Mazda 323 Issue Thread: Post your problem.

MAZDA People United - it continues here

nareshseep

Re: Mazda 323 Issue Thread: Post your problem.

Postby nareshseep » July 14th, 2011, 3:51 pm

647 spend the money and buy some original parts if you can, if you do you would not have to change parts for the next few years...

FullStop

Postby FullStop » July 15th, 2011, 7:24 am

647 wrote:Did a suspension check and a number if issues came up:
1. burst ball joint and big bushing
2. Velocity joints bad
3. rack ends need to change

WTK, has any one ever bought a compete axle with CV joints Foreign Used? are they any good?

its a hit or miss with those...

Postby 647 » July 15th, 2011, 7:41 am

Started buying one by one item, kinda short on funds right now...i did some calling around and i getting an entire cradle arm with the ball joint and bushings for $250.00 new, but i have used subtitute bushings before and they only lasted a few months (i got lowering springs on my car) so i not to sure if to purchase this...

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 15th, 2011, 12:22 pm

@$250, you can be almost sure you'll have to replace again in a few months.

If you that short on cash, a very carefully chosen FU may be a better option.

I've seen FU cradles last years and some last weeks so it is a risk, but, then again, so is cheap chinese stuff.

Postby 647 » July 16th, 2011, 9:26 am

Thanks dude, i think i will look around for good FU cradle arm, them subs dont last. There is a place in marabella called Daily Imports, their prices are really good on mazda parts..they then to have all the parts i am looking for.

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » July 16th, 2011, 8:24 pm

Where Daily Imports located?

Postby 647 » July 16th, 2011, 9:57 pm

When you reach Marabella round about, turn unto the road that leeds to Mani Ramjohn stadium, they are located just before the Heath center.....i will pass and get a contact # for them so that people could call and find out what they got.

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » July 16th, 2011, 10:33 pm

I'll add that to our thread for mazda selers.

Postby 647 » July 17th, 2011, 8:32 pm

Daily Imports # 658-3873/488-1282/301-4878

Hey i jacked up my car today to paint brakes shoes and noticed that my front right side brake pads have a lot more wear on it than my left front side pades. I have no major breaking problems except when going over the hills of Maracas when i reach down by the beach i find it tends to be very soft and i have to mash right down to get even the slightest breaking power. What do guys think can cause this and will cause problems for me in the long run?

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » July 17th, 2011, 9:17 pm

Faiz had BJ cradles for $800, the guy said it's Japanese and really good, that's $1600 a pair. Anyone knows Southern sales price?

My brakes does that same thing going Maracas, some guys using stoptech disc pads (I don't know when they'll bring in for retail) Maztune had a pair of slotted rotors which will help your disc pads keep cool for the Maracas run. Adjust your brake shoes so all the strain don't go to the disc pad. The piston probably stick, so you should do a service, flush out your old brakes fluid too (I bet it boiled going Maracas). Does the brakes fluid look darkish?

Save up to do a four wheel (5 hole) disc brake conversion (easier said than done, I was saving for this & something always coming up), invest in good disc pads & slotted or drilled rotors (not drilled & slotted together)

Postby 647 » July 18th, 2011, 8:04 am

Thanks Groovemaster, i will check Faiz and Also try to get a price from Southern Sales ( but i find that SS never have anything and its always on the next shipment)....gona get my brakes serviced today once i can run away from work...and no the brakes fluid is the normal color

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 18th, 2011, 11:19 am

All cross drilled for the BJ tend to crack I have seen so far, I will stick to the slotted.

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » July 18th, 2011, 12:13 pm

Info added to thread. Thank you 647.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » July 18th, 2011, 6:31 pm

naresheep, my ebc rotors are blind drilled, aka drilled halfway through...no cracks

Postby 647 » July 20th, 2011, 8:03 pm

Driving my car today on the highway at 60kph (morning traffic) and my car/steering just started to vibrate and car started to pull the left. I pulled aside and locked my steering to the right and then the left, did this twice and then contined to drive...vibration on the steering stopped and alignment was good now.....what ould have caused this?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » July 21st, 2011, 6:06 am

bad road surface will sometimes cause 'tracking' if tyres are worn unevenly.

