Diesel Boys Maintenance Thread

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Stuckindmud

Diesel Boys Maintenance Thread

Postby Stuckindmud » November 15th, 2011, 11:36 pm

Aye Fellas,

Long time no hear or see. I decided to try to revive the maintenance thread. If for nothing else to keep good maintenance on the crew!

Holla!

Re: Diesel Boys Maintenance Thread

Postby Team Loco » November 16th, 2011, 12:50 pm

iz like deja vu here man..........
well lets see. i changed oil today, fram oil filter, replaced power steering fluid. also buffed out some scratches. later i planning on finding some mud

Xplode

Postby Xplode » November 16th, 2011, 2:08 pm

1st 10 k tune up yesterday,

Hilux 3.0 4x4 auto,

oil "amsoil" 15w 40 ,all filters,adjusted brakes
at TTTL cost Free ,bought my own oil.

Postby Team Loco » November 17th, 2011, 12:52 pm

my baby has seen better days. decided to give her a lil spruce up on the exterior. i am not one into the looks of a pick up, but her clearcoat continues to flake and i think she starting to argue with me. so gonna look at refinishing one side, buff and polish and gonna re-install meh bushwacka fender flares. got those boxed up since 2004

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » November 17th, 2011, 6:52 pm

TL yuh got bushwackers and you got them in a box.... Dude instal them thing eh!.. Before i come take them... LOL

Postby Team Loco » November 17th, 2011, 9:46 pm

yup, and those bushwackas came as a toyota part!! from tttl. i got them on the van from the showroom. only removed them when i had the accident. the rear right was totally shattered. finally got a replacement

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » November 18th, 2011, 6:46 am

So doh lemme ask for some photos nah man... Post thing..
Then Install or give them too me... LOL
Cya leh good thing go to waste.. .

Postby Team Loco » November 18th, 2011, 11:14 am

i think the style bug has bitten me. ok, so i am gonna do a 90% refinish on the lux. already planned out. not removing anything. complete tape off. i kind of have it ready made since anyone who has seen her lately, has seen all the clearcoat is flaking off. i am going to peel off all, run a 600grit sandpaper, prep ,thin coat of black and some extra clearcoat. should be completed in half day. next i am gonna install my fender flares.

i need help to choose a colour since they are scratched up so i need to paint them. i am thinking silver. or even matte black.

next i am gonna do the HID retrofit. you all know me, i am gonna do it myself. pheonix, when i remove the headlamp, i will make the brackets for you since mines will be off.

next will be buff and polish and then i have another stripe kit sitting at home. not really into stripes but i have it home on a shelf. gonna stripe both sides.

also have a KEL roll bar lying around. thinking of removing my oem bar and installing the KEL roll bar.

also, we expect to get worklight permits in a week. THIS MEANS I WILL BE LEGALLY OK TO INSTALL SOME KC LIGHTS!!!

all this doing with a shoestring budget of $2000. trust me, i'll get it done

pheonix, picking up an nze today........

sweeks

Postby sweeks » November 18th, 2011, 8:09 pm

Nothing much going on with the 1kzte. Basic oil and filter change due next 3000km. Been behind a 4jj1 (common rail) lately, recently serviced. A bit noisy but good performance nonetheless. 5l up for service soon ... All oem filters (air, oil and fuel) will be changed.

Been giving Valvoline oil a try. Amsoil too expensive and Mobil scarce like gold.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » November 18th, 2011, 8:10 pm

Stuck what are you maintaining these days?

Postby Team Loco » November 21st, 2011, 1:08 pm

sweeks wrote:Stuck what are you maintaining these days?

i see a hidden question here.. :D

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » November 23rd, 2011, 6:14 am

TL We want Photos eh!
Doh bother with them Brackets for me again.. (I not installing those damm plastic sr5 headlights and im not paying those stupid prices for OEM headlamps.
She gonna be sweet too bad when you done Bro.
I think Matt Silver on the Bushwackers will look wicked.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » November 24th, 2011, 9:31 pm

Phoenix SR5 headlamps would make that van look so different. TL I'll take his brackets.

