » February 2nd, 2010, 10:24 am

JZ beats all engines.

rx80

Postby rx80 » February 2nd, 2010, 11:11 am

Prices not that bad and most 1J/2J parts are interchangeable both turbo and non turbo. I haven't had any problems with sensors nor have i heard about persons with.
Components that do give trouble are as follows
Power steering pump- i've seen these fail on a couple engines( my advice is to ensure the system is flushed properly and try to avoid starting the engine without PS fluid)
Turbos- 1JZ ceramic turbos is sheit and the 2JZ ceramic aint too much better, with the 2JZ because of only one wastegate on the first turbo the rear turbo sometimes suffer.
Hydraulic fan water pump, this gives trouble if you disconnect the fan line without having lubrication to the pump.
Alternator- normally doesn't give trouble but couple toyota rectifiers and brushes are interchangeable.
Just to be comfortable another good thing to do is replace/inspect main and rod bearings while engine is out.

One thing i would reccommend with the purchase of a JZ is to replace the try flush out the old oil before starting and tumbling the engine a couple times before starting to allow the settled oil the move around.
Also you can replace both front and rear seals while the engine is out and all belts.

Spending the money upfront on those things mentioned will same you alot in the long run. :) :) :)

Postby Hook » February 2nd, 2010, 11:49 am

^^^ good advice!

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » February 2nd, 2010, 2:30 pm

if u relly do install a jz ............
with a management like a haltech , u will have the flexibility of using different sensors ,injectors, coils , ignitors, just by changing the setup settings on the management.
with the range of aftermarket sensors and replacements out there u don't have to worry.

go ahead and do d JZ , the real monster!!

0X

rx80

Postby rx80 » February 2nd, 2010, 5:38 pm

Hayden true but can you install a haltech with an auto transmission? What will be used to control the tranny with the stand alone?
The hardest thing to find for these engines is the gearbox and flywheel. Not to mention the price they go for. I ended up buying an emanage because I couldn't get the gearbox when I wanted. Can the greddy also use aftermarket sensors other than the 3bar map? Note I haven't installed the greddy yet.

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » February 2nd, 2010, 6:13 pm

rx80 wrote:Hayden true but can you install a haltech with an auto transmission? What will be used to control the tranny with the stand alone?
The hardest thing to find for these engines is the gearbox and flywheel. Not to mention the price they go for. I ended up buying an emanage because I couldn't get the gearbox when I wanted. Can the greddy also use aftermarket sensors other than the 3bar map? Note I haven't installed the greddy yet.

rx80

the greddy remember is a piggyback and alters signals to and from ur stock ecu , so aftermarkets sensors may or may not work. it depends then on if ur ecu will work with it.

for controlling an auto application there is the aem ems thats available as plug and play. thats what yancee uses as well.

rx80

Postby rx80 » February 2nd, 2010, 7:25 pm

Cool, I figured the ultimate might not be able to. Any how I got my gearbox so the ultimate might sell if I get back what I paid.
Naka btw if yuh looking for a 2JZ check drunk24-7 and if a 1JZ I might be able to help yuh in a timing.

Naka

Postby Naka » February 2nd, 2010, 9:16 pm

rx80

Postby rx80 » February 2nd, 2010, 10:31 pm

^^^why would you want to do that? The JZ comes with an A340/A341 tranny which is very capable of holding 400hp with a higher stall converter and moderate driving. You can even get a shift kit from boost logic etc that can hold well over 800hp.
As for parts they are available you just have to know where to look. The JZs are very popular worldwide so parts easy to get.
Do some research buy and engine have it installed and running stock properly then go from there.
You can try supraforums.com a lot of advice there.

Naka

Postby Naka » February 3rd, 2010, 1:44 pm

rx80 wrote:^^^why would you want to do that? The JZ comes with an A340/A341 tranny which is very capable of holding 400hp with a higher stall converter and moderate driving. You can even get a shift kit from boost logic etc that can hold well over 800hp.
As for parts they are available you just have to know where to look. The JZs are very popular worldwide so parts easy to get.
Do some research buy and engine have it installed and running stock properly then go from there.
You can try supraforums.com a lot of advice there.

I'm really glad to know that! I was really wondering about the capabilities of the stock trannies, I'm really glad to know that! rx80, could u provide me with some links to learn more about the stock trannies and their limits?

drunk24-7

Postby drunk24-7 » February 5th, 2010, 1:12 am

Nak's.. Quick question... what are you planning on doing the JZ transplant into? Brakes and Suspension are going to a major consideration... I know i had a lot of problems with suspension and brakes, which were only rectified with VERY EXPENSIVE MODIFICATIONS.

