Selenium vs eminence. which is the better buy??

shady316

Selenium vs eminence. which is the better buy??

Postby shady316 » March 27th, 2012, 9:04 pm

i look to buy two 8" speakers, which 1 of these 2 would you all recommend..

Re: Selenium vs eminence. which is the better buy??

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 27th, 2012, 9:38 pm

u just cant say brand x better than brand z

both of them have different models that handle different power & apart from power handling : go to each company's website & look at d frequency response graph of each ....

Postby pioneer » March 27th, 2012, 9:40 pm

Good luck finding GENUINE american made eminence in this bootleg country of ours

Having said that, i'd go with the Selenium.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 27th, 2012, 9:57 pm

pioneer wrote:Good luck finding GENUINE american made eminence in this bootleg country of ours

eh ? , they does actually make or assemble any inside of d usa ? , i thought all were assembled in china ?

afaik d black label 1s is for d American market & d other red label 1 is coming from d dong guan factory i think its for certain areas of d world but all is still supposed to be genuine eminence

then there is 1 called "eminator" which is said to be made by eminence too for use in vehicles ....

Postby pioneer » March 27th, 2012, 10:02 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:
pioneer wrote:Good luck finding GENUINE american made eminence in this bootleg country of ours

eh ? , they does actually make or assemble any inside of d usa ? , i thought all were assembled in china ?

afaik d black label 1s is for d American market & d other red label 1 is coming from d dong guan factory i think its for certain areas of d world but all is still supposed to be genuine eminence

then there is 1 called "eminator" which is said to be made by eminence too for use in vehicles ....

red/black label my arse

http://usspeaker.com/eminence%206&8%20-%201.htm

you for one know is bootleg crap being sold here

are "local" models being sold in 4 ohm versions?

please find me a local model that looks anything like these...

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdet ... er=290-400

Postby pioneer » March 27th, 2012, 10:04 pm

I'd love to know how a genuine speaker with a USD msrp of $45-$50 sells for...$150-$199TTD here?

Come on rovin don't be so naive, because you sell it...that understandable though.

Beware of bootleg brah.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 27th, 2012, 10:17 pm

i not sure what u saying since i have 3 types of eminence in my store , d black label 1 in ur parts express link i have that 1 (black label model been around in T&T ages man) , d red label & d eminator which is a actual eminence product : http://www.eminence.com/car-audio/eminator/

btw - d black label 1s come in a white box , so do d eminators too ..... red label 1s come in a normal brown cardboard with d eminence word printed on it & it have dong guan printed on d box too

u around long enough to know that USD msrp does not mean actual price all about & local importers here in T&T buy eminence by d 100s of pairs so they must get it cheaper when they buy bulk

just like certain other car audio products here in T&T is very competitively priced for d same reason & price is actually same or less than buying it online .... :|
Last edited by - Rovin's car audio - on March 29th, 2012, 10:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pioneer » March 27th, 2012, 10:30 pm

What's the price on the "black label" 6's?

And yes we have internet, we're aware of the eminator series...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 28th, 2012, 10:25 am

^ good to know yuh have interwebz ... :lol:

its about $275-300 each ...

FD3S

Postby FD3S » March 28th, 2012, 10:55 am

pioneer wrote:I'd love to know how a genuine speaker with a USD msrp of $45-$50 sells for...$150-$199TTD here?

Come on rovin don't be so naive, because you sell it...that understandable though.

Beware of bootleg brah.

Sure there is wholesale price but alot of these "importers" know how to evade full import duties and vat.
The electronics trade as a whole in trinidad is being spoilt as a result of such corruption.

Postby pioneer » March 28th, 2012, 6:19 pm

I'm just trying to make others aware of bootleg/inferior/fake products being sold on our market, MANY if not all powersellers fully aware it.

After all people spending their hard-earned money behind something they believe is good.

rovin can you post some actual pics of the "black label" 6's for us?

Postby nervewrecker » March 28th, 2012, 7:21 pm

pioneer wrote:I'd love to know how a genuine speaker with a USD msrp of $45-$50 sells for...$150-$199TTD here?

Beware of bootleg brah.

same way those > US $100.00 pioneer champions series sell for TT $450.00 all over.

or

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 28th, 2012, 7:33 pm

pioneer wrote:I'm just trying to make others aware of bootleg/inferior/fake products being sold on our market, MANY if not all powersellers fully aware it.

After all people spending their hard-earned money behind something they believe is good.

rovin can you post some actual pics of the "black label" 6's for us?

all dat u want me to go thru , havent used my d\cam since last yr so i have to go look for it & d cable for it & d usb cable for my cell too

like i say d 1s i have is exactly d same as this http://www.eminence.com/pro-audio/american-standard/ i dont have anything to hide so best u come in my store & see it for urself ... 8-)

Postby pioneer » March 28th, 2012, 8:50 pm

If you had it in 4 ohm i'd prolly try it...

But you didn't know it came in 4 ohm...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 28th, 2012, 9:01 pm

all this love for eminence...

Postby nervewrecker » March 28th, 2012, 9:56 pm

You eh realise where we from? We from Danraj drive!
2803201212811.jpg

Postby rollingstock » March 28th, 2012, 10:39 pm

Trex aka Sammi sound co.

Look at the frequency graph of those compared to some other brands.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 29th, 2012, 10:26 am

well pio i honestly didnt check it since d 1s i have is 8 ohms so i go take some blows for that ... :oops:

but i wondering what u gonna do with M&Ms though since i tort u say is only danraj who does use dem tings .... :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » March 29th, 2012, 10:31 am

Took a pic of the sign outside pioneer's house, its posted above there.

Man joined the 1raj crew since he cant beat them.

Postby pioneer » March 29th, 2012, 5:50 pm

OP, if you looking to buy local buy the selenium 8W4P

Postby rollingstock » March 29th, 2012, 6:04 pm

selenium 8W4P =

Specifications: • Power handling: 150 watts RMS/300 watts max • VCdia: 1.81" • Le: 0.79 mH • Nominal impedance: 8 ohms • Re: 5.2 ohms • Frequency response: 100-6,500 Hz • Magnet weight: 44 oz. • Fs: 107 Hz • SPL: 96 dB 1W/1m • Vas: 0.32 cu. ft. • Qms: 13.2 • Qes: 0.74 • Qts: 0.70 • Xmax: 2.0 mm • Dimensions: Overall diameter: 8.07", Cutout diameter: 7.2", Depth: 3.66".

Sammi ME-08B50=

Nominal Diameter=200mm (8inch),
SPL=96.0 dB/W/M
Frequency Range=52.9~12,000 Hz
Voice Coil Diameter=51.5mm (2.03inch)
Voice Coil Material=Copper
Magnet Weight=0.72Kg (25.4oz)
Piston Diameter=165.0mm (6.5inch)
Magnet Gap Depth=4.0mm (0.16inch)
Coil Winding Depth=7.0mm (0.28inch)

Thiele/ Small Parameter

D.C. Resistance=5.2 Ohm

Fs=52.9 Hz

Qts/ Qes/ Qms
0.3639/0.3867/6.17

Vas=30.24L (1.07ft3)

Sd=0.0214m2 (33.17in2)

Xmax=1.5mm(0.06in)

Half-Space Reference Efficiency=1.05 %

Efficiency Bandwidth Product=136.81 Hz

Le=0.3 mH

Cms=0.00047 m/N

BL=9.25 TM

Rms=0.89 Kg/s

Vd=32.25 ccm

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 2nd, 2012, 9:48 am

post which ones u have in mind