Is your rubber any good..?? A tyre guide for your 4x4...

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
lighthammer

Re: Is your rubber any good..?? A tyre guide for your 4x4...

Postby lighthammer » August 19th, 2010, 5:27 am

Masterserv has Pirelli Scorpion ATR tires in 255/70R15's. Excellent all-terrain tire, more biased towards road than off-road, excellent traction on tarmac and very good traction in sand & gravel. Good - average traction in mud but that's to be expected in all A/T tyres.

$1135.00 for a pair.

Alternatively you could go with BF Goodrich All Terrains, Quickserv has them for $1575 per tyre (after discount) in 265/70R16. 50:50 bias for off-roaf & highway, excellent all-round performance.

For budgte-minded, Kumho Roadventure A/T are also excellent. Laughlin & Degannes has them for $997 per tyre in 265/70R16. I have them in my frontier and they have excellent traction in dry tarmac and very good traction in wet. Good traction off-road too.

IMO Pirelli, BFG, Goodyear's are the three best brands in all-round performance, others may be cheaper (like nexen, roadstone etc) but you don't get as much performance for the money.

In the end it comes down to your own brand preference.

Just make sure that you check your alignment regularly.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 19th, 2010, 5:58 am

^^good stuff there dude,

Cooper

Postby Cooper » August 19th, 2010, 7:37 am

Scorpions @ $1135 a PAIR?!?!?

...you sure that right? If it is, that is a good price :!:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 19th, 2010, 10:16 am

^^ sorry - $1135 per tyre.

Damned dyslexia.

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » August 19th, 2010, 4:56 pm

lighthammer wrote:Thanks for the info Rutless. I already applied for the Medicard online but they sticking with the reply.

Where did you buy your BFG's?

I got my BFG's free from a friend. I have been trying them out and even with the low tread they are not that bad. Of course I DON'T drive that hard. I will be getting some new tyres in about a month or so. I am thinking of Kumho / TOYO / BFG. I will have to shop around though when that time comes.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » June 25th, 2011, 5:18 pm

I still want a set of Firestone Destinations in 16s but i haven't seen them anywhere...
Help!

badart

Postby badart » June 25th, 2011, 10:31 pm

^ Check federals in sando was there recently and they had

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » June 27th, 2011, 10:51 am

Thanks Badart... Will check..
In the Market for some New A/Ts
The BFs look Good but I still prefer the Destinations..
Group Buy for A/Ts anyone???

Destinations are $1055

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » August 9th, 2011, 8:00 pm

Fellas, If you all interested I have a pair of A/T Roadstone Roadian. 30x9.5R15

plz see link below.

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=383620

Bought it to do some 4x2'n but didnt like the look at the back of my pickup so I took dem off..
Not lookin for any big price. just to get them off my hands.

Regards

Postby Team Loco » August 25th, 2011, 9:52 pm

i never thought i'd see the day i install triangle brand tyres on my van......i did today. really, i'm impressed with the ride quality. but i dont hold out much hope when they get older

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » August 27th, 2011, 1:10 pm

my dad had triangle on his car... i found them to be really gud! excellent wet and dry traction and gud thread ware... ride was gud also! :)

babylon

Postby babylon » October 13th, 2011, 11:43 pm

do you guys know where i can get Bridgestone Dueler H/Ts ? 265/70/16

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » October 14th, 2011, 12:39 am

why wud u want those tyres? they are shiet!

Postby equipped2ripp » October 14th, 2011, 2:31 am

Don't waste your time on Bridgestone Duelers, there are so much better options out there.

bt50

Postby bt50 » November 25th, 2011, 4:23 pm

fellas...anyone use the BF A/T? Reviews ? Wanna know feedback for road noise, wear, wet traction. Seems good on Tire rack and offroader.com...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 26th, 2011, 10:51 am

i have BFG A/T KO 265/70R16 on my Navara - haven't gotten stuck with them yet.

Performed admirably on the following trails:
- Las Cuevas (3x, never got stuck - once u have the right path chosen)
- Blanchisseuse; absolutely destroyed that trail
- Morne Diablo - heavy mud, was sliding around a bit cuz the mud there hard to throw off unless u spin the tyres real fast
- Lopinot Trail - great tyres for climbing small/moderate size ruts & rocks/logs
- Cumuto/Mt Harris: dug well into the ruts, however due to ground clearance issues I kept dragging my belly all over the damn trail, ripped off my stone shield and basically graded the trails for the guys behind me
- Caroni bird sanctuary swamp & riverside: while scouting and planning the map for the Side B rally, back in July when the tyres were brand new, the BFG's handled the caroni mud very well, only stopped to switch into 4wd cuz the back of the navara was light and didn't have enouhg weight for traction.

Highway performance: Very good - Excellent. Wet roads aren't a problem at all, esp when there's water on the road in puddles, etc. Due to the aggressive tread pattern, I can splash through a decent sized puddle at up to 60-70km/hr and not even feel any tugging on the steering wheel (i even tried going through a smaller puddle at 45km/h, no hands on wheel - truck went through straight and true, no pull, didn't even slow down). Grip on wet pavement is better than most highway tyres, again cuz of the aggressive treading as well as the massive amount of Siping on the lugs; this helps clear out water from the lugs and prevents hydroplaning. The siping is the key for good wet performance; every lug has two sipes cut into them and these sipes go ALL the way down to the bead, unlike other tyres like the Kumho KL78 A/T and even the Toyo Open Country A/T. It's difficult to find another all-terrain tyre with the same amount of meticulous siping as the BFG A/T.

