The Ultimate 1jz/2jz thread. all jz questions answered.

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

drunk24-7

Postby drunk24-7 » February 10th, 2010, 3:05 pm

Naks, RX80, the 280 ZX is IRS... at least from the only 2 that i have been under. The entire rear subframe including cradles, seems almost similar to the setup from the IRS 910 blue bird. Again, the IRS can't take much abuse, as i've seen a RB25DET tear apart the original 3rd member. Once again, R32 diff to the rescue...

Naks, by chance you refering to the 280C wagon diff with the rear disc brakes?? :? This is live axle as compared to the IRS of the 280ZX

Once again, leaving the leaf springs won't be much of an issue, but finding a diff that can stand up to the abuse of a JZ might be a bit challenging.

That said, we need to find a diff thats
1) Similar in width to the 260 Diff
2) Strong enough to take abuse from the JZ
3) Rear disc brakes would surely increase stopping power. Thats highly desired. :o
4) A replacement is easily available, as we know JZ power can "mash up d diff"
5) Won't a better ride (sportier) be nice? Leaf springs are good, but they are not really that suitable for a lil fun trip thru corners... say gran couva... eh naks..? :twisted:

Naka

Postby Naka » February 12th, 2010, 12:14 pm

Lol man, gran couva. It was the 280ZX diff I was talking about.

drunk24-7

Postby drunk24-7 » February 22nd, 2010, 2:20 am

Any updates, problems, ideas, comments thus far....?

Naka

Postby Naka » February 23rd, 2010, 12:01 pm

nothing man, I just watching that car for the while, lol. I was considering the rb scene u was talking about. But the trannies in them real flaky i was told, so is J all the way!

rx80

Postby rx80 » March 2nd, 2010, 9:03 am

So yuh start collecting parts yet for the build? Remember it will be much easier to start work on the suspension and brakes before the engine is in. Get some skyline front brakes and start making a bracket. Biggert booster, new shocks, bushings etc.

seecarr11

Postby seecarr11 » March 2nd, 2010, 2:23 pm

and take lots of pictures. document everything. this will be a great build :o

Naka

Postby Naka » March 16th, 2010, 9:15 am

Scrapping the 260c project, going lancer with 1jz :shock:

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » March 16th, 2010, 9:27 am

ok i decided to start a 1jz project as well...
it will be a 1jzgte in a box lancer .

need sumthing to go 10s :twisted:

Postby Razkal » March 16th, 2010, 12:16 pm

loving this thread actually...good advice being passed....naka i feel you wanna build a spaceship dan :lol:

y'all should make a date and meet up to discuss in person, i have two rx70 wagons both with 1JZs (n/a auto, removed speed cut, 2.5" exhaust), one has independent rear suspension and lsd etc, the other is stock...since its in line with the thread i'd be more than happy to meet up with you guys....

thinking of building the wagon with the irs as a "bippu" look drift machine...need me some RS watanabes and an exposed oil cooler :P

both wagons haul considerable arse, despite their n/a, auto trim...i was truly impressed how very close, performance and response wise they were compared to the rb in the first gen...

rx80

Postby rx80 » March 16th, 2010, 10:12 pm

Razkal, isn't the 'bippu' look more of a vip? Wantanabe and a large oil cooler should be more of a bozo look. Be sure to get a nice long exhaust tube. I always loved that look was thinking about doing a ke70 one day.

BTW what IRS on the RX70 ? Didn't all the wagons come banjo type? If so who did the install.

Postby Razkal » March 17th, 2010, 8:53 am

^you're right, bosozoku not bippu, thanks for pointing that out..

rx80, IRS from a cresta/cressida, the install was done by a kook my old man knew, but the work was a bit questionable, i'd like to take the work to BCR when i figure out whats what and where i'm going with it..

the springs mount vertically in the original irs set-up on the cresta/cressida, on the rx70, that would mean they fall directly in the wheel well due to slightly wider track...so they were mounted at a bit of an angle, which i think is horrendous but it works for now, a tad bouncy and squishy still but the irs feels better out back than the banjo...

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » March 19th, 2010, 6:15 pm

All,

Anyone ever did a complete swap over of the FRONT suspension from a donor car unto ur project car? I would like to see/get pics of this swap.

