No PANG, but fupfupfupfup.;

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

No PANG, but fupfupfupfup.;

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 8th, 2011, 11:32 am

Here I was, minding my own business, cruising at about 100kph, when the engine starts to make a funny noise, like a misfire. I take a peek in my side mirrors, TONS of smoke.
not good.

I immediately pull over and cut off motor and thick smoke is bellowing through the scoop, I thought OMG Fire! I nearly shat brix.
I pulled the bonnet (gingerly), whew no fire, but lotsa smoke and oil ALL OVER THE FIRETRUCKING place.

not good²

Call my trusty wrecker and flatbed it to my mech, who points out a nice sized hole in le block.

not good³

I was not pushing it hard, nor was I starved for oil (I check oil every week). At the moment of the fupfupfupfup, Water temps were normal, oil temp was normal. I was like BRRR?

He's gonna diagnose the entirety as I type, but it seems a rebuild is in the cards.
I need a list of items to get.

Holla

-n

Re: No PANG, but fupfupfupfup.;

Postby wagonrunner » November 8th, 2011, 11:54 am

guessing a block would be a good start. :lol:

EVO III Monster

Postby EVO III Monster » November 8th, 2011, 12:33 pm

DAWG U FOR REEL

dat sucks eh
lemme know wha was the problem..
i go vibez u

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » November 8th, 2011, 12:39 pm

did you recently fill gas and dont you have management?

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 8th, 2011, 1:30 pm

EVO III Monster, you have to change that name eh...
We go talk.

Yea boy nar, but the EMS would retard timing/boost if I got bad gas! Methinks it was just the famous conrod failure on #3 as reported worldwide. It definitely was not due to poor maintenance, I dont take any chances and change stuff way before it's due!

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » November 8th, 2011, 2:52 pm

typical subaru...

its inevitable

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » November 9th, 2011, 11:39 am

so you threw a rod? spun/seized bearing?

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 9th, 2011, 12:20 pm

Yep, threw a rod.
Stange conditions tho
4000RPM in 4th gear doing 100KMPH
Oil temp was 180F
Water temp was normal.
No knock.

shrugs

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » November 9th, 2011, 1:33 pm

Loss of oil viscosity, or lack of oil at one of those bearings? (blocked passage or sludge or something? I don't know how this works - would like to learn tho)

Glitch

Postby Glitch » November 10th, 2011, 2:12 pm

Normal thing with these engines...I went through it myself....When rebuilding use ACL race bearings they hold out really well.

Postby SR » November 10th, 2011, 3:07 pm

which engine?

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 10th, 2011, 3:50 pm

@SR - EJ20X original motor.

Thanks for the heads up Glitch.
Looking at the following parts

EJ207 case halves (used) (V5 STI)
ACL Bearings
Cometic Head Gaskets
Wiseco Piston/Ring kit
Manley H Beam Rods
Gates Timing Belt
ARP Head Studs
12mm Sti Oil Pump
Subaru Rocker Cover Gaskets, plug seals, cam and crank seals

Question: if my crank is good, can I reuse it? I'm a bit paranoid at this point. ANything else I should consider?
Thanks!

-n

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » November 10th, 2011, 9:54 pm

wow the kinda comments i hearing in here...."typical subaru..it's inevitable"

I guess the engineers at FHI never went to skool ....

It's not wise to make comments in isolation...Vexx didn't exactly have a stock setup like most of us ...but a fairly expensive and decent mod list ...that on a stock motor wouldnt last long...and knowing of him on the forum as i kno..it wasn't lack of care...it was jus bound to happen sooner or later..i mean..d man was pushin a VF 37 turbo after all...

I know people who rocking the legacy years now...me three yrs...my former manager 6 yrs and no problems

Ever noticed how the local bought legacy's hardly ever spin a bearing..cuz most of the time it's older owners who don't modify etc and then the stock motor really shows its resilience.

All the best with ur re-build...get that crank properly checked out...but honestly it wud be wise to replace everyting...that's like realised ur oil pump still good and trying to reuse it....bad idea

Swap everyting out...and go with a cosworth oil pump if u can .talk to Nemesis..he wud give u some good advice

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » November 10th, 2011, 10:39 pm

Please don't be a fan boy

I've known a couple local legacys and foresters that spun bearings as well

It happens. Not with every subaru but it happens too often

Almost everyone here with experience here would admit this

Anyways

Good luck with rebuild

Postby Monk BANzai » November 11th, 2011, 1:15 am

dammmm.....grrr...wel lthere goes my coilover sale.

Sorry to hear Nivek..... if possible detail the rebuild...was talking tonight about forging my internals for some 2012 plans.....

BTW I have the block from my April "PANG" experience if you want one...holla if interested....

would love to see what route you went....i'll sticky the rebuild thread...

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » November 11th, 2011, 5:19 am

Fan boy u say copper lol...trust me lil homie..that's ur title long time man, we all know this

U shud have taken the time to understand these engines instead of masking ineptitude with aesthetic mods, then u wudn't make statements as u did

Ne who, Vexx u have rel guys here who have experience with rebuilds, i now remember Banzai has a plethora of experience here and he spent a shi*t load of money trying to get everyting right so i tink u on the right track...survey opinions and then decide ur route

And it's about time we have a rebuild thread

Postby SR » November 11th, 2011, 6:02 am

question
should i be concerned on this with my setup

stock engine ecuteck ecu tuned

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » November 11th, 2011, 6:30 am

question
should i be concerned on this with my setup

stock engine ecuteck ecu tuned

Depends on what oil you use, how frequently your oil is changed, and the overall health of your engine.

