2010 KIA Cerato Servicing Issue

Sportage, Sorento, Soul, Rio, Cerato, Optima

trinimojo

2010 KIA Cerato Servicing Issue

Postby trinimojo » July 12th, 2010, 8:04 am

Hi Guys,
Just wondering if anyone who bought the new Kia Cerato from Southern Sales can answer something for me...

When did they tell you to bring it in for the first service (other than the 1000k service) to change oil etc...?

Cause in south they said at 10000km wud be the 1st oil change but i called them in north and they said first oil change is at 5000km then at 12000km.

Also what oil do you use, or do you just let the SS put their oil? I was thinking about Mobil 1 or Amsoil?

thanks

Mazdout

Re: 2010 KIA Cerato Servicing Issue

Postby Mazdout » July 14th, 2010, 10:36 pm

It seems that there is no need to rush oil change with these new model KiA Cerato. What I have experienced is that if you take out the oil that is added at the assembly plant too early you run the risk of mechanical problems later on in the vehicles life , the oil that is added is of a different grade to the oil that is added after, its first service this is done so that the cylinder bores scuff up nicely this is to provide a good seal for the piston rings if you change the oil too soon and put in the oil that is recommended for subsequent oil changes you lose the bedding in properties of the oil and this results in a much higher than average oil consumption high oil consumtion is obviously not recommended and proves very costly , certain car manufacturers have sent out maintenance memos to this effect. I would go with the 5,000 then the 12000km. Funny enough, it used to be the opposite dayz gone by. What oil does SS use?

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » July 20th, 2010, 11:14 am

When i bought the Cerato they asked me (north) to come in at 1000K to check up, however i missed that service (forgot the date, they didn't call to remind) so i went in at 5000k and they changed oil etc.

4th service due in Nov, they said they changing pads this time, boy am i gonna be broke for Xmas :|

Mazdout

Postby Mazdout » July 20th, 2010, 4:20 pm

Did anything drastic happened at the 5000k? Mobil 1 seems to be the better of the 2 oils for me.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » July 22nd, 2010, 10:15 am

Am, nope nothing drastic at all.

Actually in all my services they used Mobil1, i believe that's the default brand, because i didn't request any other.

trinimojo

Postby trinimojo » July 25th, 2010, 1:22 pm

I carry my Cerato in SS (south branch)...I asked them what oil they gonna use and they said Mobil 1. However when I got the bill it said Shell Helix Ultra..I tell you, I really don't have much faith in these ppl...If it wasn't for the warranty I would not go there...
Also the guy in charge of the Service dept told me I can use SUper cause he looked at the manual and it says use a minimum octane of 91.Super is 92.
Anyways they change the oil and told me the next service (which will include oil change) is at the next 10,000km. I dunno if that is right or not since the KIA ppl in SS north told me 5000, then 12000. These ppl aint kno sheit if you ask me

Mazdout

Postby Mazdout » July 25th, 2010, 7:03 pm

Don't understand - Why use super when you have access to premium? Since ur trying to keep your warranty you should stick with SS south appointments, this is recorded information for later data both for you and your dealership where-ever you purchased your Kia Cerato.
Also make mension before service no mobile available, you'll come back when they have or walk with yours. Most companies here, has different rules for different branches almost like the banks.
Seems like they need to get on the same page. Gr8t medium size car with lots of potential.

trinimojo

Postby trinimojo » July 25th, 2010, 7:48 pm

i use the super because SS said i could and the manual says i could as well. Not to mention it cuts my gas bill by half almost. I am sticking to SS maintenance schedule. I just believe that the oil should be changed more often than 10,000km, but thats not what SS says

Postby cinco » July 28th, 2010, 2:33 pm

mobil 1 full syn is actually a 5000 MILE oil so you are safe at 10000 km

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » September 28th, 2010, 11:57 am

To the Cerato drivers out there, please note that SS DO NOT rotate your tires, altho i have asked for them to do it every service and they said done, due to this, i have to change tires already, ughhh.

zando

Postby zando » January 7th, 2011, 4:07 am

Aren't mobil 1 and amsoil long life oils? as in 7000km and above?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 8th, 2011, 7:46 pm

i use the super because SS said i could and the manual says i could as well. Not to mention it cuts my gas bill by half almost. I am sticking to SS maintenance schedule. I just believe that the oil should be changed more often than 10,000km, but thats not what SS says

Severe driving servicing lists a change at 7500 km, with the "normal schedule" at either 12 or 15K I think.