Postby 647 » July 21st, 2011, 10:28 am

tyres are only two months old have dont have any uneven wear on them...will a bad tie rod end cause this? how do you tell if its bad?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » July 22nd, 2011, 6:14 am

tie rod end? steering end? its possible, you'd have to disconnect it and check for excessive play/movement. consider that it is a ball and socket joint so you will know what kind of movement to expect.

Postby 647 » July 22nd, 2011, 9:14 am

Thanks, will do some checks over the weekend

wickedshiv

Postby wickedshiv » August 21st, 2011, 3:37 pm

hey can i replace the transmission on the car or i need to remove the entire engine ...its a 323bj

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 22nd, 2011, 2:18 pm

Tranny can drop out independent of the engine.

shimon

Postby shimon » April 14th, 2012, 6:41 pm

hi i have a 2002 mazda protege which says incorrect gear ratio p0730 help please!!! it starting giving me this code suddenly no warning signs etc the gears were not slipping or anything just one night while i was driving i felt the tranny downshift and upshift abnormally it was like the car was confused as to which gear to select!!
things i tried so far: flush out old tranny fluid was using redline d4, fluid was nasty btw. changed the filter under the valve body and put in fresh redline d4 around 3 and a half quarts anyways can anyone assist me with this problem thanks

protege9

Postby protege9 » April 15th, 2012, 8:34 am

Hey folks, i'm new on the forum. I'm looking for a zm12 brainbox for my mazda 323 bj 2000. the one with two lights to the front, the older one nuh. My car is down for 2 months and dem fellas in de bamboo lying and saying ohh they getting it and all that.. but they jus on rel games dread. Anyone know if you can use another brainbox instead like a ZL or a zm16, or are there negative effects from that? Or if anyone has a ZM12 on sal u can link me please.. Stephen - contact : turst9@hotmail.com

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » April 15th, 2012, 4:07 pm

protege9 what engine does your car have?

shimon

Postby shimon » April 15th, 2012, 4:19 pm

Ok i checked the resistance between the terminals of the input speedsensor got 362 and according to the manual it should be between 250 and 600 ohms anyways what else can i try?

protege9

Postby protege9 » April 15th, 2012, 11:09 pm

my engine i think is a 1.6 and it's the bj mazda 323 hatchback. the brainbox i'm looking for , or had in my car is ZM12 18 88 1A

shimon

Postby shimon » May 31st, 2012, 12:19 am

Fixed the tranny problem people!!! thanks

Postby cinco » May 31st, 2012, 4:30 pm

how? 

isalee26

Postby isalee26 » May 31st, 2012, 10:56 pm

hi guys new to this forum i own a 323 f bh local and i am having two problem with my car one is rear suspension when there is one ore more people in the back i hear a banging song from the back i checked a mechanic he said shocks i bought foreign used assembly same thing carry it back got new brand shocks and spring andis the same thing next problem is my tranni in think it is stuck in third gear carried it by a tranni guy he said seloniod we changed it and still same thing any one has any ideas

Postby cinco » June 1st, 2012, 10:37 am

isalee26 wrote:hi guys new to this forum i own a 323 f bh local and i am having two problem with my car one is rear suspension when there is one ore more people in the back i hear a banging song from the back i checked a mechanic he said shocks i bought foreign used assembly same thing carry it back got new brand shocks and spring andis the same thing next problem is my tranni in think it is stuck in third gear carried it by a tranni guy he said seloniod we changed it and still same thing any one has any ideas

check the shock mounts in the rear for the banging
tranny may need to get a diff person to look at

Return to “MAZDA”