Another thing as well... if yuh not accustomed to the power of these engines.... PLZ keep it stock and learn to handle it well. I went from a Datsun SR20DET to a daily driven 2jzgte, and believe me, with a little provocation, things got out of hand very easily, on a daily basis.

Parts wise... be prepared to make a lot of bamboo runs, a lot of phone calls to get parts and keep friends with those who have spare parts around. I spent a month hunting for an alternator. Those who had a spare around wanted 1500 at least to part with it. Aside from that, these engines are near bulletproof.

Anything else i left out?

rx80

Postby rx80 » February 5th, 2010, 9:18 am

drunk24-7, yuh living :o :o
Waz the latest with the JZX73?

Naka

Postby Naka » February 5th, 2010, 9:28 am

drunk24-7 wrote:Nak's.. Quick question... what are you planning on doing the JZ transplant into? Brakes and Suspension are going to a major consideration... I know i had a lot of problems with suspension and brakes, which were only rectified with VERY EXPENSIVE MODIFICATIONS.

Another thing as well... if yuh not accustomed to the power of these engines.... PLZ keep it stock and learn to handle it well. I went from a Datsun SR20DET to a daily driven 2jzgte, and believe me, with a little provocation, things got out of hand very easily, on a daily basis.

Parts wise... be prepared to make a lot of bamboo runs, a lot of phone calls to get parts and keep friends with those who have spare parts around. I spent a month hunting for an alternator. Those who had a spare around wanted 1500 at least to part with it. Aside from that, these engines are near bulletproof.

Anything else i left out?

Well, I wanna put it in a 260c (u all maybe laughing eh). I already have this car, but might trade up for a kancer and then put it in that, (following in the footsteps of helmet). So it's either those two.

rx80

Postby rx80 » February 5th, 2010, 11:40 am

Naka, Why not go with a RB? much easier to locate parts and much much more cheaper! Consider this a JZ R154 gearbox is around 8K or more with flywheel etc. while a RB can be aquired for 2500.
For JZ advice check these sites.

http://forums.toyotacressida.net/forums/index.php

http://www.supraforums.com/forum/index.php

http://www.jzxproject.com/

Naka

Postby Naka » February 7th, 2010, 1:48 pm

rx80 wrote:Naka, Why not go with a RB? much easier to locate parts and much much more cheaper! Consider this a JZ R154 gearbox is around 8K or more with flywheel etc. while a RB can be aquired for 2500.
For JZ advice check these sites.

http://forums.toyotacressida.net/forums/index.php

http://www.supraforums.com/forum/index.php

http://www.jzxproject.com/

I was thinking about rb eh, but rb and tranny= licks, lol. JZs are the only engines that impress me under the tranny vibes.

drunk24-7

Postby drunk24-7 » February 7th, 2010, 2:33 pm

RX80.... yuh brave to start that datsun talk up in here.

Naks, shop around and search carefuly , or gimme a call, i might be able to link you up with a 1jzgte with a gearbox. And secondly, having a high powered engine is fun, but it takes time to build, tune and have up and running. Secondly, the amount of $$$ to spend on a project varies with your HP goal, so don't go out there trying to be the fastest, cuz in the long run, it can also be very expensive, especially when considering JZ parts and upgrades. Learn to handle a stock JZ and plan from there. A stock JZ outperforms a lot of cars on the streets. Primera, B15 etc.

Also, keep in mind that relaibility of ur engine can be decreased especially when modifying. Its best to have access to a second vehicle, so that in the event of something going wrong with the "PROJECT", ur not reduced to "hopping rides"
Lastly, remember the 260 wasn't really built for such high power and stress, so expect parts to break, rip tear etc. The stress starts to kick in when no replacements are available and you need to improvise other parts. This is where Trinituner really proves itself....

If you don't believe me, ask RX80 about both his and my diff problems.

anything else i left out....

Naka

Postby Naka » February 8th, 2010, 8:03 am

^thanks man, u read my mind on the second vehicle thing! lol @ hopping rides.

