D22 frontier rebuild (Barbados)

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
frankysly

D22 frontier rebuild (Barbados)

Postby frankysly » November 18th, 2010, 3:59 am

Hey guys,
just a few pics of a rebuild that im about to undertake....its realy devastating if you r a frontier lover like myself. ah got this one off d insurance at a steal of a deal and the parts for it just landed from the uk. im replacing the chassis and the A post around the drivers door....and a new door too :wink: im considering giving her a skyjacker lift kit and goingto play in the mud but ah have to creep b4 i can run....will keep u guys updated
happy viewing...these are b4 pics btw
199.JPG
186.JPG
181.JPG

biggy82

Re: D22 frontier rebuild (Barbados)

Postby biggy82 » November 18th, 2010, 4:58 am

exactly what kind of accident this was in?

and did it make sense to buy this when you have to change the chassis?

frankysly

Postby frankysly » November 18th, 2010, 5:08 am

The chassis for this comes in halves and is rejoined by drilling and welding at precut measurements...far as i know the previous owner was drunk and it seems he hit an embankment and pushed everything up....i not saying that its going to work...this is a work in progress and a learning experiience hence the reason i thought i would share it with the nissan 4x4 guys...i already have this model in black and i thought i would try a thing...push come to shove and it dont workout she can be sold in parts

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 18th, 2010, 6:27 am

It's just so sad :( :( :(....

take good care of that frontier bro, would love to see her restored to full condition.
Good luck, keep us posted :).
Notify us if there's any change in the patient's condition.

*goes to the garage and pats the frontier... then the nav*

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » November 18th, 2010, 7:51 am

no problem franky....we can all benefit from this learning experience :)

and keep the pics coming with every step :mrgreen:

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » November 20th, 2010, 12:06 am

WOW!!
How much did the parts cost. Did you try getting the parts in the caribbean?
How long do you estimate it will take?

Good luck ...

frankysly

Postby frankysly » November 22nd, 2010, 12:38 am

i bought this in july...took me 2 weeks to get all the parts from trinidad except for the chassis and the A post....finally found them from a salvage car dealer in the uk....bought the truck for US3500 total parts price was us3200...im not working on it everyday as i have alot of other work round here....aiming for the beginning of january though....i have this model in black and its valued at us30,000 early up in the year.

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » November 22nd, 2010, 11:26 pm

$30,000US = $180,000TT :shock:
Approximately how much is a new pickup (just for comparison)
The price you got it for is amazing.
Keep us updated.

frankysly

Postby frankysly » November 24th, 2010, 4:15 am

i dont think they sell the model anymore yuh know...they moved from this to the navara.....i bought my other one brand new in 06 for us47.5....im currently on the lookout for an original rim or original pair of rims....if u guys see anyone with a pair laggin in willing to pay as much as us250 for the pair but they gotta be in good condition

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » November 24th, 2010, 6:28 am

i can get a set of rims 4 you for around 3k tt...with tyres that have about 30% life on them.

Oh and good luck with the restoration, btw, you said that you had to get parts from Trinidad...i thought they would have been cheaper in the Caribbean?

frankysly

Postby frankysly » November 27th, 2010, 1:04 am

the parts are cheaper in trinidad....no one had any o them scrapping that i could find....i found the chassis and a post in the unitesd kingdon and i was able to landthem in bim after alot of headache with the shipping....if u have pics of the rims send to biggiesmarts@hotmail.com

droppa

Postby droppa » December 1st, 2010, 1:43 pm

so instead of changing chassis, cant the same chassis be repaired on a chassis liner, take off the cabin and pull back into place......

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 1st, 2010, 3:27 pm

^^ i don't see why now.

Remember it's a ladderframe with a body on top, not a unibody frame like with a regular car.
I'm sure you can straighten the chassis just fine, it doesn't look too bad from the pics.

The body itself though would need some work...

DSG

Postby DSG » December 1st, 2010, 7:23 pm

Good luck in the rebuild bro. Watching this one closely.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » December 2nd, 2010, 11:30 am

droppa wrote:so instead of changing chassis, cant the same chassis be repaired on a chassis liner, take off the cabin and pull back into place......

I saw this done on an L200 that got t-boned. It is possible, but the work has to be done properly or else there will be major issues getting the cabin to line up.

droppa

Postby droppa » December 2nd, 2010, 1:44 pm

yes it has to be done to specs, i would prefer to do that than the cut and weld business, its a good procedure, but i prefer to keep it factory, and

where is the chassis no on this van?

not in the right front?

so wont that part of the chassis be tampered with.......??

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » December 2nd, 2010, 3:41 pm

any accident that warps the subframe should warrant a new chassis. unless you have a foolproof way of ensuring the frame lines up after repair (eg laser alignment for chassis)

otherwise the body not gonna fit right and the vehicle not gonna roll right

frankysly

Postby frankysly » December 5th, 2010, 10:11 am

purpose for the cut and fit is that the suspension eyes on the chassis it self was hurt and i needed the easiest way to straighten it.....have to pull it back into place first....straighten....then cut....that is the plan anyway....wen its taking place u guys will get the pics...i havent been able to do anything with her this week cause i been had a hectic schedule....hopefully i will get the cab lifted tommorow and get some work done to it....gotta check the nuts and bolts man for some bolts to replace the 6 that tied the chassis to the cab as those were hurt....happy watchoing fellas

DSG

Postby DSG » January 16th, 2011, 11:45 pm

Hey, any updates on the patient?

frankysly

Postby frankysly » May 25th, 2011, 4:16 pm

no mi brudda...a grand vitara came into the garage for some major work...also some other smaller jobs i had around the place...just got it out and i ready to start on this big horse...hopefully this wont take as long as the frontier....i have the cab lifted off already...hopefully i shud b in a position to get some pics uploaded in a few weeks with progress

DSG

Postby DSG » May 30th, 2011, 10:50 pm

Interested in seeing the outcome of this truck.

frankysly

Postby frankysly » July 16th, 2012, 3:31 pm

Truck gone fellas....a man came and liked it more than me....he took it to use for parts on his

Postby Team Loco » July 18th, 2012, 12:42 am

That chassis can be easily repaired

frankysly

Postby frankysly » February 19th, 2015, 6:50 pm

I would not mind a ZD30 or QD32 engine harness and computer please

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”