Side B Birthday Run! Morne Diablo/Marack/Santa Flora!

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

rottedv

Side B Birthday Run! Morne Diablo/Marack/Santa Flora!

Postby rottedv » March 21st, 2012, 8:42 pm

Well its been a while but hear comes another Side B offroad run!

Side B Birthday Run to Santa Flora

Celebrating the rebirth of Christ as well as two birthdays happening in the club next month....What other way to celebrate than with Mud...!

Meeting Date: 8th April 2012
Meeting Venue: KFC/PIZZA Hut Car Park Gulf View
Meeting Time: 7:30am
Departure Time: 8:00am

UPDATE: So a successful scout of Santa Flora was accomplished yesterday. However, it seems that this trail really needs some rain for it to be a proper run (bring out d rain dance). Therefore we have decided that we will only venture Santa Flora if the weather does NOT hold up....(it be to easy now man).....So we have change the run slightly to accomodate Morne Diablo (place of my offroading birth) and our new found trail to Marack. However decisions may be made on the day depending on conditions.

So gear up!!! We will need some shovels and pitch forks on this run so bring them. Also walk prepared with eats and drinks cause its going to be a helluva run.....Date set....So check it out without ah doubt...Side B coming to run d route!!!

The last time Side B went down there it was real fun. Do a search or I'm sure some of the club members would share some of their memories!!!

So start preparing.....Santa Flora...Side B ah come calling!!

Side B
Keep On Truckin!
Last edited by rottedv on April 6th, 2012, 7:21 pm, edited 3 times in total.

lighthammer

Re: Side B Birthday Run! Santa Flora!

Postby lighthammer » March 21st, 2012, 8:47 pm

This was one of our notorious runs of last year, and I have a bone to pick with one particular section of this trail.

Its been more than a year, and we've been doing some upgrading. Question is - Are we ready for the trail, and is the trail ready for us??

As soon as we're done scouting the trail, we'll let all you mudheads know when we'll go tango in the mud.

Start the Roll Call!

1. LightHammer

chote

Postby chote » March 21st, 2012, 9:31 pm

lighthammer wrote:

Start the Roll Call!

1. LightHammer
2. Chote

rottedv

Postby rottedv » March 22nd, 2012, 4:40 am

Notorious you say??? It will be bess now for sure!!!

Start the Roll Call!

1. LightHammer
2. Chote
3. Rottedv and better 0.99999999
15.[/quote][/quote]

droppa

Postby droppa » March 22nd, 2012, 8:38 am

santa flora was real bess, this time we mus touch water

Start the Roll Call!

1. LightHammer
2. Chote
4. droppa

.z.

Postby .z. » March 22nd, 2012, 8:54 am

when allyuh scoutin?

Z

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 22nd, 2012, 9:05 am

Start the Roll Call!

1. LightHammer
2. Chote
4. droppa
5. civic minded

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 22nd, 2012, 9:49 am

Yes, this is the trail where my 2-ton navara made it halfway up a 30-foot long slope, and then rain started to fall and it got slippery... and my heavy ass slide aaallll the way back down to the bottom of the slope. No traction in either 4H or 4L, and ABS was locking up and pumping away... nothing was stopping me from crashing into a tree except for a mud pit.

Plus it was real pressha to get speedy out of the trail too.... and the exit of the trail was mud-mud-mud!

claries

Postby claries » March 22nd, 2012, 11:16 am

This was the first official run I made wit Side b and it was "Top Ahh D line" after dat pictures will tell the stories.

1. LightHammer
2. Chote
4. droppa
5. civic minded
6. claries

Postby 3stagevtec » March 22nd, 2012, 11:29 am

and would you believe I found this trail by accident! Went too early to pick up the wife from work one day, with plenty time on my hands to kill I went roaming around the forest.. and the result was finding one of our most challenging / fun experiences to date..

Here are the pics from the last run:
http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=58&t=380598

Chances are we will change up the route this time if the scout run goes as planned, we should end up right on the beach in Quinam..

Stay tuned for updates..

1. LightHammer
2. Chote
4. droppa
5. civic minded
6. claries
7. 3stage

Postby 3stagevtec » March 22nd, 2012, 11:47 am

To all those attending, we would strongly advice you walk properly equipped to venture into the forested / muddy areas. Rubber boots and jeans are highly recommended to protect your feet and legs from insect bites / scratches. Gloves will come in handy if the need arises to move fallen branches etc out of the way. A small First Aid kit is a wise investment and is an invaluable tool for obvious reasons. I keep one in my Vitara all the time. Mosquito repellent - get this for sure!