I really looking for an automatic tranny platform when I'm ready. As for 260 parts, I have fairly easy access until the well runs dry.

btw, plz tell about yur diff woes, always willing to learn.

btw again, what yall think about a 1jz in the 260? Any sense? How much less power we talking about from a 2jz?

drunk24-7

Postby drunk24-7 » February 8th, 2010, 6:53 pm

In my case, my project consisted of a MX73 ( IRS RX70 cressida) mated to a 2jzgte tranny, used as a daily driver. After a few months of hard launches, lunatic driving, occasional attempted drift sessions, and "lighting it " here, there and everywhere else, the diff just gave up. A few days spent identifying which 3rd member (GUTTS) from any make of vehicle which was available, R32, R33, MK4, etc, and on advice from BCR ltd, the decision was simple...R32, based on ease of fabrication and installation, as well as replacing it in the event the diff decided to dismantle itself ever again. He created a jig using the original diff, removed the busted toyota 3rd member, and installed the 3rd member from the R32. Believe me, no easy task. All that was needed to be done, was to spline the cressida axles to the skyline set. Splining was decided for extra strength, for the same idotic driving reasons described above.

In terms of live axles, i,ve seen fellas use stronger diffs, eg E24, Prado, toyota surf is a fav... simply using the original diff as a jig, fabricate the dog bone mounts back onto the stronger diff, as well as the relative shock and spring mounts. i've seen it done a few times on pick up vans, as well as a ole model crown toting a 1jzgte... :twisted:

Third, is where fellas have decided to install a IRS on a live axle car. I've seen it done on a bluebirds, laurels, as well as a no post 280 C. Cutthroat Inc has it done on an escort, and i think its been done to a KE70.

Since you came here to learn, i might as well share some ideas.

again, depending on ur budget, the 260 can be a good chassis. Of course, nothing beats free... personally, from experience, these ole cars "cyar take strain", and if they do, prepare to spend a lot of time in the parts bin, or on trinituner posting " looking for ole car parts " threads. Everything seems to be shaken or broken.

On the streets, stock 1jz and 2jz are basically the same, (eh RX80). Only difference is a bit extra grunt at higher rpms, lil higher gas bill, more stress in obtaining parts, as well as people looking at you in amazement when they hear about the 2jzgte... Bragging rights!!! but careful..almost everyone expects a 2jz to be modified. If it stock... yuh a "beh beh"

260 were suppoused to give a comfy ride, hence its no good for abuse. It rides like a boat. That can be fixed with a little creativity.

260 wasn't designed for such amount of power, so the brakes will be severly strained. No brakes, pumping the pedal like abs while looking for space to squeeze and not hit, bleeding brakes twice for the week, get used to it. yuh might as well learn to enjoy the smell of overheated brakes. its quite good actually. Again, this can be fixed with a bit of creativity. Depending on ur budget.

Don't believe me? Ask any ole car owner who installed a "fass engine". i eh talking SR or RB eh. strictly JZ to be precise. :wink:

Remember, there are virtually no aftermarket parts for the 260, so everything will have to be custom fabricated.

And to add one last thing, i've seen some RB20DET W/Tranny and very minor mods, (cheap!!!) leave me wondering what just happened.

If yuh have any questions, just gimme a call....will be glad to answer them...

Naka

Postby Naka » February 9th, 2010, 12:40 am

^called this guy, gave me tons of info and tips, way cool to booth, big ups dog!

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » February 9th, 2010, 12:54 am

yup drunk24-7 is one cool dude. a lil crazy but kool. always has some advice to share and he knows his sh!t :!: :!:

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » February 9th, 2010, 7:59 am

datsun hater :|

rx80

Postby rx80 » February 9th, 2010, 8:37 am

drunk24-7, Great advice!!
Naka, Take heed to what was said and be sure to plan the project before jumping into it. My advice is to sort out the suspension in the car first, then brakes a good diff and then look at the engine install.
The hilux/prado diff is a very good option same "G" series as the mk3 supra and there are many different ratios i've seen from 6.67 straight down to 3.9
As for the brakes a set of skyline four pot shouldn't be too hard to put up front, but remember a larger booster will also be advised.
From my experience the diff, drive shaft etc are the most trouble some components, i've been through 2 surf diffs and one cressida. Key is to be sure and set the diff up properly the first time.

Naka

Postby Naka » February 9th, 2010, 10:08 am

rx80 wrote:drunk24-7, Great advice!!
Naka, Take heed to what was said and be sure to plan the project before jumping into it. My advice is to sort out the suspension in the car first, then brakes a good diff and then look at the engine install.The hilux/prado diff is a very good option same "G" series as the mk3 supra and there are many different ratios i've seen from 6.67 straight down to 3.9
As for the brakes a set of skyline four pot shouldn't be too hard to put up front, but remember a larger booster will also be advised.
From my experience the diff, drive shaft etc are the most trouble some components, i've been through 2 surf diffs and one cressida. Key is to be sure and set the diff up properly the first time.

exactly my thoughts, what u recommend for the front suspension? I was thinking of a 280zx diff(complete), as I heard they line bolt for bolt on the 260c. What u think of that too? As for the back suspension, I was thinking of leaving it with the leaf suspension instead of converting to springs and run a caltrac, if that's the correct term.