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » November 27th, 2011, 12:46 pm

Ha .. maintaining ..

well i stuck to the Toyota brand - good reslae and lifetime service, but i had to steer away from diesel - not by choice.. ( i wonder what it`ll cost to ship a 1KZ to me? Hmm

Sweeky - ever wonder how the madam would look in grey ;)

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » December 4th, 2011, 7:07 pm

Sweeky i know it would change the LOOK but i cant tand the cheap quality aftermarket headlamps that i am finding. I may be convinced if i can get a good OEM set at a bess price..

SO Stuck.. where the photos Bro? Waiz dah one??? LOL

E-mail meh!

Postby Team Loco » December 4th, 2011, 9:28 pm

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » December 6th, 2011, 12:47 am

ha, you know i stick with the photos - no phot ops yet - is work and more work lol .. Van doing its duty tho - hauled my TV and centertable and Bed and Chest of drawers and chairs and ..... lol

roof racks are the best!!

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » December 7th, 2011, 10:52 am

Stuckindmud wrote:ha, you know i stick with the photos - no phot ops yet - is work and more work lol .. Van doing its duty tho - hauled my TV and centertable and Bed and Chest of drawers and chairs and ..... lol

Need PICS!!!!!

I have a pickup if you need help moving :mrgreen:

Postby Team Loco » December 7th, 2011, 11:41 pm

did he buy a new ride??

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » December 8th, 2011, 5:58 pm

Stuckindmud wrote:ha, you know i stick with the photos - no phot ops yet - is work and more work lol .. Van doing its duty tho - hauled my TV and centertable and Bed and Chest of drawers and chairs and ..... lol

:twisted: :lol: :twisted:

ENT!!!

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » December 9th, 2011, 2:07 pm

*Phoenix* wrote:

:twisted: :lol: :twisted:

ENT!!!

Speaking of which... you sell your pickup yet?

venum

Postby venum » December 9th, 2011, 9:35 pm

Did an oil change today

Amsoil

changed the diesel filter too

OEM parts

she is doing 95,000+ km

Postby Team Loco » December 10th, 2011, 7:34 am

i replaced my idler arm and pitman arm today. they were really bad.

venum

Postby venum » December 15th, 2011, 9:47 am

my headlights HID's start to malfunction

left side coming on only

not switching between high and low beam sometimes a delay between switching or automatic switching

got a new kit from equipp2ripp yesterday and some led lights

gonna install today

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » December 16th, 2011, 2:03 pm

Selling you say 323WD... nah boy, i need something to route with when i home!. is plenty driving to do in short time. Most of the moving done, but feel free to pass eeen.

Aye TL- if its me you talkin abt - i got a used wagon. Diesel more expensive here though :( so i park the cetanes home and i rollin on the octanes home.

fireman , i will send you some pics to post up.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » December 17th, 2011, 10:37 am

Guys, I need a new grease gun. The one I currently have is almost 40 years old, the nipple attachment is damaged and it has a couple leaks.

Any suggestions on where I can get a new one at a reasonable price?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 17th, 2011, 5:23 pm

allied tools or ft farfan

venum

Postby venum » December 17th, 2011, 10:14 pm

48 year old nipples . . . and u wonder why they leak

buy a good one

u think your 40 year old one would have lasted so long if price was spared 40 years ago :?:

Cooper

Postby Cooper » December 18th, 2011, 7:40 am

It functioned flawlessly up until a few months ago.... considering how long it lasted, I think that was a lot of value for whatever money my dad paid for it.

Last time I went to Farfan, I was not impressed with the service. I'll check out allied tools.

Postby Team Loco » December 18th, 2011, 9:45 pm

yup, allied tools

for the past week, ive been bitching about losing power. cleaned filter etc, only to realise my vacuum hose connected to the fuel compensator had fallen off. problem solved

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”