*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

casper

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby casper » December 24th, 2011, 3:04 pm

I'll check u on msn a lil later Pios...real reason I went with a 2.1 rather than 5.1 is cuz my room really small and my bed taking up most of the space I literally have no space available to put more speakers other than to hang the monitors on the wall but my issue is wiring...don't want wires running through my room it dun hard to keep tidy as is...if u was living close I wudda like u to hear how the logitech sounding...the bass sounding nice, low and really full not sure if it's the acoustics of my small room but it sounds really powerful for a self powered 2.1 budget unit..

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 24th, 2011, 4:53 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I dunno Samsung to fail - knocks on wood

Samsung panels are some of the best
Panasonic too

Didn't you have a problem with your award-winning samsung?
no not the award winning one

it was fixed by the local samsung dealer though even though it wasnt bought here 8-)

Postby pioneer » December 24th, 2011, 6:05 pm

Nice, I heard they does give ah run-around though...yuh go hadda link meh up daddy

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » December 24th, 2011, 6:07 pm

yeah, thats my fear with going samsung

I Know they were on top with picture quality to price ratio, but Ive always wondered about their build quality...even though most of what Ive heard was only hearsay

I would hate to have to move my tv once its in place to get it serviced.

Postby pioneer » December 24th, 2011, 6:14 pm

There's a radio station on the internet i stream on the PC, is there anyway to get this station in other places in the house?

What options do i have?

Postby M_2NR » December 24th, 2011, 6:28 pm

Right now we using an old 20" with only coax in. not even RCA and we cant find the composite to coax thing we used to use. oh well :lol:

There is this:
http://lifehacker.com/5631984/how-to-ma ... sound-card
using a wireless router and an open sourced firmware for it.

Also, you could try this, the very expensive apple airport express method or check these:
http://lifehacker.com/400235/turn-your- ... sic-remote
http://lifehacker.com/5579406/build-a-p ... rt-express
http://lifehacker.com/5830798/build-wi+ ... c-anywhere

Postby pioneer » December 24th, 2011, 8:09 pm

I reading dem ting n got ah headache :|

diabolique

Postby diabolique » December 24th, 2011, 10:45 pm

hey i bought the logitech z906 and i would like to mount it on the wall. does anyone know where i can get wall mounts for this?

Postby pioneer » December 24th, 2011, 11:24 pm

Does it have a screw in the back?

I have a pair of these that I have no use for

Looks like this, but in white

Gimme a bill n take it

GLANIMAL

Postby GLANIMAL » December 25th, 2011, 8:58 am

diabolique wrote:hey i bought the logitech z906 and i would like to mount it on the wall. does anyone know where i can get wall mounts for this?

pricesmart online site has...check it out

you can get the item nos..go in pricesmart and pay for it ...if you dont have credit card..

takes a few days to deliver though

http://www.pricesmart.com/Local/Shop/Ca ... ryID=10111

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 26th, 2011, 8:16 am

Sony to sell stake in LCD venture to Samsung for $940 million

(Reuters) - Sony Corp has agreed to sell its nearly 50 percent stake in an LCD joint venture with Samsung Electronics to the South Korean company for $940 million, as it struggles to reduce huge losses at its TV business.

The seven-year-old venture cut its capital by 15 percent in July and industry sources had said Sony was negotiating an exit, aiming to switch to cheaper outsourcing for flat screens for its TVs while Samsung pushes ahead with next-generation displays.

"In terms of direction it is a positive (for Sony)," said Keita Wakabayashi, an analyst at Mito Securities in Tokyo, about the deal. "But if they are making a loss on the sale, one could ask why they didn't make this decision sooner."

"Their biggest problem is that they are not making a profit even though they don't have many plants," he said.

In November, Sony, the world's third largest flat panel TV maker, warned of a fourth straight year of net losses for the financial year to next March, with its TV unit alone set to lose $2.2 billion on tumbling demand and a surging yen.

The company said on Monday it would review its earnings forecast to reflect 66 billion yen in impairment losses from the transaction, as well as expected future cost savings.