Bring whatever basic recovery gear you have also, tow ropes / straps, metal grating to place under tyres for extra traction, small shovels, tyre pressure gauge and mini 12V air compressor etc.

Ensure all your hoses and belts are in good condition. Check all fluid levels and top up with fuel before leaving home. Bring adequate food and drinks + washing water. If you have any special medical requirements, walk with the necessary meds.

For any newcomers, we use the hand held GMRS / FRS radios for communication on trails and while on route. Please walk with them if you happen to have a set. If not, you can always borrow any spare radios from other members.

Postby 3stagevtec » March 22nd, 2012, 11:53 am

and please do NOT drive past the poor security guard again...

If you remember this image, my workplace is 300m to the left of this point...

droppa

Postby droppa » March 22nd, 2012, 12:47 pm

just had to revisit them photos
dat was a great run, i hope this time its better...

Easter sunday is a good day for me, will have the monday to clean up!!!!!

and birthday.............. (licks lips)................ cake involved?????????

bobvis

Postby bobvis » March 22nd, 2012, 1:23 pm

this looking like good,, hope meh jeep ready for this,,,,

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » March 22nd, 2012, 2:51 pm

This run was EPIC last time around!

Men really going in alot better prepared this time though.

Last time the rain made this very nice.

foxbrown

Postby foxbrown » March 22nd, 2012, 3:19 pm

3stagevtec wrote:and would you believe I found this trail by accident! Went too early to pick up the wife from work one day, with plenty time on my hands to kill I went roaming around the forest.. and the result was finding one of our most challenging / fun experiences to date..

Chances are we will change up the route this time if the scout run goes as planned, we should end up right on the beach in Quinam..

Stay tuned for updates..

1. LightHammer
2. Chote
4. droppa
5. civic minded
6. claries
7. 3stage
8. Fox

Postby ronsin1 » March 22nd, 2012, 9:10 pm

oh God Please don't let this be on Good Friday or Easter Monday

Smeed

Postby Smeed » March 22nd, 2012, 9:33 pm

foxbrown wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:and would you believe I found this trail by accident! Went too early to pick up the wife from work one day, with plenty time on my hands to kill I went roaming around the forest.. and the result was finding one of our most challenging / fun experiences to date..

Stay tuned for updates..

1. LightHammer
2. Chote
4. droppa
5. civic minded
6. claries
7. 3stage
8. Fox
9. Smeed

Smeed

Postby Smeed » March 22nd, 2012, 9:37 pm

I sponsoring de cake!! Any preferences?? When we scouting by de way?

foxbrown

Postby foxbrown » March 22nd, 2012, 10:46 pm

30th jummah day boi

claries

Postby claries » March 23rd, 2012, 8:39 am

Passing dat security guard was rel kixxs...

droppa

Postby droppa » March 23rd, 2012, 8:51 am

smeed we wah ah Side-B cake, yuh cud handle dat?????

i strongly recommend you stock up on panadol, andrews and vicks before the easter weekend,

cause if yuh miss this run, yuh getting level headache, fever, and chest burn!!!!!!!!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 23rd, 2012, 9:54 am

z-z-z-zantac!!

Smeed

Postby Smeed » March 23rd, 2012, 11:38 am

smeed we wah ah Side-B cake, yuh cud handle dat?????............ no scene dude i go wuk up sumting.....

ohho and i gots a new ride for dis run..... see pics..... it bad eh!!

lift kit, winch, Mud tires, lights....... wha else i go need?

DSC08775.JPG

DSC08776.JPG

DSC08778.JPG

droppa

Postby droppa » March 23rd, 2012, 1:18 pm

ah boi what lego has evolved into!!!!!!!

Postby 3stagevtec » March 23rd, 2012, 6:40 pm

A lego winch!!! wicked!

.z.

Postby .z. » March 24th, 2012, 7:22 am

wey fellahs, playin with lego, u could never grow out ah dat nah.

Smeed

Postby Smeed » March 24th, 2012, 11:47 am

Never too old for Lego dude...... Is some serious engineering gone into dem things, especially the motorized ones Nd the one with the moving parts like gears.... De truck has a full working suspension, steering and a working winch..... :shock:

.z.

Postby .z. » March 24th, 2012, 12:38 pm

shhh!!! i still have my sets. pneumatics, motors, etc

Z

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 25th, 2012, 12:31 am

Lego!!

Hold dat!