Rims for SSS

Everything Suzuki - Swift GTi and Ignis Sport to Grand Vitara and XL7

ng357

Rims for SSS

Postby ng357 » October 16th, 2011, 12:34 pm

ok so i wanna get some new rims for my SSS, i have reeel trble finding the 5 hole, any ideas guys. also i want to know wat u guys think, shud i go 15inch or 16 ? i looking to solo dex with dem

NLVA200

Re: Rims for SSS

Postby NLVA200 » October 16th, 2011, 6:48 pm

i got my set for dex at andy's wheel services in arouca.

i had a hard time myself finding the right combination of specs which were 16x7, 5x114.3, and Ignorant Ignis had recommended that i purchase a 40 offset or less..
currently using dunlop dirrezza sport z1 star spec 205/50/16 on these wheels.

ng357

Postby ng357 » October 18th, 2011, 5:16 pm

thanks man, i went n check it out, cus i meet u at dex some time ago, bt they were out of stock i will chk them back, thanks

spanglish1

Postby spanglish1 » June 20th, 2012, 7:31 pm

looking at upgrading to some 17's.guys whats the safest offset to go with so that the wheels dont rub?going with 205 40 17's.

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » June 20th, 2012, 11:16 pm

Go with 15's if its for dex

spanglish1

Postby spanglish1 » June 21st, 2012, 4:27 pm

chris is not for dex unless i getting paid to rough up my car so.parts aint cheap!strictly for hard driving on winding roads and mostly highway use.

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » June 21st, 2012, 8:41 pm

lol...i eh get how that make sense. You gonna drive it hard on winding roads and highway but fraid "roughing it up" at dex?
You are aware you rarely cross 80 kmph nor get out of 2nd gear in that little car park at dex right?
There is no significant damage/wear to be had on your car at dex assuming it was in proper working condition from the beginning.

aidan

Postby aidan » June 23rd, 2012, 4:01 pm

Check here viewtopic.php?f=37&t=262760#p6271691

Ah have a set.

Postby *KRONIK* » June 24th, 2012, 12:47 pm

^^ not bashing/ blocking ur sale eh bro

but... something came up!

was gonna keep these for my 5lug conversion on my 1.5 swift but heregoes

EOI: 1 SET of 4
16X7 BBS WHEELS/ 5x114.3
model: RX-242
cant remember the offset right now!
with OEM BBS valvestems and
no centre caps! but oem caps or ur colour choice can be sourced for a negotiated price!

sale by offers: pm or call 703-5627

actual pics:

[img]http://img.tapatalk.com/ba2db6bd-9c51-79c7.jpg[/img]

spanglish1

Postby spanglish1 » June 24th, 2012, 8:29 pm

2 nice set of rims there. chris dex eats up tyres that my main concern.

Postby *KRONIK* » June 24th, 2012, 8:41 pm

best thing to do is to have a front pair just for dex:
good diameter/ width/ offset for ur particular vehicle with a pair of good dex tyres!
or if u can afford it!
a set for daily driving and a set 4 dex,
but 2 easier to tote in ur trunk and change @ the course

back in my days i had a spare set of 13s with dunlops on mih lansah to mash up @ dex!
lol!

spanglish1

Postby spanglish1 » June 24th, 2012, 8:56 pm

thats the way to go with two sets.i'll certainly give dex a try soon!kronik pm price with oem caps please

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » June 24th, 2012, 9:49 pm

Yea it does chew tires up...you can't run the same set on the road and at dex...you need to have another set solely for dex. Once you start driving clean a set of tires can last you an entire year at dex easily...thats what i do.

Postby *KRONIK* » June 25th, 2012, 7:19 am

Well a lot of factors, aside from driving, account for how long ur tyres can last

1) tyre compound and treadwear
2) inflation (over or under)
3) width of tyre
4) camber and alignment
5) wheelspin
6) sidewall contact with tarmac which will encompass all the above
7) stiffness of suspension

im pretty sure ur ignis sport doesnt have the majority of the above to deal with beside MAYBE some minor alignment and major wheelspin issues

u should let them try a couple of runs 1st @ dex and see for themselves what they need to improve and make the tyres last....

my $0.02

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » June 25th, 2012, 8:53 pm

You are correct...all of the above do factor in...but from experience...its your driving style and the ability to drive the car hard...on the limit but not over it. This is the most significant factor. What many rookies do is come to dex and they just want to go faster so they are flat on the throttle in many areas they should not hence scrubbing the tires.

Postby *KRONIK* » June 26th, 2012, 6:07 am

agreed...

but proper technique takes a while to be acquired/ developed...
so for a rookie..their best defense is actually their own car...

bacause..... assuming their skill level is @ zero (no offense to anyone, just drawing a reference)
the only assistance would be

*KRONIK* wrote:1) tyre compound and treadwear
2) inflation (over or under)
3) width of tyre
4) camber and alignment
5) wheelspin
6) sidewall contact with tarmac which will encompass all the above
7) stiffness of suspension

and i am saying this based on advice from seasoned dex drivers,
when i ran @ dex the first couple times (years ago)
i used to have one of the more experienced dex persons go with me to point out the areas i need to work on (in terms of accelleration and braking)and also to show me where the car itself was lacking.... and how not to mash up a good set of tyres by setting ur car up right and driving with a certain amount of discipline....learning the thresholds for your car and keeping it within it limits...

Return to “SUZUKI”