Side B Runs - Training Day & Beach Lime!!

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

lighthammer

Side B Runs - Training Day & Beach Lime!!

Postby lighthammer » August 11th, 2011, 11:03 pm

Greetings all!

After a successful off-road & navigational rally back on July 31st, we took a lil' rest cuz of all the work (and play!) we put into organizing that event. (check the bloopers thread to see what I mean!)

But as we recuperate, we'd like to announce the next Side-B run.

Next Side B event : "Training Day & Beach Lime" !!

We'll meet up early in the morning, somewhere in the north east, then take a trail over the mountains of the Northern Range and then head down to Las Cuevas bay for Training Day.

Stuff on the agenda for Training Day:
- CPR & Basic Life saving skills
- Vehicle Recovery & Safety
- beach lime, food and bake & shark

And dont forget, there's still the legendary Las Cuevas trail to tackle, for those brave souls who want to practice their newly-learned recovery skills right away!

There are lots of guys and gals out there who are new to the off-roading world but really want to get into the action, and we feel that everyone should be a responsible off-roader.

Safety is always a paramount priority on our runs, and being able to safely recover a machine that weighs anywhere between 1.6 - 2 tons should be a vital basic skill every off-roader and navigator should know.

Furthermore, CPR and basic life-saving techniques is something EVERYONE should know, especially in this holiday season when people hit the beaches, rivers, trails, hikes, etc. Unexpected emergency situations could pop up anytime, anywhere and we should all be prepared to act swiftly to save lives.

The final date will be announced, but we're looking at the first weekend in September - once everyone's schedule is clear for that date (plus we'd like to consider those who are observing fast, so that they'll be able to come out and take part in the fun).

Stay tuned and we'll definitely announce it very soon.

Keep On Truckin' !

civic minded

Re: Side B Runs - Training Day & Beach Lime!!

Postby civic minded » August 12th, 2011, 6:12 am

good show man, count me in

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 12th, 2011, 8:39 am

ok so let's start the roll call:

1. Lighthammer
2. 3stagevtec
3. Jeremy
4. Droppa
5. civic_minded

Fazeer

Postby Fazeer » August 12th, 2011, 11:01 am

one question before i say i deh! i cud make it without help?i see "trail over the mountains"

droppa

Postby droppa » August 12th, 2011, 11:23 am

leo u forgetting out the important part.......

this will be a very informative and enjoyable day for all, really looking forward to learning how to recover stuck vehicles properly and safely.......and well first aid and cpr is something cud always use a brush up to maintain skills....

@fazeer yeah man u cud make it, where u need help we will assist u, but ive seen cars make it over the hills already.......

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 12th, 2011, 11:51 am

@fazeer - yeah man, 4x2 should be able to make it most of the way, with a couple tricky spots here and there. Last time we made it through the trail, a frickin' bluebird wagon was coming back down through the trail and we had to pull aside to make room for the man!

No worries, all it will take is a bit of skillful driving and choosing your best-line through the ruts and you'll make it.

And if u choose to take an alternate route, eg. Santa Cruz or Maraval, we can always meet up in
Las Cuevas side anyway.

@Droppa - yeah man, I'm looking forward to learning some skills too. Hopefully we'll have our outside consultant there for that day to teach all of us, so it's something to look forward to. It'll definitely help us whenever we go on runs, esp. scouting runs when it's just the core-group and not a large group with plenty manpower.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » August 12th, 2011, 1:26 pm

Jeez....First weekend in September might be a bit tough for me... :( I'll still put my name on the roll call list though....I maybe of assistance in the first aid and CPR if you guys need some help...pm me if need be...

1. Lighthammer
2. 3stagevtec
3. Jeremy
4. Droppa
5. civic_minded
6. rottedv + better 3/4 0.999999

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » August 12th, 2011, 1:53 pm

allyuh fellas knw i dey like nite!!

rx80

Postby rx80 » August 12th, 2011, 2:00 pm

I'm in also!!

1. Lighthammer
2. 3stagevtec
3. Jeremy
4. Droppa
5. civic_minded
7. rx80 (hopefully this time with a navigator)

droppa

Postby droppa » August 12th, 2011, 2:22 pm

churning up to be another good run already......

event created on facebook for those not on 2nr.......

Fazeer

Postby Fazeer » August 12th, 2011, 3:26 pm

1. Lighthammer
2. 3stagevtec
3. Jeremy
4. Droppa
5. civic_minded
8. Fazeer

Aite well ah DEH with for the 4x2's :D and yep i looking forward for the training as I never did CPR n stuff.. i real liking how it just not mud mud mud all the time..you guys tryna make it for EVERYONE.. bess vybz! i trying to get some other guys but them men might backout..

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » August 13th, 2011, 12:08 am

Fazeer wrote:1. Lighthammer
2. 3stagevtec
3. Jeremy
4. Droppa
5. civic_minded
8. Fazeer
9. cvt-7_RR (Runul) + Katrina (Better half)

You know how long I always wanted to learn these basic medical stuff. Very useful information to be learned. There is a big chance I may never get to use this information, but it's always good to know in the back of my mind that if that small chance should ever come to play, I can act quickly. I'd suggest to anyone, even if they don't plan on hitting the trail in Las Cuevas to still attend. Great idea guys. I will be there for sure 0X

Postby ronsin1 » August 13th, 2011, 6:08 am

may not be able to make this one will be on lock down mode from September till November

