4g63t v.s. 6a13tt?

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Grip

4g63t v.s. 6a13tt?

Postby Grip » June 30th, 2009, 3:56 pm

Thinking about doing a vr4 conversion on my galant vrg, however it was suggested that I use a 4g63t instead of the 6a13dett. I want to know what are the advantages and disadvantages to both swaps also the costs associated with them.

xtech

Postby xtech » June 30th, 2009, 6:22 pm

main disadvantage is the the price............you can get 2 6A13tt complete in front cuts for the price of one 4G63T on the ground and you still need rear suspension parts from a VR4.

So which engine is better, while it is true that the 4G63T has a lot more aftermarket parts letting you push to 500hp or more fairly easily, nothing like that exists for the 6A13. For most folks 280-350hp range is enough for some fun driving so I don't see a reason to even consider the 4G63T. A full exhaust including downpipes and increased boost will see you to over 320hp very easily, add an intercooler and a fuel controller and you'll be at 340-350hp.

The V6 is an amazingly smooth engine with no harsh explosive power and vibrations at any point in the rev range and it loves being anywhere between 1500rpm and 7000rpm with virtually no turbo lag at all.

Anybody here who has ever got a ride in an EVO knows that below 3000rpm they feel like a normal 4G93 1.8L 4 cylinder. But from 3500 to 7000rpm they explode to life and feel just like a 6A13TT, not some super special amazing engine ent?

The EVO 9 and X are rated at about 215kw and 400nm of torque, a 6A13TT will get over that amount just by increasing boost to 12-14psi with a cheap manual boost controller. Without changing the turbo a 4G63T is limited to about the same sort of power levels as a VR4.

As far as I can see the only advantage of going with a 4G63 is that you can buy manifolds and turbos that will let you get to 500hp or more straight off the shelf. However that will cost most folks an arm an a leg to buy an thats after paying for the EVO engine with your 1st born and a left kidney :shock:

So far the only people who have put 4G63's into 8G's are the Americans and thats because they cant find 6A13TT.

secret_service

Postby secret_service » July 2nd, 2009, 2:22 pm

Engine Calculator v 1.2 ......>>>>> http://tpizza.110mb.com/ecv1_2.htm
This page will calculate lots of values for an engine configuration that you enter. This is useful for determining the size of turbos, injectors, exhaust piping, intercooler piping, etc. It also gives you an idea of what affect better heads (better Volumetric Effiency), higher boost pressure and other factors have on horse power output. Values by default are for 6a13 2.5L V6 24V DOHC Engine. 8G Mitsubishi Legnum VR-4(ec5w) or Galant VR-4(ec5a).

Grip

Postby Grip » July 2nd, 2009, 3:12 pm

Thanks for the info. What about fuel economy and weight to power?

secret_service

Postby secret_service » July 2nd, 2009, 3:56 pm

Grip wrote:Thanks for the info. What about fuel economy and weight to power?

economy and speed.........is like oil an water.
The VR-4 was fitted with a V6TT because the engineers figured out the maths

A heavy Galant need more torque to move. :lol:

Postby honda hoe » July 2nd, 2009, 9:32 pm

a vrg is a heavy car

i think u better off woth the 6A

A.W.O.L

Postby A.W.O.L » July 2nd, 2009, 10:36 pm

yeah u better off wit the V6..

Postby Rooki3 » July 3rd, 2009, 12:17 am

6A13TT all the way
stock for stock...........you'll be able to destroy all sorts
HOLD DAT!!
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/yD7FokvTalQ&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Trinitim

Postby Trinitim » July 3rd, 2009, 11:45 am

v6 power all the way body I have one absolutely wonderful.

Trinitim

Postby Trinitim » July 3rd, 2009, 11:46 am

Sorry buddy not body my bad watching the cricket here LOL!!!

xtech

Postby xtech » July 5th, 2009, 7:29 pm

is the hyundai tiburon using a stroked 2.7l 6A13 and calling it V6 Delta ?
I say it is because it is an aluminum block not a cast iron like the 6G72

http://www.korea-racers.de/elantra/v6swap/index_en.html

i was poking around in the overseas hyundai forums since a fellow tuner here wanted to swap a 6A13TT in a '96 Elantra frame. But most of the folks over seas who have done it used the Tiburon motor. It looks like it is using 1995 mitsu 6a12 technology with no coil packs

QG

Postby QG » July 6th, 2009, 11:44 am

63T ftw :mrgreen:

Go with the Mivec Turbo 63T, and tune from there.

