Captainzaak

Re: 2010 Kia Forte (Cerato)

Postby Captainzaak » May 24th, 2010, 10:42 am

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » June 2nd, 2010, 9:52 am

Had my 3rd service yesterday, bill came up to $800.

Changed Oil (Mobile1)
Fuel Filter
Oil Filter
Air Filter
Tightened belts, adjusted and cleaned brakes.

Dropped off at 7:30am, was ready by 11am.

I inquired about the cost of my other service, the lady said at my next service it may be about $1500-$2000 seeing that most likely they'll have to change disc pads and shoes.

Question, my pads are looking fairly well, doing 19,000km at the moment, you'll think i should let them change it if i think they're still fine next service?

Thanks.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 3rd, 2010, 8:46 pm

^ they may still do it in order to keep within Kia's maintainance specs and warranty-wise but it won't hurt to enquire and clarify before anything is done because its not like 19k kms could blow away brand new original pads so quick unless you mashing from 100mph pretty often. You mentioned shoes? I thought your car had discs front and back? Anyway, I find it hard to believe that shoes would need to change after 19k. I had a car that changed shoes after 50k but like I said, enquire first or have them change it and keep the "old" parts so when the warranty expires you can check your growing inventory and apply where necessary and you won't have to buy those cheap OEM parts especially those full of asbestos brake pads that squeal and squeek and emit alot of brake dust.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » June 4th, 2010, 8:30 am

thanks for the reply acesinghit.

The Cerato Sedan came with drums in the back, the Koup is four wheel disc.

I don't really mash that kinda brakes, average use, but when i check it, i'm see a lot of life still in the pads. Being original pads i found it kinda weird they wanted to change them that quick.
As you said acesinghit i'll enquire with management and see if it would apply.
Lady at the service desk told me pads for it may cost about $800, shoes about $500-600. :shock:

I'll check into it, thanks again.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 4th, 2010, 6:13 pm

no probs man imagine Yaris pads more expensive in TTTL :lol: So your price seems fair enough :wink:

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » January 3rd, 2011, 4:00 pm

Okay so i serviced today at 30,000KM.

Usual items changed,
Oil (They used Shell Helix Full Syn this time), Oil/Fuel Filter
Tightened belts, handbreak etc.
CSR informed me that a technician took the vehicle for a road test (saw on the Odometer that he did 3KM) and concluded that the spark plugs had to change. So this was changed as well.
A few months ago I started getting a mildew/mouldy scent coming from the vents when the vehicle was cold started and A/C switched on. They replaced the cabin filter and i think this stopped (haven't gotten to cold start the vehicle with the A/C).
My the low beam bulb in my right headlight blew some time ago, i called for a pricing from SS for it, they said $120...for a bulb, yes, for a H7 bulb, i said okay, went by Auto Village and bought two H7 Halogens for $60 :)

This time, my cabin (house) bulb blew (i dunno wtf is up with all these bulbs blowing) so as i had the car in SS i said let me tell them to change it one time.
BIG MISTAKE, $27 for the bulb, okay..$140 labor to change it!
WTFMC! :shock:
Never me again.

Anyhow, this service came up to $1562.37 inclusive of all parts and labor.
Dropped the vehicle off at 8:30am, picked up at 3:30pm.
I didn't have to change pads/shoes, they were fine.
They also returned to me my old cabin filter and spark plugs, anyone wanna buy it? :lol:

Edit: ohhh did i mention my new calendar? 8-)

The plugs don't look to bad, check'em for yourself (all are basically like this):

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 4th, 2011, 6:55 am

^^Looks to be in good condition.....but the real test is to check your plugs when they're still warm/as soon as they're pulled from the engine (discolouration etc).

WTH!

Not much to report on my end though. Just a periodic small squeak from the driver's seat from time to time, but that's it really.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » January 4th, 2011, 11:02 am

Alpha_2nr wrote:^^Looks to be in good condition.....but the real test is to check your plugs when they're still warm/as soon as they're pulled from the engine (discolouration etc).

WTH!

Not much to report on my end though. Just a periodic small squeak from the driver's seat from time to time, but that's it really.

Well i didn't have the opportunity to check after warm removal so, best i can do lol

Great news to hear things going good on your side.

Postby Stephon. » October 11th, 2011, 8:08 pm

Went to check it out today, was boring in my opinion. My friend liked it though, my dad and I didn't. Then again, my dad and I liked the Chevy Cruze and he didn't :lol:

I think the interior is nice and everything, nice size, epic trunk space. The only problem I have is, it only has breaks in the front, for a car that looks so sporty, the back wheels look incomplete. :?