I mean everyone is doing IRS swaps at the back unto cars that came banjo, but for the front. Apart from just using skyline/silvia coilovers, rotors, calipers. Like modifying your front shock mounts etc and bolting up an entire silvia front subframe unto the box lancer for example. Reinforcing what needs to be offcourse...

I've heard of it done to an escort in Mc Bean, but never saw it.

My plan for the escort was to use A31 entire front subframe unto the escort as the back is IRS R32, it will be the same wheel width etc and be capable of holding a 6 cyl engine.

The stock escort front suspension is too shoddy for JZ :wink:

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » March 19th, 2010, 6:18 pm

Naka, if u going tru with the 1jz box lancer project, give meh a call.... i know somebody who who kno sumbody who running that lol... dey is cool ppl and im sure will be willing to give some advice.

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » March 19th, 2010, 6:19 pm

RX80, you sellin the R154 by chance??????? :lol:

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » March 19th, 2010, 8:37 pm

Razkal, by chance. .. one blue n one white ?

Naka

Postby Naka » March 19th, 2010, 11:39 pm

cutthroatInt wrote:Naka, if u going tru with the 1jz box lancer project, give meh a call.... i know somebody who who kno sumbody who running that lol... dey is cool ppl and im sure will be willing to give some advice.

Def. The only man I saw that so far was 'Helmet'. Pm me. As for the build guys, I studying to keep the 260 or go lancer, my mind is a mess. lol. Saw 1 and 2j in d and d in the bamboo. they say 7500 for the 1jz and 12000 for the 2jz.

Naka

Postby Naka » March 19th, 2010, 11:41 pm

rx80 wrote:So yuh start collecting parts yet for the build? Remember it will be much easier to start work on the suspension and brakes before the engine is in. Get some skyline front brakes and start making a bracket. Biggert booster, new shocks, bushings etc.

if I'm sticking with the 260, what diff u recommend?

cutthroatInt

lancer

Postby cutthroatInt » March 20th, 2010, 9:54 pm

Naka wrote:
cutthroatInt wrote:Naka, if u going tru with the 1jz box lancer project, give meh a call.... i know somebody who who kno sumbody who running that lol... dey is cool ppl and im sure will be willing to give some advice.

Def. The only man I saw that so far was 'Helmet'. Pm me. As for the build guys, I studying to keep the 260 or go lancer, my mind is a mess. lol. Saw 1 and 2j in d and d in the bamboo. they say 7500 for the 1jz and 12000 for the 2jz.

was helmet self i was referring to...

Naka

Postby Naka » March 21st, 2010, 8:39 pm

^helmet is a good one.

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » March 24th, 2010, 9:48 am

stick to the 260. dont go and cut firewall n all that drama to fit a 6 cylinder in a lancer....

Postby Razkal » March 24th, 2010, 10:14 am

one is whatever shade of brown i bought it in, the other is blue but never saw the road, scrapped for painting and a gearbox...keeping one auto as a work mobile, way more fun than a pickup :lol:

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » March 24th, 2010, 10:30 am

Razkal wrote:one is whatever shade of brown i bought it in, the other is blue but never saw the road, scrapped for painting and a gearbox...keeping one auto as a work mobile, way more fun than a pickup :lol:

lol. ok kool :lol: :lol:

drunk24-7

Postby drunk24-7 » March 26th, 2010, 2:32 am

Cutthroat, we did a conversion on my cressida to use hilux parts as well as others on my suspension. As for its ride and handling, ask Midnite Demon :twisted:

Naks, Diff wise for the 260

720 pickup... cheap and relatively strong
280C rear disc brakes.... cheap, relatively strong, and rear disc brakes.
Toyota Surf.....Bulletproof,for burnouts, doughnuts, traffic light launches with nitrous etc... but no disc brakes
Prado.....Same as surf, but bigger, heavier and rear disc brakes

I'm using a Surf in my next project , and i have a lot of assorted 720 and 280 C diffs available for measuring.... :wink: Surf will be available by weekend...

