No Rest For D Wicked! 19/02/12! Side B to Cedros! Pics!

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

*Phoenix*

Re: No Rest For D Wicked! 19/02/12! Side B to Cedros! Pics!

Postby *Phoenix* » February 15th, 2012, 9:16 am

Whey sah! Allyuh really ent post the pics.. whey sah!!! I hearign allyuh... Soon real soon.. 8-)

Yeah boy Droppa they real bring out the Hilux and they working real good too.. almost no mud gets on the side of the body now... ;) :P

I need my Bumpers....!!! :evil: :roll: :oops:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 15th, 2012, 11:37 am

dude you dont need bumpers to go offroading.
Only on of our vehicles has an off-road aftermarket bumper, and before he put that on he was muddin' with the rest of us stock boys.

yuh get call out already, like yuh not coming out to play??

droppa

Postby droppa » February 15th, 2012, 11:37 pm

so we jus down to a few more days, i think some rains would be nice about now...

shud i call my cuzzin in cedros and ask her how the weather is???

foxbrown

Postby foxbrown » February 16th, 2012, 9:58 am

guys am out for the 19th ....(ameel Brown BT50)

droppa

Postby droppa » February 16th, 2012, 1:55 pm

yuh playin in yuh arse or wat.......

Postby sliderz1 » February 16th, 2012, 4:19 pm

droppa wrote:yuh playin in yuh arse or wat.......

dan....... :lol: :lol:

is Saturday before Carnival which means Sunday = stale drunk

AASTRA

Postby AASTRA » February 17th, 2012, 2:38 pm

is this open for first timers?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 17th, 2012, 3:08 pm

yup, just add ur name to the roll-call list and introduce yourself on the morning at the meeting point.

Look for me, Leo (black navara with twin foglights on rollbar & shovel on rollbar), Droppa (blue hilux Surf with TRD sticker), Rene (white GV with snorkel and winch and lift kit) or Jeremy (baby blue ranger with Mud terrain tyres).

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » February 17th, 2012, 5:11 pm

Nooooo!
I inspecting the vehicle on Friday the 24th so I have to make sure everything is clean under my truck....and we know how much mud is left after an underwash even when we pay good money....

I will try and make the meeting point for the lime....

Postby 3stagevtec » February 17th, 2012, 7:25 pm

Rutless Tiida wrote:Nooooo!
I inspecting the vehicle on Friday the 24th so I have to make sure everything is clean under my truck....and we know how much mud is left after an underwash even when we pay good money....

I will try and make the meeting point for the lime....

:evil: NO! (Not much mud on this run, you safe)

droppa

Postby droppa » February 17th, 2012, 7:57 pm

yeah boi, dis run eh have much mud, trust we...

Postby sliderz1 » February 17th, 2012, 10:14 pm

1. Lighthammer
2. 3stagevtec
3. droppa
4. rottedv in ah d cyat
5.Lindsay in ah d surf
6.civicminded
7. claries
8. DooMRR
9.Bobvis
10. Chote
11.brianr20v
12.redD21
13.jon one
14.ameel
15.The Blu Flu n company rides again...[/quote]
16. AASTRA

civic minded

Postby civic minded » February 18th, 2012, 9:57 am

no rain whole week - trail probably dry like a bone...so it means no need to underwash after...lol

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » February 18th, 2012, 12:32 pm

civic minded wrote:no rain whole week - trail probably dry like a bone...so it means no need to underwash after...lol

Doh say dat, it have plenty water in the sea bhai... So we still gonna get wet down...

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 18th, 2012, 11:27 pm

how de thread quiet so? like men does only get excited when mud involved or wha?? anyhows enjoy yourselves........ wish i coulda be dere!

allyuh organise sumting between 16th march and 8th april nah!

rottedv

Postby rottedv » February 19th, 2012, 5:41 am

Smeed wrote:how de thread quiet so? like men does only get excited when mud involved or wha?? anyhows enjoy yourselves........ wish i coulda be dere!

allyuh organise sumting between 16th march and 8th april nah!

Done!

Check d other thread for updates and the other run after the "Fleck Work" run will definitely be in that timeline!

So guys its morning!!!! Remember your safety gear and stuff! We are in for a nice relaxing day at the beach!

.z.

Postby .z. » February 19th, 2012, 6:23 am

guys,have a safe and enjoyable one. on work and cant get out till 12, if so.

Z

.z.

Postby .z. » February 20th, 2012, 7:10 am

WAKE UP!!! Let we see an hear what went on down Cedros!!!

my apologies guys but i got off work after 12 and it would ah b that time i reach down was just 2 come back up.

ps droppa, u spoke 2 d group abt any carnival run?

I available any day after lunch, an we can also do a night run.

wha allyuh tink

Z

rottedv

Postby rottedv » February 20th, 2012, 7:16 am

What an epic run! it was real bess! I am sure lighthammer will give his report later on.

claries

Postby claries » February 20th, 2012, 8:24 am

run was topp ahhh d line! !!!!

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » February 20th, 2012, 10:03 am

Anybody for a carnival run. I going, jus check mih and I dey for sure.

Ace_Maverick

Postby Ace_Maverick » February 20th, 2012, 11:12 am

This run was some good fun!!