While the sale is seen as a move in the right direction for Sony, it will not be good for Samsung, analysts said.

"Sony may shift to Taiwanese LCD makers should they offer cheaper prices," Song Myung-sup, an analyst at HI Investment & Securities, said in Seoul.

Shares in Sony ended 1.6 percent higher, compared with a 1 percent gain in Tokyo's benchmark Nikkei average, while Samsung Electronics shares fell 0.2 percent.

Sony's panel venture with Samsung, S-LCD, was established to secure stable supplies for Sony's flat-screen TVs at a time of shortages.

AILING BUSINESS

Once a symbol of Japan's high-tech might, Sony has sold off TV factories in Spain, Slovakia and Mexico in the past few years and outsources more than half of its production to companies including Hon Hai Precision Industry, the contract electronics maker that also counts iPhone maker Apple Inc as a key customer.

Sony retains four TV plants of its own -- in Japan, Brazil, China and Malaysia.

Some analysts say the $100 billion LCD TV market peaked last year and forecast it will shrink 3 to 4 percent annually, as consumers in advanced countries have already traded in their bulky cathode-ray tube TV sets for flat screens, while the LCD market has been in a glut since last summer.

Global TV manufacturers are restructuring their businesses and outsourcing production as cut-throat competition and weak demand squeeze margins.

Analysts have criticized Sony for failing to aggressively take on the competition in the TV market from South Korean rivals Samsung and LG Electronics Inc, the largest and second-largest players, respectively.

In November, Sony cut its TV unit sales forecast for the second time this year and dropped a plan to boost its TV sales to 40 million sets a year in the fiscal year ending March 2013, effectively conceding defeat to Samsung, the world's largest flat-panel TV maker.

Samsung has said it expects the flat-panel TV market to grow 10 percent next year, and aims to outperform the market.

Sony said in April it would not raise its stake in a separate LCD venture with Sharp Corp for at least a year, and in August said it would merge its loss-making small-panel business with the government-backed Japan Display.

In October, it signaled a stepped-up push into the smartphone market by announcing it would take control of its mobile phone joint venture with Ericsson for $1.5 billion.

The company is hoping to exploit its music and video content and compatibility with its other devices like TVs and tablet computers to help it catch up with smartphone leaders such as Apple.

Reuters

casper

Postby casper » December 26th, 2011, 9:26 am

Oh gawwwwdddd...expects d quality of Bravia to fall ALOT!!!

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 26th, 2011, 9:41 am

casper wrote:Oh gawwwwdddd...expects d quality of Bravia to fall ALOT more !!!

fixed :lol:

jehusaunders

Postby jehusaunders » December 26th, 2011, 9:46 pm

i finally got a powered subwoofer from a home theater. there is an 1 rca left and right input and other outputs on the back of the subwoofer. should i connect the subwoofer to my stereo's subwoofer out or connect the stereo to the back of the subwoofer outputs?

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » December 27th, 2011, 11:46 am

your stereo sends audio to your subwoofer
is there an LFE port?
If there is, connect the stereo lfe out to the sub's lfe in
otherwise use the Left/right inputs on the sub from the stereo

jehusaunders

Postby jehusaunders » December 27th, 2011, 12:05 pm

it doesn't say "lfe". it just says "subwoofer". and i looked for the manuals to know which one it has. last night i connected a ps2 to the inputs on the subwoofer. then from the outputs on the sub to the inputs on the stereo and it worked ok. but when i connected the ps2 straight to the stereo and connected the subwoofer to the output on the stereo. i wasnt hearing absolutely anything from the subwoofer. and i would like to use the sub because it has 5 outputs. front, left and right. surround sound left and right. also center channels

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » December 27th, 2011, 12:59 pm

^it may help if you post the name and models of the equipment u using.

jehusaunders

Postby jehusaunders » December 27th, 2011, 3:52 pm

its a rca rp-9345 audio system. sony bravia kdl bx420 tv. ummm the subwoofer is a silver cross dvd976ht. i didnt post any info before because i searched online and got nothing

