2010 Kia Forte (Cerato)

Sportage, Sorento, Soul, Rio, Cerato, Optima

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 26th, 2010, 6:47 pm

I pulled these up on youtube:

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/hQN82Her-Mw&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="640" height="385"></embed>

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/2XysWyoaDGo&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="640" height="385"></embed>

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/_l0696zog7k&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed>

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/R_RbyH9nPUI&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed>

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » April 28th, 2010, 3:27 pm

acesinghit,

unfortuantly out 1.6 model is to low for them to even compair *sigh*

Spoke to a sales rep, he said a guy special ordered a 2.0 sedan, costing close to $200,000.

IMO i don't see it being worth so much for 153HP :|

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 28th, 2010, 5:04 pm

^^yes I heard they sold 1 2.0 Koup but despite those insane prices it seems to be a bargain compared to the $250k Lancer 2.0 GT or $220k + Civic 1.8. Even the Corolla 1.8 is $230k + and the Mazda3 2.0 will be more than the already high $208k + 1.6 version so it seems Kia is justified :evil:

Mazdout

Postby Mazdout » April 28th, 2010, 7:52 pm

Dealers are going to out price themselves right out of the market place - let them continue at this rate. Why do you think buyers for higher hp are now special orders only.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » April 29th, 2010, 12:04 am

Imma wait a while for the prices to go down.

Got so bummy this morning, discovered a long crack coming from the edge of my windscreen when i start the car.
It was parked up yesterday in a closed garage so, no way something could hav gotten to it.

Checked a guy to see if it could drill and stop, however he said that it reach the edge so i gotta change it :(

He also said it looked like a manufactures defect :shock:
so i'm heading into SS tomorrow to check it out (insurance covers it thank god)

I'll let you all know how the service was and what went on.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 29th, 2010, 12:12 am

^^damn sorry to hear. Check Special T or Double Zee to get their opinion on whether it looks like a defect and put up a case with SS to have them change it b4 u go to your insurance. I sure for 1 would like an update on this.

Mazdout

Postby Mazdout » April 29th, 2010, 8:55 am

awaiting your reply.....

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » April 29th, 2010, 10:47 am

Well i got up this morning and called SS, got transferred to parts department.
Spoke to a guy there (didn't give his name), i gave him all the info as to how i discovered the crack etc, he advised that i come in to the service department and have them check it out, told me to ask for Steven Lalsingh.

Arrived there about 9:20am, went inside, spoke to the receptionist, she went in the back and spoke to Mr. Lalsingh, he came out after about 5 mins, i explained the situation to him, and we went out to check the windshield.

After this he took down some info of the vehicle, and went inside for about 10 minutes (to contact warranty). Came back out to give me the good news that they will replace the windscreen with an original at no cost, however they cannot do it today nor tomorrow.

So i have to carry in the car on Monday, where they will take it to the body shop in Curepe and have it replaced, told me i will be able to pick it up on Tuesday as they normally like to leave it to dry properly before giving it back to the customer.

Very reliving news i must say, service was great, speedy and no BS.

Left there about 9:45am

I'll update on Tuesday as to the quality of the work i received.

:mrgreen:

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 29th, 2010, 11:38 am

^^I am highly impressed :)

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » April 29th, 2010, 12:01 pm

^^ u alone :mrgreen:

I joined a forte forum recently, was searching through and i saw this post, now i KNOW its a defect.

http://www.forteforums.com/forums/forte ... fault.html

on another note:

http://www.forteforums.com/forums/koup- ... p-out.html

Mazdout

Postby Mazdout » April 29th, 2010, 3:06 pm

Wow! the dyno looks gr8t off the 2.0 and the fmic fits really neat in there.
Yup seems a crack with-out stone chip, common issue overseas, looks like a defect.

However, congrates on SS for their quick and prompt service - (that's what we need on this island - good back-up support) seems an immediate report has to be sent back to HQ before the next batch comes in. good stuff
Kool forum captain.

paimanlalla

Postby paimanlalla » April 30th, 2010, 11:18 pm

hmmm read the forum post and they said it seems to be a problem with only a certain batch and kia replacing them casue they know its thier fault so thaz great......

i beleive i got the first of the 2010 batch that came into the country so hope i dont have the same problem.....btw i have a metal bronze cerato as well and the thing is great

will definatley recommend it to anyone !

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » May 3rd, 2010, 10:14 am

Dropped off the car this morning, carless for two days *sigh*...lol

Maxi FTW yes :|

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » May 3rd, 2010, 10:53 am

Captainzaak wrote:Dropped off the car this morning, carless for two days *sigh*...lol

Maxi FTW yes :|

lol...pressha! kia turning into ah big bran' yes!

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 3rd, 2010, 11:52 am

when kia launches this in sweet T&T it will be all over for most other brands....

2011 Kia Optima :shock:

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » May 3rd, 2010, 12:26 pm

acesinghit wrote:when kia launches this in sweet T&T it will be all over for most other brands....

2011 Kia Optima :shock:

Loving the grill, rims and fogs, not so much..

Overall good looking tho, must say!

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » May 4th, 2010, 10:16 am

Spoke to Luke yesterday from SS north branch, he told me they getting some accessories for the sedan in about 6 weeks.

