Mr. Lighthammer!!.....

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Smeed

Mr. Lighthammer!!.....

Postby Smeed » February 3rd, 2011, 5:35 am

.....and Phoenix, Team Loco, biggy 82, venum and all the other diesel boys....a heartfelt thanks to you guys for all your information, opinions and experiences.

I have learnt a lot from all of your informative posts....from diesel quality to bfg's and what to avoid at the stealerships!

I never really considered buying a pickup till about 1 1/2 yrs ago when i started reading up all the info on the forum....during that time i've test driven quite a few vehicles...cars, suvs and most recently a couple pick ups.

All in all its been very interesting, i've fallen in and out of love several times....i've been impressed by the unlikliest of candidates and been dissappointed by quite a few...

anyhow, i only get her 2 days before flying out, so i'll post better pics when i get home....

while i'll admit its a lil pricey and yes the navara sexier....i'm verrrrry happy wid my choice....the kids love it....2 car seats fit in the back easily and it actually drives pretty nicely.

the dynamics are different to a car....so it'll take some getting used to, but boy, am i excited to get back home!!

so thanks guys!! i woulda never even considered this vehicle a coupla years ago.

and yes i willing to get it dirty and join allyuh in some runs (doh laff at me cause its automatic)

lighthammer

Re: Mr. Lighthammer!!.....

Postby lighthammer » February 3rd, 2011, 5:41 am

aye congrats boy - you made a great choice. I just hope you chose based on your own criteria and requirements, and not simply on others' opinions.

The 3.0D4D 1ktv-FD Hilux is a very good truck, I almost chose one myself but opted at last minute for my Navara - mostly for my own reasons. I liked how smooth everything handled in the 'lux, from the power delivery, the ride comfort and quietness in the cabin. T'was expensive yes, but you make up for it in resale value years down the line.

Congrats again, reach home safely from your trip and enjoy your new ride!

And make sure to come on the next DB run eh..... whether Major or Mini.

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 3rd, 2011, 5:52 am

thanks dude!!

i actually called masterserv about those tyres u installed....seems like a real good choice. thing is the hilux is 17 inch rims....less choices than the 16's.

and yes i chose the hilux after much thought...plus the super zero sale with republic bank was a damn good deal!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 3rd, 2011, 6:17 am

Good job on the deal man.
Also glad to hear you got your hilux on time.
Have a couple guys who waiting till end of May for theirs.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » February 3rd, 2011, 8:21 am

Oh yeah baby! Great choice.. and Republic can't be beat...
Looking forward to seeing her in action.
Welcome to the 4x4 Diesel and Hilux world...
You gonna love it!

;)

badart

Postby badart » February 3rd, 2011, 3:35 pm

congrats man, no1 has A/T tires in 17 i literally searched every where. IF u want A/T u wud have to either buy it online or get smaller rims

Haunted

Postby Haunted » February 3rd, 2011, 4:54 pm

Smeed wrote:. (doh laff at me cause its automatic)

i dont think any1 will laugh....cuz i personally find for the offroading that is done in trindad automatic is better

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 3rd, 2011, 5:54 pm

badart wrote:congrats man, no1 has A/T tires in 17 i literally searched every where. IF u want A/T u wud have to either buy it online or get smaller rims

The only 17-inch all-terrains I ever came across was a set of "Dominator" tyres from dean's wheels in diego martin. It had a tread pattern very similar to the toyo open country and came in 265/70R17's. Was roughly $1150 for one, IIRC.

Other than that - make friends with someone who owns a tireshop and just ask them to bring in an extra set of 17's for you (as long as it's not roadstone or nexen - get the good stuff!)

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » February 3rd, 2011, 6:54 pm

another Mafia man!...looks nice though...

venum

Postby venum » February 3rd, 2011, 7:31 pm

Smeed welcome to the world of diesel and 4x4

once you go diesel u don't go back

glad my posts have enlightened you

first thing u need to do with that Lux is to install a reverse camera cuz it has some terrible blind spots

especially with kids around

please contribute to our posts as well

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » February 3rd, 2011, 11:28 pm

Agreed with Venum on that one.. We all get dents on the chrome bumper for sure... Cya get away from that...

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 4th, 2011, 12:03 am

yup thats on my list of stuff to acquire once i get home.....she's parked up at home for the while, wifey just starts her every now and then.

hoping to get the camera or at least sensors and the spray on bedliner as soon as i'm back.

ohho and i have a question - how allyuh does reach the tippy top of the hood when yuh washing? I'm 6' 3" and i had to use a ladder. a truck come and stop in front my house while i was on de ladder and de fellas in the cab buss out laffing when dey see me.

venum

Postby venum » February 4th, 2011, 12:43 am

forget teh sensors

they just beep annoyingly and can't tell you how close you are to an object

also what I have learnt from my reverse camera, is that it provides a larger viewing range than if you were to watch over your shoulder either side

if fact it provides more viewability than if you were to completely turn around in teh driver seat and watch straight out the rear windshield as it shows you directly behind the tailgate, a location that you can never see from inside the truck

because the camera is outside the truck it displays soo much more info to teh driver

it does have some drawbacks though:

in low light conditiosn it is a bit of a challenge

also when there is direct sunlight or vehicle headlight on teh lens you get over exposure and cannot see much

when the contrast is low, the image is dull as well

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 4th, 2011, 12:49 am

good info there venum! i like the one that comes with the tuscon....the display appears in the right hand side of the rear view mirror.

did yours come with the truck? or is it aftermarket?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 4th, 2011, 1:23 am

I have reverse sensors on the navara, and it has a distance indicator on the rearview mirror that starts to beep when you come within 1 metre of an object, then the beeping intensifies and it shows you how far you are away in centimeters.

