Official Rally Forum -
Please visit www.rallytrinidad.com for more info on Rally

Moderators: sio, rcadiz, 3ne2nr Mods

sio

TTRC Rally Finale REFORMed 2011, 23rd Oct

Postby sio » October 11th, 2011, 11:29 am

Is the final event for 2011 in TTRC High Speed Stages 2011
This will be the first time in almost 10yrs that this stage will be run. The stage is a bit different from what has been run for the last year. It has lots of long straights and is grey gravel. There are some nice corners, one of which is a hairpin. Look out for the two car action on the crest of the hill.
The best point to see the stage is on the hill top, at that point will be close to the action and still see the flats.
Stage- Reform
Start time-9am
The stage is easy to find and right off the hi-way.
Stay back after stage action for lime and surprise in the pit area…….
Directions: Heading southbound on hi-way, come off at Reform turn off, after Gasparillo flyover and head east. Look for road on the right this is entrance road for Brain Lara stadium and event pit area. To enter one of many stage vantage points look for gravel road on right. This is the start and finish for stages.
Heading Northbound on hi-way, exit at Gasparillo flyover and enter southbound lane. Follow same directions on southbound hi-way.
Look out for more info.

Re: TTRC Rally Finale REFORMed 2011, 23rd Oct

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 11th, 2011, 12:13 pm

The last time Reform stages were run was in 2001.

it was one of the first rallies I had ever covered

check out this flashback 8)

Big Boyz Toyz Stages Rally @ Reform - 1st. July 2001

Article by Duane Boodasingh
Photography byDuane Boodasingh

Stage Rallies are by far the most intense motorsport on both car and driver, or so a fellow spectator said to me while we braved standing dangerously close to the inside of a corner, in an attempt to catch the action first hand.

I was forced to agree with him when, not 5 seconds after making the statement, a competing B12 Sentra drifted through the same corner only to clip the edge of a pothole and lost his left-front tyre. Ignoring the damaged wheel, the driver pressed on, only keeping in mind that he was racing against the clock. More times than likely the predominant strategy would be to save the car and not the race - I don’t think rally drivers subscribe to that chain of thought. Winning seems to be everything.

On Sunday 1st July 2001, I attended one of the best stage rallies for spectators in Trinidad - The Big Boyz Toyz Stages at Reform Village just off the southern end of the Solomon Hochoy Highway. This rally takes place through the dusty taska roads of the Caroni cane fields, and I stress on DUSTY.

Now we all know taska roads aren't the best and are far from being smooth - just imagine negotiating through the cane fields at 150kmph+ with only your navigator to shout the directions to you while you try to maintain your speed and traction. Well this is what 9 drivers along with their navigators undertook, and while some suffered severe car and ego damage and others victory, they all enjoyed the thrill that keeps them rallying.

The relatively low cane allowed for fine viewing of almost the entire course from the surrounding hills, however most of the fanatical spectators opted for the hands-on approach (myself included) and braved the course itself, occupying corners that they felt would have the most action.

With an average time of 3 minutes to complete the relatively short course, competitors drove 5 stages forward and 5 stages reverse. The fastest time of the day of 2mins 45secs was pulled off by Colin Khan and Richard Ramsingh who pushed their red 120Y like no other 120Y has been pushed before, despite a broken exhaust for the last few stages. This coupled with expert driving and navigation got them the first place standing for this event. Franklyn Seegobin and Visham Maharaj placed 2nd. in their Corolla FX while Rally Club President Shelford Robinson and navigator Andrew Nassier took 3rd. in Shelford's "Lizzard B12 Sentra". Hopefulls, Shiva Mahabir in his turbocharged Laser and Jerome Lum Hung & Rudy Ramsawak in their turbocharged RWD Corolla, suffered crippling damage, which put them out of the race. Shiva was actually in the lead before his car's cooling system failed.

Despite the fact that some of the big guns weren't present at this event, namely Peter Morris in his Evo 6, Wayne Persad in his Evo 5 and Erica Dinoo in her Turbo Starlet, the fun factor was indeed high and the dust that left with most of the spectators' clothing stood as a testament of the thrills that took place.

Postby tr1ad » October 11th, 2011, 1:10 pm

:skurry:

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » October 11th, 2011, 3:00 pm

Nice!!!!! Ah need someone to go down there with me to tour the track before the rally !!! Who up for it???

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » October 11th, 2011, 4:40 pm

team stag,CRISM,castrol,dhl,peak performance will be present and ready tuh rumble

rusty_turbo

Postby rusty_turbo » October 11th, 2011, 6:20 pm

soundin nice...

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » October 12th, 2011, 7:21 pm

ah dey :!:

SJR Imports

Postby SJR Imports » October 13th, 2011, 8:06 am

Will be there!

sio

Postby sio » October 13th, 2011, 9:48 am

Who's in for fun runs????

ThatDamnDrunk

Postby ThatDamnDrunk » October 13th, 2011, 10:01 am

Not a Southie... where/what is a "reform". Is there a sign or something?

ThatDamnDrunk

Postby ThatDamnDrunk » October 13th, 2011, 10:03 am

I'm definitely there though! Will there be scrutineering too?

sio

Postby sio » October 13th, 2011, 10:17 am

Just follow directions very easy to find its just off the hi-way. That one of the reasons for running this stage.Just normal safety checks

Paullct

Postby Paullct » October 13th, 2011, 1:56 pm

more info on the fun runs... :idea:

sio

Postby sio » October 13th, 2011, 11:27 pm

After gravel stages, there will be fun runs close to the pit area.

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 14th, 2011, 7:10 am

triad pick me up na......

Paullct

Postby Paullct » October 14th, 2011, 7:17 am

sio wrote:After gravel stages, there will be fun runs close to the pit area.

anyone can run in their own car? or is it like a ride-along with one of the actual rally cars?

Postby tr1ad » October 14th, 2011, 9:03 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:triad pick me up na......

you really rolling at 7am? taking hot sun and dust?

Paullct you will not be able to use your car, it's a ride along

RapToR

Postby RapToR » October 14th, 2011, 9:16 am

tr1ad wrote:

pass fuh meh

Paullct

Postby Paullct » October 14th, 2011, 9:22 am

tr1ad wrote:

understood :evil:

Postby tr1ad » October 14th, 2011, 9:23 am

Raptor... wha on the menu?

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 14th, 2011, 9:34 am

^^ yeh no scene.......i go bring u ah redbull

Postby tr1ad » October 14th, 2011, 9:39 am

i doh drink that... is beer

RapToR

Postby RapToR » October 14th, 2011, 9:50 am

tr1ad wrote:Raptor... wha on the menu?

day old pizza :lol:

Postby tr1ad » October 14th, 2011, 9:55 am

yuh warming it on the sorento engine?

RapToR

Postby RapToR » October 14th, 2011, 10:38 am

tr1ad wrote:yuh warming it on the sorento engine?

firecracker :|

sio

Postby sio » October 14th, 2011, 10:40 am

You will get to be straped next to the top drivers

sio

Postby sio » October 15th, 2011, 12:03 am

sio

Postby sio » October 15th, 2011, 9:42 am

Bring your coolers crew and come.
Fun runs

Postby wagon r » October 15th, 2011, 12:38 pm

i takin runs from a white evo 10 and hawk eye subbie... :)

Postby foss » October 15th, 2011, 1:08 pm

dashboard crappo here. :|

Return to “TTRC - Rally”