what's a safe boost pressure

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

rebel sounds

what's a safe boost pressure

Postby rebel sounds » February 25th, 2010, 1:02 am

can you guys help or shed some light as to what boost pressure is safe to run on a '06 sti twin scroll engine

Samiir_Tuner

Postby Samiir_Tuner » February 25th, 2010, 4:12 am

18-20psi with a good tune

AWD Motorsports

Re: what's a safe boost pressure

Postby AWD Motorsports » February 25th, 2010, 9:44 pm

rebel sounds wrote:can you guys help or shed some light as to what boost pressure is safe to run on a '06 sti twin scroll engine

alot of other factors involved boss... any mods on ur car?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 27th, 2010, 5:47 pm

First off, it depends on what turbo you're running. Bigger than stock turbo, same psi = more air flow = just as damaging if not tuned right.

Too high boost causes the turbo to lose efficiency, then suffer a loss in air flow, and also act like a fancy air heater, making your car more prone to knock.

Postby A172 » February 27th, 2010, 10:48 pm

not to hijack

but whaz de most men running on the wrx td04 safely as everyday boost? :|

Race Champ

Postby Race Champ » February 27th, 2010, 11:14 pm

word up hey the safest way to go is from 10-15 speaking from personal mishaps i melted my pistons doing 18-20

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 28th, 2010, 8:29 am

A172 wrote:not to hijack

but whaz de most men running on the wrx td04 safely as everyday boost? :|

Well, hmm....the power you're aiming to get, and the boost to get it at.....depends on whether you're running a 13G or 19T wheel, and the TD04L/HL etc etc. W.r.t to the Subys, the everyday boost depends on the map the person's running....tuned or not.

If it's any help, back when my car was shamefully stock, I logged 200 whp (well, 199.99) at 13.0 psi boost (with 3 wonderous cat converters (1 in UPpipe/2 in the DownPipe) and the stock 2.25" exhaust)

:? :?

word up hey the safest way to go is from 10-15 speaking from personal mishaps i melted my pistons doing 18-20

Stock boost for the JDM STi is 18 psi. :lol:

Postby A172 » February 28th, 2010, 12:21 pm

it's the td04l-13g

made 173whp at 12psi

now I'm thinking of running 14psi low boost and 16 as high

just need to know if the turbo could take that on a day to day basis :|

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 28th, 2010, 6:19 pm

^^Don't see why not.

Folks both locally and abroad (judging from the US forums) have run about 16 psi. I'm not sure it'll make such a ginormous difference......could be wrong though

Postby A172 » February 28th, 2010, 7:57 pm

no the reason I asked is because I hearing some men saying the most it cud run everyday safely is 14psi.....den some saying 16-17.....then others claiming 20 :?

kinda like ah runaround nah :|

issa 1.3L.....hadda run as much boost as safely possible :lol:

thx tho

AWD Motorsports

Postby AWD Motorsports » February 28th, 2010, 11:49 pm

All this info is great but it really depends on ur tune..... 16psi on a stock wrx is not bad as a daily driver eh Knight? lol....

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 1st, 2010, 9:54 am

^^Lies......LIES!!!!!!

drinker41

Postby drinker41 » March 1st, 2010, 1:27 pm

http://www.scoobytuner.com/tuning/?tSfID1=4&tuningID=43 this website has info on most of the stock turbos that subaru offers

AWD Motorsports

Postby AWD Motorsports » March 1st, 2010, 6:36 pm

Knight1 wrote:^^Lies......LIES!!!!!!

how things man? when yuh passing in the store? 8-)

Return to “SUBARU”