The Ultimate 1jz/2jz thread. all jz questions answered.

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Michelin

Re: The Ultimate 1jz/2jz thread. all jz questions answered.

Postby Michelin » October 28th, 2011, 9:41 pm

sorry, It's a 1JZ GTE and not a 2JZ GTE

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » October 31st, 2011, 3:56 pm

i got a question: will the ct15b turbo unit out of the 1jz-gte fit in the 4efte?

rx80

Postby rx80 » October 31st, 2011, 5:45 pm

Any thing can fit, reddo specs should be close to a t28, but the rear housing might be a little to big for the 1.3..

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » October 31st, 2011, 6:16 pm

currently on ct9, what would i need to get or adjust?

rx80

Postby rx80 » October 31st, 2011, 8:02 pm

The ct15 has a very different exhaust flange so you're gonna need to mod you're manifold and fabrication for the intake. BTW i have one you can have a look at.

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » October 31st, 2011, 8:27 pm

location?

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » October 31st, 2011, 8:38 pm

got yuh pm

skylineGTR55036018

Postby skylineGTR55036018 » November 1st, 2011, 7:01 pm

got a 2jzgte in an s13 with a MTR Built Tranny cost only 1500 usd with your transmission and its capable to hold 800hp normal. check those guys out. only thing i can suggest is if you really got a heavy foot get a transmission cooler.. helps a whole lot.

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » November 1st, 2011, 10:25 pm

^^^ how is the S13 pulling???

you parting wit the engine and tranny oar whot? :D

skylineGTR55036018

Postby skylineGTR55036018 » November 3rd, 2011, 12:07 am

cutthroatInt wrote:^^^ how is the S13 pulling???

you parting wit the engine and tranny oar whot? :D

i swear it pulls like a wild ass incredibly fast for a damn tranny i swear im in amazement everytime... kinda wild but the handling is still excellent. i though the weight distribution was gunna throw out the handling of the car but its pretty damn good. bout to pull out the tranny a slap in a 6speed yes. cant wait :D

Naka

Postby Naka » November 3rd, 2011, 8:06 am

skylineGTR55036018 wrote:got a 2jzgte in an s13 with a MTR Built Tranny cost only 1500 usd with your transmission and its capable to hold 800hp normal. check those guys out. only thing i can suggest is if you really got a heavy foot get a transmission cooler.. helps a whole lot.

I am currently considering the TH400 swap, could you post the site where you got your tranny setup?

TH400 at the helm!!! Real simple setup here. I found this guy on a forum, can't wait to get some tips.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » November 11th, 2011, 3:53 am

What are your views on 2jzgte vvti vs 2jzgte non vvti?
I am seeing on some foreign forums that connecting rods on the vvti are smaller.
My concern is strength for high powered applications.
Which motor should one start with if wanting to gain >700HP
I have noticed that vvti motors are cheaper right now lol... so that had me wondering, if I am to buy an engine go vvti one time
1) since its cheaper,
2) newer engine, less mileage,
3) if it can hold out to the same 7-800 hp as non vvti

but i just chose to bring up the topic here to get local reviews from the other toyota men..

shocksub

Postby shocksub » November 11th, 2011, 1:35 pm

The blocks are the same, the rods are different, I cannot remember if it has the oil spray bar, but can install from the non vvti engine. You would still need to get the stock rods from the non vvti, or go with aftermaket immediately. Cam profiles would be a little harder to come by for the vvti, and here in Trinidad, I have had more experience with the nonvvti - parts are more readily avilable for the normal engine. If you want to, just buy a head and block-you will be buying exhaust and intake mani aftermarket separately if needed. 700hp should be easy on a stock non vvti bottom end.