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » August 13th, 2011, 8:35 am

u dont expect to hv to use CPR on anyone, and most ppl hp they arent ever put in that situation, but if there is evr need for it, u need to be able to perform it like clockwork

heard of this one incident where a 16yr old girl went under for a few minutes at a remote beach.....when they finally found her she still had a pulse but wasnt breathing so they left her there till the ambulance arrived.....needless to say, she died but cud hv been alive and well today if som1 there knew hw to do rescue breathing

so plz dont take it for granted, i've had to perform CPR twice, the first time i did it the individual survived but the second time, performing it on my granpa, he didnt make it

i think this is an event that shud be attended by the ENTIRE family

Postby ronsin1 » August 14th, 2011, 7:45 am

MrCuddles wrote:u dont expect to hv to use CPR on anyone, and most ppl hp they arent ever put in that situation, but if there is evr need for it, u need to be able to perform it like clockwork

Used to be a certified trainer 8-)

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » August 14th, 2011, 1:57 pm

ah eeen

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 15th, 2011, 3:06 am

Ok folks, we're still contemplating the date for the run, but it's definitely on though!
Most likely it'll be either the first or second weekend of September - as long as everyone's schedules will permit (and we'd REALLY like everyone to be able to come.... so keep those two weekends semi-free, ok??)

Just to update the roll call:

1. Lighthammer
2. 3stagevtec
3. Jeremy
4. Droppa
5. civic_minded
8. Fazeer
10. Speedaholic

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 15th, 2011, 3:09 am

I know rottedV would like to put that new monster to the test... hehehe.
And a couple of us have a score to settle with that Las Cuevas trail....
and more than a few of us would like to do donuts on the secluded section of the beach....

and I know that lots of us will enjoy the recovery & safety training for our vehicles....
and CPR is important anyway....

... and I hear there's ANOTHER Navara who wants to debut on that day..... hmmm..... and this one isn't gonna be pulling any punches.
Might see a Navara vs. Navara fight on the beach!!!!

droppa

Postby droppa » August 15th, 2011, 8:56 am

1. Lighthammer
2. 3stagevtec
3. Jeremy
4. Droppa
5. civic_minded
8. Fazeer
10. Speedaholic
11.Mr.Cuddles

were working on the affirmative date guys, but its gonna be either the 4th or the 11th.....

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » August 15th, 2011, 8:19 pm

Yes I am alive just have had too much school stuff and work stuff to do.

By then I should have both of my rated tow hooks installed so I will be able to test my work...

1. Lighthammer
2. 3stagevtec
3. Jeremy
4. Droppa
5. civic_minded
8. Fazeer
10. Speedaholic
11.Mr.Cuddles
12.Rutless Tiida

were working on the affirmative date guys, but its gonna be either the 4th or the 11th.....

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » August 15th, 2011, 8:47 pm

1. Lighthammer
2. 3stagevtec
3. Jeremy
4. Droppa
5. civic_minded
8. Fazeer
10. Speedaholic
11.Mr.Cuddles
12.Rutless Tiida
13.Bigchief3679 and Minipresident [ISUZU Bighorn]

Looking forward to this one, might be the heaviest thing to get stuck on the trail like some noobs :lol: :lol: :lol:

Havoc

Postby Havoc » August 15th, 2011, 10:03 pm

Roll Call

1. Lighthammer
2. 3stagevtec
3. Jeremy
4. Droppa
5. civic_minded
8. Fazeer
10. Speedaholic
11. Mr.Cuddles
12. Rutless Tiida
13. Bigchief3679 and Minipresident [ISUZU Bighorn]
14. Havoc

Postby sliderz1 » August 15th, 2011, 10:50 pm

Roll Call

1. Lighthammer
2. 3stagevtec
3. Jeremy
4. Droppa
5. civic_minded
8. Fazeer
10. Speedaholic
11. Mr.Cuddles
12. Rutless Tiida
14. Havoc
15.sliderz1 (tentative)

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » August 16th, 2011, 10:38 pm

Roll Call

1. Lighthammer
2. 3stagevtec
3. Jeremy
4. Droppa
5. civic_minded
8. Fazeer
10. Speedaholic
11. Mr.Cuddles
12. Rutless Tiida
14. Havoc
15.sliderz1 (tentative)
16.Toyopet (in a Mazda???)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 17th, 2011, 2:48 am

... excellent, excellent.... turnout lookin' REAL good.

Oh... we MIGHT have a tasty little surprise for allyuh on the day, after all the training is done.
But you'll DEFINITELY have to come to the BEACH for it (i.e. you gotta pass through the trail).

But trust me.
It'll be epic.
You gonna like 'dis.
4-wheelers, you gonna love it.
2-wheelers... hehehehehheheh.......

*maniacal laughter*

droppa

Postby droppa » August 17th, 2011, 9:03 am

2wheelrs, doh let that crazy navara driver scare u away eh, if u guys want u can still hit the parking lot and jus walk down, u all will be able to make the first part pretty ok.......

rx80

Postby rx80 » August 17th, 2011, 9:17 am

Oh my! very hard to get traction on beach sand..........

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 17th, 2011, 9:34 am

^^^ LOL!! Don't be scurd... it's only beach sand!

Actually, to get into the cuevas trail isn't hard at all. Sure the ruts may be deep, but I made it through mostly in 2wd last time we went on the side-B run.
And if the ground is hard enough / not muddy, the 4x2 men could pass on the right side of all the boggy mud, where the top soil hard and you can drive over easily to go to the beach.

droppa

Postby droppa » August 17th, 2011, 12:16 pm

exactly, or we will have to demonstrate some pulling skills.......

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 17th, 2011, 12:51 pm

^ I wonder if a certain white jimny will make another appearance again? LOL

Return to “Off Road Runs”