Don Dada

Postby Don Dada » December 27th, 2011, 11:34 pm

need some reviews on this ::::Onkyo HT-S9400THX 7.1-Channel Network A/V Receiver/Speaker Package
Im thinking about gettin this,anyone ever heard this system,is it worth the $$$.

thanks

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 28th, 2011, 3:54 am

M_2NR wrote:Right now we using an old 20" with only coax in. not even RCA and we cant find the composite to coax thing we used to use. oh well :lol:

There is this:
http://lifehacker.com/5631984/how-to-ma ... sound-card
using a wireless router and an open sourced firmware for it.

Also, you could try this, the very expensive apple airport express method or check these:
http://lifehacker.com/400235/turn-your- ... sic-remote
http://lifehacker.com/5579406/build-a-p ... rt-express
http://lifehacker.com/5830798/build-wi+ ... c-anywhere

Very useful info here BTW

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » January 2nd, 2012, 8:49 am

If all goes well, may invest in an OLED in 2013.

LG previews 55-inch OLED 3D HDTV

That – along with OLED’s inherent display advantages – means LG can promise an infinite contrast ratio for the new 55-incher, with pictures LG says are simply impossible with existing LCD and LED panels. It’s faster, too: 1,000x faster, in fact, than LED and LCD, for smear-free movies and sports.

As the new press shots show, all that display technology will be wrapped in a super-slick design, with a 4mm thick bezel. The whole set will weigh a mere 7.5kg, making it ideal for wall-mounting. There’s 3D support, too.

What LG still isn’t confirming is price, and though this new display uses a cheaper production process based on Oxide TFT technology, we’re still expecting it to carry a premium tag. That – along with release dates – will presumably be shared at CES next month; we’ll be there to bask in LG’s glow.

http://www.slashgear.com/lg-previews-55-inch-oled-3d-hdtv-02205308/

casper

Postby casper » January 2nd, 2012, 10:17 am

Na me eh want that nah...looks cool but....

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » January 2nd, 2012, 10:57 am

4mm bezel? wtf

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 2nd, 2012, 1:56 pm

^ ent

casper wrote:Na me eh want that nah...looks cool but....
but?

pioneer wrote:There's a radio station on the internet i stream on the PC, is there anyway to get this station in other places in the house?

What options do i have?
wifi speakers

Sony HomeShare Wireless Wifi Speakers
http://www.amazon.com/Sony-SANS300-Home ... 738&sr=8-1

JBL Wireless speakers On Air 2.4Ghz
http://www.amazon.com/JBL-Control-2-4G- ... 38&sr=8-14

Postby pioneer » January 2nd, 2012, 2:35 pm

Is there anything like a wifi amp?

One location i need it in is outdoor, i already have a pair of outdoor speakers

sigh...shoulda buy ah rx with speaker a + b capability :(

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 2nd, 2012, 2:58 pm

^ a multi-zone receiver will still mean you have to run speaker wires to the other speakers

I guess your outdoor speakers are not powered.
You will need a regular amp and a Logitech Wireless Speaker Adapter
http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-Wireless ... 521&sr=8-6

or even a Creative Labs Sound Blaster Wireless Audio Transmitter and Receiver Bundle
http://www.amazon.com/Creative-Labs-Wir ... gy_e_img_b

Postby pioneer » January 2nd, 2012, 3:17 pm

So with the Logitech I can stream via bluetooth, into the amp then to speakers right?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 2nd, 2012, 5:01 pm

^ yes and it works well enough, but keep in mind that bluetooth has a limited range, as little as 30ft but only as much as 100ft

I currently use an Apple TV to wirelessly stream music and video to my HT setup using AirPlay.

Postby crazybalhead » January 3rd, 2012, 9:42 am

PS3 for Christmas. Watching Blu rays and hearing DTS HD O_O

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 3rd, 2012, 12:52 pm

^ told you so

you running 5.1 or 7.1?