Post Your Engine Bay Pics

TriniGT

Post Your Engine Bay Pics

Postby TriniGT » July 2nd, 2010, 7:49 am

Not sure if it is a repost but seen it on many a forum but don't think I have seen it here. Post up some pics of your engine bay, really only local pics please. Maybe some before and after pics and what was used to get the job done. Would like to see some of the local talent as I know some guys are really good when it comes to detailing. No pics off the Internet please. Let me start with my previous and current bays,
The good ole faithful GT after I removed the Boost,
My Pewter S15 at some point, a bit messy, haven't seen her since :(,
My ER34 GTT,
My Subject S14.5 Spec SR,
This is a before shot,
Will get an after one at some point. Need to get the pipes chromed and some other brackets and whatnot powder coated. Usually I use something like Clean-Off mixed one to one with water and spray it on and allow to soak for about 30 minutes, it is not harsh on the paint and clear coat like purple blaster is as I have learned from my past episodes. After soaking I use a pressure washer in the spray pattern and wash it off, being careful not to get water where it should not be. After that is done I then use the compressor to blow out all connectors and coilpacks and whatnot. Then I go over plastics with either WD40 or some sort of Amorall very lightly as a thick film collects a lot of dust quickly. After that I will try and maintain it, rainy season is real pressur though.

Re: Post Your Engine Bay Pics

Postby Monk BANzai » July 2nd, 2010, 7:56 am

heh....

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » July 2nd, 2010, 8:20 am

Simple and effective
DSC00485.jpg
DSC00487.jpg
DSC00486.jpg
DSC00482.JPG
DSC00297.JPG

Postby Monk BANzai » July 2nd, 2010, 8:31 am

^^ bleh...my shiny parts take win over all ah allyuh!!......

THERE ISNT AN ENGINE BAY THAT CAN BEAT MINE!!

HA!!! I AM THE GREATEST>>>>>I STING LIKE A BUTTERFLY AND FLOAT LIKE A BEE!!!!

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » July 2nd, 2010, 8:35 am

:lol: :lol: chrome = ricer engine bay ....*ducks inside rim

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 2nd, 2010, 8:42 am

Haha, please also mention what you use on the engine bay to help accentuate it so that others can follow for their For Sale Commercials. Sweet engine bays thus far.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » July 2nd, 2010, 9:13 am

BB pic

Postby eliteauto » July 2nd, 2010, 9:20 am

lemme chook one for the n/a guys

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » July 2nd, 2010, 9:52 am

^^ Nice!! love the trintuner.com airbox!

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » July 2nd, 2010, 10:31 am

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 2nd, 2010, 10:48 am

^^^ The clean did the engine bay a lot of justice. It is so gratifying to lay back and watch the before and after. Nothing like getting in there with the ole cloth and polishing everything up.

Postby Razkal » July 2nd, 2010, 10:55 am

elite's old AE engine bay was/is one of the hardest displays i've seen...definitely warrants mad props.

nice thread idea GT! gonna look for all my old engine bay pics with the rx and wagons now....madd dirty and disorganised, but i'll need a 'before' so i can show the 'after' :D

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » July 2nd, 2010, 11:09 am

Old bay:

yes i know :sick:

it looks much different now though will throw up the "After" when i get home

On another note TriniGT why did part with that s15?? that was the BEST looking one in the country

Postby MG Man » July 2nd, 2010, 11:16 am

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 2nd, 2010, 11:21 am

Razkal wrote:Nice thread idea GT! gonna look for all my old engine bay pics with the rx and wagons now....madd dirty and disorganised, but i'll need a 'before' so i can show the 'after' :D

Now at least people can at least fix up their engine bay and take some pics. The before and after really does justice.

mitsu4life wrote:Old bay:
On another note TriniGT why did part with that s15?? that was the BEST looking one in the country

Boy the new owner wanted it for the past two years I had it. It comes a time when you have to say if yuh willing to pay for it it's yours. Man found the money and came for it, I always say if someone wants it more than you is best yuh sell it befroe something happens to it. Always missed her though, maybe the S14.5 can be something of that stature at some point but lots needed done still. The skyline is still a work in progress but a different kettle of fish, the S15 is so much more sexy IMHO.

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » July 2nd, 2010, 12:19 pm

this going beat all ah allyuh :

this one is a before, still in d paint shop:

what products do u all use on ur cars? i use mostly only mothers products. engine bay - purple blaster and mothers protectant. exterior - mothers clay bar, car wash, carnauba wax and protectant. interior - mothers leather conditioner/cleaner and protectant.

Postby MG Man » July 2nd, 2010, 12:33 pm

showoff

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » July 2nd, 2010, 12:38 pm

how so ? my engine bay is the ugliest in here :?
i go post the other cars later. they on the next pc

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 2nd, 2010, 12:39 pm

Damn MD thing fit like Yam. This is a Cressida right, it resembles the KE70 in so many ways. I have access to my Grandpa's KE70 and it is very original, with some slight body work needed, the JZ is calling me.

Postby MG Man » July 2nd, 2010, 12:39 pm

showoff

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » July 2nd, 2010, 12:48 pm

TriniGT wrote:Damn MD thing fit like Yam. This is a Cressida right, it resembles the KE70 in so many ways. I have access to my Grandpa's KE70 and it is very original, with some slight body work needed, the JZ is calling me.

yup its a cressida. they rx70 and ke70 really have a close resemblance. the engine fit rel close tho. the pulleys about 2cm away from the electric radiator fans. lol. ill take some pics this week coming when i get back the car n clean it up properly.

come on over to the jz life. its GREAT :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 2nd, 2010, 12:51 pm

Wouldn't mind getting an altezza with a damaged engine and swap in a 2JZ GTE setup, should be fun. Anyway back on topic, engine bay pics please.

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » July 2nd, 2010, 1:11 pm

crossbreed :

Postby Monk BANzai » July 2nd, 2010, 1:14 pm

*kicks eliteauto's rim...

TH HELL!!!!!

Conrad

Postby Conrad » July 2nd, 2010, 1:56 pm

Basically a stock, nothing much has changed from since then but for the placement of fuel filter as far as I remember.

Anyone know how to remove the automotive paint without damaging the finish?
Last edited by Conrad on July 3rd, 2010, 8:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » July 2nd, 2010, 2:01 pm

nice.....wats the deal with the 'bamboo cutex engine number' doh. after the warranty is over its usually the first thing to go :lol:

scientist

Postby scientist » July 2nd, 2010, 2:55 pm

moti

Postby moti » July 2nd, 2010, 3:20 pm

my transformed AD when i had her.

don't really have pics of my past P11

this is when i now got the TE71

stripped it to bare metal and primed ready for welding

now

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » July 2nd, 2010, 3:26 pm

TriniGT wrote:The good ole faithful GT after I removed the Boost,

Hey man did you ever time this car on the 1/4 N/A? Would love to know how she stands up to a SiR civic.... 8-)

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 2nd, 2010, 3:49 pm

Somehow I feel an SiR would take this as the car was just a little peppy but with the big body I feel it would have eventually gave in.