Grill
Spoiler
Chrome covers for side mirrors
Chrome door handles
much more.

Waiting to see what goodies wil be here :mrgreen:

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » May 5th, 2010, 11:07 pm

Okay, some news for you fellows.

Got the car back yesterday, brand new original windscreen, couldn't tell it was a replacement if i didn't smell the glue still in the car.
Car was washed and sitting there waiting for me at 2pm.

Checked it out, pulled all rubbers to verify that no cracks was there, all was well.
Great service i must say, only problem they had was due to my fuel cut (oops)

Went to work today, came to the car at 4pm this afternoon, low and behold, a long crack coming from the bottom of the windscreen that went middle way and took a right turn along the windscreen, man i could have died.

heading right back to SS tomorrow to see wtf is really going on! :(

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 6th, 2010, 10:13 am

^^^I was reading your reply above and saying ahh yes zaak get his car organized and then you drop an unexpected bomb. Bro, I real sorry hoss, but what's the explanation for that? :(

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » May 6th, 2010, 3:32 pm

Well i went back this morning and spoke to Steven, he checked out the crack.

He told me that the crack was due to bad installation of the replacement the windscreen, he apologized for it and offered to take the vehicle tomorrow to change the screen again, but i have some personal issues that is preventing me from being carless for the weekend.
So he said to bring it back Monday and he'll give me a vehicle to use for a few days while the car is in the shop, he would have done it weekend but all the vehicles are out.

So next week i'll see what's really going on, hope they install it properly this time *sigh*
:(

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 7th, 2010, 1:00 pm

well since its SS u dealing with tell them you want a free rental, priority given to their best/exclusive/expensive vehicle:

#1 BMW 7-Series
#2 Audi A8
#3 BMW 5-Series
#4 Audi A6
#5 BMW 3-Series
#6 Audi A4
#7 Volkswagen Passat
#8 Mazda 6
#9 Volkswagen Jetta
#10 Kia Optima
#11 Mazda 3

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » May 7th, 2010, 1:33 pm

acesinghit wrote:well since its SS u dealing with tell them you want a free rental, priority given to their best/exclusive/expensive vehicle:

#1 BMW 7-Series
#2 Audi A8
#3 BMW 5-Series
#4 Audi A6
#5 BMW 3-Series
#6 Audi A4
#7 Volkswagen Passat
#8 Mazda 6
#9 Volkswagen Jetta
#10 Kia Optima
#11 Mazda 3

Well i getting something to use, was shooting got the BMW 7 but, i might have to settle for the older model Cerato, none the less, it'll get some good beating out :D

Update:

Got #11, a Mazda 3, PCA series, must say that car is in a VERY disgusting condition, inside is filled with crap and the outside looks like it eh wash in months lol.

Running ok, can't cross 100kmph tho, steering wheel starts to wobble in my hands :shock:
Non the less, i getting back my car tomorrow, so happy! :D

Re: 2010 Kia Forte (Cerato)

Postby janfar » May 14th, 2010, 12:58 am

Hai gaiz...

Soooooo, I have just been terrorized tonight by dreams of seeing myself in a Koup. I think it practically sold itself to me when i saw the pic/ price. Was kinda hoping the had the 2L available locally... Im going to get a quotation today... so with any luck I may be the proud owner of a Koup soon.

zaak... how is the overall performance of the 1.6L engine... not going to be looking for anything extreme as I have the evo for that but at least a lil zip to rule it out of the hair dresser mode... :/

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » May 16th, 2010, 8:43 pm

janfar wrote:Hai gaiz...

Soooooo, I have just been terrorized tonight by dreams of seeing myself in a Koup. I think it practically sold itself to me when i saw the pic/ price. Was kinda hoping the had the 2L available locally... Im going to get a quotation today... so with any luck I may be the proud owner of a Koup soon.

zaak... how is the overall performance of the 1.6L engine... not going to be looking for anything extreme as I have the evo for that but at least a lil zip to rule it out of the hair dresser mode... :/

Koup is jaw dropping, i must admit, 1.6 performance is great as far as i can tell, prefer it over corolla, SX4, Civic (1.6) etc.
Koup's are lower with bigger tires so handling will be different.
Post pics if you buy :D

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » May 19th, 2010, 2:57 pm

I test drove the koup today, it is a great little car. It is a 1.6, but it pulls strongly, and I figure, I like to modify anyway, so it's a good base platform. The suspension is very good, solid on the corners with hardly any body roll.

I want one of these, it would be perfect for solodex!

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » May 19th, 2010, 2:59 pm

Oh, and there are headers (for the 1.6), cold air intakes, coilovers, lowering springs, and chassis braces for the koup, and a turbo kit is in development!

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 19th, 2010, 3:33 pm

^^^is it from www.sharkracing.com or no? I know they sell alot of performance upgrades for hyundai and kia.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » May 19th, 2010, 3:34 pm

:shock: :shock: :shock: @ the Optima.....if they bring that to TT looking like that...I first in line to buy ... don't care what it cost

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » May 19th, 2010, 3:50 pm

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 21st, 2010, 9:15 am

^^^ahh nice, thanks..

Return to “KIA”