I still cant get over the 175k price tag though, even though I didn't like it personally, that price is VERY good for the car itself. I didn't test drive it because all they had in the showroom were already sold.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » October 13th, 2011, 11:58 am

Stephon. wrote:Went to check it out today, was boring in my opinion. My friend liked it though, my dad and I didn't. Then again, my dad and I liked the Chevy Cruze and he didn't :lol:

I think the interior is nice and everything, nice size, epic trunk space. The only problem I have is, it only has breaks in the front, for a car that looks so sporty, the back wheels look incomplete. :?

I still cant get over the 175k price tag though, even though I didn't like it personally, that price is VERY good for the car itself. I didn't test drive it because all they had in the showroom were already sold.

I understand what you're saying about the rear drums, i mean the cruze, swift sport, elantra, they all come with rear disc breaks, why is it the cerato doesn't? :(

But, i must say the breaks hold really well IMO, i recommend you take a test drive.

In other matters

I'm due for my 40,000KM service Tuesday, i'll post a review of what was done, changed and cost of everything. I'm not looking forward to seeing the bill tho :shock: :lol:

TTDiDi

Postby TTDiDi » November 17th, 2011, 1:13 pm

I have a question - my Cerato has a really rough ride. I mean I warn people to make sure their tongue is not between their teeth when they are in the car, as hitting any hole will cause them to bite through.

I don't remember it being that way when I got the car, it just seemed to sneak up. I reported at the last service (20,000) but they did not report anything as wrong (not that I would expect them to, 1 year later, left back wheel still going wurr wurr wurr when slowing down).

I know that the suspension is a little stiff, and I was accustomed to this in the Honda Fit before, but this is ridic, Anybody have the same kind of ride?

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » November 21st, 2011, 4:50 pm

tyre pressure too high? try keeping it around 28 psi and see what happens.

TTDiDi

Postby TTDiDi » November 21st, 2011, 4:57 pm

Pressure too high is definitely not the problem, always being accused of having soft tyres. But someone suggested that maybe the brand of tyre is the issue (Kumho) so I look forward to feedback on that.

Marct

Postby Marct » November 21st, 2011, 7:30 pm

it's not the tyre its the ride/suspension itself is very stiff & rigid thats why its great around corners.

angry247

Postby angry247 » November 21st, 2011, 8:08 pm

I an hearing a rattling sound under my kia cerato does has anyone experience this problem.

Postby Stephon. » November 22nd, 2011, 9:14 am

Friend got one, she doesn't do much driving, she's a student, from home (Trincity) to SBCS a few times a week. She let me drive it this morning, it was actually a pleasant ride, I enjoyed it. The interior is really nice too, under 180k with more features than a corolla @209k. The ride left me pleasantly surprised.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » November 30th, 2011, 2:06 am

Folks what's a good price for a PCN with 40 k km? Good condition.

Zaak...any updates on the 40 k service?

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » January 6th, 2012, 7:38 am

sweeks wrote:Folks what's a good price for a PCN with 40 k km? Good condition.

Zaak...any updates on the 40 k service?

My bad only now seeing this lol.

40K service went good, paid $1500 for the service, my pads were good so they didn't require changing.

I'll edit the post with the details of charges when i get home.

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » April 26th, 2012, 9:28 pm

Guys, I have just fallen in love again with the cerato.

My kia came with 215/45/17 Kumho and I agree the car has a stiff suspension but the road noise was unbearable for me.

I installed 215/50/17 dunlop on the rear and ride quality was improved. The nest day I installed 215/50/17 dunlop in the front and the entire feel and ride of the car is beyond expected.

I choose the dunlop because I know they are a softer tyre than the kumho. There is no need to worry about the tyre touching the fenders as a result of the upgrade from the 45 to 50 series.

I strongly recommend that you try this if you are a lil unhappy with the stock tyres.

Marct

Postby Marct » April 29th, 2012, 7:56 am

I recently rotated my Kumho's and road noise is now very noticeable. Willing to change the size but not to Dunlop,(not a big fan)

kingdavid

Postby kingdavid » August 8th, 2012, 3:07 pm

so a month has passed since i have become a kia cerato/forte owner and i must say i am enjoying this car so much i love it. :D

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » August 8th, 2012, 6:40 pm

Guys my cerato is up for sale if you know anyone interested.

See sig for details.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 10th, 2012, 7:55 am

2014 Kia Cerato :shock:

Zaak like u getting the first copy or wha? So soon u parting? :P

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 10th, 2012, 10:47 am

Who sells rear spoilers for these cars?

http://www.cardata.com/spoilers/kia_spoilers.htm

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » August 11th, 2012, 10:15 pm

Search autokoreatt on google - they import stuff for these cars.

Postby Stephon. » August 11th, 2012, 10:21 pm

2014 Cerato ain't that amazing to look at lol
It's nice but it ain't a big jump from the current model

Return to “KIA”