Advice URGENT 3ZZ Engine !!!!

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Jon Gill

Advice URGENT 3ZZ Engine !!!!

Postby Jon Gill » February 23rd, 2011, 7:06 am

A friend has a 03 NZE corolla. He has to top up oil every week. Its not smoking at start ups. No oil leakes any where, the oil filter is tight, no leakes by the drain plug, not even by the bell housing. No leakes by the valve cover either !!

I did a search & someone mentioned bout a stuck PCV valve. This was never changed as yet as I've asked already.

Mobil 10W 30 synthetic oil used & changed regularly.

Mileage approx 110K.

Can someone advise.

Much appreciated.

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Re: Advice URGENT 3ZZ Engine !!!!

Postby Big Z » February 23rd, 2011, 7:35 am

First step would be to replace the PCV valve.
A stuck open PCV will cause oil loss.
See link in my signature for more causes of oil loss.

Imran007

Postby Imran007 » February 23rd, 2011, 2:08 pm

When changing the oil again, dont use mobil 1. the formula has been changed and is not as good as it once was and because of that you tend to get a high burn off, i'm not saying that's your problem, but it could be.

i had the similar problem with mobil until i changed to amsoil with the same engine.
you can search for lab tests results online and see for yourself. Use amsoil.

tte

Postby tte » February 24th, 2011, 4:52 pm

when u say top up every week, does that mean that if he were to leave it for a month it would consume all the oil on the dipstick? I used to consume all the oil on my dipstick within 1 month and that was due to worn rings. Maybe let him try switching to a mineral oil like a castrol GTX for the time being until he can do a rebuild or buy a bamboo engine.

LOUD AND CLEAR AUDIO

Postby LOUD AND CLEAR AUDIO » March 13th, 2011, 9:11 pm

that mobile 1 talk u saying there is true ==== tried it on 2 personal cars switched to other oils they were burning tooo fast -- i have d same 3zzfe engine

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » April 22nd, 2011, 10:36 pm

does the pcv valve have to be changed after 100k in the 3zzfe engine?

what about the thermostat?

Big Z

Postby Big Z » April 23rd, 2011, 2:47 am

I would recommend replacement of the PCV valve every 40k km.
Never saw a recommendation for replacement of the thermostat, but now that you mention it, I would recommend a change every couple years on older vehicles. Replace coolant yearly.

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » April 23rd, 2011, 9:32 am

i replace my coolant every 6 months or so.was now considering the replacement of the thermostat as my car is doing over 100k now.never changed the PCV valve.

anyone know the prices of either?

Big Z

Postby Big Z » April 23rd, 2011, 11:15 am

Paid less than $200 for the PCV for the 1.5 in Toyota

d_ad_man

Postby d_ad_man » July 19th, 2011, 8:29 pm

good info

slashcustoms

Postby slashcustoms » July 21st, 2011, 5:31 pm

Where can i locate the PCV in my 3zz. Not too sure, I am burning oil in a similar fashion and also realise that Mobil burns out very fast as of late. Switched to Castrol and it actually burns less but still burns none the less.

Please advise.

Imran007

Postby Imran007 » July 21st, 2011, 10:10 pm

slashcustoms wrote:Where can i locate the PCV in my 3zz. Not too sure, I am burning oil in a similar fashion and also realise that Mobil burns out very fast as of late. Switched to Castrol and it actually burns less but still burns none the less.

Please advise.

stay away from castrol... you know how some ppl say that toyota engines tend to build up sludge..well castrol does that very well....

you're better off using royal purple or amsoil..... 10w30...

slashcustoms

Postby slashcustoms » July 23rd, 2011, 10:40 pm

Will try the amsoil. I suspect the PCV playing the fool, Where can I locate it on the 3zz engine?

trueJDM

Postby trueJDM » October 10th, 2011, 5:02 pm

i guess i seeing dis toooooo late ppl
meh Dad's 3zz-fe in his altis has seized up
tried turning d crankshaft pully with ah power handel an socket and nothing.
looking to buy new engine
ANY ADVISE B4 HE SPENDS D 15K FOR D NEW ENGINE?????????

slashcustoms

Postby slashcustoms » November 25th, 2011, 11:06 pm

Castrol shart up my engine. Sludge like that. Messed up some of the sensors and cant get replacements not even universal works. Guess i had to pay to learn for being cheap.

LOUD AND CLEAR AUDIO

Postby LOUD AND CLEAR AUDIO » November 30th, 2011, 9:05 am

what about the TOTAL oil brand for the 3ZZFE engine ?it any good?

PTME

Postby PTME » December 23rd, 2011, 10:13 pm

aNY1 got the PCV valve to buy?....please tell me where n how much cause i need to do the same!.......3zze!

Jon Gill

Postby Jon Gill » December 24th, 2011, 11:15 am

I changed the PCV last week. Got it from Gobins in St. Augustine & paid $75.00. The brand is Sankei & made in Japan. The engine has stopped burning oil now.

662-8781.

PTME

Postby PTME » December 26th, 2011, 11:22 pm

ok gr8 thanks alot i need to do the same..

searchingone

Postby searchingone » November 8th, 2013, 9:07 am

Jon Gill wrote:I changed the PCV last week. Got it from Gobins in St. Augustine & paid $75.00. The brand is Sankei & made in Japan. The engine has stopped burning oil now.

662-8781.

hey morning
I have his same engine and I plan on changing the pcv valve soon. The one you bought for it, was it the straight threaded one like this?
http://www.carid.com/images/wp/genuine/ ... 376oes.jpg

or the angled one like this
http://assets1.fcpstores.com/public/ass ... 1274388689

mine currently has the straight one and one place I went to buy only had the angled one without threading.. Not sure how this would work..

anyone else please free to comment/advise

Return to “TOYOTA”