rx80

Postby rx80 » February 9th, 2010, 10:38 am

http://www.hotrodsandhemis.com/Traction.html
Try that out^^^
For the rear try installing a better pair of shocks first. If the suspension is the same as the 280Z then there shouldn't be much of a problem for these.
For the front you'll just have to see what can work i'm not familiar with the front suspension so i can't say. But it shouldn't be to hard to make a set of coilover work.
http://www.fiero.nl/forum/Forum2/HTML/046456.html
http://www.club4ag.com/faq_and_tech_pag ... ersion.htm
Either procedure can apply. :P :P

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 9th, 2010, 11:38 am

drunk24-7 wrote:In my case, my project consisted of a MX73 ( IRS RX70 cressida) mated to a 2jzgte tranny, used as a daily driver. After a few months of hard launches, lunatic driving, occasional attempted drift sessions, and "lighting it " here, there and everywhere else, the diff just gave up. A few days spent identifying which 3rd member (GUTTS) from any make of vehicle which was available, R32, R33, MK4, etc, and on advice from BCR ltd, the decision was simple...R32, based on ease of fabrication and installation, as well as replacing it in the event the diff decided to dismantle itself ever again. He created a jig using the original diff, removed the busted toyota 3rd member, and installed the 3rd member from the R32. Believe me, no easy task. All that was needed to be done, was to spline the cressida axles to the skyline set. Splining was decided for extra strength, for the same idotic driving reasons described above.

In terms of live axles, i,ve seen fellas use stronger diffs, eg E24, Prado, toyota surf is a fav... simply using the original diff as a jig, fabricate the dog bone mounts back onto the stronger diff, as well as the relative shock and spring mounts. i've seen it done a few times on pick up vans, as well as a ole model crown toting a 1jzgte... :twisted:

Third, is where fellas have decided to install a IRS on a live axle car. I've seen it done on a bluebirds, laurels, as well as a no post 280 C. Cutthroat Inc has it done on an escort, and i think its been done to a KE70.

Since you came here to learn, i might as well share some ideas.

again, depending on ur budget, the 260 can be a good chassis. Of course, nothing beats free... personally, from experience, these ole cars "cyar take strain", and if they do, prepare to spend a lot of time in the parts bin, or on trinituner posting " looking for ole car parts " threads. Everything seems to be shaken or broken.

On the streets, stock 1jz and 2jz are basically the same, (eh RX80). Only difference is a bit extra grunt at higher rpms, lil higher gas bill, more stress in obtaining parts, as well as people looking at you in amazement when they hear about the 2jzgte... Bragging rights!!! but careful..almost everyone expects a 2jz to be modified. If it stock... yuh a "beh beh"

260 were suppoused to give a comfy ride, hence its no good for abuse. It rides like a boat. That can be fixed with a little creativity.

260 wasn't designed for such amount of power, so the brakes will be severly strained. No brakes, pumping the pedal like abs while looking for space to squeeze and not hit, bleeding brakes twice for the week, get used to it. yuh might as well learn to enjoy the smell of overheated brakes. its quite good actually. Again, this can be fixed with a bit of creativity. Depending on ur budget.

Don't believe me? Ask any ole car owner who installed a "fass engine". i eh talking SR or RB eh. strictly JZ to be precise. :wink:

Remember, there are virtually no aftermarket parts for the 260, so everything will have to be custom fabricated.

And to add one last thing, i've seen some RB20DET W/Tranny and very minor mods, (cheap!!!) leave me wondering what just happened.

If yuh have any questions, just gimme a call....will be glad to answer them...

This is what 2NR should be about.

Naka

Postby Naka » February 9th, 2010, 3:35 pm

^exactly eh. I could even come back to this thread for reference if I forgot anything.

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » February 9th, 2010, 6:07 pm

Midnight_Demon wrote:yup drunk24-7 is one cool dude. a lil crazy but kool. always has some advice to share and he knows his sh!t :!: :!:

AH LIL YUH SAY DEY........ lol

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » February 9th, 2010, 6:17 pm

TRDcorolla wrote:
Midnight_Demon wrote:yup drunk24-7 is one cool dude. a lil crazy but kool. always has some advice to share and he knows his sh!t :!: :!:

man told me Brembos not good box drain works best :shock: :shock:

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 10th, 2010, 1:07 pm

haydn28 wrote:
TRDcorolla wrote:

man told me Brembos not good box drain works best :shock: :shock:

Return to “TOYOTA”