Hasnt failed me yet - only when it was brand new did it give some funny operation whenever it rained and the sensors got wet. Now it's working almost flawlessly. The only things that defeat the sensors are chain-link fences and low-barriers.

Cost $1400, installed it from Kazim Ali who's authorized by neal and massy - hence those sensors are covered in the warranty.

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 4th, 2011, 1:48 am

cool man. i called him regarding the spray on liner u recommended in one of your posts. i think i'll be heading up his way to get it done, will ask about the sensors.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 4th, 2011, 1:59 am

how allyuh does reach the tippy top of the hood when yuh washing? I'm 6' 3" and i had to use a ladder.

I does stand with one foot on the sidesteps and the other on the front tyre, and reach over the hood & windshield to reach those trouble-spots.

Damned lux' too high, not good for short folks like me :P :P 8) 8)... and even tall fellas like u smeed.

or.... you may need some assistants to help you with the washing.

(or if you committed, just ask the madam come along to do the climbing, washing, sudsing and generally getting wet... and enjoy the help 8-) 8-) ....)

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 4th, 2011, 2:25 am

once dey nails not long!! doh want ne scratches on dat black paint!! :)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 4th, 2011, 2:42 am

yeah, tell them skanks to move, can't see the real hotness there.....

venum

Postby venum » February 4th, 2011, 7:04 am

I use a patio chair to get to the top cuz I am 5'8"

the reverse sensors with the display is better that the generic ones that just beep without the display

mine is aftermarket, it clips onto the rearview mirror and has a blackened surface

so when it is off (any gear except R) the black surface acts like a mirror, when in R it is on and the screen lights up

there is a piece if the screen that doesn't light up at all, that acts like a mirror all the time

the blackened screen is a bit harder to use in the night when the screen is off, but i got accustomed to it after a few days

it also has 2 video inputs

sunday you will see it LH

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 4th, 2011, 7:49 am

^ cool that sounds an interesting unit. U got it after u got teri?

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 4th, 2011, 7:52 am

so the blackened surface is yuh rear view mirror when driving forward? sounds interesting

i definetely gonna install somethiing cause de wifey already complaining about having to jump out and give me directions!!

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » February 4th, 2011, 8:57 am

I dent the bumper twice already... TL ent want to do no Armor again so i have to get a reverse cam yes.. ASAP

badart

Postby badart » February 4th, 2011, 9:49 am

got a night vision reverse camera n dvd deck...normally a camera would show in 2D making it hard to tell how far the objects is away..however the camera i bought has a curved lens makin it easier to tell the distance of an object and it shows just as good with night vision.. would post up some pics later

Dunman

Postby Dunman » February 4th, 2011, 10:23 am

venum wrote:I use a patio chair to get to the top cuz I am 5'8"

the reverse sensors with the display is better that the generic ones that just beep without the display

mine is aftermarket, it clips onto the rearview mirror and has a blackened surface

so when it is off (any gear except R) the black surface acts like a mirror, when in R it is on and the screen lights up

there is a piece if the screen that doesn't light up at all, that acts like a mirror all the time

the blackened screen is a bit harder to use in the night when the screen is off, but i got accustomed to it after a few days

it also has 2 video inputs

sunday you will see it LH

Venum,

I have this installed in my Nav as well. There is a darkened film on the mirror that you have to remove. When you remove it, it's as clear as an ordinary rear-view mirror.

Took me a while to realise it.
I too was driving around with a darkened surface before I realised.

venum

Postby venum » February 4th, 2011, 4:20 pm

LH, I got it with Teri - I told u all she is a lady

Dunman, I will check on that

Dunman

Postby Dunman » February 5th, 2011, 6:54 pm

venum wrote:Dunman, I will check on that

Got thru?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 5th, 2011, 8:16 pm

dunman yuh coming tomorrow or whaaa???

Have to represent the Nissan family man - the big navs have to come keep the smaller fish in order :D

Dunman

Postby Dunman » February 5th, 2011, 8:53 pm

Nah, I work on Sundays.

Remember fu the minirun, I run away and met up you guys after the waterfall.

It real hurting me to miss this one though.

:cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

You'll have to represent. With them new shoes and nissan powah, they in trouble!!!

venum

Postby venum » February 7th, 2011, 7:10 pm

i checked for tge film

doesn't seem to have any

the surface of the mirror seems darkened - no film

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”