Grip

Postby Grip » July 8th, 2009, 2:57 pm

What about the 6g72 twin turbo engine from the GTO?

geodude

Postby geodude » July 11th, 2009, 9:03 am

lots of info out there however i beleive that the 6a13tt is the better suited engine for your application, i want one so badly,

these things are the sheit. :lol:

jusjase44

Postby jusjase44 » August 18th, 2009, 8:45 pm

What is the latest Grip?

Postby 7143 » August 23rd, 2009, 8:06 pm

jusjase44,no reply like the man give up..... :faint: from all the stress,headache and buss pocket from the swap.....but is still 63 ftw.....

jusjase44

Postby jusjase44 » August 23rd, 2009, 9:07 pm

well it look so i am in the middle of a swap myself 4G93GDI on AWD chassis to 6A13TT, been lookin for some advice but no luck so far

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » August 23rd, 2009, 9:41 pm

Bolt for bolt, it will be easier to install the VR4 system 6A13TT. but whether you look at it one way or the other, it's expensive. Don't discount the 63T because of it's price though... in the longer run, it may actually cost you less to run.

And the main reason is accessibility to parts... OEM or aftermarket. You will faster get parts for a 63T than the V6 and quite possibly much cheaper too. The engine is capable of making loads of power with the right tuning/ build.

But if it's bolt for bolt and you can source your parts with a reasonable price, the 6A13 is a great engine.

Grip

Postby Grip » October 25th, 2009, 1:58 am

GOT SOME BAD NEWS
I HAD TO SCRAP THE PROJECT.

geodude

Postby geodude » October 28th, 2009, 5:51 am

Bad news also i may need to starty my project ASAP as my 4G93 smoking real bad, so i am in the market for a 6A13TT, but i intend to run it FWD, so sorry i didnt take the engine from Xtech, so i am looking for options let me know what you guys have and what price range it may cost, if i get an entire front cut i might take it as it would save a lot of headacke later on i was told. but price is an issue so the more options the better

thanks

hmph

Postby hmph » October 28th, 2009, 10:30 am

4g63t hands down.

CS3A_GLX

Re: 4g63t v.s. 6a13tt?

Postby CS3A_GLX » October 3rd, 2010, 10:38 am

hey guys. can a 6a13tt fit in a cedia lancer?

smithbn187

Postby smithbn187 » November 29th, 2010, 10:27 pm

6A13TT

thingcall

Postby thingcall » March 22nd, 2011, 12:27 am

Grip wrote:Thinking about doing a vr4 conversion on my galant vrg, however it was suggested that I use a 4g63t instead of the 6a13dett. I want to know what are the advantages and disadvantages to both swaps also the costs associated with them.

Ok so i was watching an reading what going on an it so happen that i was thinking of putting a 4g63t in this galant but base on what response i saw going wit d 6a13tt engine an looking for a l.s.d f.w.d box to go wit it, anybody could point me in d right direction price wise too?
garage stuff 019.png
garage stuff 019.png (383.31 KiB) Viewed 29021 times

CS3A_GLX

Postby CS3A_GLX » March 22nd, 2011, 1:07 am

budget at least 10k for engine n tranny for the 6a13tt and 5k for the suspension setup yadda yadda...

if its the 4g63t u after, well...hope yuh pockets a bit deeper!

refer at 3.12 for 6a13tt powaaa!

thingcall

Postby thingcall » March 23rd, 2011, 11:25 am

on average how much to put-in wire up and stuff.

suzieboy

Postby suzieboy » March 24th, 2011, 12:23 pm

^^well that kinda depends on the state of ur harness but roughly between 1k-2k.

living louder

Postby living louder » April 8th, 2011, 7:36 am

lol @ video

gallantpan

Postby gallantpan » April 8th, 2011, 9:44 am

living louder wrote:lol @ video

x2, lol@ fizzgig also. :P

ecktt

Postby ecktt » April 27th, 2011, 6:53 pm

I'd got with a 4G63T if only because a lot of work has been done on reverse engineering the ECU giving you plenty options to tune. The 6a13tt might be tunable but haven't seen any info on it.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”