Glitch

Postby Glitch » November 11th, 2011, 8:32 am

I would change the crank...let the mechanic look at it properly...most times if a bearing is spun the crank gets damaged.

Call bird 7293848 he normally has new cranks and other parts....

Just a FYI STi rods can take over 380tq unless you planning going over that no need for aftermarket (up to you though) maybe you can save some money there.

I have tuned STi's with over 375tq going on 2yrs plus with no issues (with rough up)

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » November 11th, 2011, 8:44 am

jadakiss wrote:U shud have taken the time to understand these engines instead of masking ineptitude with aesthetic mods, then u wudn't make statements as u did

6FWD, 240 WHP

Postby Monk BANzai » November 11th, 2011, 9:48 am

Glitch wrote:I would change the crank...let the mechanic look at it properly...most times if a bearing is spun the crank gets damaged.

Just a FYI STi rods can take over 380tq unless you planning going over that no need for aftermarket (up to you though) maybe you can save some money there.

I have tuned STi's with over 375tq going on 2yrs plus with no issues (with rough up)

CG8 block?....

Postby Monk BANzai » November 11th, 2011, 9:52 am

jadakiss wrote:Fan boy u say copper lol...trust me lil homie..that's ur title long time man, we all know this

U shud have taken the time to understand these engines instead of masking ineptitude with aesthetic mods, then u wudn't make statements as u did

Ne who, Vexx u have rel guys here who have experience with rebuilds, i now remember Banzai has a plethora of experience here and he spent a shi*t load of money trying to get everyting right so i tink u on the right track...survey opinions and then decide ur route

And it's about time we have a rebuild thread

lol shitlaod is right...but i went the way ofa GC8 block and my heads were fscked........he's looking at a new rebuild

I realyl wanna know how at 100 k/4000 rpm he threw a rod though....was it near the dreaded piston number two?

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » November 11th, 2011, 10:40 am

Oh gosh copper...come on..u bought ur magical 6 FWD 240WHP Legacy (NOT TUNED BY STI AS YOU CLAIMED) from someone locally...we all kno who...so don't come and boast about mods u 'inherited'.. d only ting i can give u credit for is the lil led's and other cosmetic upgrades

Think of urself like a women...u put on alil make up ..do ur hair and walk down d road expecting whistles. That's exactly what u did with that last Legacy..rice it up and then expecting ooh's and ahh's...all u getting from me is boo's and blah'ss

Ne who, all d hating aside, SR u need not be worried...stock setup and a good Ecutek tune..u safe bro. Oil selection and drain interval is key..the tune is the ultimate safe guard to mitigate against knock events which would eventually lead to failure after a time...is not like ur engine will jus detonate and blow up in one go

Plus the ECU's are intuitive...the limp mode feature is great to tell you when to back off cuz of possible timing retard.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 11th, 2011, 12:50 pm

keep it clean nah fellas, lol

yeah rover. I think its the infamous #3.
Will take some pics when the motor is out.

-n

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » November 11th, 2011, 12:53 pm

lol jada your the definition of a hater, it took only 2 words to make you type so much

anyways everyone here knows how you does beat up for petty words/disagreements over the internet

when you stooped so low on another tuner and made remarks about his deceased mum and slander of his business and his fathers business...

i aint goin down that road man, beat up by yourself

do enlighten us with what you've read online about subarus and EJ20s

Postby 16 cycles » November 11th, 2011, 1:56 pm

as outlined before...

EJ207 block - v7 much sought after cause of the semi-closed deck construction (so some say)

forged rods / pistons
ACL race bearings
new crank - don't know any machine shop that grinds these to match adjusted crank tolerances

ARP studs and cometic head gaskets to hold it down

double check the turbo for any debris as well as the oil pan and water/oil cooler on the filter shaft

good luck

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » November 11th, 2011, 2:31 pm

Copper shat ur non entity meng. Stick to building pc's nah. led's and drop low springs don't make u a tuner.. u sir are a Ricer. Out with u and ur allegations. Don't hate me, hate the game!

Anyways Vexx i hope u don't get discouraged from goin forth and rebuilding..sometimes sticking it out..doin ur own research and trials can be worth the effort in the end when u see the final outcome

You should talk to Arif as well..u know he's been down this road and u all have similar goals.

Do you plan to sell the VF 37 and go with say a 42 or 36???? I'm assuming the turbo might be okay..??

Glitch

Postby Glitch » November 11th, 2011, 6:33 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
Glitch wrote:I would change the crank...let the mechanic look at it properly...most times if a bearing is spun the crank gets damaged.

CG8 block?....

Bugeye STi block

Postby SR » November 12th, 2011, 7:08 am

ok so aside from the mudslinging

there is nothing major i should be worried about

presently using amsoil 20w50 synthetic changing every 5000k

and by the way if i see one more mudslinging post in this thread ALL parties getting a week off

Glitch

Postby Glitch » November 12th, 2011, 7:17 am

SR when I had my Legacy I used that same oil with no issues

Return to “SUBARU”