So believe it or not, if you're using a synth oil 10k km is actually fine IMHO.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » November 30th, 2011, 2:09 pm

Anywhere else besides SS selling the oem oil filter?

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » November 30th, 2011, 9:44 pm

hey guys,

was feeeling a bit adventerous and used super gasoline.

Apart from saving some $$$ I did not see any difference in performan/mileage.

I know the firm says premium and I did that but the manual says super is fine and I have been using super for the past month. The boss lady drives the car every day and see hs no clue is super it is running on.

By the way, I am using royal purple 10w 30 at 10000kms interval.

car running sweet.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » December 9th, 2011, 6:53 am

sweeks wrote:Anywhere else besides SS selling the oem oil filter?

Ent the OEM filter is like 40 dollars?

Yuh want it CHEAPER than THAT????

:?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 9th, 2011, 9:29 am

I hear you. Thanks much.

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » December 18th, 2011, 9:06 pm

Ok Guys,

Took the cerato for service this weekend.
Mileage: 20,000kms

I used Royal Purple 10w 30 (been using this since car was doing 10000kms)
I never mentioned to them that the vehicle is using Super gas for the past 2 months, since I thought the service techs may choose to may an issue out of this.

Pulled and inspected the spark plugs and they were in exceptional condition.
Check the front brakes and the pads were at 50% life, so I guess I will change them when I reach 30,000kms.
I inquire about the disc pads and was told that it cost about $1000. I strongly suggest we find an alternative way to acquire the OEM pads, Sweeks, what you suggest???

Also changed an air filter which cost about $120.

Overall, I have no issues with the car & looking forward to 2012.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 18th, 2011, 11:34 pm

I think you should run the oem disc pads as long possible. I know SS is going to want to change them but just keep telling them next service. OEM disc pads comes with a sensor ... once the disc pads gets low enough it start to squeal. I'm pretty sure you can get more than 40 k km out of then.

IMHO it doesn't make sense changing oem parts that still have lots of life to put inferior after markets parts. I'd suggest you buy the pads out of the US when necessary.

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » December 19th, 2011, 9:13 pm

Looking at options at sourcing disc pads.

Sweeks, I was hoping you would bring some for sale seeing that there is a market here for it.

Anyway, all the best for the Christmas Holidays everyone. Be safe.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 21st, 2011, 8:49 pm

Cool. If I get the part number and a couple interested people I'll look into it.

Btw Anybody change their cabin filter? I think mines need changing now.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 22nd, 2011, 9:20 pm

Checked the cabin filter and it was really dirty (vehicle is 2 years old doing 41000km, factory maintained. I guess they never checked the cabin filters... Cause wifey's PCM Sportage cabin filter needs changing as well. Her car is also factory maintained.

Got it for $100 ($600+ per filter in SS). The Cerato and Sportage uses the same filter.

Last edited by sweeks on December 24th, 2011, 5:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » December 22nd, 2011, 11:13 pm

you selling one sweeks?

I will take one if available.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 22nd, 2011, 11:59 pm

kriticalkase wrote:you selling one sweeks?

I will take one if available.

No but will arrange to get you one. If anyone else needs let me know ASAP.
Last edited by sweeks on December 31st, 2011, 10:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

shmilymann

Postby shmilymann » December 31st, 2011, 1:33 pm

Any chance of getting the activated carbon version of those cabin filters?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 31st, 2011, 11:29 pm

Sorry... Not sure where to get thar.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » January 2nd, 2012, 12:36 pm

I'm at 43,000 in my Cerato and still running Original OEM Break Pads. Most likely they'll be changed at 50,000.

Changed my cabin air filter at SS as well, since then been good.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » January 5th, 2012, 9:03 am

Zaak did they change the tyres yet?

I'm getting to 42 000km.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » January 6th, 2012, 7:36 am

sweeks wrote:Zaak did they change the tyres yet?

I'm getting to 42 000km.

I thought they were rotating the tyres but then when i realized they weren't it was to late to start.

I bought a new pair of Hankook year before for the front and have been rotating them with the original two in the back, but the back two needs changing soon.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » January 7th, 2012, 2:53 am

I went to SS yesterday to collect wifey's Sportage. While I was there, I saw 5 vehicles came in to service, 1 Sorrento, 1 Sportage and 3 PCT Ceratos. Seems to be a hot seller.

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » January 8th, 2012, 11:55 am

Guys, vehicle is approaching 1 year soon. Has anyone every replaced the stock battery the car came with. Just want a idea as to how long these original battery last.

Zaak, what size tire you will be looking for?

Return to “KIA”