Naka

Postby Naka » November 11th, 2011, 5:34 pm

2jz mercedes=classy speed.

seecarr11

Postby seecarr11 » November 12th, 2011, 7:39 pm

shocksub wrote:The blocks are the same, the rods are different, I cannot remember if it has the oil spray bar, but can install from the non vvti engine. You would still need to get the stock rods from the non vvti, or go with aftermaket immediately. Cam profiles would be a little harder to come by for the vvti, and here in Trinidad, I have had more experience with the nonvvti - parts are more readily avilable for the normal engine. If you want to, just buy a head and block-you will be buying exhaust and intake mani aftermarket separately if needed. 700hp should be easy on a stock non vvti bottom end.

incorrect info here.

the 2jz gte non vvti and vvti have the same internals. don't be fooled by the hype. people assume they are different (i.e weaker) because other engines e.g 1UZ changed rods when it got the vvti upgrade. this is NOT true for the JZ engines. do your research.
the vvti jz biggest difference are the vvti intake cam, injector size and the trac feature. also i think the air metering method is different (maf vs map) not sure which thou. anyway the point is, the engine can make the same 800hp on stock internals and you get the bonus of the low down torque the vvti gives, if you have a skilled tuner.

proof (with pics) to back up what i'm saying
http://www.supraforums.com/forum/showthread.php?522377-FAQ-VVTi-2JZGTE-Facts-differences-and-conversion-information

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » November 12th, 2011, 8:52 pm

^^I did come across that thread..
but getting lots of conflicting info on google searches so I was asking for first hand info here.

seecarr11

Postby seecarr11 » November 12th, 2011, 11:49 pm

i can confirm it is so. i've seen the pistons and con rods for both in person. they are the same. if you have the extra cash, imho get the vvti version for either the 1jay or 2jay. you can't go wrong

shocksub

Postby shocksub » November 13th, 2011, 11:09 am

seecarr11 wrote:i can confirm it is so. i've seen the pistons and con rods for both in person. they are the same. if you have the extra cash, imho get the vvti version for either the 1jay or 2jay. you can't go wrong

I stand corrected, I must have been thinking about the NA vvti, anyways I believe that there is less aftermarket support for the vvti, and I really don't see a great advantage especially for a 1/4 miler, but don mind me buy what you feel is better for your application

seecarr11

Postby seecarr11 » November 13th, 2011, 5:58 pm

no scene. it is a mistake every body makes. i thought the gte vvti was weaker too until i did the research.

but yeah you are right. vvti aftermarket support is harder to get on this side of the globe and when u do find it, be prepared to fork out the big dollars.

you have to know your goals. that is all that matters in the end.

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » November 17th, 2011, 8:29 am

^^^ Thanks

Naka

Postby Naka » December 21st, 2011, 4:43 pm

I'm glad I made this thread, makes me feel bubbly inside, lol. I'm glad that vvti thing is cleared up, I am glad I know and I am now positiive I don't want any vvti version, lol.

rx80

Postby rx80 » December 23rd, 2011, 9:30 am

VVTI is the bomb !!! Wait you'll see.......

Naka

Postby Naka » December 23rd, 2011, 12:13 pm

^well I'm sure yurs will be wukking!!!!

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » January 21st, 2012, 4:55 pm

VVT-i JZ's are great for that low to mid range torque while keeping the high torque from mid to high rev ranges! Its a good bump in power as well on the curve, really nice.

Im just looking for a A31 for small money to finish my conversion. 2jzgte and gearbox is now awaiting a car. :D

I been out of it for a while, hence the reason now posting. Still will be on and off, got family i'll be seeing about soon and working rel hard these days on my own. My own family caused problems for meh :(

MarkMohammed

Postby MarkMohammed » February 5th, 2012, 11:21 am

Where to get good new replacement parts for 2JZGTE. Like gates timing belt, cam seals, crank seals, belt tensioners and other engine parts? Who sells them and for a good price?

Naka

Postby Naka » February 10th, 2012, 9:09 pm

Always start from the source, call toyota, lol. But online is a good start too.

crash111

Postby crash111 » February 10th, 2012, 9:15 pm

fellas lookin for a lsd diff for my mk3 supra...or one tht could work...asap..naka btw was d wrd??

powerz

Postby powerz » February 15th, 2012, 9:46 pm

just want some advice felahs i wana buy a 1985 celica any advice is it a good start for my first car

Naka

Postby Naka » March 17th, 2012, 4:36 pm

well yunno parts gonna be lil hard, but if it's yur dream and u have the capital to maintain it, by all means go ahead.

fareed7298

Postby fareed7298 » April 4th, 2012, 9:07 am

has anyone ever put a 1jz in ah ms65 crown need sum info thanks

Return to “TOYOTA”