WTK: Vacancies by allyuh for Projects/Engineering position

Zed Sqd

WTK: Vacancies by allyuh for Projects/Engineering position

Postby Zed Sqd » January 6th, 2011, 4:11 pm

As the topic says :)

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Update

For those who looking and didn't have a link like I did, here's what I did and maybe you can try as well:

1) Your cover letter and resume isn't as great as you think it is. Research cover letter and resume writing tips to improve your impression. Updating my cover letter and resume was a development process and took a couple years. After many hours of research, these documents start looking good to you. However, they really aren't that great, especially to someone else who's looking at hundreds of resumes each month. To address this little hurdle, you can employ the services of a professional writer to assist ~ $1,600. See it as an investment.

2) Also invest in some pretty paper for your cover letter and resume. I spent around $500 for the number of documents I sent out.

3) Get a telephone directory or check http://www.energyguidett.com/, start from A and work your way to Z. In one month I mailed and emailed at least 60 applications. Most of them were not responses to vacancies, but more for the company to have on file. Most vacancies aren't advertized. Some companies also "renew" their applicant database every 6 months, so send out more in 6 months if you aren't successful. Check the newspapers everyday and look out for vacancies.

I called every company before sending the application to get information that will allow me to tailor my cover letter to the HR/Department person, and to also verify address and phone number.

If you did not get a reply stating that your application was received, call to follow up. Don't assume the mailman delivered it or their email server was working.

4) Register on websites such as caribbeanjobs.com to get email alerts of new positions. I even registered on international sites such as monster.com to widen my reach. Research international human resource recruitment sites and send applications to them as well.

5) Wait.

If you're really under a rock, you can apply for other jobs as well that are not in your long-term sights. At least you can get an income while you wait. I worked at a small store building computers and selling stationery, and outside to that, sold flash drives after work. It was a real cool scene too. I was able to network and learn how to deal with people. :)

In addition, the best thing you can do is to increase your network. Your aim should be to increase the chance of success for every opportunity that is available.
Last edited by Zed Sqd on February 23rd, 2013, 9:13 am, edited 8 times in total.

Re: WTK: Vacancies by allyuh for Projects/Engineering post

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 6th, 2011, 6:48 pm

Check ABT Engineers & Constructors Limited.

http://www.abt.tt/Careers/Opportunities.html

King2995

Re: WTK: Vacancies by allyuh for Projects/Engineering post

Postby King2995 » January 6th, 2011, 8:49 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Check ABT Engineers & Constructors Limited.

http://www.abt.tt/Careers/Opportunities.html

You really think Jimbo in a position to hire people right now?????

Hoss, yuh better bet is to look into company programmes..... with 2 years, they will easier pick you up through that than a confirmed position.

Zed Sqd

Re: WTK: Vacancies by allyuh for Projects/Engineering positi

Postby Zed Sqd » January 6th, 2011, 9:04 pm

Rory Phoulorie, thanks for reminder! It's time I update my CV with them.

King2995...check!. Keeping my fingers crossed.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 7th, 2011, 8:50 am

did you check www.caribbeanjobs.com?
they have a very comprehensive listing

rdeonarine

Postby rdeonarine » January 7th, 2011, 10:03 am

ABT is not a place where you wud want to be rite now

Postby RBphoto » January 7th, 2011, 10:55 am

Worley hiring any and everybody once you are qualified. Check IPSL and Summit Engineering.

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » January 7th, 2011, 12:00 pm

rdeonarine wrote:ABT is not a place where you wud want to be rite now

I heard that they expecting some big project in Pt. Fortin

Postby tr1ad » January 7th, 2011, 12:06 pm

ALNG will more likely go the way of Worley

and crossdrilled wuh kinda statement is that

rdeonarine

Postby rdeonarine » January 7th, 2011, 12:13 pm

NMWG might be a option you may want to look into.

Postby tr1ad » January 7th, 2011, 12:15 pm

not in their current state
with the BP maintenance as their main contract

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » January 7th, 2011, 12:20 pm

from what I've heard, alot of operators are not happy with WP T&T
& I doubt. they'll be able to win that job locally. There's another engineering
firm doing work for ALNG currently & I believe they'll be able to get majority,

ent rdeonarine

Postby tr1ad » January 7th, 2011, 12:23 pm

that firm will act as bechtel did - main contractor
they took handover from bechtel two months ago

Postby stev » January 7th, 2011, 12:25 pm

caribbean jobs.com or regencyrecruitment.com

rdeonarine

Postby rdeonarine » January 7th, 2011, 12:35 pm

ABT would be given preference when it comes to anything with ALNG, because of their contractual agreement with ALNG/Bechtel....they're suppose to be gearing up for that project sometime later this year

Zed Sqd

Postby Zed Sqd » January 7th, 2011, 1:53 pm

yeah i hear WP getting some big BP contracts.

carribeanjobs, IPSL, ALNG, NMWG, WP, monster.com and all those local recruitment places...have all that covered already.

will have to check out Summit though.

Postby RBphoto » January 7th, 2011, 1:59 pm

tr1ad wrote:ALNG will more likely go the way of Worley

and crossdrilled wuh kinda statement is that

I said once you are Qualified. I heard they still looking for people, but I guess you could qualify that statement.

D man ain't getting no project engineer work with less than 5 years experience.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » July 10th, 2011, 3:38 pm

Any new job opportunities?

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » July 10th, 2011, 3:50 pm

Summit only has the power plant in la brea and the desal in point right now ... don't think they taking on ppl at the moment.

Postby nervewrecker » July 10th, 2011, 4:00 pm

phreakazoid wrote:Summit only has the power plant in la brea and the desal in point right now ... don't think they taking on ppl at the moment.

anyone know what positions?

Zed Sqd

Postby Zed Sqd » July 10th, 2011, 7:36 pm

Neal and Massy Wood Group looking for people. There was a full page ad in the Express a couple weeks ago.

Scoop

Postby Scoop » July 10th, 2011, 10:43 pm

ipsl has a vacancy for a mech eng right NOW

Postby Trini Hookah » July 10th, 2011, 10:59 pm

Any internships guys? :oops:

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » July 10th, 2011, 11:09 pm

Scoop wrote:ipsl has a vacancy for a mech eng right NOW

When did they advertise for this position ? Is it eng I or II

Scoop

Postby Scoop » July 10th, 2011, 11:17 pm

a senior resigned from ax bout 2wks ago....the next in line is a git who now recently became permanent

Postby De Dragon » July 11th, 2011, 5:05 am

Scoop wrote:a senior resigned from ax bout 2wks ago....the next in line is a git who now recently became permanent

IPSL still running things thin so boy?

Scoop

Postby Scoop » July 11th, 2011, 8:39 am

usual ting

rdeonarine

Postby rdeonarine » July 11th, 2011, 9:00 am

Fluor looking for a senior mechanical engineer and a project engineer ASAP.

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 11th, 2011, 9:43 am

Scoop wrote:a senior resigned from ax bout 2wks ago....the next in line is a git who now recently became permanent

IPSL still running things thin so boy?

huge shake up took place a few months ago...most senior ppl were transferred across the board and those who weren't move, resigned.....

PapaC

Postby PapaC » July 11th, 2011, 10:16 am

Recently applied to WG,
rdeonarine
Saw a partner from Fluor and he said they in a need for Piping Designers now,
Any idea what level they looking for? Even WG was saying they only want Senior designers right now.