<<passenger in green Hilux>>

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 20th, 2012, 12:38 pm

Columbus Bay, Cedros.... we nearly end up in a water-fete!! (and not in a good way).

What a run, this is how Side B tears up a beach and mud-trail!

Basic rundown of the day, in point form:

- Met up in Gulf View KFC. Everyone was pretty much on time and was good to see the regular faces, plus one or two newcomers (AASTRA & crew in the green hilux were quite welcome).
- Left at approx 8:45am with a crew of 15 trucks, picked up one more (Lindsay in the blue surf) further down the road. Made one stop in La Brea for a couple of the guys to fuel-up and get supplies, then we were off on the long-trip down to Columbus Bay, Cedros.
- Arrived at the beach at approx 10:30am, where we had a second safety briefing, just to let all the drivers know NOT to wild-play on the beach with their vehicles, since it was a public beach and there were bathers around (though not in great numbers as yet).

From there, things got wet-wet-wet!

We made our way down the beach, which in total was approx a 3km long stretch till the corner. We must have made approx 1.8km of a drive before we couldn't go any further.... however there were a couple relatively difficult obstacles in our way.
The first major obstacle was a long concrete jetty sticking out into the water. Bearing in mind that it was low-tide at the time, we simply drove around it through the shallows with relative ease. From there, we made our way down until we got to a small river which had to be crossed.

Crossing the river made a couple of the guys a bit uneasy, since it was approx 1 1/2 feet deep at the mouth and we'd be driving through seawater. Still, we pressed on (against better judgement) and sought the end of the beach. We made it about 1/4km until we were stopped by a large number of felled coconut trees and beach erosion - we couldn't go any further.

At this point, some of the guys, including myself and 3stagetech became increasingly concerned, since the tide was now starting to come in (it was about 11:50am at this point) and we knew that crossing the river would be risky. We went ahead to see the river where 3stage advised me over the radios that things were getting tight now and we had to move everyone out asap. Upon arriving at the river, I saw from the person standing to depth-gauge it that it was now at thigh-height: approx 2 1/2 feet. Things got tense with me and 3stage and we had to make a decision: either send these guys through that water again, or try to find a track back to the main-road through uncharted coconut mangrove and risk the tide catching us.

A hard decision between us was made - just send everyone through the river and get the heck out of there. We sent another scout to walk the river mouth and found it was shallower deeper out, so we decided to chance it. A call was sent out over the radio to get everyone back to the river mouth quickly and we went through one by one. Each driver was instructed to go through with consistent speed but not too quickly, so as to make a small bow-wave to keep the water out. Unfortunately the tide and waves didn't cooperate and some of the vehicles got drenched, with one stalling in the river. Luckily we got everyone out safely.

After the midday drama was over, we hit a trail from the beach which lead into the coconut mangrove. This trail was scouted earlier this month by rottedV and was deemed safe, infact when we went through it, we found quite a few mud-holes to have some fun in. There was some sticking, some powering through the muck and loads of fun was had.

Then we hit the cliffs to get a great view of the southern tip of trinidad as well as the hills of Venezuela in the distance. After taking in the view, we moved back to the beach for some lunch and relaxation. After everyone had their fill, we had a few games on the beach where we pitted some trucks against each other in small games of tug-of-war.

By 3:00pm we decided to head out and went back through the trail on the beach, then got back onto the main road and headed home. Long drive again back to civilization (i.e. gulf-city) and then we all went home, tired and happy.

Question on everyone's mind : "When is the next run??"

Well... we have a couple ideas in mind... but for now, hold some pics.

stretch

Postby stretch » February 20th, 2012, 5:06 pm

man i real miss out. Black GV takes full win for looks.
Who drives the brown bt50 with snorkel? he on 2nr?

Xplode

Postby Xplode » February 20th, 2012, 5:55 pm

planning to do some off road with you guys ,how the Hilux Vigo 4x4 auto handles off road ?

stock rims and tyres

now reach 15000 KM lol

Postby 3stagevtec » February 20th, 2012, 7:31 pm

Xplode wrote:planning to do some off road with you guys ,how the Hilux Vigo 4x4 auto handles off road ?

stock rims and tyres

now reach 15000 KM lol

Nice truck you got there! We have a few Hilux's that run with us and they perform exceptionally well from what I saw so far.. Come with us on a run 1st, get a feel for the sport, then you can better decide on how to upgrade from there..

At a minimum, better tyres and recovery gear is all you need to come have fun.. Lift kits / snorkels etc are NOT necessary..

rottedv

Postby rottedv » February 20th, 2012, 11:30 pm

Great write up Leo. Yup things got a bit tense at that river. I'm glad we got in and out with everyone more or less intact. We did very well for our first time down there. Next time we will pay closer attention to the timing of the tides. I'll scout more trails down there so the next time the run will be even better!!!!

AASTRA

Postby AASTRA » February 20th, 2012, 11:40 pm

it was great i am in for the next one. Aastra(green hilux)

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 21st, 2012, 1:18 am

allyuh see de horsey licking de surf? hahahahaha wonder what he was thinking? looks like good fun was had!! leave it up to side B to find mud eh!

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » February 21st, 2012, 1:43 am

My share of the pics. Didn't get much good ones this time. But still have a few.

Return to “Off Road Runs”