Dry pavement: very good. Great grip, had to do a couple emergency braking stops and the tyres protested with a moderately low-pitched "skkrrroooo" but they held well and I was able to stop/maneuver away from the gunta taxi driver in front of me who decided to stop on a corner to pick up passengers.

Road Noise: Audbile, but easily tolerable. They do make a bit more noise than the stock Dunlop Grantrek highway tyres, and slightly more noise than the Pirelli Scorpion A/T - but it's more of a soft hum than a loud buzz like a nest of angry bee's. Some of the guys on Side B run aggressive M/T's: Maxxis Bighorns, Kumho KL71's, Mudstar Mudders and those tyres definitely buzz on the road, but the BFG A/T is much quieter than those mud tyres. Let me put it to you this way: the engine noise is louder than the tyre noise, the only way I really notice those BFG's is when I shift into Neutral and coast to a stop, eg. slowing down at a traffic light.

Overall: Highly recommended, esp if you do a good mix of both highway & trail driving. I do about 700km's per week or so of highway driving, and whenever Side B goes out offroading, I have never stuck except for when my ground clearance hung my fat-butt up. Put about 8000km on them now, and they don't even show any signs of wear. I'm expecting to get about 50,000km or more out of these..... that is if I don't sell them first!! (may upgrade to a bigger tyre or even the BFG M/T KM2). But I would definitely buy BFG tyres again, whether it's A/T's in a wider tyre or the M/T KM2.

Two other guys have bought BFG A/T after I did, and they both say the same thing and would recommend the tyre. Yes it's pricey, but you really getting a higher-class tyre than a simple Roadstone Roadian, it's in a completely different league.

I should know, I ran Pirelli Scorpion A/T 265/70R16's for 6 months... and those are a highly rated tyre. THe BFG's blow them away in almost every category... different league.

You won't regret it bro, TRUST ME.

bt50

Postby bt50 » November 30th, 2011, 7:35 am

thanks man..My michelin LTX at2 is coming up to 70000kms...so will have to replace within next month or 2.

However my concern is whether is can get a at least 50,000kms from the BF given the price or else Im going back to my LTX at2. But I hear you and will consider trying them out...at least for some offroad lol

Im not installing any MT's on my truck cuz they will wear out fast.

My Zuk has BF mt's coming up to 3 years and the thread like new. But then I olnly use it the jeep once a month for trails.

joel

Postby joel » January 10th, 2012, 8:36 am

i recently went on a hunt for some tyres for my 2010 hilux with the stock 17s on. well boy, i swear nobody have anything in this country, looking for tyres in the 17" size was a lil difficult. i was looking to replace the 265/65/17 with some 275/65/17. so here is what i got: some nittos for 1600 i believe, from andy in arouca, 1500 for some dynastorm hero at wheel wizard and 1380 for the Dunlop AT3 from tyre clinic. all AT tyres. all after discount for 4 tyres I went with the dunlop AT3 and so far i am happy with my choice.
So far i have driven 250+ km with them and no complaints, handles well in the wet on tarmac but they are new so they should. I will report back here what i find in the next couple of months on wear etc. my driving consists mostly of highway runs with a small amount of off roading and i am not an aggressive driver. range is usually between 90-110km most times. so you will take this into consideration if u are using my posts as a guage on what to buy or not.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » January 11th, 2012, 8:48 am

Post some pics nah Joel.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » January 11th, 2012, 9:11 am

Went and saw these yesterday.... So SWEET! :twisted:
33x12.5x15 BFG A/T - $2103.35 + 15% off

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 23rd, 2012, 5:26 pm

^^ nice nice. That's the good sh!t right thurrr.

I'll be selling my 265/70R16 BFG AT's soon... and upgrading to something like a 32x11.5R16 BFG AT.

rayj

Postby rayj » January 24th, 2012, 12:31 pm

Can anyone offer and informed comments on the Goodyear Fuel Max tyre?
I see it has some pretty decent reviews but haven't seen/heard anything locally.
Considering them for my Ranger ('08) which (these days) are used 90% on paved roads.

droppa

Postby droppa » January 24th, 2012, 2:15 pm

is that tyre sold locally, its not very popular maybe due to its price....

all in all, a new tyre is better than a used tyre anyday, its jus once u choose the correct one for your particular driving style....

rayj

Postby rayj » January 24th, 2012, 6:43 pm

Yup... tyres' sold locally - ACL and MasterServ at least

rayj

Postby rayj » January 24th, 2012, 7:41 pm

Sumitomo Serengeti? Any good?

Postby Team Loco » May 20th, 2012, 4:46 pm

i installed some bf goodrich mud terrains on friday. its a damn lovely tyre, great handling, some road noise but i drive an ole hilux. costed $7000

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 22nd, 2012, 9:23 pm

^^ what size did u get them in, and where??

I must get a set for mih ole datsun!

Postby Team Loco » May 24th, 2012, 7:50 pm

here it is:
will get size later

Paullct

Postby Paullct » May 24th, 2012, 8:40 pm

^ i am 70% going with those for my tyre change next month.

the other 30% is toward the Kumho KL71 which are a lot cheaper and have never let me down

the bf is really just for a change in the look of my truck

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 24th, 2012, 11:56 pm

what price you getting the KL71 and the KM2's for jpec?
And where you getting those tyres from?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”