Razkal, we did a conversion with my IRS in my cressida to use a R32 3rd member. I have a bit of experience with this these setups. Maybe if you want , i can help out a bit...

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » April 5th, 2010, 1:03 pm

JZ in a box lancer? Spending lots of money turning it in a drag car will make it hold traction, but for street, forget it.

Independent systems aren't that hard to work up, and from experience, you have more better control feeling with them.

This is what can happen with a properly setup engine, working well and not seeing about your rear end :

That was basically a stock 1jzgte, air filter ran to the front of the grill, 3" exhaust, walbro external fuel pump, bigger fuel lines, 3" piping with front mount intercooler, automatic tranny adjusted a bit(dunno what the guy did). Could have only gotten high 14's bcuz of slippage at the rear. After the independent rear on my car, i was able to boost a little off the line properly and hit a 13.7 with just 11-12psi boost and a few adjustments on suspension.

MK3 independent system or cefiro system, can work really well. Lining it up is the real major problem, but it takes nothing more really. Drive shaft work and exhaust passing under or over it is not big scene. In my case after the independent setup which took only 3-4 days, the car seated nicely, i had gotten tien coil overs with it and i used back cressida shock mounts and it was set nice. Car stayed straight, never had a problem with it ever since and it basically solved my rear end of the car problems.

Some pics:

Also the royal saloon diff with rear discs i heard is a good replacement diff if you don't want to go independent rear, but im not sure on suspension wise. I'd recommend doing an independent rear, spend a little extra, than having to get a headache for suspension and brakes.

Front suspension, on some cars, have similar bolt ups for many coil overs if u want that. Just reuse back shock mount of remake the bolt up area by re-drilling holes. Doing this however, i would recommend you make a plate both on top and below the original body you are drilling on and those plates should only have the bolt up of the coil over design. This is to keep it a little more stronger and prevent that area weakening.

Most people use 300zx or skyline rotors and calipers, some say its easy to workup, some say no lol. Supra brakes from either mk3 gt or mk4 turbo or non turbo are good upgrades, but are hard to find. Depending on you car you swap it in, you can use whichever.

Drunk 24-7 has shared a lot of great wise info which is extremely good info in my opinion. I had my share of smelly brakes every time driving.

1JZGTE & 2JZGTE's does not need BIG SETS of modification for power, its who you listen to and the right basic parts you use. Like most of them away use this term, BPU (Basic Performance Upgrades).

Toyota transmissions can hold up to 450hp, but a very safe item to put, very cheap too, is an aluminum transmission oil cooler. I've had one, never regretted it for the abuse the transmission took and was still kicking when car was sold.

Had experience with 1jzgte and 2jzgte, both/each automatic and gearbox. Never had any parts fail on me, nor sensors.

If you want something extreme, a nice upgrade would be an extractor manifold, something more on the sides of a t61 turbo or so, some 550-720cc injectors, greddy emanage ultimate, exhaust work, good intercooler, good clutch and you'll be happy with 15psi daily.

This is from a setup i know of, and it makes 458rwhp out of a 1jzgte. Uses cams from the US model 2jzgte however, before those cams, it did 422.

Heres the setup and car, MK3 Supra, running 19" rims and 285's at the rear, and still not holding much traction. Automatic too!

Anyone need help with more JZ stuff, give me a shout.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » April 5th, 2010, 1:04 pm

also hilux and 720 diffs are good stuff

Naka

Postby Naka » April 5th, 2010, 1:28 pm

^wow thanks alot man!!! Your info is highly regarded. Great addition to the thread.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » April 5th, 2010, 1:54 pm

doh mind i went with a nissan, theres a toyota hiding somewhere :twisted:

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » April 5th, 2010, 2:15 pm

also, for R154 users, replace the thrust washer with the chromoly ones, that's one major weak point on the r154 gearbox

Naka

Postby Naka » April 5th, 2010, 7:59 pm

So yur saying, with independent suspension in the back of the lancer, I might get a good hold on the street?

Opportunity strikes again. I might be getting a hold of a cefiro(A31) shell. How u think a 1jz might pull it?

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » April 5th, 2010, 8:30 pm

pretty good if you ask me. :mrgreen:

Return to “TOYOTA”